Newmarket Films | Release Date: March 16, 2001
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1054 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
985
Mixed:
39
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
marshallm.Oct 12, 2005
On my top 5 fav list! captivating and original, u may need a second veiwing to get what it means, but you wont mind seeing it again and again and again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JJul 27, 2007
A great thriller with a very cool existentialist subtext, especially at the end. I agree with Woob; you really need to see this movie at least twice to pick up all the foreshadowing clues (the superb editing hides these cleverly).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MackJan 6, 2009
This was one of my favorite movies upon first viewing. The only reason I won't give it a 10 is that it is never nearly as good as the first viewing. If you've never seen it before, just know that you will have to appreciate this This was one of my favorite movies upon first viewing. The only reason I won't give it a 10 is that it is never nearly as good as the first viewing. If you've never seen it before, just know that you will have to appreciate this movie upon first viewing. The method of telling this story puts you in the position of the character like no movie I've ever seen before. You truly do not know what characters to trust. Anyone who says they can see the ending coming is absolutely lying. It isn't a great ending but I don't know how you could possibly see that exact ending coming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronC.Jul 28, 2001
This is the best movie that I have seen this year and one of the best that I have ever seen. I saw this movie for the first time at Sundance, and I haven't stopped thinking about it since. I've seen it a second time, and it This is the best movie that I have seen this year and one of the best that I have ever seen. I saw this movie for the first time at Sundance, and I haven't stopped thinking about it since. I've seen it a second time, and it definitely holds up to repeat viewings. I can't wait until it comes out on video Sept. 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Aug 13, 2001
It's extremely hard to find any flaws at all. Pearce has established himself completely and tells us that he can do anything, and the supporting cast is quite hard to forget. Either the next "Citizen Kane" comes out, or this is one of It's extremely hard to find any flaws at all. Pearce has established himself completely and tells us that he can do anything, and the supporting cast is quite hard to forget. Either the next "Citizen Kane" comes out, or this is one of the best films of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Jan 14, 2006
A very smart movie that isn't for everyone. But those willing to follow it carefully are rewarded with excellent acting, great edting, and an overall interesting and humane story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WoobJan 25, 2007
Uh....awesome. A great film with so many little foreshadowing details that you never notice the first time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBNov 15, 2005
My favorite movie of all time, a real thinker and a twist on the who-dun-it genre. Guy Pearce is fantastic, the direction is tight; I can make no criticisms against this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gabeH-W.Aug 26, 2005
Pay very close attention, this is a terrific film, terrific. Acting is superb. pay close attention, ending scene changed my perspective on s..t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnVNov 1, 2006
Excellent Film. Carrie-Anne Moss was outstanding in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickD.Dec 16, 2005
Harry Potter got a better score than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LOmarGJun 2, 2012
An intelligent suspense thriller with enough attention to detail to merit repeat viewings. Splendid acting. Excellent score. Fantastic balance between violence, dialogue, and mystery. It really does a great job of presenting the story inAn intelligent suspense thriller with enough attention to detail to merit repeat viewings. Splendid acting. Excellent score. Fantastic balance between violence, dialogue, and mystery. It really does a great job of presenting the story in a nontraditional unchronological way. I have yet to see another brainy feature such as this. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HarbingerAug 13, 2010
Memento was a smart, clever and suspenful film that truly deserves its accolades as a cerebral thriller and classic. I absolutely loved it! It was Christopher Nolan's third best film behind The Dark Knight and Inception. A 10/10.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
The planning this film must of taken must of been long and extensive for this is a complicated,calculated yet incredibly successful script. So clever and so revolutionary if Nolan had not nailed this we may not have seen him take on the bigThe planning this film must of taken must of been long and extensive for this is a complicated,calculated yet incredibly successful script. So clever and so revolutionary if Nolan had not nailed this we may not have seen him take on the big money films later on. This is confident cinema that comes at you fully in the face. My only criticism is that it requires the upmost attention most of time,something you can't manage later on in the day. Apart from that, it's a Nolan essential. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
796712Sep 27, 2010
memento is one of christopher nolans best for me i loved the idea of a film being played backwards its what really gets to me and why i love this film unfortunatley i gave it an 8 because the story line could have been a little improved likememento is one of christopher nolans best for me i loved the idea of a film being played backwards its what really gets to me and why i love this film unfortunatley i gave it an 8 because the story line could have been a little improved like if the main character has a loss of memory why is it that he nows that and why is it that the people he tells arent surprised of this other than that and a few things it was an amazing film oh and by the way a fantastic twist Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
bhavertyFeb 2, 2011
This is a movie with a "twist" but it doesn't put one in just to have a twist ... it's a part of the whole story, and somehow makes the whole weird story seem more real.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TheGorillaJan 15, 2011
well, this was complex man..great directing and storytelling. nice performance form Pearce, and i surely didn't expect an ending like it. it was genius really. it made me so confusing but i figured it out with the ending. unlike inception.well, this was complex man..great directing and storytelling. nice performance form Pearce, and i surely didn't expect an ending like it. it was genius really. it made me so confusing but i figured it out with the ending. unlike inception. so, a great movie, if you like watching dramas and mysteries then this is the one. OK? Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
FDT44Jan 2, 2011
Perplexing, Chilling, Stunning, Riveting--- following more puzzlement---- accompany this piece of work and paints a masterpiece of film-making with such precision that it requires multiple viewings just to make sense of it all. The ultimatePerplexing, Chilling, Stunning, Riveting--- following more puzzlement---- accompany this piece of work and paints a masterpiece of film-making with such precision that it requires multiple viewings just to make sense of it all. The ultimate thriller for the patient of mind. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
denimbrcinaOct 13, 2011
Awesome movie Ill give it a 9.3 (9 in meta critic ). incredible story, cool actors and very emotional. This a movie. Christopher nolan you are the best!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AmriT240892Jul 31, 2011
Christopher's best movie till date.Absolutely drop-dead brilliant. You just don't see film-making like this anymore. Christopher Nolan is the genius we"ve all been waiting for. Welcome to the second revival of great film-makers. It feels good.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
stoner839Feb 21, 2011
Absolutely drop-dead brilliant. You just don't see film-making like this anymore. Christopher Nolan is the genius we"ve all been waiting for. Welcome to the second revival of great film-makers. It feels good.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
asthobaskoroFeb 22, 2011
A Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, our interpretation, it's not just about the evidences
16 of 18 users found this helpful162
All this user's reviews
9
JordanPApr 16, 2011
By no means a perfect film, but it's genius lies in making the audience live the movie as though we share the main character's inability to remember.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
Following an attack in which his wife was killed insurance investigator Leonard Shelby suffered an injury that left him without short-term memory. Determined to track down the killer he is forced to make notes on scraps of paper or tattoo hisFollowing an attack in which his wife was killed insurance investigator Leonard Shelby suffered an injury that left him without short-term memory. Determined to track down the killer he is forced to make notes on scraps of paper or tattoo his body in order to provide clues for himself as his investigation slowly progresses.

