Memento

Memento Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 884 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dismissed by the police, Leonard Shelby (Pearce) is obsessed with pursuing vengeance for the rape and murder of his wife. The difficulty of his quest is compounded by his rare, untreatable form of memory loss.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    100
    A gripping, utterly unexpected noir, glinting with bits of poetry and a hard, deadpan humor.
  2. 90
    Like the best filmmakers at Sundance 2001, Nolan leaps into the wild blue and dares us to leap with him. Go for it.
  3. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    88
    This demanding puzzle is not for the "Chocolat" crowd, but those who stay with it will experience perhaps the most dazzling film released so far this year - even though a second viewing is virtually mandatory.
  4. Nolan sustains an arty note of existential dread that probably will work better for noir-steeped film critics and overserious philosophy grad students than for general audiences, but he brings off a few brisk bravura moments.
  5. 75
    A diabolical and absorbing experience.
  6. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Michael Sragow
    38
    The dramatic content in Memento is as blank as Leonard's post-traumatic mental state.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 137
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, ourA Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, our interpretation, it's not just about the evidences Expand
  2. marshallm.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    On my top 5 fav list! captivating and original, u may need a second veiwing to get what it means, but you wont mind seeing it again and again On my top 5 fav list! captivating and original, u may need a second veiwing to get what it means, but you wont mind seeing it again and again and again. Collapse
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing movie, with an amazing concept, and an expert storyline to fit it. The idea of telling the story backwards is brilliant andThis is an amazing movie, with an amazing concept, and an expert storyline to fit it. The idea of telling the story backwards is brilliant and works for his short-term memory loss. Guy Pearce was amazing in his role as Leonard Shelby. This film makes it obvious as to why Christopher Nolan is the greatest modern director and writer. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    Wow, this is a great film. They used a very interesting way of telling the story and the mystery only gets unravelled at the very end. It's aWow, this is a great film. They used a very interesting way of telling the story and the mystery only gets unravelled at the very end. It's a very good twist, I liked it. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Christopher Nolan's best movie. It makes you think and follow the story line by actually paying attention. It brings great life to movies thatChristopher Nolan's best movie. It makes you think and follow the story line by actually paying attention. It brings great life to movies that need some new blood in them. I asked for a physiological visionary and I got one. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Unusual way of telling a story, that's for sure. This combined with the acting and filming puts the cherry on top of this cupcake. I recommendUnusual way of telling a story, that's for sure. This combined with the acting and filming puts the cherry on top of this cupcake. I recommend watching this to anyone up for a mind game. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I now know what is wrong with Christopher Nolan movies. The characters are lifeless. They are not real people. There is no vulnerability, noI now know what is wrong with Christopher Nolan movies. The characters are lifeless. They are not real people. There is no vulnerability, no character development, the dialogue is static and robotic. No real person speaks like that. I can see the intention to create depths in the characters, but this is clearly not the way to do it. This movie is just nauseating to watch. From minute one, you see that the main character's hair is dyed...you wonder why that is. The way everyone looks is always...too deep, unreal, like they are on drugs, not connected to the real world. Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.