Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 3, 2002
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 237 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
112
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 9, 2016
Back in Lack. That's all I have to say about this movie. Fans will pretty much enjoy this while people like us will only get entertained in some of the parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleApr 10, 2016
Men in Black II is a fun and entertaining little sci-fi comedy romp, but just feels far too generic and typical to resonate. Even more, it is not even fresh at this point, given the existence of the original. If the original did not exist,Men in Black II is a fun and entertaining little sci-fi comedy romp, but just feels far too generic and typical to resonate. Even more, it is not even fresh at this point, given the existence of the original. If the original did not exist, this one would be far better because there is nothing particularly wrong here. The aliens are well designed, the acting is fine, the dog is hysterical, and the plot is compelling, but it feels incredibly by-the-books and safe. For this, it never becomes extraordinary or even particularly good. Men in Black II winds up being an easily digestible film that is entertaining and funny, but brings nothing unique to the table. This ultimately hurts the film and the overall product, though I certainly enjoyed this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysFeb 3, 2014
Not as good as the original at all. MIB II doesn't have the same energy or charisma the first installment had, and doesn't have any memorable moments.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticJun 20, 2013
A pretty pedestrian sequel that while entertaining lacks a lot of the fun of its predecessor. It was close between a 5 or a 6, but it's fun enough for a mild recommendation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Oct 2, 2011
"Men in Black 2" entertains the audience with joy, but it's not worth it compared to its prequel.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticNov 13, 2013
More or less, the usual sequel. The comedy and thrills desiccate within the end of the first half, and they fail to recuperate. I'l say this; the chemistry of Lee Jones and Smith never gives way to the overdrawn plot and characters
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
not as good as the original, but this was definitely worth a shot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
Not as bad as many claim it is, but no where as good either. Considering the tone and standard the first movie left, this movie was a step backwards. Replaying all the jokes from the first movie (except then they were fresh and funny.)Not as bad as many claim it is, but no where as good either. Considering the tone and standard the first movie left, this movie was a step backwards. Replaying all the jokes from the first movie (except then they were fresh and funny.) Overall: While it still is enjoyable, it really does feel more like a cheap cash-in. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Sep 1, 2013
While still a worthy sequel, MIB II goes for a bit more of a comedic route which works pretty well but at the same time in small doses is the way to go. Everything we loved about the first film is still present here which is great, and itsWhile still a worthy sequel, MIB II goes for a bit more of a comedic route which works pretty well but at the same time in small doses is the way to go. Everything we loved about the first film is still present here which is great, and its great to have the main players back as well as some new additions. As far as sequels go its not up there as the best, and I feel the third was better than this one, but overall it will still appeal to the same audiences of the original Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
The Men in Black are back.
A fair sequel with enjoyable moments of charming humor, Men in Black II continues it's successful run with a similar plot but advanced wit.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeDec 8, 2012
A good sequel. Sexy, soulful and entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
Defending Earth, With Worms and a Talking Pug!

Five summers ago, Barry Sonnenfeld's "Men in Black" opened on Independence Day weekend and made a ton of money, beating heavily hyped franchise pictures like "Batman and Robin" and "The Lost
Defending Earth, With Worms and a Talking Pug!

Five summers ago, Barry Sonnenfeld's "Men in Black" opened on Independence Day weekend and made a ton of money, beating heavily hyped franchise pictures like "Batman and Robin" and "The Lost World: Jurassic Park." To celebrate the anniversary of his insurgent victory over those weary sequels to earlier hits, Mr. Sonnenfeld has reassembled much of the original "Men in Black" cast and crew — Will Smith, Tommy Lee Jones, Rip Torn, Tony Shalhoub, a talking dog and, above all, the alien makeup maestro Rick Baker — to create, of all things, a sequel.

At the end of the first "Men in Black," Agent Kay (Mr. Jones) voluntarily underwent neuralization, a process by which all knowledge of the presence of space aliens in our midst, and of the existence of a secret government agency devoted to keeping track of them, is erased from the mind. That movie, a kinetic, whimsical pastiche of sci-fi spoofing and creepy-crawly costume design, had a similar effect, effervescing like a soda-pop bubble and vanishing into the pop-cultural ether.

The second bottle, which opens today nationwide, is as fizzy as the first, but not quite as refreshing. The pleasurable, eye-popping sense of surprise has diminished, and the teasingly referential attitude shows signs of fatigue. The "X-Files," which was the first movie's obvious satiric peg, has faded into syndication limbo, and paranoia is not as much fun as it used to be. Therefore, most of the allusions in "Men in Black II" are to the earlier "Men in Black." (Martha Stewart and Michael Jackson both make cameo appearances that poke mild fun at their public images and are likely to provoke louder and nastier laughter than they or the filmmakers intended.)

Within the trivial, ingratiating scope of its ambition, though, the sequel is pleasant enough. This is a picture that demands nothing of its audience, and not much more from its stars. (They, on the other hand, demanded quite a lot for showing up.)

Mr. Jones and Mr. Smith once again don their black suits and neuralizer-resistant sunglasses, along with their baggy interracial-buddy-movie personas. Mr. Smith, who has recently broadened his range with his impressive performance in Michael Mann's "Ali," slides back into a more familiar mix of bravado and silliness. Mr. Jones's line readings are beyond deadpan; each one is delivered as though he had just been awakened from a nap.

At the beginning, Agent Jay (Mr. Smith) has still not adjusted to the absence of Kay, his mentor and tormentor. His new partner is a blubbery doofus (Patrick Warburton), who is quickly neuralized to make way for that motor-mouth dog. But the latest alien threat, which takes the seductive shape of Lara Flynn Boyle (whose cold-blooded charm is augmented by scaly reptilian appurtenances, including an extendable green tongue), can be handled only with Kay's help. He is tracked down at a Cape Cod post office and hastily deneuralized by the buck-toothed alien played by Mr. Shalhoub. Jay, meanwhile, develops a crush on a civilian (Rosario Dawson), who, in violation of agency protocol, he neglects to neuralize.

There is much more, of course. Johnny Knoxville, the feral host of MTV's "Jackass," is on hand, with an extra head, as Ms. Boyle's repellent sidekick. The two of them are at the forefront of an interplanetary conspiracy that obscurely threatens all life on Earth and that also involves a distant planet's light source. None of the intricacies of the plot are terribly difficult to figure out, or all that important.

The movie really belongs to Mr. Baker, whose witty prosthetic creations crowd the screen in an impressive, exhausting display of inventiveness. A gaggle of swinging Rat-Pack-inspired hematodes called the Worm Guys pretty much steal the picture, and are likely to reap, for a time, the benefits of stardom — late-night talk-show appearances, product endorsements and relentless overexposure — until the next sequel ("Austin Powers in Goldmember"? "Stuart Little 2"? "Return of the Battleship Potemkin"?) comes along to send them, rich and happy, into oblivion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Men in Black II would be a thoroughly entertaining affair if it wasn't for one thing: the plot. The annoying and pointless storyline is a constant irritant because it diverts our attention from the real reason to see this movie - theMen in Black II would be a thoroughly entertaining affair if it wasn't for one thing: the plot. The annoying and pointless storyline is a constant irritant because it diverts our attention from the real reason to see this movie - the easygoing chemistry between actors Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith. These two slide so smoothly into their odd couple, buddy roles that an enjoyable motion picture could be made by having them sit next to each other and trade quips. Unfortunately, Men in Black II decides to surround these characters with a narrative that is so limp and idiotic that it can't even stand up when judged by the standards of comedies, let alone those of science fiction adventures.

Aside from the Jones/Smith camaraderie, one could easily argue that Men in Black II's most prominent asset is its brevity. This movie clocks in at 80 minutes (!) - a laudable trait in an era when films tend to be bloated and overlong. Then again, the subject matter of Men in Black II is so anemic than it can't effectively sustain even its skinny running length, so, unlike its crisp predecessor, it feels protracted. That's a sure sign that director Barry Sonnenfeld didn't have much to work with.

One of the film's supposed selling points is its special effects. However, the CGI work - as has too often become the case in recent years - calls attention to itself. The chief monster, played in human form by Lara Flynn Boyle, is as obviously a special effect as any creature to come along in the last five-or-so years. The rest of the aliens look like Star Wars rejects. These kinds of visual effects were a lot more impressive in 1997, when the original Men in Black arrived in multiplexes. Back then, CGI wasn't as all-pervasive as it is today. Then, its use seemed creative. Now, it seems lazy.

The movie delivers what most people will be expecting it to deliver. Will Smith has his share of very funny moments. Tommy Lee Jones is the consummate straight man. There are aliens everywhere - big, small, furry, not-so-furry... If there could be said to be a "Men in Black" formula, this movie follows it rigorously. That's one of Men in Black II's chief problems - this is not a spontaneous joyride into science fiction comedy; it's a product. It was put together with one thing in mind - bringing the same people together on-screen in the hope that the box-office numbers will be similar.

Viewed as a cartoon come to life, Men in Black II does the job, albeit barely. It's not nearly as fresh or enjoyable as its predecessor, but there are enough high points to keep this from being a complete waste of time. For those who want more of the same - go ahead, throw down your eight bucks. Men in Black II took five years and a number of false starts to reach the screen because of behind-the-scenes difficulties. Hopefully, no matter how much money this movie makes, those troubles will prevent there from being a Men in Black III. This franchise has already run out of steam. Let the Men in Black loosen their ties and rest in peace.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ArkonBladeOct 27, 2010
a poor excuse for a sequel felt like the same plot almost from the first with jones and smith reversing there roles abit. the jokes wernt as good and after seeing it i could care less to ever see it again . a very forgettable film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
btzneb92Aug 13, 2012
Better than the first one, that's for sure.
Better than the first one, that's for sure.
Better than the first one, that's for sure.
Better than the first one, that's for sure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
shamusolarrySep 20, 2011
Definitely not as good as the original, but it is a sequel, so such is expected. Still has some funny moments, and Jones once again delivers amazingly. Boyle, on the other hand, did a very poor job. Some of the fight choreography was justDefinitely not as good as the original, but it is a sequel, so such is expected. Still has some funny moments, and Jones once again delivers amazingly. Boyle, on the other hand, did a very poor job. Some of the fight choreography was just corny when compared to the original. The after effects of the neuralizer are altered a bit. Story isn't as neat as the first. All in all, it's enjoyable, but not lovable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
danielb1982Feb 24, 2015
I often hear the question "can sequels surpass their original?

Well in MIB2, this isn't the case, it is nowhere near as good as the first, which I loved by the way. I was glad that Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones were back, but wasn't
I often hear the question "can sequels surpass their original?

Well in MIB2, this isn't the case, it is nowhere near as good as the first, which I loved by the way.

I was glad that Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones were back, but wasn't completely convinced by Laura Flynn Boyle.

Was disappointed to see that Linda Fiorentino was missing from the cast, as I felt she added some much needed glamour to the first film.

Here's hoping they improve for MIB 3.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emiliomiceli31Aug 6, 2015
hombres de negro II es buena pero ha perdido al emocion de la primera la lucha es muy corta es aburrida contra la mujer extaterreste que parecia que moria y no y asi
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gvazdasMay 26, 2012
Hey guys, good job on rating the game with your only point being stupid upvoters.
The movie is great, while not as great as the first one still delivers and is very watchable.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
53bload53May 16, 2012
man, you can make James bond, mission impossible and tons of secret agents films but this is the most original thing I've ever seen, maybe not as good as the original but still pretty good film for me
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
TaxpayerJul 6, 2002
A movie with so much wasted potential is not just bad, but sad. The original's dry humor and sheer cleverness are absolutely gone, and the new dialogue is amazingly stale (so stale that Will Smith's character says "I'm going A movie with so much wasted potential is not just bad, but sad. The original's dry humor and sheer cleverness are absolutely gone, and the new dialogue is amazingly stale (so stale that Will Smith's character says "I'm going to lay the smackdown on your candy ass" in one scene). I truly liked MIB 1, but this movie overwhelms you with the sense that it's just an attempt to cash in. Why else would there be a Sprint Store prominently displayed in MIB headquarters? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
D.D.Jul 3, 2002
They were too busy striking merchandising deals to write a decent script. It moves at too fast a pace (barely 90 minutes) and glossed over Linda Fiorentinos' absence ("she missed the morgue...") come on! Had potential, cranked up greatThey were too busy striking merchandising deals to write a decent script. It moves at too fast a pace (barely 90 minutes) and glossed over Linda Fiorentinos' absence ("she missed the morgue...") come on! Had potential, cranked up great with Warburtons' performance; fizzled out fast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SusanS.Jul 20, 2002
A watered-down of the original. I enjoyed the relationship between Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones from the first one, and here, although still funny, I felt like I was watching two men acting in a movie because they had nothing better to do. A watered-down of the original. I enjoyed the relationship between Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones from the first one, and here, although still funny, I felt like I was watching two men acting in a movie because they had nothing better to do. The script was hackneyed, some of the scenes were unconnected, and it was over way too fast and simply. One could tell that they made it because the first one was a hit and this one could make some bucks, but they forgot that it shouldn't just be an extension from the first--it needs its own legs to stand on. It is fun to watch, and the two leads definitely have some great chemistry. If the you need a break, take the kids, but don't go to this movie looking for terrific entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobertH.Jul 4, 2002
Where to begin? I was eagerly looking forward to MIB II hoping that it would recapture the fun and spirit of the original. Instead, I found all the surprise of anticpating a thirst quenching soda on a hot summers day only to find that the Where to begin? I was eagerly looking forward to MIB II hoping that it would recapture the fun and spirit of the original. Instead, I found all the surprise of anticpating a thirst quenching soda on a hot summers day only to find that the fizz was gone and the soda was totally flat. I did learn that Will Smith without Tommy Lee Jones cannot carry his jock. Smith, whom I love as an actor, was hopelessly lost until Jones arrived midway through this abreviated drek. The acting, the script, and the directing were all dismal. The special effects were teriffic. Where did it all go wrong? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakeM.Jul 4, 2002
Sweet! The only problem is its too short, i would love to see more of this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlesM.Jul 7, 2002
Better than the critics give it credit for being. The talking dog, Frank, is a hoot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveC.Jul 7, 2002
Although short, a wildly entertaining ride. The only other movie I remember laughing so hard at was the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JessicaP.Jul 8, 2002
And I thought this show was good. It's just like a repeat of the first one, but worse. Or do I just think aliens are a stupid idea to make into a movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
P.ZawaAug 2, 2002
Just plain boring. And not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JFKarAug 4, 2002
It had something old, not much new, a lot that was borrowed, and stank - PU! It was such a disappointment to us and our kids, we all went home and watched the video of the first MiB movie! When you do that, you really notice the contrast It had something old, not much new, a lot that was borrowed, and stank - PU! It was such a disappointment to us and our kids, we all went home and watched the video of the first MiB movie! When you do that, you really notice the contrast between the two! Frank (the pug) funny -- the first couple of times. After that he suffered badly from over-exposure and you just wanted to kick him. The worms are cool, though. They should star in MiB 3 - and replace the rest of the cast with new characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveD.Dec 6, 2002
It's not really bad, just really bland. While I never cringed, I think I chuckled once. This is the worst kind of movie because at least if it would have been outrageously bad it would have been fun to mock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichardDec 9, 2002
Starts off really well but runs out of steam in its last half hour, with the antics reeking of desperation after a while. Tommy Lee Jones, however, is equally good in the crap parts and the fun parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KenL.Jul 17, 2002
Ug. What a disappointment. The movie was a near replica of the first, story-wise. Fortunately, the movie was pretty short, so the length of torture you must sit through is shortened. Johnny Noxville is a terrible man. He just plain sux. BothUg. What a disappointment. The movie was a near replica of the first, story-wise. Fortunately, the movie was pretty short, so the length of torture you must sit through is shortened. Johnny Noxville is a terrible man. He just plain sux. Both of the evil villains in the movie ruined it. I liked the first MiB, but this one.....this just sucked balls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeH.Jul 22, 2002
An unoriginal movie which was puked from the depths of pop culture hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jul 22, 2002
They take too long to neuralize K. Lara Flynn Boyle has a lot of arms. So what. And did the dog die during the middle of production? He sort of disappears. I liked that dog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MatthewS.Jul 4, 2002
Thin, airy sequel that lacks the freshness and impact of the original--all of which would be fine if the movie could still deliver the same laughs and entertainment of the first. The problem is--it doesn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonathanD.Jul 6, 2002
What an incredible disappointment. The original MIB was a great movie, but this one is lacking the humor and atmosphere of the first. You'll laugh occasionally, but I really can't find anything else besides the effects that would What an incredible disappointment. The original MIB was a great movie, but this one is lacking the humor and atmosphere of the first. You'll laugh occasionally, but I really can't find anything else besides the effects that would make this worth seeing. Men in Black, indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AGAug 24, 2002
If you like "MIB" and want to see "MIB2". Just stay home and watch the first one. This is all you'll be missing... A second-rate script where characters disappear half way through the movie, Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones going through If you like "MIB" and want to see "MIB2". Just stay home and watch the first one. This is all you'll be missing... A second-rate script where characters disappear half way through the movie, Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones going through the motions and never reallly getting back into thier parts and depression that this movie was even made. They say they'll be making a "MIB3", I personally can't wait...well that's hoping that they'll learn from thier mistakes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AppleH.Sep 10, 2002
Loved the original. Tommy, Will dudes if you make a movie just to pick up a paycheck it shows. This MIB is a dud. The dudes just went through the motions. Boring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
B.S.Jan 15, 2003
Way to crap up the movie jay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Feb 3, 2006
This movie is mostly recycled MIB, with new parts that waver between bad and good. Frank and the worms score some moments, though, as well as some other aliens. Overall, though, there are better choices in this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveS.Jan 11, 2007
This is probably the worst sequel ever made - bar none. A zero is fair due to the moronic upvoters.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
AlanGJun 17, 2010
Although it's not as good as 1, it's still cool.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeJul 12, 2002
An educational experience and it showed us wat the government is really up to and canser is caused by the flashy thing!!!!! a very good documentary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RyanT.Jul 25, 2002
This film is basically a second rate version of the first MIB at best. The movie has dumb humor and a horrible storyline. I don't know if I am actually a competent person to review the movie because I started to daydream after about This film is basically a second rate version of the first MIB at best. The movie has dumb humor and a horrible storyline. I don't know if I am actually a competent person to review the movie because I started to daydream after about midway through. The movie is just a cash in and by far nowhere as good as the orginal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
M.H.K.Jul 25, 2002
I couldn't see any improvement comparing with the previous MIB. It looks like they tried very hard to fill the 2hours time. I'm VERY disappointed with this sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatC.Dec 18, 2003
Once in a while a movie comes along that, as a sequel, is both enjoyable and enhances the memory of viewing the original hit. This is not that movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewM.May 26, 2004
It's witty, entertaining and energetic...but not as witty, entertaining and energetic as the original...what a surprise! The dog-doing-Gloria-Gaynor was hilarious though. 'Nuff said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GilbertNov 22, 2002
Well...it's not actively bad, but it's not actively good either. It's just active. But hey, "2" movies usually aren't that great (Die Hard 2, Back To The Future Part II, Lethal Weapon 2, Freddy Got Fingered 2...kidding) Well...it's not actively bad, but it's not actively good either. It's just active. But hey, "2" movies usually aren't that great (Die Hard 2, Back To The Future Part II, Lethal Weapon 2, Freddy Got Fingered 2...kidding) because the "2" movie is the one they make to cash in. Then, when they realise it wasn't very good, they make a sequel that's better (Die Hard With A Vengeance, Back To The Future Part III, Lethal Weapon 3), since, because the "2" wasn't so good, they'll need to put a little more effort to cash-in this time. MiB III ought to rock bells. Trust me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Nov 27, 2002
To tell you the truth, the first one grossed me out (I can't stand cockroaches), but this one (though the plot was weak) kept me more entertained and I felt it was much funnier. The nice thing was that they put more of Frank and the To tell you the truth, the first one grossed me out (I can't stand cockroaches), but this one (though the plot was weak) kept me more entertained and I felt it was much funnier. The nice thing was that they put more of Frank and the Space Worms (both of them are my favorite characters) in it. But I will admit, there were some dissapointments for me. I was hoping to see the tight relationship between Mr.Smith and Mr.Jones, that the first one had, but it didn't seem like it had that. They should've made this movie longer, but overall I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful