Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dismissed by the police, Leonard Shelby (Pearce) is obsessed with pursuing vengeance for the rape and murder of his wife. The difficulty of his quest is compounded by his rare, untreatable form of memory loss.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. One of the most original and ultimately confounding mind games to reach the screen since "The Usual Suspects."
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    100
    A gripping, utterly unexpected noir, glinting with bits of poetry and a hard, deadpan humor.
  3. 90
    The video stores are filled with examples of retro-noir and neo-noir, but Christopher Nolan's audacious timebender is something else. Call it meta-noir.
  4. Terrifically satisfying film.
  5. Nolan sustains an arty note of existential dread that probably will work better for noir-steeped film critics and overserious philosophy grad students than for general audiences, but he brings off a few brisk bravura moments.
  6. This unconventionally structured thriller moves at an energetic pace, spurred by a string of clever variations on conventional film narrative.
  7. 38
    The dramatic content in Memento is as blank as Leonard's post-traumatic mental state.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 118
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A Christopher Nolan's masterpiece, complex narrative is skillfully executed, keeping audiences guessing. Overall it's up to us, our interpretation, it's not just about the evidences Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    At first I was like What's going on? But then it hit me. The movie is getting told backwards. And it's doing it in such a great way. So imaginative. Just wanting to see what's going to happen next and how he did get there. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Magnificent! This film kept me at the edge of my seat the entire time. When it comes to Psychological/Mystery Thrillers, things can get a little old hacked. After watching enough movies from this genre one can begin to sense where the story is headed, but when it came to the conclusion of this masterpiece I was completely dumbfounded. This is a must see for those who love a movie that will keep your attention and in fact, this movie demands it! Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Someone must tell to Christopher Nolan that is important that the characters of his movie must have a story or may be try to explain why are they there Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    So inventive a film in reverse. Christopher Nolan has made a film here that cannot be replicated. A rare film that you can't miss a second of or you must start over. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    Nolan's infamous protagonist played eloquently by Guy Pierce as well as the ordering remains to be the most memorably to Memento. These two aspects, as well as the plot being enticing enough to the viewer, carry the rest of the film into 'great' territory. Still a must-see either way. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I now know what is wrong with Christopher Nolan movies. The characters are lifeless. They are not real people. There is no vulnerability, no character development, the dialogue is static and robotic. No real person speaks like that. I can see the intention to create depths in the characters, but this is clearly not the way to do it. This movie is just nauseating to watch. From minute one, you see that the main character's hair is dyed...you wonder why that is. The way everyone looks is always...too deep, unreal, like they are on drugs, not connected to the real world. Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.