User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 449 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 449

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into their parts very well & have some strong onscreen chemistry. But the bonus here is Josh Brolin also has strong oncreen chemistry with Will Smith. Boris is the villain and let me just say he is one of the more memorable in many years & easily the most menacing MIB villain to date. Seriously creepy voice & makeup FX. Barry Sonnenfeld movies usually either work or sink. Happily MIB3 works very well especially considering the time travel plotline could easily have become tiresome instead it serves the story very well & there are some genuine surprises/twists regarding the characters & how they become who they are. There is quite an emotional climax to the movie which made me feel close to tears. For a modern big budget blockbuster (this does not have wall to wall VFX either just a few big set pieces) its quite some feat to make a jaded moviegoer like me feel something. I am very happy to report MIB3 does that in an unforced genuine way you will never see it coming either. For such a complex time travelling storyline the filmakers have told it very well in a straightforward fashion which anyone can follow. The 1969 period is very well handled & overall this movie just works & does not feel forced/artificial like most recent big budget movies. Here they go back to the past but it connect the characters in unique way. If you liked MIB1 this is almost as good which is quite frankly an amazing achievement in 2012. I cannot wait to see this again & again & buy the Bluray in 4 months please Sony!! Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    10
    fantastic movie big steep up from its disappointing sequel. almost as better as the 1st one. action packed, funny enemies and lots of soft and deep moments
  3. May 25, 2012
    9
    So a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thats surprising considering that Men in Black II was a large dissappointment for some.
  4. sLm
    May 26, 2012
    10
    Time-travelling, hilarious scenes, and an amazingly well connected backstory with the present, near the end of the film. What else? 10.
  5. May 25, 2012
    10
    It was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although I was a bit surprised that there wasnt a graffiti monster in the movie like the ad said....
  6. May 25, 2012
    10
    This film nailed it! After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out. I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that: -There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters -Will smith feels like MIB 1 even after becoming senior (unlike MIB2) -You don`t have to worry about Josh Brolin as young K. He got it better than the best of expectations
    -You will get that feeling again from the first MIB... of how small everything gigantic that is happening in the screen really is compared to a larger even incomprehensible universe

    Go see it!
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    9
    This installment was definetly better than the first two and better jokes that made me laugh. But there were some inappropriate parts in there so use caution when taking your children under thirteen
  8. May 31, 2012
    9
    I must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forget it. Josh Brolin had Tommy Lee Jones down pat to his every mannerism. I do hope they do this again as it is just a wonderful popcorn movie. If you can take it for what it is you will have a great time. Expand
  9. May 26, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered one or two plot holes (one being at the near end of the movie), but it didn't matter much. Go watch it.
  10. May 26, 2012
    10
    best sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'm pretty sure that the director couldn't make a better sequel for this saga, good job!
  11. May 26, 2012
    10
    Great entertainment, on a par with the original. Highly recommended. Josh Brolin performance is particularly memorable. Time travelling narrative is a winner
  12. May 30, 2012
    10
    It's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of his partner (well-played by Josh Brolin) and proceeds to alter the future. Enough of plot. What we care about is cool creatures, neat effects and funny stuff. This one has plenty of it all! Some of the CG look cheesy, but there's much to enjoy, plus a touching story surprise. The most fun at the movies this summer (so far). Expand
  13. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This movie actually had MUCH more dimension than I thought it would! It was well edited, and the dialogue was quite good! It was a far better movie and much more intelligent than Prometheus. Heh..heh.
  14. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Men In Black 3 had it all comedy, action,and great monsters. To me this was one of the best movies this year. I recommend this to all ages, and parents can take there kids to go see it.
  15. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    AWESOME FILM. This film had EVERYTHING! Action, humor, gadgets and the most important thing of all.....ALIENS! Here's the plot, a ruthless beast, borris the animal escapes from a prison on the moon, he gets back to earth to KILL agent K.....But not in the present day. Excellent movie, 9 out a 10
  16. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    The formula for trilogies is simple, the first one is amazing, the second one is terrible, and the third one is pretty good. Almost all trilogies seem to follow this format, but Men In Black has always played by a different set of rules and as it turns out, the third film was far and away the best of the trilogy. In this installment of MIB, the notorious Boris The Animals escapes from his prison on the Moon. This is significant, because putting Boris away is what made Agent K's career and cost Boris an arm. Boris, determined to change things, goes back in the past to kill K. Once he does, everything descends into chaos and the Earth is at risk, so Agent J, goes back in time to stop him. Once in 1969, J enters into a strange new world where he sees that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Josh Brolin plays the younger K and is absolutely terrific, it was amazing and hysterical how he captures and mimics every single one of Tommy Lee Jones mannerisms to a tee. Will Smith is his usual self, with his quick one liners and terrific actions scenes, he hasn't missed a beat, even all these years later. For as good as the acting in this film was, the story is even better. Watching this film it's hard to believe the story is based on a comic book, because the writing really was tremendous. They took a step back and show what MIB and it's agents were like 40 years ago, at the very beginning and it was really interesting to see. Men In Black 3 is far and away the best of the trilogy and one of Will Smith's best films in years. Science Fiction is usual a narrow genre, that isn't for everyone, but this film does have something for everyone and for that it gets the label of a can't miss movie. Expand
  17. May 27, 2012
    9
    An incredible movie. To be honest, I was expecting it to be total crap but it really surprised me. The 3D effects were awesome. It was even better than the first two
  18. May 28, 2012
    10
    It is a great Movie! I'm a Fan and the movie was at the level of the other two movies. Good humor, crazy plots, crazy acting, strange devices, the "frozen" faces appeared again. There is quite an emotional climax in the movie, some people rage about it because they said it is very weak and random but... Come to think... What do you know of K & J past life? Well, now you will know something... 10/10 Because I saw in the theater what i was expecting to see and It worth the money i paid for it Collapse
  19. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Making a 10 year gap between the 2 movie was a big risk to take, but I'm glad to announce that Men in Black 3 was a great movie. Josh Brolin (Young K) was did soo well in this movie playing as Agent K, he sounds almost identical to Tommy Lee Jones (great actor). Jemaine Clement (Boris the Animal) played a Baddie in this movie and did a great job at it too. The movies plot was a tough one to pull off especially in a 1 hour and 47 minute film length, but it was executed beautifully because of it's melodramatic twists through out the movie. You HAVE to listen carefully though because this one of the three is not just about saving the world, it also have a deep and meaningful separate story with in it as well.