Unusually the story itself is told in reverse starting with Leonard killing a man at the end of his investigation. Director Christopher Nolan then takes us backwards, scene by scene. These reversed scenes do overlap slightly in order that we know where we are but this is still a movie that requires full concentration to get the most from it. Featuring twists and turns aplenty Memento really is mesmerising viewing and by the time whole picture becomes clear most will be satisfied with the conclusion.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RichBlackSep 12, 2011
Leonard Shelby-"I have to believe in a world outside my own mind. I have to believe that my actions still have meaning, even if I can't remember them. I have to believe that when my eyes are closed, the world's still there. Do I believe theLeonard Shelby-"I have to believe in a world outside my own mind. I have to believe that my actions still have meaning, even if I can't remember them. I have to believe that when my eyes are closed, the world's still there. Do I believe the world's still there? Is it still out there?... Yeah. We all need mirrors to remind ourselves who we are. I'm no different."

Christopher Nolan once again creates one of the most mind bending and thrilling movie that has to be one of the greatest experiance you will have on film history. Memento is a confusing but a clever and unique movie that will blow your mind just by a few minutes into the movie. This Movie also relates to Insomnia and Inception, meaning the filming (using random flashbacks and using some sort of strange vision, like filming backwards or extreme close-ups).Christopher Nolan also brings back the looks and characters to his later movies, Like the name Kobb from Followin, might refer to Dom "Cobb" from Inception and the looks of Teddy and Catherine from Memento to Gordon (Batman Begins and Dark Knight) and Maul (Inception). Memento is based on the short story, Memento Mori, witch Guy Pearce Dominates in this classic thriller playing Leonard, a man with short-term memory loss that wakes up in a random room, not knowing what's going on, until looking at his body. tattoos fill up his chest with one saying "JOHN G. RAPED AND MURDERED MY WIFE", and the rest saying facts leading up to the murderer. He also finds his Polaroid pictures, one with a guy with glasses and a mustache, named Teddy, and other pictures of information. Everyday he has to go through the same thing, so you gotta feel bad for the guy. For the rest, you probably have to find out the stuff yourself. I love how Nolan takes control of his movies like this, I guess he wants everything to be good, and he did a pretty good job doing so. He creates the most innovated dramas that nobody can miss, and thats why he goes right up to one of my favorite directors. Thuis movie is also filmed in different time periods like Following, except playing the parts of the movie backwards, making the beginning actually the ending. If this movie is too confusing for you, the ending will sum it all up for you, then you can watch it the second time to try to pick up info, like I did, and boy was I confused.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Nrich46Jul 19, 2011
The creative plot-line and story are the highlights of Christopher Nolan's film. He took what could have been an average story and made it really stand-out with his daring plot devices. The cinematographic elements are of above-averageThe creative plot-line and story are the highlights of Christopher Nolan's film. He took what could have been an average story and made it really stand-out with his daring plot devices. The cinematographic elements are of above-average quality, while the screenplay gives it's best fight at ruining the film altogether (aka the constant narration). It is an entertaining piece, could've been excellent with a few tweaks in the way of dialogue. (Officially I would give a 6.5, but that is not an option). Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ElliottFJul 6, 2011
I cannot believe how well this movie was put together. The potential it had to be repetitive, a la "Groundhog's Day," was totally obliterated by Christopher Nolan's excellent storytelling. Nolan's first of a long line of accomplishments.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bigbosslunaJan 30, 2012
At first I was like What's going on? But then it hit me. The movie is getting told backwards. And it's doing it in such a great way. So imaginative. Just wanting to see what's going to happen next and how he did get there.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Mar 9, 2016
Christopher Nolan's "Memento" may a little confusing at times, but ultimately the film is a complex, harrowing visual masterpiece that dives into the realm of psychology and the importance of memory in one's life. With Nolan's plannedChristopher Nolan's "Memento" may a little confusing at times, but ultimately the film is a complex, harrowing visual masterpiece that dives into the realm of psychology and the importance of memory in one's life. With Nolan's planned precision and some experienced acting from Guy Pearce, "Memento" is a definite must watch, a film that serves as a benchmark for the future films Nolan will create. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bram29Feb 22, 2013
th movie makes such excellent use of it's plot device, that it's hard not to praise. i couldn't believe how difficult it was to play a movie back in time. everyone has to see it just for that.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RodrigoBGCSep 28, 2011
Someone must tell to Christopher Nolan that is important that the characters of his movie must have a story or may be try to explain why are they there
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
moviekretikOct 28, 2011
So the "innovative" concept of filming out of sequence has been cliche for at least a few years now, but here's a film that makes it work far better than its been shown in a while.

Sir Nolan mixed confusion, uncertainty, and paranoia as an
So the "innovative" concept of filming out of sequence has been cliche for at least a few years now, but here's a film that makes it work far better than its been shown in a while.

Sir Nolan mixed confusion, uncertainty, and paranoia as an art form and it went on splendidly. If I told you the entire plot of this film it really wouldn't matter as it is an exquisite paean to the subjectivity of memory and therefore is in itself ambiguous; the â
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
jmydizonDec 5, 2011
This is one of Nolan's best films in his career. A film that keeps you thinking about who did what or what happened that caused this. The fact that this film is not in chronological order makes it worth its genre of being a mystery. AlthoughThis is one of Nolan's best films in his career. A film that keeps you thinking about who did what or what happened that caused this. The fact that this film is not in chronological order makes it worth its genre of being a mystery. Although some of the scenes are worth looking over to actually understand the movie much better. The story to this movie is superb though, just a lack of understanding the movie is its downfall. Otherwise great film, good acting, and terrific writing. A movie to see before you die. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
Unusual way of telling a story, that's for sure. This combined with the acting and filming puts the cherry on top of this cupcake. I recommend watching this to anyone up for a mind game.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMay 20, 2016
There is no denying that Memento is going to go down as one of the most original films of all time. You've never seen a film like it before and that's one of the big reasons why it's so good. This was Nolan's first big film and it launchedThere is no denying that Memento is going to go down as one of the most original films of all time. You've never seen a film like it before and that's one of the big reasons why it's so good. This was Nolan's first big film and it launched his career and helped turn him into one of the greatest film makers of our time. This isn't all about him though. The cast does such a wonderful job too and really help bring the story to life.

