User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 467

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into their parts very well & have some strong onscreen chemistry. But the bonus here is Josh Brolin also has strong oncreen chemistry with Will Smith. Boris is the villain and let me just say he is one of the more memorable in many years & easily the most menacing MIB villain to date. Seriously creepy voice & makeup FX. Barry Sonnenfeld movies usually either work or sink. Happily MIB3 works very well especially considering the time travel plotline could easily have become tiresome instead it serves the story very well & there are some genuine surprises/twists regarding the characters & how they become who they are. There is quite an emotional climax to the movie which made me feel close to tears. For a modern big budget blockbuster (this does not have wall to wall VFX either just a few big set pieces) its quite some feat to make a jaded moviegoer like me feel something. I am very happy to report MIB3 does that in an unforced genuine way you will never see it coming either. For such a complex time travelling storyline the filmakers have told it very well in a straightforward fashion which anyone can follow. The 1969 period is very well handled & overall this movie just works & does not feel forced/artificial like most recent big budget movies. Here they go back to the past but it connect the characters in unique way. If you liked MIB1 this is almost as good which is quite frankly an amazing achievement in 2012. I cannot wait to see this again & again & buy the Bluray in 4 months please Sony!! Expand
  2. May 26, 2012
    8
    Extremely good movie. Awesome plot, good action, great acting, etc. Basically everything you want in a movie and it's Men In Black. Just as good as the first one and much better than the second. Definitely see this movie if you want a good time.
  3. May 25, 2012
    10
    fantastic movie big steep up from its disappointing sequel. almost as better as the 1st one. action packed, funny enemies and lots of soft and deep moments
  4. May 25, 2012
    9
    So a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thats surprising considering that Men in Black II was a large dissappointment for some.
  5. May 26, 2012
    5
    It was just ok. The best part of the movie was Josh Brolin as a young K, and he is a perfect fit for the role. The banter between him and J is great. But there are a lot of problems, most notably the end showdown which is very anticlimactic. There were also just to many Will Smith moments of him making stupid faces or something like that. There was a great Bill Hader cameo as Andy Warhol and Emma Thompson was pretty good as Agent O., but I was not a huge fan of Jemaine Clement as Boris the Animal (the bad guy). Anyways, if you're a fan of the other Men in Black movies, I think you'll like this one. If not, then I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  6. sLm
    May 26, 2012
    10
    Time-travelling, hilarious scenes, and an amazingly well connected backstory with the present, near the end of the film. What else? 10.
  7. May 25, 2012
    10
    It was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although I was a bit surprised that there wasnt a graffiti monster in the movie like the ad said....
  8. May 30, 2012
    3
    Disappointing in almost every respect, bad special effects, bad soundtrack, bad performances, bad history, in short almost everything wrong, perhaps saved by their shared sense of humor that you produced a laugh at least one occasion. otherwise this film follows the rule that if a series is "good", the trilogy is the worst thing you can do.
  9. May 25, 2012
    7
    Good movie. Just like the rest of the MIBs. Loved the "young" Tommy Lee Jones and liked all the jokes. Tommy Lee Jones himself looked really old tho', Will Smith made some funny jokes about it in the movie too. Good movie nevertheless.
  10. May 25, 2012
    3
    Except for the J and K, acting of every other character is a pain to watch. The plot is even more shallow than you would expect for an MIB movie. The ending "secret" which is suppose to be shocking, tear bringing or whatever , is totally bland and feels irrelevant, because the movie has not take time to build the story up to support such plot twist - therefore the audiences would feel minimal emotional involvement toward the climax.

    The action scene and special effect which suppose to be the selling point is nothing noteworthy. The style and theme are suppose to pay homage to the '70 feel, but all they achieve is a superficial and cheesy re-imagining.
    Expand
  11. May 25, 2012
    8
    This personally strongly ended the trilogy. I enjoyed this very much, going to it I had low expectations that it would provide a strong end. The ending to this film makes my top ten I love the time travel, multiple futures, and unexpected crossing of paths makes me just look up at the sky and wonder how the hell? The acting was good some unneeded awkward moments with weird noises and cringe worthy jokes. But overall a fair ending to the series as so we think..... Expand
  12. May 25, 2012
    8
    MIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I just checked my watch once during the movie. And I was even moved by the last part of the movie .
  13. May 25, 2012
    10
    This film nailed it! After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out. I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that: -There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters -Will smith feels like MIB 1 even after becoming senior (unlike MIB2) -You don`t have to worry about Josh Brolin as young K. He got it better than the best of expectations
    -You will get that feeling again from the first MIB... of how small everything gigantic that is happening in the screen really is compared to a larger even incomprehensible universe

    Go see it!
    Expand
  14. May 28, 2012
    9
    This installment was definetly better than the first two and better jokes that made me laugh. But there were some inappropriate parts in there so use caution when taking your children under thirteen
  15. May 31, 2012
    9
    I must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forget it. Josh Brolin had Tommy Lee Jones down pat to his every mannerism. I do hope they do this again as it is just a wonderful popcorn movie. If you can take it for what it is you will have a great time. Expand
  16. May 26, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered one or two plot holes (one being at the near end of the movie), but it didn't matter much. Go watch it.
  17. May 26, 2012
    10
    best sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'm pretty sure that the director couldn't make a better sequel for this saga, good job!
  18. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Men in Black III is the best film I have seen this year (in the cinemas), it's writing seems slightly sloppy and out of date but it doesn't harm the movie, in fact it may make it more enjoyable (it's not Shakespeare is it?). The special effects are very good, which makes me wish I watched the film in 3D. The acting by all involved is top-notch, especially that of Josh Brolin as a "Young K": Who's onscreen chemistry with Will Smith is fantastic to watch. The antagonist this time is more enjoyable and memorable than that of either the first or (particularly) the second film, maybe helped by Jermaine Clement, who always adds some originality and fun to films (when you see his USP, you might even cringe a little). The ending of the film is sweet, although it is a little confusing. It may not be the first film (which I haven't seen in ages) but it is certainly very good. Bring on Men in Black 4! Expand
  19. May 30, 2012
    7
    A definite improvement over the second film, Men In Black 3 is breezy fun, especially when they went back to the past. While you are waiting for PROMETHEUS, this is a good film to watch. Don't expect something deep though.
  20. May 25, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember the last two Men In Black movies. The first is an amazing classic, but the second is very regular, now appear Men In Black III a movie that intent repair the problems that have the second movie, and I wanna say, Men In Black III do better things than the last movie, but have some problems, and the most biggest problem is intent put in the movie some teen idols, and this things do that the movie are for the people that don't meet the other two movies. The rest is great. Expand
  21. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    Sadly a pretty weak movie with nice special effects. James Brolin was brilliant in his role, Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith both dialed in their performances..I just couldnt get into, nor buy into the story. On another note, I didnt realize the world was pining for another MiB movie....
  22. May 26, 2012
    10
    Great entertainment, on a par with the original. Highly recommended. Josh Brolin performance is particularly memorable. Time travelling narrative is a winner
  23. Jun 24, 2012
    2
    There are many things that shouldn't have happened in this world, Nazi Germany, Mai Lai you can now add Men In Black 3 to that list. A film which should have been dumped somewhere in 2004's movie schedule. But instead trumps everyone and comes in 10 year after the last time (Which I quite enjoyed). It's not a good sign that the filmmakers stopped production 1/2 way through because they discovered that this piece of **** doesn't make sense. Jolly Will Smith then steps in to save the day with this god-awful time travel plot. The story has more holes then a sieve. Arrr and it cost so much money, $225million and for what? Will Smiths wage? There is no big time action set pieces and shoddy CGI. And it has the campiest villain since Battlefield Earth. Expand
  24. Aug 1, 2012
    7
    The revival of the Men In Black series is definitely a good closing argument. Agent J(Will Smith) and Agent K(Tommy Lee Jones) don the iconic black suits for a time travelling and unravelling adventure. It presents action from the gate as Boris the Animal(Jermaine Clement) escapes from a prison on the moon. The film cost $215 million total, (no doubt all spent on keeping Jones young enough to stand next to age defying Smith) landing it spot number 11 on the list of most expensive films of all time. But the experience is worth the bill.
    Without spoiling, Agent J has to go back in time to save the world and Agent K. And while Tommy
    Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    A lot better than I expected, the tone was spot on as with the prevoius men in blacks. The creatures interesting, good action and a nice slice of humour!! I cant quite see how they needed "$250 million" dollars to make it though. But I was more than happy to spend my $10 dollars on it!!
  26. May 28, 2012
    6
    It wasn't as bad as they were saying. Like most trilogies, not as good as the first, better than the second. If this is how they wrap things up, they went out on a sweet note. Not a lot of surprises and some weird plot choices (like the very beginning) but it eventually led to an OK ending. Agree with most everybody that Josh Brolin nailed his role.
  27. May 26, 2012
    5
    What made MIB special was the interaction between Agents J and K, along with the special humor their interactions sparked. However, in the first half hour of MIB III, the viewer is so ready for this movie to be over as the chemistry and humor just aren't there. If one can get past the first half hour, though, the true magic is recreated with an incredible portrayal of a "young" K by Josh Brolin. At the same time, the story, which began as a very generic MIB adventure not capturing my interest at all, swerves into an unexpected direction with a very special ending that made the whole movie worthwhile. Will looks too old to play Agent J and has lost his youthful appeal, though I guess we all do. Tommy Lee is overly made up and must have wanted very little to do with this movie because he's hardly in it and hasn't been featured much in the trailers. MIB III has a very different feel than the previous two, but I suppose that is because its original audience is older. I'm not sure viewers could consider it a worthy film, but if one has any love for these characters, you will be pleasantly surprised at where this film ends. Unfortunately, the dialogue is weak, the pacing is almost painful, especially in the first half hour, and, had I not been so interested in the ending, I would heavily question why this film was even made. Expand
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    It’s very well made, very slick and everything we’ve come to expect from an MIB movie. It has been said that Tommy Lee Jones plays the part like he really didn’t want to be there and I can see what they mean; he seems to be just going through the motions in many of his scenes. I thought Josh Brolin did a decent job as the young Agent K and Will Smith played Agent J with his usual panache. I did feel they went for a few too many cheap laughs, but it was good to hear ‘Pictures of Matchstick Men’ by Status Quo in the Andy Warhol party scene. Maybe not as good as the first one; about on a par with the second… Worth a look if you’re a fan of the franchise; otherwise, I’d give it a miss.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (just)