    Men in Black 3 is not that violent or rude but is recommended for older audiences because younger kids wouldn't understand it's difficult designed plot. Overall Men in Black 3 was a great movie and definitely a must see!

    8/10
    Expand
  20. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    who doesn't like will smith? this movie was so cool it literally ROCKED! i saw it in 3D, man oh man was it good! it was so cool, i stole the 3d glasses from the theatre so i could look like agent k. damn, i didn't even get popcorn and i was content!
  21. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Esta pelicula es digna de llamarse Hombre de Negro 2, esta pudo ser la secuela perfecta de la primera. Tiene un buen desarrollo de principio a fin, una lastima que Tommy no haya salido tanto en la pelicula, pero bien podemos regozigarnos con su presencia, y Will Smith siempre me ha parecido extraño que en las peliculas de MIB lo veo mas joven que en otras como I Robot y Im Leyend, quizas sea por su traje negro. En fin, realmente disfrutaras mucho mas esta pelicula que la segunda parte, yo le doy un bien merecido 10. Expand
  22. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I have to first say that I am a big fan of the 3 principal actors and especially of Barry Sonnenfeld. That said, if it's a bad movie it's a bad movie regardless of who acts or directs. This, however, is a really good movie. It felt to me to have greater emotional depth than its predecessors. The pace was quick. The storytelling concise. The special effects not overwrought. Funny. The acting - especially Josh Brolin - excellent. Just a thoroughly entertaining "summer blockbuster". Expand
  23. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic, this is a must-watch for all the MIB and comedy fans in general.
    As a person who enjoyed the first 2 movies, I must say this one doesn't disappoint. The jokes are mostly funny, Will Smith is awesome as usual and Josh Brolin got into the role of young K with ease. There are some plotholes and dumb moments though, but they don't really affect the overall impression, it
    was great to go back to the heroes of my childhood. The only sad thing is the look of Tommy Lee Johnson, the guy looks damn old, reminding how much time has passed since the sequel. Expand
  24. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    This movie is fairly similar to the other two movies. If you are a fan of the first two (and the style of them), then you would probably enjoy this movie.
  25. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Hello there!I really liked the movie - it was funny interesting and in some moments i couldnt take my eyes of the screen! Very good ending and i hope there will be MIB4!The only thing missing - some 'Hollywood' things make the story a bit stupid and not realistic in some ways - but it is ok.
  26. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    I believe that this is a very good, versatile, movie. The plot was slightly systematic, and I am very biased towards this series as it has been so good to me. However, trying to keep a level head I would highly recommend this movie to someone, and think that it is one of the better movies that has come out recently.
  27. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Perfect MIB movie! The story was terrific and heartfelt. The storyline of MIB3 corresponded great with the first MIB. Outstanding movie, not much more anyone can say.
  28. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    This fantastic movie seems to be harshly scored at an average 7. For fans to the series this movie will mean a lot to you and the ending will bring you to tears. On another note, Will smiths return was not a let down. If you've seen the previous movies this is a must watch, if you haven't, give it a go. I'm sure you'd still enjoy it.
  29. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    I was completely surprised that the critics would have been so negative about this movie. It is by far the best movie in the series and one of the better sequels of all time. The story is a great example of classic science fiction writing. The characters of K and J were flushed out from plucky comedic characters to full 3-dimensional people.

    The story was fun, exciting, and had a good
    share of plot twists. You won't guess how it will end until shortly from the end. Some plots were easily predicted, but they were still very fun to see unfold.

    I think the big issue with this movie is that it steers away from a constant joke reel about aliens, and turns into a more soul searching story that leaves you both laughing and crying.

    So far, best movie I've seen this year.
    Expand
  30. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    I like it but it has a lot of information.It has a funny part.It is so funny.It has a lot of vertigo the time-jump.Agent J is so funny.OK,ha ha ha ha ha!
  31. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    one of the best movies of all time. It was funny interesting and really really good It's one of my favorite movies of all times and I like it very much
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    May 29, 2012
    70
    Sonnenfeld's best movies function like elaborate Rube Goldberg contraptions, with visual gags popping out on a precise calibration of gears and springs, and Cohen's script, however derivative, is a stable apparatus.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 25, 2012
    50
    What we're left with is a thoroughly mediocre, shrug-generating disappointment -- and one that certainly doesn't feel like it should have cost more than a third of a billion dollars to make and market.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 25, 2012
    38
    This third outing climaxes with a dark and melodramatic twist that, while adding a layer of nuance and back story that the previous two films never had, also feels wildly out of sync with its audience's expectations.