Honestly, If you have never seen it, Take 2 hours out of your day and watch it. It's a classic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
Another of my all-time favorites. Deep, compelling and always toeing the line of audaciousness. Great cast, genuinely original and watchable a dozen times over. A masterpiece that got swept under the rug years ago, shamefully.... AnAnother of my all-time favorites. Deep, compelling and always toeing the line of audaciousness. Great cast, genuinely original and watchable a dozen times over. A masterpiece that got swept under the rug years ago, shamefully.... An absolute must-watch!!! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
AlvaradoKTAAug 5, 2012
Memento is somewhat overrated. It's an alright movie with okay actors and a good director.Nonetheless, Memento should be praised for a good reason. It is exactly the type of film it want to be, Nolan was going through a hipster phase andMemento is somewhat overrated. It's an alright movie with okay actors and a good director.Nonetheless, Memento should be praised for a good reason. It is exactly the type of film it want to be, Nolan was going through a hipster phase and decided to make this out of chronological order. And for something this chopped and screwed, it still makes sense by the end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
A_NorthernerApr 13, 2012
Challengingly complex thriller from Christopher Nolan about a man with short-term memory loss out to avenge the murder of his wife. With two converging sequences of events being played out in parallel, Memento both demands and warrantsChallengingly complex thriller from Christopher Nolan about a man with short-term memory loss out to avenge the murder of his wife. With two converging sequences of events being played out in parallel, Memento both demands and warrants careful attention throughout as the audience must hunt for clues in every scene to help piece together the puzzle. Watching one half of the story unfold backwards is demanding but genuinely rewarding as earlier events in the film are explained retrospectively.
The film owes a great debt to the clever story telling technique employed by Nolan, as without this the story would actually be far less dramatic.
Guy Pearce is superb as the aggrieved husband and plays his character with a subtly sly sense of humour considering the events unfolding.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ConnKonNov 24, 2013
Simply mind blowing. An absolute masterpiece in script. There is no movie like it. It starts at the ending of the story, and the movie ends with the beginning. Sounds simple enough? Watch it. 9.5/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MaryWarner1995May 26, 2012
This is the most innovative movie that I have ever seen. I recommend it to everyone who loves complex movies. You'll be a bit confused at the beginning and you're actually not understand the movie until the half. It's just a great movie!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
seancriswellSep 2, 2012
A well written, well acted mind bender. The first case for Nolan's genius. Like all Nolan films if your looking for plot mistakes, you will undoubtedly come up with some. Also like Nolan's other films it is endlessly smart, entertaining andA well written, well acted mind bender. The first case for Nolan's genius. Like all Nolan films if your looking for plot mistakes, you will undoubtedly come up with some. Also like Nolan's other films it is endlessly smart, entertaining and ambiguous. I won't say much more, this is definitely a movie to see before reading anything about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebNov 7, 2012
Memento is not just any other movie, it
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ReubenIsAGodSep 29, 2014
Amazing Film, feels like a character study on short-term memory loss. Very integrating plot and the way in which the film is directed was very unique for its time. Brilliant example of film as an art form. yet because of this and the way inAmazing Film, feels like a character study on short-term memory loss. Very integrating plot and the way in which the film is directed was very unique for its time. Brilliant example of film as an art form. yet because of this and the way in which the film is directed the film is very hard to follow and, at times, can be very confusing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WaelJul 27, 2017
Notes, polaroids, and tattoos... 'Memento' is a very nice movie dealing with a man's hunt for the man who raped his wife and struck him in the head. It's intriguing, and it makes you think in cycles. Although hard to fully grasp at first, theNotes, polaroids, and tattoos... 'Memento' is a very nice movie dealing with a man's hunt for the man who raped his wife and struck him in the head. It's intriguing, and it makes you think in cycles. Although hard to fully grasp at first, the direction truly shines (we expect nothing less from Christopher Nolan) and the backwards-moving colored scenes and the forward-moving black-and-white scenes merge in true cinematic fashion. This film was a true pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
QwertyPJMJan 5, 2015
The most unique thriller of all time, with the best "OH **** ending I can think of. Incredibly original, satisfying and, to top it all off, it makes you feel damn clever. A Nolan masterpiece and a must see for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
An unsparingly gripping and unforgettably remarkable thriller with an excellent story and intricately written characters. Masterstroke work here from one of the greatest directors still in this business.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 10, 2013
Nolan suceeds in grabbing audience interests by making this a Whats gonna happen next film. It provided superb performances from many actors that you would not have guessed to have ever done any good and leaves you mind blown. Nolan at hisNolan suceeds in grabbing audience interests by making this a Whats gonna happen next film. It provided superb performances from many actors that you would not have guessed to have ever done any good and leaves you mind blown. Nolan at his absolute best. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
kykthebrykDec 19, 2012
Que mais se podia esperar de Nolan... Um grande thriller! Percebem-se as base de David Lynch, neste tipo de filmes, o que é óptimo, quiçá a melhor e mais original peça de Christopher Nolan.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
Christopher Nolan's best movie. It makes you think and follow the story line by actually paying attention. It brings great life to movies that need some new blood in them. I asked for a physiological visionary and I got one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithMar 19, 2015
Without a doubt one of the most original and clever movies I have ever seen. Now, the idea actually came from Christopher Nolan's brother Jonathan, but he elaborates upon that short story with striking skill and intelligence. It's anWithout a doubt one of the most original and clever movies I have ever seen. Now, the idea actually came from Christopher Nolan's brother Jonathan, but he elaborates upon that short story with striking skill and intelligence. It's an extremely stylish and memorable noir, and I can see why it launched Nolan's career to the next level. Guy Pierce's performance was also excellent. I do have some problems with it though. After about an hour there came moments for me where I was starting to be turned off by the extreme complexity of the narrative. I was starting to get a headache. However, the movie does recover quickly. The ending is really good and I doubt that most people will see it coming. I highly recommend this movie to anyone interested in complex murder mysteries and film noir. Good job again Christopher Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tomtom4468Feb 4, 2013
This is an amazing movie, with an amazing concept, and an expert storyline to fit it. The idea of telling the story backwards is brilliant and works for his short-term memory loss. Guy Pearce was amazing in his role as Leonard Shelby. ThisThis is an amazing movie, with an amazing concept, and an expert storyline to fit it. The idea of telling the story backwards is brilliant and works for his short-term memory loss. Guy Pearce was amazing in his role as Leonard Shelby. This film makes it obvious as to why Christopher Nolan is the greatest modern director and writer. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystFeb 6, 2013
The coolest film noir I've ever seen. It's way of telling a story is very effective and gets viewers to feel like they themselves have to solve the mystery. It is well written and is probably my favorite of all Christopher Nolan films.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Bazsa1Jun 20, 2014
Christopher Nolan's Memento is movie that was surely a pain in the *ss to make. If the plot wasn't interesting and complex enough, they decided to put the scenes in reverse order and to have another storyline where the main character LeonardChristopher Nolan's Memento is movie that was surely a pain in the *ss to make. If the plot wasn't interesting and complex enough, they decided to put the scenes in reverse order and to have another storyline where the main character Leonard is talking on the phone with somebody. Both was a very interesting and innovative way to tell a story.
The story is about insurance investigator Leonard Shelby who has short term memory loss. He can't make new memories and he forgets everything what happened to him recently in about 5 or 10 minutes. His last memory is his wife dying. He decided to find the guy who killed her no matter what. He makes notes, tattoos, documents about the recently acquired information and takes photos of people he met, cars, places he was in recently and with these thing he tries to find the guys named John G.
Christopher Nolan's genius is perceivable in this movie. Showing us the scenes backwards is clever because it shows us how Leonard sees a situation. When a scene starts we know as much about his status as Leonard himself. That makes the viewer sympathize with him and acquaints him/her about his "condition". And later we find out why the other storyline is important to the whole story..
So many positive things, why do I give this movie only a 7? The film is brilliant in it's plot, it's cinematography, it's directing, it's dialogues. But apart from Sammy Jenkins's story it didn't make me feel anything. The more I used my brain while watching it the less emotions I felt. There was no moral at the end. Hell, there wasn't even any kind of end (you'll see). The movie didn't make any emotional connection with me. The mystery and the story was interesting and complex, but apart from that, it didn't make me want to watch it again.
Still, this movie is well-written and mind-bending, and if you liked any of Nolan's movies, you'll probably like this one too, but it's not as receptible as "Inception" or the Batman movies for example. You have to pay attention to the main story and to the tiny info bits too to fully understand it. And it's obvious that they worked their *sses off till the premiere. And I respect the effort they put in this film. I recommend watching it at least once if you like complex stories or Nolan's works, or both.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 30, 2014
Memento is unlike any movie I have ever seen. The idea of a movie moving backwards is something I didn't really think was possible until I saw it. The movie as a whole is near brilliant. However, while it is interesting to watch, it isn'tMemento is unlike any movie I have ever seen. The idea of a movie moving backwards is something I didn't really think was possible until I saw it. The movie as a whole is near brilliant. However, while it is interesting to watch, it isn't necessarily entertaining, and parts of it can get a bit boring. That's not to say this movie is lacking in any way. It just isn't exactly the "masterpiece" everyone is making it out to be. It's still great though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
So inventive a film in reverse. Christopher Nolan has made a film here that cannot be replicated. A rare film that you can't miss a second of or you must start over.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MBond1810Apr 11, 2013
One of the greatest, most unpredictable movies of the decade. A must-see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DrewAnthony92May 11, 2013
AMAZING! My mind has literally been raped...If you aren't an analytical thinker; don't watch this film. If you love mystery and puzzle logic--then by all means this is the film for you!!! I am still trying to recover from the ecstatic shock IAMAZING! My mind has literally been raped...If you aren't an analytical thinker; don't watch this film. If you love mystery and puzzle logic--then by all means this is the film for you!!! I am still trying to recover from the ecstatic shock I experienced while viewing the film. Wow! You're not just watching the film; you're alongside the character in his quest to find out the truth--and you solve the mystery before he does. I've never been so fully engaged in watching a movie...EVER! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
LansdenrsJul 8, 2013
The second best Christopher Nolan movie behind the dark knight. A movie unlike any other. It actually tells the movie backwards. This movie brings enjoyment. Awesome! 10/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJun 10, 2013
This is not a usual film. All the movies that i saw which were directed by christopher nolan were great and had of course twists. Loved this one. A masterpiece actually. Watch it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
OK, you didn't expect that! Every way of the film, you think you know what's going to happen but you don't! it's got the right pace, right amount of suspense, and a brilliant twist. Christopher Nolan was making sure he was someone we shouldOK, you didn't expect that! Every way of the film, you think you know what's going to happen but you don't! it's got the right pace, right amount of suspense, and a brilliant twist. Christopher Nolan was making sure he was someone we should certainly pay attention to. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJun 7, 2015
It might be the most mind-bending Nolan-movie to date, and it truly is spectacular.

After seeing all the other masterpieces by C Nolan, I thought it was time to watch his first big movie; Memento. The non-linear structure and the constant
It might be the most mind-bending Nolan-movie to date, and it truly is spectacular.

After seeing all the other masterpieces by C Nolan, I thought it was time to watch his first big movie; Memento. The non-linear structure and the constant character motivations is a classic trait by Nolan. Memento is no exception. The first time I saw this movie I didn't really understand all of it. I only gave this movie a 5/10. But after watching it again and experienced the grasp of Memento am I totally convinced that this really is a blockbuster. The movie is so refreshing with its unique structure and excellent actors. The plot is very solid and because we're talking about a man that can't make new memories is this movie even greater. Because of the unique structure; the audience is forgetting what they just saw. It's the same with the main character. That tight connection between the audience and the movie makes this movie wonderful. But you really need to pay attention. If you miss something you risk missing the greater importance. And if you do; watch it again!

Memento really is a fabulous movie. The cinematography is very smooth and the acting is phenomenal. There's really nothing bad about it. It's one interesting, deep and flawless movie. It even got the classic Nolan-ending, the part of the movie that has the most plot-twists.

People may say Interstellar is too ambitious; but Memento isn't? Memento is one refreshing, awesome and non-linear thriller that's highly enjoyable. But not as great as his newer creations.

8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticMay 7, 2014
Perhaps one of the most original ideas and script for a film in last 20 something years, it's evenly-paced with scientific accuracy, great acting from Guy Pearce and Joe Pantoliano, and Nolan's brilliant direction to drive this this thrillerPerhaps one of the most original ideas and script for a film in last 20 something years, it's evenly-paced with scientific accuracy, great acting from Guy Pearce and Joe Pantoliano, and Nolan's brilliant direction to drive this this thriller as one of the more intricate ones. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysJun 27, 2014
As one of the first Nolan-esque movies of its kind, Memento and its director deserve a lot of credit. Movies like this must be so hard to write, film, and edit. The continuity issues, anachronisms, and the plot holes all have to be tied up inAs one of the first Nolan-esque movies of its kind, Memento and its director deserve a lot of credit. Movies like this must be so hard to write, film, and edit. The continuity issues, anachronisms, and the plot holes all have to be tied up in a nice little bow in order for it to work. Well, for the most part, Nolan has done the best he can with this complex-yet-simple, twisty-and-turny, flash-forward-flashback screenplay of his. The repetition and the way the story unfolds is pretty neat, and the cinematography is great thanks to Team Nolan's good ol' Wally Pfister. It's the type of Inception-ish movie where you have to be 100% focused on it at all times, and you have to be ready to think for a second. For the way the non-linear story plays out, it is a cinematic achievement, right up there with Pulp Fiction. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
MehdiJavaniSep 28, 2013
The movie "Memento" is one bizarre illustration of a rape story and its later consequences. It sets off with a murder from the look of which, the protagonist of the movie kills the guy who's raped and got it over with his wife. The look ofThe movie "Memento" is one bizarre illustration of a rape story and its later consequences. It sets off with a murder from the look of which, the protagonist of the movie kills the guy who's raped and got it over with his wife. The look of satisfaction and enthusiasm on his face implies that he's gotten his revenge and will live relieved after this, but you can never say that as there is no afterward events; the story enjoys a reverse chronology. In a story employing this technique, the first scene shown is actually the conclusion to the plot. Once that scene ends, the penultimate scene is shown, and so on, so that the final scene the viewer sees is the first chronologically.
This 2000 Christopher Nolan movie which is made well before Batman trilogy, The Prestige, and Inception, is based on a short story from Johnathan Nolan, the outstanding director’s brother who has been the co-screenwriter for Nolan’s other great works as well. All the first scenes are happening after the next one and just come to an end when the other one starts which is as strange on paper as it looks on the screen! Nonetheless, this is not the most moving factor in the movie as it is about to get even creepier. The main character of the story, Leonard Shelby [personalized by Guy Pearce] has lost his short memory in the unfortunate incident in a fight with the jerk raping his love. He would only keep the stuff going around him in his recollection for less than ten minutes. To remember things by, he has developed this taking pictures plus adding notes under them method. He usually carries a camera around and takes pictures from the people and places to have in his pocket which will be his only tool to judge people on their good and bad nature. It does not often pay off as the man would choose to write notes about people at the wrong time.
Besides, Lenny has developed the habit of getting tattoos on his body about very important facts and information. The numbers of tattoos increase constantly, but never stop. The main character, who remembers to be a psychologist, usually talks of a Sammy Jackson which the viewer can never be certain of its existence which is the most terrifying fact.
The movie leaves the viewer holding the bag and awing at the heaviness of a 2-hour backward story. It educates you that you can never judge people based on one situation, teaches you that even short term memory is a full blessing, and shows you that everything could start only when you think they've come to a bitter end.
There it is: Christopher Nolan's weirdly overwhelming haunting movie that will make your jaw drop and leave you asking "what did I just watch?"
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A beautifully crafted, mind bending thriller that will keep you guessing.
From the brilliant mind of Christopher Nolan, Memento is an instant classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingDec 12, 2013
Memento makes use of its unique premise into what is a near masterpiece. Christopher Nolan once again proves his storytelling skills with a non-linear storyline filled with twists, turns and shocking reveals.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
crimsondoorJan 31, 2017
This and The Prestige are the two best films by Chris Nolan which you have to watch more than once to understand, and this is the arguably the better film because of its unique storytelling technique, but I personally like The Prestige moreThis and The Prestige are the two best films by Chris Nolan which you have to watch more than once to understand, and this is the arguably the better film because of its unique storytelling technique, but I personally like The Prestige more for its historical setting. Shame he doesn't make thought provoking films like this any more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
googolendtimesApr 23, 2014
A richly rewarding and incredibly innovative twist on the revenge thriller, Christopher Nolan's "Memento" features a standout performance from Guy Pearce and a story so intelligently and skilfully plotted and rendered, the payoff can makeA richly rewarding and incredibly innovative twist on the revenge thriller, Christopher Nolan's "Memento" features a standout performance from Guy Pearce and a story so intelligently and skilfully plotted and rendered, the payoff can make your jaw drop as all the pieces fall into place in your mind. Having only seen it once, I am conscious that perhaps my opinion may change with repeat viewings; however, "Memento" certainly makes the right first impression. It grips you, challenges you and, above all else, entertains you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Eddieb34Jan 22, 2014
Magnificent! This film kept me at the edge of my seat the entire time. When it comes to Psychological/Mystery Thrillers, things can get a little old hacked. After watching enough movies from this genre one can begin to sense where the storyMagnificent! This film kept me at the edge of my seat the entire time. When it comes to Psychological/Mystery Thrillers, things can get a little old hacked. After watching enough movies from this genre one can begin to sense where the story is headed, but when it came to the conclusion of this masterpiece I was completely dumbfounded. This is a must see for those who love a movie that will keep your attention and in fact, this movie demands it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kameratypFeb 9, 2014
One of the best movies ever concieved and also the best Christopher Nolan movie. It has the most unique storytelling you will ever experience and tells a brilliant story with a lot more room for free thinking. my favourite movie!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
usherd369Mar 31, 2014
Nolan's infamous protagonist played eloquently by Guy Pierce as well as the ordering remains to be the most memorably to Memento. These two aspects, as well as the plot being enticing enough to the viewer, carry the rest of the film intoNolan's infamous protagonist played eloquently by Guy Pierce as well as the ordering remains to be the most memorably to Memento. These two aspects, as well as the plot being enticing enough to the viewer, carry the rest of the film into 'great' territory. Still a must-see either way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AnasAL-MasriMar 14, 2014
the movie is great , the plot very well knit . I admire Mr Nolan about this work > I enjoy this movie very clever plot . It takes me a while to understand it .

I believe the story of the movie goes like this : the whole movie began when
the movie is great , the plot very well knit . I admire Mr Nolan about this work > I enjoy this movie very clever plot . It takes me a while to understand it .

I believe the story of the movie goes like this :

the whole movie began when Lenny was speaking on the phone with a cop about a drug-dealer called Jimmy Grants , Teddy who claimed to be the cop gave Lenny some details about Jimmy where he would be in order to kill him , Lenny took Jimmy's clothes and the car then made some fact about Teddy his car license in order to kill him earlier .
-the bar card from his pocket from Jimmy's suit which said " come after Natalie " this note suppose to be for jimmy not for him but he already didn't remember .

Natalie after she knows about his condition ,she used him to get rid of Doddy who asked her about the money drugs and what happened to Jimmy . here maybe Jimmy was her boyfriend ,she recognize the car and the clothes that Lenny used .
Sammi's story : I believe it's a side story to bind with Lenny to make the audience to think that Sammi is Lenny himself .
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Shubham130798Dec 28, 2014
This is not just a film. It's an experience to what it must feel like having short term memory. This is a completely original way of filmmaking. It blew my mind..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Memento is a terrific study in self-delusion and it's intricately written by writer/director Chris Nolan. It's not a perfect film. The notions of mind and memory have been oversimplified a bit but at it's heart Memento is a very dark film.Memento is a terrific study in self-delusion and it's intricately written by writer/director Chris Nolan. It's not a perfect film. The notions of mind and memory have been oversimplified a bit but at it's heart Memento is a very dark film. It's about how humans are incapable of being honest with themselves about themselves. And you have to applaud Nolan's originality here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BurnsWEMNov 10, 2014
I personally don't like Christopher Nolan's more recent movies but I love his old ones. In my opinion, this is Nolan's best film. Yes, even better than The Dark Knight or Inception. I wish Guy Pearce would do more movies because I reallyI personally don't like Christopher Nolan's more recent movies but I love his old ones. In my opinion, this is Nolan's best film. Yes, even better than The Dark Knight or Inception. I wish Guy Pearce would do more movies because I really enjoyed his role in this film. Also Carrie Anne Moss (From The Matrix) was incredible in this movie as well. Nolan did a very nice job with the writing and plot in this movie and I think it might be some of the best of all time and that's why it was nominated for an academy award for writing. If you ask me, you can't call yourself a Nolan fan if you haven't seen this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YewSpell8314Jun 26, 2014
There's not much to say about "Memento" without spoiling anything, so I'm just gonna say: Watch it. The film's narrative structure will blow your mind.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Memento makes use of its unique premise into what is a near masterpiece. Christopher Nolan once again proves his storytelling skills with a non-linear storyline filled with twists, turns and shocking reveals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PfenderStrat621Apr 27, 2015
This is Christopher Nolan's masterpiece. Is the only one of his films that it is completely brilliant, it doesn't treat you like you are five years old by explaining the movie's world in an sloppy way with side-characters like Inception does.This is Christopher Nolan's masterpiece. Is the only one of his films that it is completely brilliant, it doesn't treat you like you are five years old by explaining the movie's world in an sloppy way with side-characters like Inception does. The writing is brilliant, every decision that was made had an amazing purpose and fit the movie in an intelligent way. It is a very original thriller with personality, it is its own movie; there will not be a movie like this. The issues i had were extremely minor and nit-picky, so for now this movie is a 9 or maybe a 10 If it grows on me. I will let time change my opinion, because this movie is excellent! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BigZSep 2, 2014
Props to Nolan for being probably the only person able to make a movie based on a guy with short term memory loss that is...well...good. I was only five minutes into this one, not knowing what to expect at first, then it just hit me, uh oh,Props to Nolan for being probably the only person able to make a movie based on a guy with short term memory loss that is...well...good. I was only five minutes into this one, not knowing what to expect at first, then it just hit me, uh oh, this is a good movie and I need to focus so I don't miss something. You are just whipped all around with this film and left with a rarity in movies, you might actually feel stupid when its finished. Not because the movie was unstructured but quite the opposite. Its like slipping off a boat and watching it slowly float away and you're drowning and screaming for it to come back. You want to survive, you want to understand, you want to keep up. Never seen a movie like that before. A lot of times if I'm left guessing at the end of a movie I just say that was stupid and move on without thinking much on it. But with Memento, it ended and i was like NO! what just happened?! what did I miss?! Plagued me for sure like none other. Brilliant plot, rock solid acting. Its a mine field for your brain. Watch it. and then watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudaManJan 15, 2015
This movie ...... it was a joy ride from beginning til end the whole thing just how it puts itself together is amazing and plays in reverse. The story is my favorite part. A man creates a strange system to help him remember things; so he canThis movie ...... it was a joy ride from beginning til end the whole thing just how it puts itself together is amazing and plays in reverse. The story is my favorite part. A man creates a strange system to help him remember things; so he can hunt for the murderer of his wife without his short-term memory loss being an obstacle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LelchelseaJan 19, 2015
A movie that will literally leave you speechless, Momento will keep you guessing and forces you to pay attention to really get what is going on. One of Nolan's best works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123May 26, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every time I think about Christopher Nolan, I remember him as the guy who directed the The Dark Knight trilogy and made amazing films that are still watchable to understand, but then I heard about this film how complex it was and how it requires multiple rewatches to see it and understand.

When I first saw Memento, I didn't understand it I was afraid I made pass it on saying I hated it,, but when I look back at the details and add them to the second viewing and getting advice from another cinemaphile, I realized in my second viewing wait.....I think I got it, amazing new storytelling technique, smart directing, mind-blowing twisted scrip, shocking ending and the results:

OMG! MEMENTO IS CHRISTOPHER NOLAN'S BEST FILM EVER!!!!!! oh thank you Platypusbunny419!

you've got to see this movie several times to understand. if your looking for something complex and hard to understand, a film you wanna keep digging deeper this is a film for you!!

Its like a modern experiment using similar techniques from Quentin Tarantino's Pulp Fiction and Stanley Kubrick's non-linear film-noir 'The Killing' and make into something interesting! I dare you to see it MORE THAN ONCE!!!!!!!!! and for further information don't use reverse because it will ruin the special recipe.

A Complex Achievement

***** - 5 stars instant certified classic
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Memory - it is one of the key elements that separates human beings from animals. It is one of the basic building blocks of personality. Who we are is shaped as much by our experiences as by our environment. Memory can also be unreliable, notMemory - it is one of the key elements that separates human beings from animals. It is one of the basic building blocks of personality. Who we are is shaped as much by our experiences as by our environment. Memory can also be unreliable, not to mention easily influenced. Ask three people to describe the same event, and none of those accounts will be the same. But, although memories are skewed by perspective, they are critical to the human experience. Memento is very much concerned with all aspects of memory, especially the manipulation of it, and this endlessly fascinating, wonderfully open-ended motion picture will be remembered by many who see it as one of the best films of the year.

When I initially saw Memento at the 2001 Sundance Film Festival, where it played in competition, I recognized this as a shoo-in for a spot on my year's end Top 10 list. There's no way this film could miss. Had it been released last year, it would have landed in the #1 or #2 position (right ahead of or behind Requiem for a Dream). This is a great motion picture, and, as an added bonus, it has a tremendous "replayability", meaning that subsequent viewings are almost as rewarding as the first. The only downside is that, with a small distributor like Newmarket Capital Group, it may be difficult to find, especially for those who don't live near major metropolitan areas.

Memento doesn't stop with a great premise. In fact, what really distinguishes this film is its brilliant, innovative structure. Nolan has elected to tell the story backwards. He starts at the end and finishes near the beginning. The main narrative is presented as a series of three-to-eight minute segments, each of which ends where the previous one began. A second thread, which starts at an unspecified time in the past and moves forward to intersect with the main storyline, is used to buffer the "reverse" segments as well as to provide background information. (It also tells the important "Sammy Jankis" story, which becomes increasingly important the deeper we get into the film.) Although this approach might at first seem confusing, it doesn't take long to get used to it, and to understand how well it works with this material.

By presenting events in Memento backwards, Nolan allows us to get into the mindset of the main character. Like Leonard, we don't have a clear indication of what happened before the current segment of time. We know some things from the past, but not the recent past. Like him, we are presented with numerous cryptic clues, some of which may mean something other than what they initially appear to represent. And, although it might seem that an approach which reveals the story's conclusion in the first five minutes would lack tension, that's far from the case. Memento builds to a surprising yet completely logical finale, and there's plenty of suspense along the way to keep the viewer riveted.

In some ways, Memento can almost be described as anti-Groundhog Day. (The presence of Stephen Tobolowsky in supporting roles in both movies strengthens the connection.) Both pictures toy with timelines and memory, but, while Groundhog Day re-treads one period of time, constantly re-shaping recent history, Memento represents the past as a vacuum. Bill Murray's character in the 1993 film has multiple memories of a single time period. Here, Leonard has none. Another movie that comes to mind when discussing Memento is the Dana Carvey comedy Clean Slate. The two films have pretty much the same premise, but, while Clean Slate does little with it, Memento draws every ounce of potential from this rich well.

Every festival has a defining film. Sometimes it wins awards; sometimes it doesn't. For Sundance 2001, Memento was that movie. Despite its diversity of genres, the festival couldn't boast anything better; now, in the bleak movie-going climate of early spring, Memento is poised to breathe life back into art houses and independent theaters that have been as stung as multiplexes by mediocre fare. For those who love films and don't mind endings that don't wrap everything into a tidy package, Memento is not to be missed, even if you have to make a long trip to reach a theater showing it.

When it comes to making a Top 10 list for 2001, one title I won't forget is Memento.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
Memory - it is one of the key elements that separates human beings from animals. It is one of the basic building blocks of personality. Who we are is shaped as much by our experiences as by our environment. Memory can also be unreliable, notMemory - it is one of the key elements that separates human beings from animals. It is one of the basic building blocks of personality. Who we are is shaped as much by our experiences as by our environment. Memory can also be unreliable, not to mention easily influenced. Ask three people to describe the same event, and none of those accounts will be the same. But, although memories are skewed by perspective, they are critical to the human experience. Memento is very much concerned with all aspects of memory, especially the manipulation of it, and this endlessly fascinating, wonderfully open-ended motion picture will be remembered by many who see it as one of the best films of the year.

When I initially saw Memento at the 2001 Sundance Film Festival, where it played in competition, I recognized this as a shoo-in for a spot on my year's end Top 10 list. There's no way this film could miss. Had it been released last year, it would have landed in the #1 or #2 position (right ahead of or behind Requiem for a Dream). This is a great motion picture, and, as an added bonus, it has a tremendous "replayability", meaning that subsequent viewings are almost as rewarding as the first. The only downside is that, with a small distributor like Newmarket Capital Group, it may be difficult to find, especially for those who don't live near major metropolitan areas.

Memento doesn't stop with a great premise. In fact, what really distinguishes this film is its brilliant, innovative structure. Nolan has elected to tell the story backwards. He starts at the end and finishes near the beginning. The main narrative is presented as a series of three-to-eight minute segments, each of which ends where the previous one began. A second thread, which starts at an unspecified time in the past and moves forward to intersect with the main storyline, is used to buffer the "reverse" segments as well as to provide background information. (It also tells the important "Sammy Jankis" story, which becomes increasingly important the deeper we get into the film.) Although this approach might at first seem confusing, it doesn't take long to get used to it, and to understand how well it works with this material.

By presenting events in Memento backwards, Nolan allows us to get into the mindset of the main character. Like Leonard, we don't have a clear indication of what happened before the current segment of time. We know some things from the past, but not the recent past. Like him, we are presented with numerous cryptic clues, some of which may mean something other than what they initially appear to represent. And, although it might seem that an approach which reveals the story's conclusion in the first five minutes would lack tension, that's far from the case. Memento builds to a surprising yet completely logical finale, and there's plenty of suspense along the way to keep the viewer riveted.

In some ways, Memento can almost be described as anti-Groundhog Day. (The presence of Stephen Tobolowsky in supporting roles in both movies strengthens the connection.) Both pictures toy with timelines and memory, but, while Groundhog Day re-treads one period of time, constantly re-shaping recent history, Memento represents the past as a vacuum. Bill Murray's character in the 1993 film has multiple memories of a single time period. Here, Leonard has none. Another movie that comes to mind when discussing Memento is the Dana Carvey comedy Clean Slate. The two films have pretty much the same premise, but, while Clean Slate does little with it, Memento draws every ounce of potential from this rich well.

Every festival has a defining film. Sometimes it wins awards; sometimes it doesn't. For Sundance 2001, Memento was that movie. Despite its diversity of genres, the festival couldn't boast anything better; now, in the bleak movie-going climate of early spring, Memento is poised to breathe life back into art houses and independent theaters that have been as stung as multiplexes by mediocre fare. For those who love films and don't mind endings that don't wrap everything into a tidy package, Memento is not to be missed, even if you have to make a long trip to reach a theater showing it.

When it comes to making a Top 10 list for 2001, one title I won't forget is Memento.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Imma_135May 15, 2015
Memento is a very intense thriller where story telling creates an intrigue which would hook you and will not let you go until you find out what has happened. Nolan shows himself as an extremely capable director and some interesting shots andMemento is a very intense thriller where story telling creates an intrigue which would hook you and will not let you go until you find out what has happened. Nolan shows himself as an extremely capable director and some interesting shots and black and white moments make the picture stylistically complete and pleasant to watch. It gives off a vibe of the noir films.

However, the characters weren't interesting or easy to relate to because the audiences practically knows nothing about them. I do realise that it was necessary for the way the story is told to create an intrigue but as a viewer I didn't feel invested into the characters. The concept of the movie is its biggest problem. Nolan does a great job at making the most of it but the movie is interesting because of the intrigue and not because we care about what the hero is going to do next since we already know from the beginning. Also, I wasn't a big fan of the ending because it was a bit convoluted. The ending contained not a one but actually three plot twists and each of them would've been a nice and satisfying ending on its own but when all three are being utilised I felt like it was a bit too much.

