Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 688 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dismissed by the police, Leonard Shelby (Pearce) is obsessed with pursuing vengeance for the rape and murder of his wife. The difficulty of his quest is compounded by his rare, untreatable form of memory loss.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    100
    A gripping, utterly unexpected noir, glinting with bits of poetry and a hard, deadpan humor.
  2. 90
    Like the best filmmakers at Sundance 2001, Nolan leaps into the wild blue and dares us to leap with him. Go for it.
  3. 88
    This demanding puzzle is not for the "Chocolat" crowd, but those who stay with it will experience perhaps the most dazzling film released so far this year - even though a second viewing is virtually mandatory.
  4. Nolan sustains an arty note of existential dread that probably will work better for noir-steeped film critics and overserious philosophy grad students than for general audiences, but he brings off a few brisk bravura moments.
  5. 75
    A diabolical and absorbing experience.
  6. 38
    The dramatic content in Memento is as blank as Leonard's post-traumatic mental state.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 130
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, ourA Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, our interpretation, it's not just about the evidences Expand
  2. marshallm.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    On my top 5 fav list! captivating and original, u may need a second veiwing to get what it means, but you wont mind seeing it again and again On my top 5 fav list! captivating and original, u may need a second veiwing to get what it means, but you wont mind seeing it again and again and again. Collapse
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Memento is not just any other movie, it
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    the movie is great , the plot very well knit . I admire Mr Nolan about this work > I enjoy this movie very clever plot . It takes me a whilethe movie is great , the plot very well knit . I admire Mr Nolan about this work > I enjoy this movie very clever plot . It takes me a while to understand it .

    I believe the story of the movie goes like this :

    the whole movie began when Lenny was speaking on the phone with a cop about a drug-dealer called Jimmy Grants , Teddy who claimed to be the cop gave Lenny some details about Jimmy where he would be in order to kill him , Lenny took Jimmy's clothes and the car then made some fact about Teddy his car license in order to kill him earlier .
    -the bar card from his pocket from Jimmy's suit which said " come after Natalie " this note suppose to be for jimmy not for him but he already didn't remember .

    Natalie after she knows about his condition ,she used him to get rid of Doddy who asked her about the money drugs and what happened to Jimmy . here maybe Jimmy was her boyfriend ,she recognize the car and the clothes that Lenny used .
    Sammi's story : I believe it's a side story to bind with Lenny to make the audience to think that Sammi is Lenny himself .
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    th movie makes such excellent use of it's plot device, that it's hard not to praise. i couldn't believe how difficult it was to play a movieth movie makes such excellent use of it's plot device, that it's hard not to praise. i couldn't believe how difficult it was to play a movie back in time. everyone has to see it just for that. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    This is one of Nolan's best films in his career. A film that keeps you thinking about who did what or what happened that caused this. The factThis is one of Nolan's best films in his career. A film that keeps you thinking about who did what or what happened that caused this. The fact that this film is not in chronological order makes it worth its genre of being a mystery. Although some of the scenes are worth looking over to actually understand the movie much better. The story to this movie is superb though, just a lack of understanding the movie is its downfall. Otherwise great film, good acting, and terrific writing. A movie to see before you die. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I now know what is wrong with Christopher Nolan movies. The characters are lifeless. They are not real people. There is no vulnerability, noI now know what is wrong with Christopher Nolan movies. The characters are lifeless. They are not real people. There is no vulnerability, no character development, the dialogue is static and robotic. No real person speaks like that. I can see the intention to create depths in the characters, but this is clearly not the way to do it. This movie is just nauseating to watch. From minute one, you see that the main character's hair is dyed...you wonder why that is. The way everyone looks is always...too deep, unreal, like they are on drugs, not connected to the real world. Expand

See all 130 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.