Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 537 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
362
Mixed:
138
Negative:
37
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
HappymonkJul 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Men in Black III is the best film I have seen this year (in the cinemas), it's writing seems slightly sloppy and out of date but it doesn't harm the movie, in fact it may make it more enjoyable (it's not Shakespeare is it?). The special effects are very good, which makes me wish I watched the film in 3D. The acting by all involved is top-notch, especially that of Josh Brolin as a "Young K": Who's onscreen chemistry with Will Smith is fantastic to watch. The antagonist this time is more enjoyable and memorable than that of either the first or (particularly) the second film, maybe helped by Jermaine Clement, who always adds some originality and fun to films (when you see his USP, you might even cringe a little). The ending of the film is sweet, although it is a little confusing. It may not be the first film (which I haven't seen in ages) but it is certainly very good. Bring on Men in Black 4! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaMay 30, 2012
A definite improvement over the second film, Men In Black 3 is breezy fun, especially when they went back to the past. While you are waiting for PROMETHEUS, this is a good film to watch. Don't expect something deep though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
NoCellphonesAug 1, 2012
The revival of the Men In Black series is definitely a good closing argument. Agent J(Will Smith) and Agent K(Tommy Lee Jones) don the iconic black suits for a time travelling and unravelling adventure. It presents action from the gate asThe revival of the Men In Black series is definitely a good closing argument. Agent J(Will Smith) and Agent K(Tommy Lee Jones) don the iconic black suits for a time travelling and unravelling adventure. It presents action from the gate as Boris the Animal(Jermaine Clement) escapes from a prison on the moon. The film cost $215 million total, (no doubt all spent on keeping Jones young enough to stand next to age defying Smith) landing it spot number 11 on the list of most expensive films of all time. But the experience is worth the bill.
Without spoiling, Agent J has to go back in time to save the world and Agent K. And while Tommy
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
manapourimanMay 25, 2012
fantastic movie big steep up from its disappointing sequel. almost as better as the 1st one. action packed, funny enemies and lots of soft and deep moments
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
PC-Gamer-FanMay 25, 2012
Fantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into theirFantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into their parts very well & have some strong onscreen chemistry. But the bonus here is Josh Brolin also has strong oncreen chemistry with Will Smith. Boris is the villain and let me just say he is one of the more memorable in many years & easily the most menacing MIB villain to date. Seriously creepy voice & makeup FX. Barry Sonnenfeld movies usually either work or sink. Happily MIB3 works very well especially considering the time travel plotline could easily have become tiresome instead it serves the story very well & there are some genuine surprises/twists regarding the characters & how they become who they are. There is quite an emotional climax to the movie which made me feel close to tears. For a modern big budget blockbuster (this does not have wall to wall VFX either just a few big set pieces) its quite some feat to make a jaded moviegoer like me feel something. I am very happy to report MIB3 does that in an unforced genuine way you will never see it coming either. For such a complex time travelling storyline the filmakers have told it very well in a straightforward fashion which anyone can follow. The 1969 period is very well handled & overall this movie just works & does not feel forced/artificial like most recent big budget movies. Here they go back to the past but it connect the characters in unique way. If you liked MIB1 this is almost as good which is quite frankly an amazing achievement in 2012. I cannot wait to see this again & again & buy the Bluray in 4 months please Sony!! Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeMay 26, 2012
Extremely good movie. Awesome plot, good action, great acting, etc. Basically everything you want in a movie and it's Men In Black. Just as good as the first one and much better than the second. Definitely see this movie if you want a good time.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
So a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thatsSo a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thats surprising considering that Men in Black II was a large dissappointment for some. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
KirjakukkaMay 25, 2012
Good movie. Just like the rest of the MIBs. Loved the "young" Tommy Lee Jones and liked all the jokes. Tommy Lee Jones himself looked really old tho', Will Smith made some funny jokes about it in the movie too. Good movie nevertheless.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MalteseMay 25, 2012
MIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I justMIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I just checked my watch once during the movie. And I was even moved by the last part of the movie . Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
sLmMay 26, 2012
Time-travelling, hilarious scenes, and an amazingly well connected backstory with the present, near the end of the film. What else? 10.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
conboydudeMay 25, 2012
This personally strongly ended the trilogy. I enjoyed this very much, going to it I had low expectations that it would provide a strong end. The ending to this film makes my top ten I love the time travel, multiple futures, and unexpectedThis personally strongly ended the trilogy. I enjoyed this very much, going to it I had low expectations that it would provide a strong end. The ending to this film makes my top ten I love the time travel, multiple futures, and unexpected crossing of paths makes me just look up at the sky and wonder how the hell? The acting was good some unneeded awkward moments with weird noises and cringe worthy jokes. But overall a fair ending to the series as so we think..... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
WalterGiraoMay 25, 2012
This film nailed it!

After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out. I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that: -There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters -Will smith
This film nailed it!

After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out.

I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that:
-There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters
-Will smith feels like MIB 1 even after becoming senior (unlike MIB2)
-You don`t have to worry about Josh Brolin as young K. He got it better than the best of expectations
-You will get that feeling again from the first MIB... of how small everything gigantic that is happening in the screen really is compared to a larger even incomprehensible universe

Go see it!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
WesfanMay 28, 2012
This installment was definetly better than the first two and better jokes that made me laugh. But there were some inappropriate parts in there so use caution when taking your children under thirteen
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GenuineOpinionMay 25, 2012
It was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although IIt was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although I was a bit surprised that there wasnt a graffiti monster in the movie like the ad said.... Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
53bload53May 26, 2012
best sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'mbest sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'm pretty sure that the director couldn't make a better sequel for this saga, good job! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DekkoMay 26, 2012
Great entertainment, on a par with the original. Highly recommended. Josh Brolin performance is particularly memorable. Time travelling narrative is a winner
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
fantasyMay 31, 2012
I must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forgetI must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forget it. Josh Brolin had Tommy Lee Jones down pat to his every mannerism. I do hope they do this again as it is just a wonderful popcorn movie. If you can take it for what it is you will have a great time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
gvazdasMay 26, 2012
This movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered oneThis movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered one or two plot holes (one being at the near end of the movie), but it didn't matter much. Go watch it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMay 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember the last two Men In Black movies. The first is an amazing classic, but the second is very regular, now appear Men In Black III a movie that intent repair the problems that have the second movie, and I wanna say, Men In Black III do better things than the last movie, but have some problems, and the most biggest problem is intent put in the movie some teen idols, and this things do that the movie are for the people that don't meet the other two movies. The rest is great. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryMay 30, 2012
It's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of hisIt's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of his partner (well-played by Josh Brolin) and proceeds to alter the future. Enough of plot. What we care about is cool creatures, neat effects and funny stuff. This one has plenty of it all! Some of the CG look cheesy, but there's much to enjoy, plus a touching story surprise. The most fun at the movies this summer (so far). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TastyJamProjectMay 30, 2012
After the abortion that was Men In Black II, and the concerning re-writes and budget mishaps with it's follow-up, MIB III was a great surprise. At almost two hours, it runs at a brisk pace, Rick Baker's aliens deserve an Oscar and the dynamicAfter the abortion that was Men In Black II, and the concerning re-writes and budget mishaps with it's follow-up, MIB III was a great surprise. At almost two hours, it runs at a brisk pace, Rick Baker's aliens deserve an Oscar and the dynamic between J and K is stronger than ever. This is a thoroughly enjoyable popcorn flick that is a little more special than your average summer fare. A worthy follow up to the first film, and Brolin's performance is uncanny. I don't know if he should win, but he sure as hell deserves an nomination for his transformation into Tommy Lee Jones. Just a warning - there is a surprising amount of cold blooded murder by the grotesque villain, so I wouldn't take any young kids to see this, as it's definitely the most violent of all the films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mrxdaveJun 8, 2012
This movie actually had MUCH more dimension than I thought it would! It was well edited, and the dialogue was quite good! It was a far better movie and much more intelligent than Prometheus. Heh..heh.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
josephbalentineJun 12, 2012
Men In Black 3 had it all comedy, action,and great monsters. To me this was one of the best movies this year. I recommend this to all ages, and parents can take there kids to go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
dryyoshi7Jun 5, 2012
AWESOME FILM. This film had EVERYTHING! Action, humor, gadgets and the most important thing of all.....ALIENS! Here's the plot, a ruthless beast, borris the animal escapes from a prison on the moon, he gets back to earth to KILL agentAWESOME FILM. This film had EVERYTHING! Action, humor, gadgets and the most important thing of all.....ALIENS! Here's the plot, a ruthless beast, borris the animal escapes from a prison on the moon, he gets back to earth to KILL agent K.....But not in the present day. Excellent movie, 9 out a 10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Santi_RHCPMay 27, 2012
An incredible movie. To be honest, I was expecting it to be total crap but it really surprised me. The 3D effects were awesome. It was even better than the first two
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jack2059May 30, 2012
Probably not quite as good as 1, but times have changed, this is a different kind of film, one with a bit more substance to the story and some emotion......I was worried during the first 20 or so minutes, there were little glimmers of itProbably not quite as good as 1, but times have changed, this is a different kind of film, one with a bit more substance to the story and some emotion......I was worried during the first 20 or so minutes, there were little glimmers of it being a kids film, silly things that werent needed. But the back 2 thirds of the film were of a much higher level, Brolin plays an outstanding Agent K, there is good banter with Will Smith (although he could of been funnier). A good funny third member is added later along with a decent villain.... Not entirely sure why they chose to pay Nicole Scherzinger, as she plays a 2 minute role in the entire film. Alice Eve and Emma Thompson werent around much either.... The Story is decent, the final 10 minutes very good with an emotional ending. Certainly worth seeing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BattleRoyaleMay 28, 2012
It is a great Movie! I'm a Fan and the movie was at the level of the other two movies. Good humor, crazy plots, crazy acting, strange devices, the "frozen" faces appeared again. There is quite an emotional climax in the movie, some peopleIt is a great Movie! I'm a Fan and the movie was at the level of the other two movies. Good humor, crazy plots, crazy acting, strange devices, the "frozen" faces appeared again. There is quite an emotional climax in the movie, some people rage about it because they said it is very weak and random but... Come to think... What do you know of K & J past life? Well, now you will know something... 10/10 Because I saw in the theater what i was expecting to see and It worth the money i paid for it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NoNamerGamerJun 17, 2012
Making a 10 year gap between the 2 movie was a big risk to take, but I'm glad to announce that Men in Black 3 was a great movie. Josh Brolin (Young K) was did soo well in this movie playing as Agent K, he sounds almost identical to Tommy LeeMaking a 10 year gap between the 2 movie was a big risk to take, but I'm glad to announce that Men in Black 3 was a great movie. Josh Brolin (Young K) was did soo well in this movie playing as Agent K, he sounds almost identical to Tommy Lee Jones (great actor). Jemaine Clement (Boris the Animal) played a Baddie in this movie and did a great job at it too. The movies plot was a tough one to pull off especially in a 1 hour and 47 minute film length, but it was executed beautifully because of it's melodramatic twists through out the movie. You HAVE to listen carefully though because this one of the three is not just about saving the world, it also have a deep and meaningful separate story with in it as well.

Men in Black 3 is not that violent or rude but is recommended for older audiences because younger kids wouldn't understand it's difficult designed plot. Overall Men in Black 3 was a great movie and definitely a must see!

8/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
thewormskullJun 2, 2012
who doesn't like will smith? this movie was so cool it literally ROCKED! i saw it in 3D, man oh man was it good! it was so cool, i stole the 3d glasses from the theatre so i could look like agent k. damn, i didn't even get popcorn and i was content!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Sgt_MorfoKillerJun 5, 2012
Esta pelicula es digna de llamarse Hombre de Negro 2, esta pudo ser la secuela perfecta de la primera. Tiene un buen desarrollo de principio a fin, una lastima que Tommy no haya salido tanto en la pelicula, pero bien podemos regozigarnos conEsta pelicula es digna de llamarse Hombre de Negro 2, esta pudo ser la secuela perfecta de la primera. Tiene un buen desarrollo de principio a fin, una lastima que Tommy no haya salido tanto en la pelicula, pero bien podemos regozigarnos con su presencia, y Will Smith siempre me ha parecido extraño que en las peliculas de MIB lo veo mas joven que en otras como I Robot y Im Leyend, quizas sea por su traje negro. En fin, realmente disfrutaras mucho mas esta pelicula que la segunda parte, yo le doy un bien merecido 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews