Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 457 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Men in Black 3, Agents J and K are back... in time. J has seen some inexplicable things in his 15 years with the Men in Black, but nothing, not even aliens, perplexes him as much as his wry, reticent partner. But when K's life and the fate of the planet are put at stake, Agent J will have to travel back in time to put things right. J discovers that there are secrets to the universe that K never told him -- secrets that will reveal themselves as he teams up with the young Agent K to save his partner, the agency, and the future of humankind. (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 23, 2012
    91
    MIB3 is one giant leap for mankind because Josh Brolin shows up to play the younger Agent K. And he just nails the feat, triumphantly creating a riff on/homage to the Tommy Lee Jones-ness of K that goes much deeper (and funnier) than a simple imitation of drawl and speech patterns.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 24, 2012
    75
    Delight, a modest yet palpable measure of the stuff, is restored.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 25, 2012
    75
    The aliens are as gloppy and gross as ever. I especially liked the joke about Andy Warhol being an alien – except didn't we know that already?
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 23, 2012
    60
    The good news is that it's better than the second "Men in Black." The bad news is: not all that much. There are a couple of clever ideas, a few funny moments, a wealth of computer-generated special effects. But it's hollow at its core, and the asides have lost some of their spark.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 24, 2012
    60
    Most wonderful of all is Josh Brolin as the young Agent K. It's so easy to believe that Brolin could turn into Jones, given a couple of decades.
  6. 50
    The finished product is in a different league than the whompingly terrible Men in Black II - it hits its marks. But it's not inventive enough to overcome the overarching inertia, the palpable absence of passion.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 24, 2012
    25
    Men in Black 3 is so dull and empty, it's the first movie that has ever made me think "Thank God this is in 3D."

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 132
  1. May 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into their parts very well & have some strong onscreen chemistry. But the bonus here is Josh Brolin also has strong oncreen chemistry with Will Smith. Boris is the villain and let me just say he is one of the more memorable in many years & easily the most menacing MIB villain to date. Seriously creepy voice & makeup FX. Barry Sonnenfeld movies usually either work or sink. Happily MIB3 works very well especially considering the time travel plotline could easily have become tiresome instead it serves the story very well & there are some genuine surprises/twists regarding the characters & how they become who they are. There is quite an emotional climax to the movie which made me feel close to tears. For a modern big budget blockbuster (this does not have wall to wall VFX either just a few big set pieces) its quite some feat to make a jaded moviegoer like me feel something. I am very happy to report MIB3 does that in an unforced genuine way you will never see it coming either. For such a complex time travelling storyline the filmakers have told it very well in a straightforward fashion which anyone can follow. The 1969 period is very well handled & overall this movie just works & does not feel forced/artificial like most recent big budget movies. Here they go back to the past but it connect the characters in unique way. If you liked MIB1 this is almost as good which is quite frankly an amazing achievement in 2012. I cannot wait to see this again & again & buy the Bluray in 4 months please Sony!! Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    9
    So a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thats surprising considering that Men in Black II was a large dissappointment for some. Expand
  3. May 25, 2012
    8
    MIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I just checked my watch once during the movie. And I was even moved by the last part of the movie . Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Josh Brolin is so good in this movie, you can't help but believe he's actually a younger Tommy Lee Jones. I was a little skeptical about a 3rd MIB outing, but it's a great storyline, Will Smith doing what Will Smith does and Josh Brolin. Heck, I'll pay for a stand up version of him doing Tommy Lee Jones again. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Surprisingly entertaining and affecting film with well written characters and solid action.
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Men in Black is back and ready for more! ... Will Smith carries the movie all the way, as he has in the last two MiB's, and let me tell you.. he didn't lost his touch. Abit less Tommy Lee Jones, mainly replaced by Josh Brolin who does an excellent job in portraying the younger Agent K. ... On the downside for MiB3, The story is abit too simple, barely any new good memorable music, besides the original theme, and some 'jokes' are realy far fetched. Still, if you enjoyed both MiB and MiB2, and you don't mind a simple but funny alien infesting story, ..then go out now... buy some movie tickets and enjoy the return of the men in black! Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    1
    just horrible.

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.