    My score: 6.5/10
    Expand
  29. May 29, 2012
    6
    Fairly satisfying considering the magic and humor from the first film has mostly worn off. Instead of laugh-out-loud moments, you get small chuckles sprinkled throughout. The plot is interesting enough and the characters are quite likable (the insertion of Flight of the Conchords' Jemaine Clement as the primary villain is a nice touch) to help you remember this movie after you've left the theater. It's better than the 2nd film, but not the box office gem that was the original. It's Men In Black with a little serious lying under it's silly surface. For some, it will be enjoyable enough. But there's just no way this 3rd movie can be in the same league as the first. Expand
  30. May 30, 2012
    10
    It's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of his partner (well-played by Josh Brolin) and proceeds to alter the future. Enough of plot. What we care about is cool creatures, neat effects and funny stuff. This one has plenty of it all! Some of the CG look cheesy, but there's much to enjoy, plus a touching story surprise. The most fun at the movies this summer (so far). Expand
  31. May 26, 2012
    7
    My expectations were low, as I did not like the second movie in this franchise, plus as a rule of thumb I do not like time travel movies. I ended up liking this one as much as the first. There was a lot of humor, and the special effects were good. Josh Brolin does a great job of playing the young Tommy Lee Jones, and the chemistry is good. I also liked the bad guy. The movie isn't perfect - there are scenes that you've seen before in other movies that are overdone, but it had a sentimental twist at the end that really worked. Overall I enjoyed it. Expand
  32. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Men in Black is back and ready for more! ... Will Smith carries the movie all the way, as he has in the last two MiB's, and let me tell you.. he didn't lost his touch. Abit less Tommy Lee Jones, mainly replaced by Josh Brolin who does an excellent job in portraying the younger Agent K. ... On the downside for MiB3, The story is abit too simple, barely any new good memorable music, besides the original theme, and some 'jokes' are realy far fetched. Still, if you enjoyed both MiB and MiB2, and you don't mind a simple but funny alien infesting story, ..then go out now... buy some movie tickets and enjoy the return of the men in black! Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    It's nice to see a new MIB movie. It's got a great mix of humor and action. Josh Brolin nails it as young agent K, Will Smith brings his expected excellence, and it's just an all around good movie. It's not the best MIB, the time travel plot is decent, but it takes some familiar and predictable turns. The villain in this movie also isn't the most memorable. Still if you're a fan of the series then you'll enjoy this. Hopefully this is a start of a return for the MIB series. Expand
  34. May 25, 2013
    6
    Men in Black III is a decent movie. It's probably the best of the trilogy, finishing narrowly ahead of the original and totally eclipsing the lackluster sequel. Josh Brolin is great as younger K and is totally convincing. It's still not an essential movie but it's fun popcorn fluff.
  35. May 25, 2012
    5
    This left-for-dead, decade-lasting-hiatus, three-quel goes close to matching the original, and soars highly above its predecessor, offering extraterrestrial blockbuster fun for MIB franchise aficionados and foes alike. It's at times funny, visually aesthetic, and captures Josh Brolin as Young Agent K at the top of his game--or as far as impersonations go--he's jutting out Tommy Lee Jones from every pore of his craggy-mannered self. Such praise, sadly can't be given for anyone else who look the exhaustion experienced from this publicly low-demanded third installment that tries to make up for a subpar script with a loud bark, a frenetic orientation, and disjointed wag; it assumes its blockbuster countenance with discordant effects, shabby gags and dialogue, but given the off-course path of its continuation and demise ten years earlier, 'MIB III' should be considered a triumph and rebound for the series. However, it doesn't necessary present any real justification for another installment either--while this one does offer some comedic value, you won't be needing a Neutralyzer--one's mind will find things far more integral to hold in its occupany. Expand
  36. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    There is something magnetic about Will Smith
  37. May 26, 2012
    6
    Although I watched on 2D, Men In Black 3 should be perfect for 3D and IMAX. It's surprisely fun but the film is boring in some parts. Josh Brolin is impressive as K.
  38. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Josh Brolin is so good in this movie, you can't help but believe he's actually a younger Tommy Lee Jones. I was a little skeptical about a 3rd MIB outing, but it's a great storyline, Will Smith doing what Will Smith does and Josh Brolin. Heck, I'll pay for a stand up version of him doing Tommy Lee Jones again.
  39. May 28, 2012
    7
    I don't know if it's possible to recapture the wild fun of the first MIB - mostly because it was the first - but if you look right here for a moment, ladies and gentlemen... FOOOM! Okay, it's a little hokey, but it's Men in Black III. What did you expect? Fun, but not rocket science despite the fact that there is at least one large rocket. K?
  40. May 30, 2012
    8
    After the abortion that was Men In Black II, and the concerning re-writes and budget mishaps with it's follow-up, MIB III was a great surprise. At almost two hours, it runs at a brisk pace, Rick Baker's aliens deserve an Oscar and the dynamic between J and K is stronger than ever. This is a thoroughly enjoyable popcorn flick that is a little more special than your average summer fare. A worthy follow up to the first film, and Brolin's performance is uncanny. I don't know if he should win, but he sure as hell deserves an nomination for his transformation into Tommy Lee Jones. Just a warning - there is a surprising amount of cold blooded murder by the grotesque villain, so I wouldn't take any young kids to see this, as it's definitely the most violent of all the films. Expand
  41. drm
    May 29, 2012
    7
    I'll put it like this. If you like Men In Black movies, you're gonna love this. Josh Brolin brings it as the young K. Also, I was pleasantly delighted with the villain. No messing around. He's straight up evil. Do you know how refreshing that is these days? Will's shtick is decent, and he has some pretty funny lines. Was it a Werner Herzog masterpiece? No. Was it trying to be? No. Did I have a carefree time watching it? Yes. It's fun. People need to lighten up. Expand
  42. May 26, 2012
    8
    I loved the story plot and i lived the technology, but long story short, the reason i dropped my score by two was the gross thing some of the aliens did.
  43. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This movie actually had MUCH more dimension than I thought it would! It was well edited, and the dialogue was quite good! It was a far better movie and much more intelligent than Prometheus. Heh..heh.
  44. May 25, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So i was pretty happy with the result of this third installment into what is now the Men in Black trilogy, but it definitely had its flaws. First i wanna start with the positives. Josh Brolin is a superb actor and he definitely showed off his talent in this movie. Wow did he do an amazing job immitating Tommy Lee Jones or what? Will Smith did his thing of course, being awesome. The story was actually pretty good and entertaining. Despite It being 10 years since the disappointing sequel, it still felt like familiar territory, and after a thousand rewrites and multiple stops in production of the film, it didn't turn out a complete mess, and Jemaine Clement did a memorable job as the villain as well. The biggest thing i was happy with was that the Men in Black humour was still there. Now onto the negatives. This isn't necessarily a negative but don't bother with the 3D with this film, its totally not worth the extra money, stick to regular. Now a couple things throughout the film i did not understand and is not very possible to understand. 1. Why is agent J (Will Smith) still an agent if Agent K (Jones) is dead and wasnt alive to recruit him? 2. If the little boy at the end during the emotional yet rushed twist ending is supposed to be Agent J then shouldn't that make the present day Agent J almost 50 years old assuming that kid is about 6 or so? Now don't get me wrong, i'm not one to point out all of the subtle flaws in films, these were just a couple things that bugged me. Overall though i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and i thought the ending was the perfect way to end the series, although the film was definitely rushed, i'm just merely stating that while it was a good film, it wasn't perfect. I give this a 7/10 Definitely go see this movie if you were a fan of the first 2 films, but if you haven't seen the first 2 (who hasn't) then you should give those a watch first otherwise you will be completely lost in this movie. In the end Men in Black 3, although many issues in the production and 10 years since the last installment, ended up being a score. Not perfect but a great way to end the "trilogy." Expand
  45. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    Men In Black III comes out to be a really good and fun time. It's great to see Will Smith again (his last film being "Seven Pounds" back in 2008) and seeing him back on the big screen where he belongs really can't get any better. Great writing and a hilarious script make Men In Black III a summer hit, and quite possibly the best Men In Black yet.
  46. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    Men in Black III is sure an amazing piece of work by Will Smith , Tommy Lee Jones and Sonnenfeld .Even though the basic story was amazing the script wasn't that funny and solid . There wasn't funny moments like the last 2 times and i felt that the script was too fast . Many character didnt even had much screen time as they should . Acting was very well done but this time Visual Effect wasn't good at all . Those effects were so eye glowing .
    Over all its a fun movie but not Funny movie . Great performance by the actors but bad performance by the Effect Crew !
    Expand
  47. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Men In Black 3 had it all comedy, action,and great monsters. To me this was one of the best movies this year. I recommend this to all ages, and parents can take there kids to go see it.
  48. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    The movie wasnt as bad as I thought, it was intresting to watch. It was fun at times and with a decent story!
    The visual effects sometimes were just stunning!
  49. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    This movie wasn't half bad. The CGI was okay, that acting was decent and the story was intriguing. Sadly you don't get the funny humor and arguments from the first two movie but there's enough to satisfy you. Not as good as the original but much better than the second installment.
  50. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back after a decade, and most movie-goers barely remember the plot for MIB 2. But it doesn't matter, the third installment refreshes your memory and adds a whole new dimension--the past. Time-travel movies are always interesting and always problematic because of the classic paradoxes that are caused by time travel: 1) the predestination paradox and the similar bootstrap paradox, where going back into time causes the future to change, creating an endless loop (e.g. I know a secret that I whisper to President Lincoln after traveling to the past, and he uses the secret to win the Civil War, which leads to the modern US and my birth, where I learn a secret that I take back to whisper to President Lincoln, and so on); 2) the grandfather paradox, where visiting the past might cause the death of your grandfather or some other event that will prevent your birth, in which case you were never born and you can't travel back to the past.

    This film tries to address that--Agent K's nemesis, Boris the Animal is in jail on the moon, one arm shot off by K, and after 40 years of imprisonment, Boris breaks out and he wants to go back to 1969, the day K shot his arm off and arrested him, to kill K before he loses his arm. Boris gets a time-travel device from a geeky genius, goes back to 1969 and kills K. Suddenly the present changes--K disappears, a young family lives in his apartment, and at headquarters, there's a memorial bust in K's name. But Will Smith's J gets caught in a time warp; he's the only one in the present who remembers the old history. He goes to work and suddenly finds he has a new partner. His boss, O, played by Emma Thompson, shows him the memorial bust to the great K who died 40 years ago. Agent J is confused and he craves chocolate milk, which he steals from toddlers, a classic symptom of a man who is caught in a time warp. So J visits the geek, gets his time machine, and goes back to 1969 just before Boris's arm gets shot off to prevent Boris from killing K so that the past will get set right and so will the future. There's a psychic character in 1969 played by Michael Stuhlbarg, who is capable of seeing alternate futures, which is more or less being offered as an explanation for the time-travel paradox.

    Back in 1969, Agent K gets to comment on old-fashioned racist views. When he gets pulled over for car theft, he tells the cops, “Just because you see a black man driving a new car doesn't mean he stole it,” even though he did but that was incidental and should not be used to reinforce racist beliefs. Back in the past, J meets the young K played by Josh Brolin who gives a hilarious and perfect rendition of the young Tommy Lee Jones. But the young K still has a heart. “What happened to you?” J keeps asking. “I don't know because it hasn't happened yet” is always K's reply. The film is charming, funny, and visually entertaining. We don't get to see enough of Emma Thompson, whose best line is when she gives a eulogy at an agent's memorial service and quotes saddened words spoken by an alien in his native language. Her screeches, squeaks and shrieks are incomprehensible but clearly denote a grieving alien. There could have been a few more laughs to make this film perfect and perhaps fewer people getting killed by Boris's scorpion, but it's still a lot of fun and hugely entertaining.
    Expand
  51. May 30, 2012
    7
    Men in Black 3 is what you would expect from the series, plenty of laughs and a comedy the whole family can enjoy. The movie is very well written, the acting is great, and the movie has a great sense of accomplishment at the conclusion. There is one surprise character in this film that will make you laugh more than once, and definitely livens up the darkest parts of the film. But, the movie at times feels flat and the pacing can be an issue. Other than that, the movie is really enjoyable. I'd recommend this movie to fans of the first two and fans of comedy-action movies. Expand
  52. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    +Josh Brolin as Tommy Lee Jones
    +3D was cool
    +storyline was good
    +best of the series
    +surprising twist at the end +Jermain Clement

    -just felt that I should expect more
  53. May 28, 2012
    7
    After 15 years since an actually decent MIB movie J and K are back at it. This is by far my favorite Men in Black film, using all of the things that made the first two movies good, and ditching the things that made the second movie awful. Men in Black 3 could have very easily become too out of this world, but instead they let Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones/Josh Brolin drive the movie. Will Smith being his funny Will Smith self, and Josh Brolin being a perfect TLJ this movie was a hit. It was an enjoyable summer popcorn flick and it will keep you interested until the end! Expand
  54. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    An easy to follow, enjoyable film. Some of the story was a little too easy to predict but it didn't take away from the whole. If you liked 1 & 2 then chances are you'll like this. Which reminds me, I might have to watch them again!!
  55. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    Surprising return to form for the Men In Black, this film went through some developmental twists and turns to finally make it to the big screen. I'm glad I seen it, because lets face it, the second entry was enough to turn anyones once great love for this bizarre but brilliant franchise into a sour, bad-tasting, happily distant memory .
    It might not be just as good as the first in the
    series, a few too many pop culture references for my liking, but it had a very interesting story, everything is brought into full circle, and the performances of the three leads is enough to re-watch this movies over and over again.
    Will Smith returns in his first starring role since 'Seven Pounds', four years ago, in the role of Agent J, who continues to investigate alien life forms on earth with the returning Tommy Lee Jones as Agent K.
    A new threat named Boris the Animal (Jermaine Clement) has broke out of his prison on the moon to exact revenge on K, who severed Boris' arm in the 60s.
    A time travel story ensues involving J going back to help prevent a major catastrophe involving everyone named.
    Josh Brolin enters as a young Agent K, and he is fantastic, and spot-on in his delivery as a young K, and a dead ringer for a young Tommy Lee Jones, and the chemistry and witty throwbacks with Will Smith are genius.
    Will Smith himself is a welcome return, his screen presence is oozing confidence and appeal that many fail to match, his comedic quips with Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin are quite unmissable, lets hope we don't wait another four years for him to be on screen (We won't, look up After Earth). Tommy Lee Jones smaller but more significant appearance in this takes his straight-faced acting to new heights, and he doesn't disappoint.
    A supporting cast includng Emma Thompson, Michael Stuhlbarg and even Nicole Scherzinger, there is plenty of familiar faces to entertain everyone. The special effects and action are brilliant, especially the time-travelling sequence, showing a glance of other periods of time in the same location was quite ingenious from director Barry Sonnenfield and writer Ethan Cohen.
    With a marvellously touching finale for our suited heroes, this was a revealing form of personal emotion for the franchise, and it therefore solidifies itself as an great, fun and well-thought entry into the series,
    Expand
  56. May 27, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After 10 years since the last film and not a single day aged by Will Smith, MIB 3 is here and it's so-so in my opinion. They did a lot of good stuff here but a lot of the film falls flat. Will Smith does a decent job of acting, especially since he's featured the most in the movie and I really love Josh Brolins performance as a young Agent K, he really does look the part of a younger Tommy Lee Jones. My problems with the movie revolve around 2 parts in the movie. The secondary acting, which for some reason Tommy Lee Jones finds himself a part of and the ending that kind of goes all over the place a bit. The secondary acting is practically non existent and I feel that this is more of a Will Smith show than a MIB 3 movie. Obviously his goal is to save Agent K, but it seems to revolved around Smith. The ending, which was supposed to show why Agent K has become the way he is, shows what happens but the effect on him is nowhere to be seen. I felt like it was just thrown in there for the sake of it. All in all, MIB 3 is an alright movie, but if you miss it, you're not missing much. Expand
  57. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    AWESOME FILM. This film had EVERYTHING! Action, humor, gadgets and the most important thing of all.....ALIENS! Here's the plot, a ruthless beast, borris the animal escapes from a prison on the moon, he gets back to earth to KILL agent K.....But not in the present day. Excellent movie, 9 out a 10
  58. May 29, 2012
    4
    Although not a bad movie, it really wasn't particularly good either. Overall, it seemed relatively lifeless with less humor than the first 2 outings with a more serious tone overall that doesn't make a lot of sense in the context of the first 2 movies of the series.

    I do admire the job Josh Brolin did in replicating a younger Tommy Lee Jones, but it wasn't enough to save the movie from
    being a rather uninspired and, definitely for me, completely forgettable movie. It's only been one day since I've seen the movie, and I've already forgotten about 1/2 of it (it was that boring).

    However, it was nice to go back to see the MIB crew, even if it was rather dull.
    Expand
  59. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Now this is the sequel I think we were all waiting for. Will Smith plays Agent J as great as ever but the real surprise here is what an amazing job Josh Brolin does at emulating Tommy Lee Jones' Agent K. The add the incredibly interesting plot and this movie was just fantastic. Previews show how J must travel back in time to save K so that's no spoiler. However, the way the story was written was absolutely genius and the way the plot unfolds is even better. I didn't like how J continues to play the "punching bag" of sorts, even though he is now a senior agent. I think that hurts the progression of the characters some. However, the character development in this film actually goes pretty deep into their histories and the relationship between J and K gets a lot of "meat" added to it which I enjoyed. Overall, I didn't think it was quite as entertaining as the first but it was a great sequel. Now if I can just get a neuralizer to erase Men In Black II from my memory... Expand
  60. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    The formula for trilogies is simple, the first one is amazing, the second one is terrible, and the third one is pretty good. Almost all trilogies seem to follow this format, but Men In Black has always played by a different set of rules and as it turns out, the third film was far and away the best of the trilogy. In this installment of MIB, the notorious Boris The Animals escapes from his prison on the Moon. This is significant, because putting Boris away is what made Agent K's career and cost Boris an arm. Boris, determined to change things, goes back in the past to kill K. Once he does, everything descends into chaos and the Earth is at risk, so Agent J, goes back in time to stop him. Once in 1969, J enters into a strange new world where he sees that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Josh Brolin plays the younger K and is absolutely terrific, it was amazing and hysterical how he captures and mimics every single one of Tommy Lee Jones mannerisms to a tee. Will Smith is his usual self, with his quick one liners and terrific actions scenes, he hasn't missed a beat, even all these years later. For as good as the acting in this film was, the story is even better. Watching this film it's hard to believe the story is based on a comic book, because the writing really was tremendous. They took a step back and show what MIB and it's agents were like 40 years ago, at the very beginning and it was really interesting to see. Men In Black 3 is far and away the best of the trilogy and one of Will Smith's best films in years. Science Fiction is usual a narrow genre, that isn't for everyone, but this film does have something for everyone and for that it gets the label of a can't miss movie. Expand
  61. May 31, 2012
    6
    This movie needed some work. It should have spent more time with Borris the Animal, gone more in depth with the '69 culture, Jay & his early love interest's relationship and a little bit more with Will and Josh's relationship. More work on the jokes that took place during the early part of the film as well (they weren't bad, just not exactly LOL material.) This film should have been a little bit longer. Having said that, I still found this film rather enjoyable and like most people, I really enjoyed Josh Brolin's performance.This film is probably the third best blockbuster of 2012 so far. :-) P.S. the 3D wasn't bad but it didn't add to the film either. My advice would be: save some money by seeing this movie in 2D. Expand
  62. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    I didn't even notice the quality of the acting. This movie is all about playing with ideas. I haven't seen the same physics ideas played with like this in any other movie, which makes this unique. Especially for a Hollywood production. Apparently it was written by Etan Cohen, the guy who wrote Idiocracy. An under-the-radar new classic which involves awkward time-travel. Here, it's less about 'funny' and more about 'fun'. Less jokes, more action. Expand
  63. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    Saw the film in cinema with a 2D version, after 4 years absence from the screen, Will Smith eventually returns with his most tailor-made MIB suit as Agent J (with his craggier partner, Tommy Lee Jonesâ
  64. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bet you thought Andy Warhol was an alien. Nope!

    As it turns out, he's actually Bill Hader in disguise, who's actually one of the men in black in disguise, some of whom may or may not be disguised as present day Andy Warhol impersonators. Think about it. At any rate, the trip Agents J and K take to The Factory is one of many tidbits of 1960s culture thrown into a film that joyfully blends science fiction with the buddy-cop formula and family-friendly storytelling, resulting in an end product that plays to the strengths of the first film while omitting the weaknesses of the second. Apparently working together for the last fifteen years hasn't brought J (Will Smith) and K (Tommy Lee Jones) any closer together, because when we again meet the tandem they seem more 'original odd couple' than 'dynamic duo'. While J tries to get to the root of K's unfaltering crabbiness, his older partner is sucked back in time by Boris The Animal (Jermaine Clement), a ruthless alien criminal who has escaped his lunar prison and now seeks revenge against the man who blew off his arm. J learns that, in this parallel universe, Boris kills K in 1969 and wages present-day war on Earth, so it's up to him to make the save.

    The performances from all involved are a key ingredient of what turns out to be a very enjoyable experience. The perennially underrated Tommy Lee Jones cruises, slipping into his role like an old suit (no pun intended), while it's good to see Will Smith back in the genre he belongs, appearing in his first summer blockbuster since **** Applause goes to Josh Brolin as the young Agent K, who mimics the mannerisms and general demeanour of his older counterpart flawlessly, and also for Michael Stuhlbarg. A genuine up-and-comer through his contributions to the excellent Boardwalk Empire, Stuhlbarg plays the film's most interesting side character Griffin, an E.T. who can occupy an infinite number of parallel universes. On the one hand, he serves to frame the series of events for the audience by explaining what must happen next, but he also parodies the notion of deus ex machina, in that he should be considered the ultimate sidekick due to his incredible recall, yet he is limited by this power and knows when to step down and let the heroes take center stage.

    For the most part, Men In Black 3 keeps in line with the expectations set by the franchise. That is, an ebullient blend of low-intensity action with a refusal to take itself seriously. Little details are included to tickle the funnybones of more observant cinephiles. When we arrive in the swinging sixties, handheld neutralisers are the size of living rooms and the typically computer-generated aliens living among us have been replaced by men in suits. That said, expect to be caught off-guard by two elements of this film. Firstly, Jermaine Clement actually makes a menacing villain. Barring a lighthearted scene where he berates his younger self for not doing the job right the first time, Boris is all business, and some of his moments are the stuff pre-teen nightmares are made of. Secondly, the film comes right out of left-field with a poignant ending that acts as a brilliant payoff for a loyal fan base that has invested so much emotional interest in these characters over the last decade-and-a-half. K's disengagement is foreshadowed with a series of red herrings that only compound the film's final moments, resulting in an unexpected highlight that few people will see coming.

    Naturally, many young adults watching this movie are going to look upon the first film with rose-coloured glasses when comparing the two. Comparative age is the key factor here because, despite its many positives, the original is nowhere near as funny at twenty years old. In that sense, this film applies the same ratio of hit-and-miss humour, but adds to it a lacklustre opening act and occasional inability to suspend disbelief. Surely, the battle between J and Boris atop the Apollo 11 as it prepares to take off would have been noticed by one of the millions watching. That, or the fight really did happen, everyone watching was neuralised, and Barry Sonnenfeld has just uncovered the greatest conspiracy in human history.

    *There's nothing I love more than a bit of feedback, good or bad. So drop me a line on jnatsis@iprimus.com.au and let me know what you thought of my review. If you're looking for a writer for your movie website or other publication, I'd also love to hear from you.*
    Expand
  65. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    This is a men in black movie. As usual, it doesn't really takes itself too serious. And that's a good thing that gave me plenty of laughs during the movie. It's the best of the 3 in my opinion. I found the story better than the original 2. What was a great surprise was how the young agent K played so well how the old is that I could believe it was him. Anyway, it's a Men in black movie and if you liked the previous ones, you should check this out. Expand
  66. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Men in Black, back on the attack, gonna punch aliens in the sac/ Uh oh, here we go, 'nother Smith movie with music video/ Of rappin' and witty-ass lines, gonna sample the classics a million times/ But hey the movie is good, like it should, yo, does a 'chuck chuck wood?
  67. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    I thought it was pretty good. I really enjoyed Josh Brolin as young K. I also thought the way they tied up the loose ends with J's father was a nice touch.
  68. Jun 1, 2012
    6
    Enjoyed the film, mainly because I like Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones and their interaction with each other in the film.
    Nice narrative showing K as a younger man.
  69. May 30, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable movie that I wouldn't mind seeing again. You don't really have to know a lot about the other movies to get this one, but I'd go watch the other ones because they are as enjoyable, if not more enjoyable than this. Tommy Lee Jones takes the back seat, but he still has the serious and intelligent feeling that we know him for. Will Smith is Will Smith; funny, yet smart in his own way. Josh Brolin is very refreshing and shows a younger more caring Agent K. Unfortunately, Jemaine Clement doesn't bring anything new to the table when he plays Boris the Animal; it's your stereotypical alien fugitive. The plot is standard Men In Black, finding obvious clues; fighting aliens, which starts in the first 5 or 10 minutes (take notes, Avengers); and keeping a surprise at the end. What really shines is the writer(s) creativity with the idea of time and how our actions affect the future. This really shines with the introduction of an alien (whose name escapes me) who is the last of his race and can see all of the upcoming futures. There are a few continuity issues with this, but they aren't gigantic and thus, I won't explain them. This is also used brilliantly to make jokes, such as joking about how the Mets won the '69 World Series. The movie also has other jokes such as Lady Gaga appearing on the "Wanted Aliens" screen, Howard Stern's cameo, and the idea that Andy Warhol was an undercover MIB agent and he faked his death. Over all, it's not the best movie of the year, but it's one of the better ones. Expand
  70. May 27, 2012
    9
    An incredible movie. To be honest, I was expecting it to be total crap but it really surprised me. The 3D effects were awesome. It was even better than the first two
  71. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Men in Black III was the first sequel to come out in the past 10 years and it was good surprisingly. It was a major step up from the 2nd film's disaster and what made it good was the memorable acting done by Josh Brolin played as Young Agent K. The chemistry between Brolin and Smith was great and the humor wasn't off. The one to point out is the movie felt too long and thats why I gave it a 7. Rent it on DVD Expand
  72. May 30, 2012
    7
    Probably not quite as good as 1, but times have changed, this is a different kind of film, one with a bit more substance to the story and some emotion......I was worried during the first 20 or so minutes, there were little glimmers of it being a kids film, silly things that werent needed. But the back 2 thirds of the film were of a much higher level, Brolin plays an outstanding Agent K, there is good banter with Will Smith (although he could of been funnier). A good funny third member is added later along with a decent villain.... Not entirely sure why they chose to pay Nicole Scherzinger, as she plays a 2 minute role in the entire film. Alice Eve and Emma Thompson werent around much either.... The Story is decent, the final 10 minutes very good with an emotional ending. Certainly worth seeing. Expand
  73. Jun 14, 2012
    2
    This is not the worst movie I have ever seen, though probably the worst that cost triple million figures to make. I don't know where that money went, since the special effects seem to have escaped from some flick from the mid to late 90s, that hand-palm CG looked no better than Scorpion's "Get over here" deal from the Mortal Kombat movie! Of course, special effects aren't the only limiting factor of any movie, but MIB III does no better on the acting or story front - Will Smith seems so subdued and robotic I found myself looking at the back of his neck for a body-snatching Alien, alas nothing doing. I doubt any intelligent actor who read the script would sign on unless a giant sack with a dollar sign was involved...hey, wait a minute, maybe that is where those hundreds of millions went! Apart from Lee Jones and Brolin, all the other actors were unfamiliar to me, most couldn't act a dime, and I am guessing the producers cheaped out on the rest of the cast because of you know...the matter of Smith's fee. The plot involving time travel is trite, underwhelming, cliche ridden...most of the effects laden action happens in the fist half of the proceedings, and then in the second things almost slow down to a crawl through Molasses, with no witty jokes, interesting exposition, good banter or anything, if by this point you haven't escaped to the Lobby and decide to stick it out you find the situation doesn't improve and the whole thing fizzles to a less than lukewarm climax. What interested me with the movie was it cribbed from some unlikely movies I have seen like Fright Night Part 2 (1988), Dead Heat (1988), and
    Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey to name but a few, however MIB III doesn't even have half the energy of those movies. Most non discriminating viewers will probably have an okay time with it, it isn't out-rightly unpleasant or anything, but every aspect of the movie is so flat and dull, it tries for a sense of whimsy & wonderment but the movie is constantly at war with its own half-hardheartedness and sadly loses.
    Expand
  74. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Considering a third film in a franchise? Considered a time-travel plot to breathe some life into the story? This is exactly what MiB 3's writer, Etan Cohen, did and it largely works, taking Will Smith out of the present, dropping him into 1969 and adding either new characters or younger versions of characters from the previous two films. Trying to splice elements of time travel into a story always runs the risk of tying the narrative up in knots and although MiB 3 steered clear of these complications, I still found myself pondering the repercussions much afterwards. Due to the plot this instalment features considerably less Tommy Lee Jones than before, but fear not, the buddy movie concept is not lost as Josh Brolin accurately replicates, not just impersonates, Agent K some forty years earlier to butt heads with Smith's fast talking Agent J. Brolin's note perfect performance as a younger Jones is the highlight of the film, helping the plot move forward in anticipation of the event that leads to K's even more dead pan and serious demeanour. What causes this actually turns out to be a surprisingly tender ending to the film, and one that deserves to finish the franchise.

    Michael Stuhlbarg (gangster Arnold Rothstein from Boardwalk Empire) has an amusing, scene stealing turn as Griffin, the quirky alien capable of seeing all possible permutations of the future, all that was missing was a mention of Schrodinger's Cat.

    All things considered, MiB 3 is a likeable return to the form for the franchise, but one that isn't truly funny or inventive enough to suggest that the franchise can go much further.
    Expand
  75. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    this movie was good it was funny alot of action etc but i prefer tommy lee jones and will smith acting it was only mid start then josh brolin in rest it was good he pulled off tommy lee jones but that only is


    but in ending finding out bout J father was hero etc but it stupid time travel movie etc then the whole deal of Agent O i loved Zed he was funny agent o not funny she was snorefeast
  76. May 28, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this film was a surprise to me. first of all. what the hell happened to agent zed?? he just died! got killed???? by what!? the other thing about this film...was it was unbalanced there was too much info on agent k and j and not much about the villain? what was the villain really tiring to solve or end? yes we see he is trying to kill agent k but really what for besides blowing of his arm?? the only good side to this film is that it shows a lot of the same stuff mib had to offer in the other 2 films. over all this film was done at a satisfied 7.0 i hope this is a lesson learnt for this series. Expand
  77. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    I'm not a huge MIB fan, but i liked this movie. A very fine sci-fi story, great CGI, and great acting by Will Smith and tommy lee jones. If you're a sci-fi fan looking for a good movie, you found your movie.
  78. May 26, 2012
    5
    When you walk into the movie theatre to see "MIB3" you are not going to see a 'deep' film but to be entertained and "MIB3" is entertaining--maybe mindless, but entertaining. It has been 15 years since the first "Men in Black" and though it helps to have seen that for a better understanding about the relationship between agent J (Will Smith) and agent K (Tommy Lee Jones) it's not a necessity . It seems like every 2 minutes there is a new special effect and most are special along with many being funny.

    The story in films like this really isn't that important but through a little twisting of events agent J uses a time machine to go back to 1969 and as he is told "...not the best time for people of color ". The villain, Boris the animal, (Jemaine Clement), who had his arm shot off many years before by agent K i s going back in time to change that course of history by killing the agent while agent J travels back in time to stop the young agent K (Josh Brolin) from shooting Boris's arm off and, of course, to stop the latter from blowing up the world, I think!

    Over the 15 years Tommy Lee Jones doesn't look a day older while Will Smith, going from 29 to 44, still looks good but older. They both do a good job with their characters. Jemaine Clement hams it up as he should, especially since he has little ugly creatures coming out of all parts of his body. Josh Brolin should be a top star now, especially after his performances in "Milk", "American Gangster", "W" and "No Country For Old Men" that he really has shined in, and I think one more role will put him over the top. As a young Tommy Lee Jones he does a fantastic job, not imitating him, but being a young Tommy Lee Jones through voice, movements and attitudes.

    Emma Thompson, as agent O, has a laugh out loud 1 minute bit that is a far cry from any other character she has played. She did remind me of Julie Andrews every time she was on screen. Her younger version is a perky Alice Eve and Michael Stuhlbarg, as Griffin, who can see what and/or will happen in the future and can bring moments like the Mets winning the championship to the present, is a hoot. Bill Hader has a cameo shot as Andy Warhol.

    We are in 1969, when the first moon landing takes place, and all you can do is put aside any logic on what's happening in the movie and enjoy the place and time.

    "Men In Black 3" is one of those movies that you will enjoy, and forget as you walk out of the movie house.
    Expand
  79. May 28, 2012
    10
    It is a great Movie! I'm a Fan and the movie was at the level of the other two movies. Good humor, crazy plots, crazy acting, strange devices, the "frozen" faces appeared again. There is quite an emotional climax in the movie, some people rage about it because they said it is very weak and random but... Come to think... What do you know of K & J past life? Well, now you will know something... 10/10 Because I saw in the theater what i was expecting to see and It worth the money i paid for it Expand
  80. May 26, 2012
    6
    I thought the movie was very charming. I did not get bored at all or felt like it went too slow. I was particularly shocked at the resemblance between the old and young K. It was not only the looks but the acting too that caught me off guard. It's not an amazing movie that I could say was one of the best movies of the year, but I can definitely say that it was a fun and exciting movie.
  81. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Making a 10 year gap between the 2 movie was a big risk to take, but I'm glad to announce that Men in Black 3 was a great movie. Josh Brolin (Young K) was did soo well in this movie playing as Agent K, he sounds almost identical to Tommy Lee Jones (great actor). Jemaine Clement (Boris the Animal) played a Baddie in this movie and did a great job at it too. The movies plot was a tough one to pull off especially in a 1 hour and 47 minute film length, but it was executed beautifully because of it's melodramatic twists through out the movie. You HAVE to listen carefully though because this one of the three is not just about saving the world, it also have a deep and meaningful separate story with in it as well.

    Men in Black 3 is not that violent or rude but is recommended for older audiences because younger kids wouldn't understand it's difficult designed plot. Overall Men in Black 3 was a great movie and definitely a must see!

    8/10
    Expand
  82. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    The first six or seven minutes of this movie were just terrible. TERRIBLE. But after that, it was just great. I was very doubtful of the "time-jumping" they showed in the trailer, but it really worked out. The movie was hilarious at times but some jokes did fail. The story was decent and the acting was just superb. Josh Brolin did so well as "Young K" that made me kind of wish I could see more Men in Black movies with him and Will Smith. Overall, the movie is a blast and I would definitely enjoy watching this film a second time around. Expand
  83. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    who doesn't like will smith? this movie was so cool it literally ROCKED! i saw it in 3D, man oh man was it good! it was so cool, i stole the 3d glasses from the theatre so i could look like agent k. damn, i didn't even get popcorn and i was content!
  84. May 29, 2012
    7
    The third installment of MIB was better than the second one. It had the quirkiness you come to expect from Ethan Coen, but also the film didn't have the annoying little aliens trying to talk and act crazy the whole time. It was more story based, which is always better. Josh Brolin played a good younger K. Will Smith was funny as usual. Tommy Lee Jones kind of got to sit this one out, but that might be because he is a little on the old side. Needless to say, see this movie if you are a MIB fan. I skipped out on the 3d, which is always a win win for me. Expand
  85. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    The first one was pretty good, the second was awful and surprise, surprise, Men in Black 3 actually turned out okay. It was fun and filled to the brim with interesting visuals and fresh, new ideas. I cringed at times for some of the humor, but it had its moments. I liked the exclusion of the Pug, and most of all, I enjoyed Josh Brolin's spot on impersonation of young Agent K. I didn't go into this expecting anything remotely close to the original, and it wasn't. It has lost a lot of the charm and appeal that was present in the original,15 years ago. The screenplay was at times weak and some of the time travel logic questionable, but that was easy to ignore. This is by no means anything special and I will probably forget about the movie in a day or two, but I enjoyed MIB3 for what it was. Expand
  86. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Esta pelicula es digna de llamarse Hombre de Negro 2, esta pudo ser la secuela perfecta de la primera. Tiene un buen desarrollo de principio a fin, una lastima que Tommy no haya salido tanto en la pelicula, pero bien podemos regozigarnos con su presencia, y Will Smith siempre me ha parecido extraño que en las peliculas de MIB lo veo mas joven que en otras como I Robot y Im Leyend, quizas sea por su traje negro. En fin, realmente disfrutaras mucho mas esta pelicula que la segunda parte, yo le doy un bien merecido 10. Expand
  87. May 25, 2012
    8
    Very fun movie. It hits all the enjoyment of the earlier movies while actually tapping into a few emotional notes along the way. I do wish they had developed K's romantic interest a bit more, but it all worked. This is worth the price of admission for those wanting to see a fun "summer time" movie that keeps you involved.
  88. May 26, 2012
    3
    Oh my... what a waste of time! I hoped MIB3 would amazed me, it did, but in a total opposite way. The story line could not excite me in any way, 3D viewing experience was almost the worst I have seen, there is no point to watch the 3D version even you are a fan of Will Smith. Overall it is a boring movie and I should have chosen to watch The Dictator or even to watch The Avengers is better than this. Expand
  89. May 26, 2012
    5
    It was a good movie, but not amazing. I loved the chemistry and addition of Josh Brolin and another character, but otherwise it was just okay. Not enough aliens or storyline to be amazing or great, but it was still good.

    J-ROD
  90. May 27, 2012
    8
    Who is rating these movies?
    This is a nice easy-going entertaining movie. Certainly will keep you smiling for 2 hours, plus eye-candies at every turn.

    All the main protagonists acting exceedingly well.

    Warning - this is not a "deep philosophical" movie, but a great flashy entertainment.
  91. May 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was better than i thought it was going to be. It had a very good plot, great comedy, and good action. It is a little confusing at first but all the pieces come together in the end. B+
  92. May 30, 2012
    6
    A Great Movie For A 3rd One!
    The Acting Is Fine The Plot Seems A Little Washed Up..
    Still A OK Movie...
  93. May 31, 2012
    8
    Years ago, Men In Black was released. It was my favorite movie for a long time. Years later, a sequel was released. It didn't do too well. The critics panned the movie, saying that it was far inferior to the first and was just a bad movie in general. I thought for sure that my favorite series was dead due to such negative reception upon MIB II's release. But, here we are. The story of MIB III is interesting and new to the series, but not an original concept. Time travel has been in fiction since H.G. Well's The Time Machine, and was further made prominent due to the hit 80's movie, Back to the Future. I was skeptical upon seeing that MIB III would take a shot at time travel, but after seeing the movie I can safely say that the movie uses it well. The acting is excellent here, Josh Brolin deliveres an absolutely shocking portrayal of Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones), and I was pleasantly surprised by Jemaine Clement's portrayal of Boris the Animal. While the opening scene is ridiculously cheesy, he is still a memorable villain, despite a few flaws. For one, the character is not interesting. The character does not have any memorable flaws, aspects or behaviors. Sure he has one arm, but it's too obvious of a character flaw. Another flaw that the villain has is the complete lack of originality. He can sprout claws, extend some of his features in a beast like manner, and apparently houses a small spider-thingy. Remember MIB I's villain? He was a giant **** right? Now, that's originality. But it didn't stop there, he was a **** in a dude's body. The alien had all kinds of disturbing but memorable abilities and aspects. Remember the final showdown between the two agents and the alien at the end of MIB I? It was awesome. The creature burst out of the man's body, revealing his disgusting true form. The final confrontation lasted a good four to six minutes. In MIB III, when the villain turns into a grotesque alien monstrosity just begging for a fight, he's blown apart by K in about four seconds after appearing. That, was disappointing. Also disappointing, was the revelation at the end of the movie. I'm not going to spoil anything, but the twist wasn't built up at all. And there are some confusing minor plot holes that are caused by this. In conclusion, MIB III adds a hefty amount of new lore to the Men in Black mythos, and I enjoyed the movie. Expand
  94. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I don't understand all the complaints and the bashing critics, it was exactly what you would expect from a MiB movie: light entertainment, nice effects for who's into that, shameless plot-holes and that sort of comedy MiB has always had. If you are not a fan of men in black and/or of the "more of the same" concept I guess avoid this at all costs, otherwise the movie is exactly what it has to be. (Which of course doesn't mean that it's super good, it's... good). Other various merits of the movie: bringing the trilogy up to date with the obligatory new pop-culture references, young K was perfect, and the subtle (read: tasteful) Frank appearences. Expand
  95. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I have to first say that I am a big fan of the 3 principal actors and especially of Barry Sonnenfeld. That said, if it's a bad movie it's a bad movie regardless of who acts or directs. This, however, is a really good movie. It felt to me to have greater emotional depth than its predecessors. The pace was quick. The storytelling concise. The special effects not overwrought. Funny. The acting - especially Josh Brolin - excellent. Just a thoroughly entertaining "summer blockbuster". Expand
  96. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic, this is a must-watch for all the MIB and comedy fans in general.
    As a person who enjoyed the first 2 movies, I must say this one doesn't disappoint. The jokes are mostly funny, Will Smith is awesome as usual and Josh Brolin got into the role of young K with ease. There are some plotholes and dumb moments though, but they don't really affect the overall impression, it
    was great to go back to the heroes of my childhood. The only sad thing is the look of Tommy Lee Johnson, the guy looks damn old, reminding how much time has passed since the sequel. Expand
  97. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    This movie is fairly similar to the other two movies. If you are a fan of the first two (and the style of them), then you would probably enjoy this movie.
  98. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    There is nothing that this movie could have done to be great with the plot and script prepared. The basics of story telling are tossed out the window: no presentation, no perspective, and no focus. The pace of the movie is ridiculous. And the dialogue is so bad it would have been funny if I had not paid 5 bucks to listen to it.

    No no no. All wrong. And for reference, I liked both the
    first and the second movies. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    May 29, 2012
    70
    Sonnenfeld's best movies function like elaborate Rube Goldberg contraptions, with visual gags popping out on a precise calibration of gears and springs, and Cohen's script, however derivative, is a stable apparatus.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 25, 2012
    50
    What we're left with is a thoroughly mediocre, shrug-generating disappointment -- and one that certainly doesn't feel like it should have cost more than a third of a billion dollars to make and market.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 25, 2012
    38
    This third outing climaxes with a dark and melodramatic twist that, while adding a layer of nuance and back story that the previous two films never had, also feels wildly out of sync with its audience's expectations.