In conclusion, the appeal of the movie is very clear and the intrigue is breathtaking. Even though the story telling damages the film a bit it is still a very compelling story executed by a competent director. I think, everyone has to see that film just for the amusing way the story is told.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmQueenNov 19, 2015
Wow, this is a great film. They used a very interesting way of telling the story and the mystery only gets unravelled at the very end. It's a very good twist, I liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 17, 2016
A bravura tribute to the spirit of “Point Blank” and the importance of short-term memory, “Memento” deconstructs time and space with Einstein-caliber dexterity in the service of a delectably disturbing tale of revenge. British-bornA bravura tribute to the spirit of “Point Blank” and the importance of short-term memory, “Memento” deconstructs time and space with Einstein-caliber dexterity in the service of a delectably disturbing tale of revenge. British-born scripter-helmer Christopher Nolan avoids the sophomore slump with flying colors while deepening some of the themes so craftily explored in his debut effort, “Following.” Pic’s aggressively nonlinear structure and subtle accretion of clues suggest a second viewing may yield additional rewards, although it’s all there the first time around for attentive auds.

Opening credits show a hand holding a Polaroid photo of a bloodied dead man lying face down on concrete. The photo “un-develops” — indicating the scene is being shown in reverse. It’s a crucial image as well as an apt intro to a story told via constant episodes of backtracking and partial repetition, all meticulously layered to approximate the waking nightmare and endless conundrum of Leonard Shelby (Guy Pearce, with bleached blond hair and an American accent).

If ever there was an unreliable narrator, Leonard is it. He can recall everything that happened in his life until the night of the assault that left his wife dead and him with brain damage from being hit over the head. Since then, he hasn’t been able to make a memory “stick.”

Thanks to his condition, Leonard is simultaneously miserable and serene. He has to write himself notes about everything, with the most crucial reminders concerning his mission — such as “John G. raped and murdered your wife” — tattooed on his skin. Unable to remember anyone he’s met post-assault, no matter how many times they’ve interacted, Leonard takes Polaroids of everyone he meets and jots captions on them such as “She will help you out of pity” (in reference to a barmaid, played by Carrie-Anne Moss) or “Don’t believe his lies” (in reference to an alleged friend, played by Joe Pantoliano).

Leonard’s curse is that even if he does get revenge, he won’t remember it a few minutes later. His condition also puts a fresh, frequently comical, twist on elements as basic as a chase scene: Leonard is running, but he can’t recall whether he’s doing the chasing or is being chased.

Terrific idea and ingenious execution may wear thin or grow irritating for viewers unaccustomed to paying close attention. But anybody who dug the trippy triptych structure of “Pulp Fiction” should be able to keep up with the temporal shifts as narrative moves back, forward and sometimes sideways with the alacrity of a crab scuttling across the widescreen. Dody Dorn’s editing is top-notch as pic — scripted, acted and lensed with precision — smoothly toggles back and forth between sequences in B&W and in color.

Pearce is superb, Moss and Pantoliano are vital sounding boards for Leonard’s quest and Mark Boone Jr. is a hoot as the motel desk clerk who rents Leonard two rooms on the theory he won’t recall having paid for either one. Stephen Tobolowsky is poignant as another victim of short-term memory loss whose sad evolution haunts Leonard.

L.A.-set pic has an impressive noir-in-the-sunshine feel, built of cars, bars, motels and isolated hideaways. The ambient rumble of the unsettling, ominous score contributes enormously to the discomfiting mood.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sjwilkinSep 23, 2016
The movie that made Nolan catch my eye. An absolute beast of a movie, nearly perfect in every way. The movie is cut up in to small sections (much like the memory capacity of the protagonist) and played out to the viewer back to front. TheThe movie that made Nolan catch my eye. An absolute beast of a movie, nearly perfect in every way. The movie is cut up in to small sections (much like the memory capacity of the protagonist) and played out to the viewer back to front. The movie starts with the last scene in real chronological order and you start the mystery there. Whilst it does not spoon-feed you the answers, it does answer all the questions you may have - thus fulfilling the story and satisfying everyone who watches it. Superb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Sep 10, 2017
The modest begginings of director of Inception, Batman trilogy and Dunkirk. An innovative way to narrate film noir: in backwards. Remarkable Guy Pierce as an insurance detective trying to find the murderer of his wife. Requires lots ofThe modest begginings of director of Inception, Batman trilogy and Dunkirk. An innovative way to narrate film noir: in backwards. Remarkable Guy Pierce as an insurance detective trying to find the murderer of his wife. Requires lots of attention and discipline from viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eva3si0nJul 20, 2017
Excellent debut of the genius Nolan. Perfectly given story upside-down with unique flashbacks of Nolan. Excellent game of Guy Pearce. Well both the culmination and a tie are fine)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Aug 2, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching Memento,i feel like Christopher Nolan wants to make very complex stories with each movie,because if Following (1999) had a maze-alike story,so does Memento,but in a very complex way. The film opens with a well-edited scene (playing in reverse) of Danny shooting at some guy that we'll know at the 5-minute mark of this movie. And from then,the movie will play like a puzzle game. We have 2 different stories:
1.A Black and White calm before the Storm.
In this prologue (apparently shot in Widescreen Black And White) ,we follow Danny as he's talking with an unknown contact,on his phone,about him trying to recover a man who has the same problem as Danny: Short-term memory loss. This long prologue will be the beginning to the actual movie,which will make the long black and white scene interrupt at some point.
2.It's Begun,Danny.
These scenes shot in colors will make the black and white prologue interrupt at some point,explaining us what happened,obviously,after the black and white prologue. Having watched them felt like watching another movie,only from the end credits to the beginning.
We also see Danny's strong relation with other contacts,like Natalie,or Gary.
Then,before the last minutes would pop up in high gear,the Black and White prologue turns to a colorful scene,explaining us that the black and white scene would be the actual prologue to the movie,and that's where the actual movie (cut in colorful snippets) begins.
.
I don't know,man...But the story REALLY felt like one of those complex Math tests,where you rarely succed,but mostly fail. Maybe it was the amazing screenplay that made it feel like one of those expiriences. The acting,as always,was top notch,especially Guy Pearce as Danny,because you could have really felt that something was wrong with him. And,as i said,even the editing is well done,especially when the movie began.
In the end,the excellent editing and the really complex story and screenplay makes Memento one of the most complex movies i saw in a very long time,if not also an improvement over Nolan's career as a director.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CasuallyFeb 6, 2017
Whilst inarguably gripping to the end, Memento hammers this puzzler home a bit too forcefully with excessive use of his character's disability. Skilfully produced and laced with moments of brilliance to keep the viewer guessing, Nolan hasWhilst inarguably gripping to the end, Memento hammers this puzzler home a bit too forcefully with excessive use of his character's disability. Skilfully produced and laced with moments of brilliance to keep the viewer guessing, Nolan has created a timeless enigma with a little too much headache. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews