Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 28, 2006
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 283 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
136
Mixed:
47
Negative:
100
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Bruce722Nov 13, 2013
Miami Vice is hands down one of my favorite films of all time. I don't quite understand why it was never received well but I think it's just amazing. Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx are both great, as well are the rest of the supporting cast,Miami Vice is hands down one of my favorite films of all time. I don't quite understand why it was never received well but I think it's just amazing. Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx are both great, as well are the rest of the supporting cast, Michael Mann did an incredible job directing the movie, the plot develops well and is very interesting, the action scenes are done brilliantly, etc. Honestly, I don't think there's a single flaw in the movie. It's definitely different, so I guess some people expected something else. It's not your typical action flick, that's for sure. It's almost more of an action-thriller in how it's filmed and presented to the viewer. The shaky cam and camera angles and effects work when used because of the overall feel. I'm not saying everyone will love it because it is a bit slower and replaces dialogue with introspection from the actors forcing the audience to pick up on the subtleties and nuances of the plot's development. Those things aren't in your face so some people might get bored with it. Not me. I thought it was great. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
LevelsAndGearNov 26, 2011
Other than the names and setting, the movie incarnation of Miami Vice seems to have very little in common with the show that inspired it, which I imagine will disappoint anyone who checked it out hoping for some retro reminiscing. The actingOther than the names and setting, the movie incarnation of Miami Vice seems to have very little in common with the show that inspired it, which I imagine will disappoint anyone who checked it out hoping for some retro reminiscing. The acting was extremely stiff, the plot was uninteresting and extremely cliched, and the setting was far too modern. While there was a couple decent action scenes and some may like the "romances" - but you'd be better off watching some re-runs of the original series or better made action movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelB.Dec 18, 2006
Decent. Apparently what most people consider Vice's biggest selling-point is what I consider its biggest flaw. The scenes change rather rapidly, and little is revealed through dialogue (with the exception of a few key moments). Decent. Apparently what most people consider Vice's biggest selling-point is what I consider its biggest flaw. The scenes change rather rapidly, and little is revealed through dialogue (with the exception of a few key moments). It's basically Heat with Sonny and Rico, except that this formula worked for Heat and makes Vice seem a little awkward. As if the premise of the movie wasn't already far-fetched (vice cops who live on the beach, wear designer clothes and drive expensive sports cars), the ending is pure fantasy (not to mention pure idiocy). It is also quite lengthy at 2 hrs 20 min; proper editing could have easily eliminated about 10-15 minutes. It is worth renting if you like movies about undercover police work and if nothing else catches your eye. I really can't recommend owning it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceP.Dec 15, 2006
Classic stuff from Mr. Mann. Enjoyed it more the second time. What's really diffrerent about this show is that it looks like a Hollywood blockbuster but plays out like an indie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SamM.Aug 7, 2006
This was a horrid waste of time. My girlfriend practically fell asleep the movie was so slow and uninspired. The acting did not at all pull me into the emotion of the caste. The 'shaky' camera effects are old and headache inducing. This was a horrid waste of time. My girlfriend practically fell asleep the movie was so slow and uninspired. The acting did not at all pull me into the emotion of the caste. The 'shaky' camera effects are old and headache inducing. Why can't I just sit anymore and see a scene with 2 people holding a conversation without having the camera shake? Either hire a new camera man or get a better tripod. It's not live it's not cops it's not smart or cute anymore. The 'smart parts' weren't that smart and 90% of the movie was utterly pointless leaving us saying "why are they doing this again?" and not because the easily predicatible plot was anything hard to understand, but because what they were doing was flat out a waste of time and energy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkusG.Oct 10, 2006
Whatever happened to the Michael Mann I know and love? Satan, leave his body! This was the most meandering, pointless, self-congratulatory and unnecessarily long movie I've seen all year. They could
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NrmJul 30, 2006
excellent. very atmospheric. gun battles were loud and terrifying. couldn't understand what the heck they were saying some of the time. farrell speaks in a odd formal way at the start. on par with collateral.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ButtNakedBoonJul 30, 2006
Best cops and robbers since...Heat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesAug 2, 2006
It was bad. I have seen bad movies before but this one tops the list as one of the worst movies ive ever seen. The movie kept dragging on, and pretty much from the beginning to the end i was confused to what was going on in the story. The It was bad. I have seen bad movies before but this one tops the list as one of the worst movies ive ever seen. The movie kept dragging on, and pretty much from the beginning to the end i was confused to what was going on in the story. The rare action scenes were nice but they were considerably short compared to there 3 or 4 crappy sex scenes. The acting was BAD. They hired like 3 or 4 well known actors and basically got all these unknowns (which I don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidStrahlAug 3, 2006
I went to see this movie expecting the worst. All the user reviews were horrible. Boy are they wrong! Go see this movie! Beautifal cinematography, stellar acting (Colin Ferrell is awesome as Sonny), good dialogue, and great action. Overall I went to see this movie expecting the worst. All the user reviews were horrible. Boy are they wrong! Go see this movie! Beautifal cinematography, stellar acting (Colin Ferrell is awesome as Sonny), good dialogue, and great action. Overall it was a fantastic moviegoing experience and I'd highly recommend this film to everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshtonA.Aug 3, 2006
Great movie with non-stop action and suspense..a must see even if you were too young to have seen the original series with Don Johnson. Collin Ferrell really brings it home in this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NancyHAug 5, 2006
It's disappointing when the creator of Miami Vice can't save this on the big screen--script wise, it was silly. Visually, it was very good. There is no on-screen chemistry between Colin Farrell and Gong Li. If we are to believe It's disappointing when the creator of Miami Vice can't save this on the big screen--script wise, it was silly. Visually, it was very good. There is no on-screen chemistry between Colin Farrell and Gong Li. If we are to believe that Farrell would stretch the limits of the law for his love, then the chemistry should have been as palatable as Pitt and Jolie in Mr/Mrs Smith. Plus Farrell really looks bad--bad hair dye job, bad physical condition--really bloated and obvious lack of skin shown to the audience (vis-a-vis Jamie Foxx and his hot bod), and did I say bad hair? Don't waste your money to see this, wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyO.Aug 6, 2006
Much, much better than I expected. Understated performances, emotionally satisfying storyline, great action sequences (but not too many of them, thank god! I am getting very sick of endless explosions in every movie). Jamie Foxx once more Much, much better than I expected. Understated performances, emotionally satisfying storyline, great action sequences (but not too many of them, thank god! I am getting very sick of endless explosions in every movie). Jamie Foxx once more shows himself to be best actor around at present, and Colin Farrell is pretty good as well. Gong Li is terrific in her first English speaking role. The romance with Farrell really works.The baddies are also terrifying in their malevolence and believability. And the scenes in Cuba are terrific. Overall, a better film than Heat, and nearly as good as Collateral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Michellec.Aug 6, 2006
I am not sure what everyone has been critizing this for. Too long? No way! Not enough action? Are you kidding me? There doesn't have to be tremendous blow em' ups to provide action. I loved this movie. As has been discussed here, I am not sure what everyone has been critizing this for. Too long? No way! Not enough action? Are you kidding me? There doesn't have to be tremendous blow em' ups to provide action. I loved this movie. As has been discussed here, in the media, etc. this is NOT the Miami Vice of long ago. Gone are the pastel shirts and buddy-buddy jokes. This is down and dirty no holds barred Miami Vice. The filming is raw, the sex scenes are fantastic and sexy Colin Farrell, well he's no Don Johnson!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisD.Aug 8, 2006
While it's definetely not Mann's best work, I still found it to be quite enjoyable. Personally I'm glad the movie was more serious and intense than the show was. It was a little slow at times but made up for it when things While it's definetely not Mann's best work, I still found it to be quite enjoyable. Personally I'm glad the movie was more serious and intense than the show was. It was a little slow at times but made up for it when things started to pick up. Outside of the shaky camera, it looked great too. I recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesS.Aug 9, 2006
Terrible! Walked out. Zero chemistry between love interests. Uninteresting dialogue, boring action, worst movie i've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobFeb 22, 2007
I hated this movie. I fell asleep 3 times during it, because there is nothing exciting in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackW.Dec 6, 2006
I'm getting pretty sick of those people saying that there is no chemistry between Farrell and Foxx- what do you expect, for them to kiss?? These characters are meant to be professionals who reside within a corrupt, bloody and violent I'm getting pretty sick of those people saying that there is no chemistry between Farrell and Foxx- what do you expect, for them to kiss?? These characters are meant to be professionals who reside within a corrupt, bloody and violent environment. Mann is exploring the conflict in these characters of being in such an environment and having to supress their emotion. As a result Crockett and Tubbs have to be cold hearted. The fact that there are so many sex scenes? Perhaps to show that real love cannot exist within these surroundings. Miami Vice is not supposed to be 'glamourous' or 'rewarding'. Mann should be praised at not conforming to 'Hollywood' style 'wrappings'. The characters are meant to be distanced from the viewer. This is perhaps why we struggle to understand the dialogue and the speech. Mann does not want the middle class viewer to say to themselves--'oh I can connect with these characters, now I understand what this kind of life is all about' and then switch off the Tv or leave the cinema to return to milk and cookies and a warm bed. Crockett and Tubbs are meant to be difficult. People complain that there is essentially no story, which is absolutely dim-witted. The story is at its basic level a drugs bust. There thats it: what more do you want, aliens? The Lock Ness monster? A talking square of sponge? This film is searching for a gritty realism and that means no resolved endings or reformed charcaters, no closure or final resolutions which the viewer can be 'satisfied' that everything has fallen into place. The title only comes up at the end because nothing has changed: there will always be guns, drugs and killings. There will always be vice, and no Crockett or Tubbs can change this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertxxxOct 9, 2006
Did anyone ever give Jamie Foxx a script...was there a script?? Agonizingly rehashed
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyV.Jul 28, 2006
This was a grat action filled movie. I was on my seat every minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnL.Jul 28, 2006
Simply one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is a terrible sex scene. I nearly vomited all over my popcorn... Incomprehensible and unbelievable plot. Cliches strewn everywhere like a field of cow dung. Loved getting out of the theatre!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinD.Jul 28, 2006
Very classy and well-told with reverence to the original/Great, realistic action and lucid, neon cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveC.Jul 29, 2006
Read: "Charlotte Observer - Lawrence Toppman"'s review at 38... It's right on! And the only reason why I gave it a rating as favorable as a 4 is because the deaths look very cool... nothing else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShawnR.Jul 29, 2006
I truly cannot remember the last time I had a more excrutiating movie-going experience. The acting was so over the top and self-absorbed and the dialogue was so melodramatic and overcooked I thought I was looking at a terrible opera about I truly cannot remember the last time I had a more excrutiating movie-going experience. The acting was so over the top and self-absorbed and the dialogue was so melodramatic and overcooked I thought I was looking at a terrible opera about the dangers of the drug trade. Sprinkled with gratuitous and pointless shower sex scenes, of course. I will credit the cinematography and action choreography however. They were very well done and definitely the highlights of the movie. It really makes you wish that the majority of the film revolved around these action scenes since a) they are very well shot, gritty and exciting and b) the actors aren't talking. It's those talking times when the movie really begins to derail and unfortunately it takes up a majority of the 2.5 hours you're stuck in the theater, uncomfortably shifting waiting for the train wreck to end. Perhaps I'm being overly critical, but this is what I sincerely felt throughout the entire movie and all but one of the 5 friends I saw the movie with felt the same way. I really believe my 2 is generous. In any case I still respect Michael Mann as a director and would recommend any of his other films, but if you haven't seen Miami Vice already, spare yourself the pain and wasted time and see The Insider, Heat or Collateral. Any of those films is time far better spent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffN.Jul 29, 2006
The way this film is shot, edited and scored, the actors and the words coming out of the their mouths almost don't matter. This is a beautiful, beautiful action movie with real thrills in the action scenes and envious fast cars, boats The way this film is shot, edited and scored, the actors and the words coming out of the their mouths almost don't matter. This is a beautiful, beautiful action movie with real thrills in the action scenes and envious fast cars, boats and women. A real fun ride for a summer night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KimK.Jul 30, 2006
One star for Naomie Harris, who had the guts to demand a body double for her preposterously unnecessary nude scenes; another star for one brief second in a nightclub when Ms. Harris's character Trudy Joplin and Elizabeth One star for Naomie Harris, who had the guts to demand a body double for her preposterously unnecessary nude scenes; another star for one brief second in a nightclub when Ms. Harris's character Trudy Joplin and Elizabeth Rodriguez's Gina Calabrese exchange the sort of knowing, connected, smart glance that the guys try-- and fail-- to exchange for the entire film. Not that it's easy to see expressions on anyone's faces in this sea of mud. When you're shooting a post-apocalyptic zombie flick like "28 Days Later" on a zero budget, digital video is fine. It is not fine when your budget, oh Mr. Michael Mann, is supposedly $150 million. "Miami Vice" is the worst kind of movie: it has absolutely nothing engaging about it. It's as though they took a film-- any film-- and squeezed all the life and humor and intrigue and excitement out of it. There's nothing here but a cold, bitter, muddily shot shell of a film. Colin Farrell and Jamie Fox have nothing in the way of chemistry; they have nothing but amazingly bad haircuts. The highly touted (how can you spot the boy review writers in this picture?) sex scenes are pointless and perfunctory. Intelligible, intelligent dialogue-- anywhere?-- nope. Characters we can give a rat's patootie about? Are you kidding? Mr. Farrell and Miss Harris in life-or-death rasslin' matches with their adopted accents. Ooh, yeah-- and it ain't pretty. Come to think of it, none of "Miami Vice" is pretty. Except for the clouds. And I can see those for free. A bitter, bad-spirited, unrewarding, and unentertaining film. Stay home and watch "Heat" instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Jul 30, 2006
After sitting through "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," this was a blessing in a sense. Easy to follow story line (Unlike Pirates which the most ill-contrived piece of pure crap for a script). Kilo's of Coc, big guns, After sitting through "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," this was a blessing in a sense. Easy to follow story line (Unlike Pirates which the most ill-contrived piece of pure crap for a script). Kilo's of Coc, big guns, bad guys, love interests, etc... But their were a few of those moments that you just loved about movies. When people in the theater let out, all together, "ohhh D*mnnnn." It has a enough well composed action sequences to make me reccomend it. Go to the theater and see it. Or Rent, don't buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TerryD.Jul 31, 2006
Hyper-realistic, chilling, scary movie about REALLY bad drug dealer types and the people fighting them. If your a fan of Michael Mann (I am) you will love his signature look and pacing - its better than ever. The drama and action are Hyper-realistic, chilling, scary movie about REALLY bad drug dealer types and the people fighting them. If your a fan of Michael Mann (I am) you will love his signature look and pacing - its better than ever. The drama and action are first-rate. The only reason I didn't give Miami Vice a 10 is because the film was a bit long - there a few scenes that could have be trimmed back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveK.Jul 30, 2006
Excellent movie by michael mann. not his best, but still very well made. you arent spoonfed everything word for word. you actually have to pay attention, and that is rare nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jul 30, 2006
This was the biggest movie disappointment I have ever seen. Not enough action, they must have been trying to save money. No car chases, no boat chases, no tension or suspense. No funny dialog. In fact most of the dialog was practically This was the biggest movie disappointment I have ever seen. Not enough action, they must have been trying to save money. No car chases, no boat chases, no tension or suspense. No funny dialog. In fact most of the dialog was practically impossible to understand. The movie is full of sex scenes (2 shower scenes, michael mann must have a thing about sex in the shower) that are neither sexy nor bring any emotion to this movie. The plot is so full of holes from the improbable to the unfinished story lines. Don't waste your money.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
hughie*Aug 1, 2006
Flat looking. Ordinary. This is what $150 million gets you nowadays?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenS.Aug 1, 2006
Fun and exciting! Michael Mann is a great visual and stylistic director. Engaging action sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DerekG.Aug 1, 2006
One of the worst films I have seen in a long time. Completely and utterly unoriginal. There is nothing in this movie that hasn't been done a thousand times, and better. Tries to be a more serious "Bad Boys" and fails miserably. Michael One of the worst films I have seen in a long time. Completely and utterly unoriginal. There is nothing in this movie that hasn't been done a thousand times, and better. Tries to be a more serious "Bad Boys" and fails miserably. Michael Mann's camera work, while used to great effect in "Collateral," only serves to emphasize the horrible overacting and banal dialogue. Farrell's and Foxx's charisma are nowhere to be found in this film. Avoid it like the plague. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomC.Aug 17, 2006
It's a solid,sexy, shooty movie full of grit, speed, damaged people and real drama. It's no classic, but it's rather better than the name might leadmyou to expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JenniferS.Aug 18, 2006
Huge fan of Michael Mann. This movie was incredibly disappointing and BORING! We walked out. What a waste of money. How irresponsible - think of all the children in third world countries this terrible movie could have fed! Make a donation to Huge fan of Michael Mann. This movie was incredibly disappointing and BORING! We walked out. What a waste of money. How irresponsible - think of all the children in third world countries this terrible movie could have fed! Make a donation to something worthwhile instead. It will definitely be more enjoyable! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichE.Aug 1, 2006
I admit I'm not the brightest bulb in the Cristmas tree, but I found the plot terribly difficult to follow. To me, an intriguing story is the core of a good movie. In this movie, I had the hardest time figuring out who was who, what was I admit I'm not the brightest bulb in the Cristmas tree, but I found the plot terribly difficult to follow. To me, an intriguing story is the core of a good movie. In this movie, I had the hardest time figuring out who was who, what was what, and what people's motivations were. Ya, I guess it was about two undercover cops infiltrating a drug gang because all the agents at all the federal agencies were known by the drug lords. But beyond that, what really happened? And the dialogue? "There's undercover, then there's which way is up." Way too cool for me. If you like Michael Mann and Jamie Foxx, see "Collateral", a movie with a lot more edge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BAug 1, 2006
Quite possibly the best action movie...the Bad Boys Antithesis. well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyW.Aug 2, 2006
I have read a lot of complaints about this movie and I only have 1 thing to say: "this is not Bad Boys 2 with a gunfight, car chase, and/or explosion every 5-10 minutes!". True to Mann's style (and the Miami Vice TV show that HE I have read a lot of complaints about this movie and I only have 1 thing to say: "this is not Bad Boys 2 with a gunfight, car chase, and/or explosion every 5-10 minutes!". True to Mann's style (and the Miami Vice TV show that HE PRODUCED) much of the movie is setting-up each character's individual path. SO when all of the different characters' paths finally meet, there is conflict (example being Heat: you see Deniro's path and Pacino's path and ultimately you know at some point these 2 paths have to meet and it will be very bad for 1 of them). Definitely 1 of the better movies I saw this Summer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.BlankenshipAug 2, 2006
Michael Mann does well with mysterious characters in simple plots, so there is a lot left to mull over after the credits roll in Miami Vice. As usual for Mann, the visual complexity of the film matches and enhances that of the story--the Michael Mann does well with mysterious characters in simple plots, so there is a lot left to mull over after the credits roll in Miami Vice. As usual for Mann, the visual complexity of the film matches and enhances that of the story--the story of those choices people must make while clamped in the vice of a dark, uncertain world. I found myself very involved with the characters, whether in disgust and terror or admiration and sympathy, and I really, really enjoyed this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WayneA.Aug 2, 2006
Little jumpy to follow, but good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradB.Aug 2, 2006
The name Miami Vice it the only thing that hurts the movie. A realistic action movie that is fairly dark. Its a little hard to follow in the beginning, but the camera work is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianAug 2, 2006
Worst Michael Mann movie - EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielP.Aug 2, 2006
I agree with much of what has been said. What was the point of the film ? Did the Archangel character get caught ? Could they really let Ging Li go ? How can an "action" film be so boring ? And finally .."I'm a fiend for mojitos". Aaack!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BartR.Aug 3, 2006
I walked out. Need I say more?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HenryW.Aug 4, 2006
I wasn't expecting as much as I got. At best it's an exhilarating, compassionate study of the fragility of masculine ideals; at worst it reminds you what made Heat so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronB.Aug 4, 2006
I had the pleasure of seeing "Miami Vice" last evening, and I have to say that it was quite good. It was not exactly perfect, but I felt that it was well directed, and possessed just enough action and just enough story to keep things I had the pleasure of seeing "Miami Vice" last evening, and I have to say that it was quite good. It was not exactly perfect, but I felt that it was well directed, and possessed just enough action and just enough story to keep things interesting and to keep the movie from becoming a big dumb action flick. Not to say that big dumb action flicks are always unwanted, it's just that it is nice to see a remake of a hit T.V. series not take the easy way out and, instead, develop an almost great plot with subperb characters. All in all, the movie deserves a look from those of you who enjoy an action movie with brains. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveK.Aug 4, 2006
Unlike the TV series, don't expect a light, hip, pastel colored movie. This movie is very dark with superb cinematography and style typical of Michael Mann. Not a lot of action, but when it comes, it's memorable. Colin Farell is Unlike the TV series, don't expect a light, hip, pastel colored movie. This movie is very dark with superb cinematography and style typical of Michael Mann. Not a lot of action, but when it comes, it's memorable. Colin Farell is surprisingly good, while the Tubbs' role is not developed enough to give Jamie Foxx a chance to shine. Very good supporting characters and acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveR.Aug 5, 2006
This was a classic Micheal Mann vehicle...tight, beautifully filmed, alpha male dialogue, and with his underapprecaited penchant for believable romance. With the exception of Farrell's somewhat one dimensional speech pattern (sounding This was a classic Micheal Mann vehicle...tight, beautifully filmed, alpha male dialogue, and with his underapprecaited penchant for believable romance. With the exception of Farrell's somewhat one dimensional speech pattern (sounding to me as crisp and monosyllabic as the famous "da Bears" crew from Saturday NIght Live - compelete with one of their porn mustaches) but theer is no denying his movie star charsima and the heat with soon to be superstar Gong Li an out and out pure mega-talent. I just kept thinking how something/someone like Val Kilmer's Heat performance would have been so much stronger than Farrell. Foxx and the rest play their Mann thing perfectly. It was a movie that always kept things in the beliveable realm and just another gem in an amazing carreer. Mann is the best out their today. Hey wouldn't it be fun to see Mann and Tarrentino lock up for the ultimate testosterone movie...let's say, Mann write for the cops ...Tarrantino writes the bad guys' dialogue. Mann directs the night scenes and Tarrantino takes the day... and we just go along for the ultimate guy's ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Aug 5, 2006
I liked it less than Heat and Collateral, but I still quite liked it. Visually is was really strong, and interesting. It just did not look like a Hollywood movie at all. I thought the acting was fine but yeah, there was a lack of chemistry I liked it less than Heat and Collateral, but I still quite liked it. Visually is was really strong, and interesting. It just did not look like a Hollywood movie at all. I thought the acting was fine but yeah, there was a lack of chemistry between Farrell and Gong Li. By the way, to the person bellow who said he looked bloated n' all that -- dude broke a rib and herniated two discs preparing for this movie, so that might be why he didn't get nekked. I think, for a movie that was 2.5 hours long, it could've given us a bit more about the characters. I'm too young to know a thing about the TV series and couldn't care less about it. So, as far as I know, these two guys were just walking cliches. Which was okay, cos the movie was very well done, stylish. Oh, also: the bad guys here are awesome. The younger guy is hilarious, tho he is not really overly comedic. And the head honcho was really, reeeeally menacing, in a way movie drug kingpins aren't usually, even though they're supposed to be. Lastly, it seems a lot of people just donlt like Collin Farrel. I keep hearing randomly people with no association to one another come out and say they simply do not like him. Personally I don't mind him, and, I loved his bad hair and mustache. Somehow it just fit the character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GaborA.Aug 5, 2006
Pretty much what I expected from Michael Mann at this stage in his career given his tendancy of slow deterioration. We're leagues away from Heat and Insider but still a good head and shoulders above the rest of the wire fu and The Rock Pretty much what I expected from Michael Mann at this stage in his career given his tendancy of slow deterioration. We're leagues away from Heat and Insider but still a good head and shoulders above the rest of the wire fu and The Rock fronted tripe surrounding it. Really this movie's only flaw, be that a significant one, was bad pacing. I don't mind a lack of action even in such a film, but a lack of 30 minutes of tango and farshots of speedboats in the sunrise would also have been nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Aug 6, 2006
This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. The movie looked like it was made using a home camera. Most was the shots were so zoomed in that it ws hard to understand what was going on. It definately did not expect this from Mann. Do not This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. The movie looked like it was made using a home camera. Most was the shots were so zoomed in that it ws hard to understand what was going on. It definately did not expect this from Mann. Do not waste your money on either the theater or the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 8, 2006
Why not let the guy with an Oscar on his resume do the heavy lifting? Jamie Foxx is given so little to do, he might as well be Phillip Michael Thomas. Colin Farrell(in his best screen performance) does an admirable job of looking conflicted, Why not let the guy with an Oscar on his resume do the heavy lifting? Jamie Foxx is given so little to do, he might as well be Phillip Michael Thomas. Colin Farrell(in his best screen performance) does an admirable job of looking conflicted, but something tells me Foxx would've elevated "Miami Vice" from the merely atmospheric and into something akin to rousing. In the Phonetic Olympics of 2006, Gong Li edges out Audrey Tautou for the gold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
H.S.Aug 9, 2006
The worst film I have seen in a very long time. Had I not been sitting with friends i would have left after about 30 mins. They clearly wanted to make the film quite gritty and to do this meant, a granually picture and wobbly camera. It was The worst film I have seen in a very long time. Had I not been sitting with friends i would have left after about 30 mins. They clearly wanted to make the film quite gritty and to do this meant, a granually picture and wobbly camera. It was pathetic, I should have gone and seen cars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToshSep 1, 2006
I didn't have good expectations about this movie... and yes, I do agree that the first half of it was a bit boring, but after that it became really interesting. what made me the worst impression was the awful editing. However, as a I didn't have good expectations about this movie... and yes, I do agree that the first half of it was a bit boring, but after that it became really interesting. what made me the worst impression was the awful editing. However, as a whole I enjoyed the movie lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CBSep 3, 2006
Amazing to look at. But what a dull film. Was Jamie Foxx even in it? I don't care that it has almost nothing to do with the TV show, just make me a good movie Mr. Mann.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SlingbladeOct 1, 2007
Agree with all critics from TV Guide (63) down. Totally agree with Jon B. I wanted to hear "In the Air Tonite" - had to wait 146 minutes for a cheezy cover. Colin is a weanie, DJ was the real man. I'm just glad Farrell wasn't Agree with all critics from TV Guide (63) down. Totally agree with Jon B. I wanted to hear "In the Air Tonite" - had to wait 146 minutes for a cheezy cover. Colin is a weanie, DJ was the real man. I'm just glad Farrell wasn't allowed to smoke cigs in the movie. Perhaps he suffered as much as us viewers not getting his fix. Boo-ring. Oh yeah, I kept wanting to turn the closed captioning on because the dialog is flubberish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NateFeb 6, 2007
Good scenery, about the only thing going for this movie. At first, it seemed slick. There were way too many sex scenes, and those scenes were honestly hard to watch. Terrible acting, and very predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanS.May 29, 2007
I recall enjoying the television episodes of "Miami Vice"...for example, when the Chief of Detectives would mutter remarks like " the rhythm of the streets must be restored". The ultra-cool pastel fashions modeled by our heroes and the I recall enjoying the television episodes of "Miami Vice"...for example, when the Chief of Detectives would mutter remarks like " the rhythm of the streets must be restored". The ultra-cool pastel fashions modeled by our heroes and the fantasy powerboat were always fun; the plots were easy to follow and the dialogue was often quite witty. This very long retrospective film , however, fails to evoke that. The plot is muddled and unconvincing, while the shootouts are noisy and even tedious.. Yet, the cinematography was quite spectacular at times, especially in South America (the Iguasso Falls!!) and along the Havana waterfront. Crockett is not as stupid as he looks; at least he knows when to take a break from his chores to carouse with Gong Li. She's ALWAYS great to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValerioS.Oct 10, 2006
Stunning visual achievement!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoePDec 21, 2006
All flair, no substance. The plot was the typical cops infiltrate drug cartel. Flashy scenery with not a lot going on in this movie. Overacting by Colin Farrell killed this, and Jamie Foxx should get out of acting after this flop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillJ.Dec 26, 2006
I can understand why people don't like, cliched story, paper characters and the worst cinematic romance since, um ever, but you have to admit it is tense, well paced and exciting. It was the best movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonH.Dec 5, 2006
Let me first start off by saying that if you didn't like Miami Vice, that was a personal decision to ignore the beauty and SUBTEXT that the film shows us. It's NOT meant to be an action movie, it is rather, something of beauty. Let me first start off by saying that if you didn't like Miami Vice, that was a personal decision to ignore the beauty and SUBTEXT that the film shows us. It's NOT meant to be an action movie, it is rather, something of beauty. It's life as shown through the eyes of a MORE than competent director (Michael Mann), and the life is that of those people forced to not live the normal lives of the viewer watching the movie. Colin Farrell is our main character, he is our driving force, and his little expressions and quips and behaviors hark back to the acting shown in Heat (nobody complained about Pacino, but Farrell must be bleak). It's not a direct throwback, or that at all, it's just Mann showing us that those people presented to us are just as human as us. He is confused, and he falls in love just as quickly as anyone who never gets to hold onto it long (his line of work). Gong Li is amazing in her role, a woman in the same type of situation as Farrell, and the love the show on screen is pure and honest. Let it be known, this movie is comparable to The New World, and if you didn't like that, then maybe you won't like this. I, on the other hand, loved both, and this movie was more than intriguing. Best picture of the year, hands down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeE.Dec 8, 2006
Brutally boring movie. Didn't care about any of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JabezM.Dec 9, 2006
This movie looks great and has some interesting actions scenes. I didn't buy the love interest and the ending is preposterous. I wasn't a fan of the TV show, but overall, the movie is good, not great or even very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LonnieB.Jul 26, 2006
As a fan of the television show and of Michael Mann's previous films, I was really looking forward to seeing Miami Vice... unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the film and surprised with the flaws of the film. First let me start As a fan of the television show and of Michael Mann's previous films, I was really looking forward to seeing Miami Vice... unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the film and surprised with the flaws of the film. First let me start with the positives: 1. Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx - ... these two really did a good job of playing their roles and it didn't take me long to accept them as Crockett and Tubbs. 2. I was also really impressed with how some of the scenes were shot... from the boating scenes, to the exotic locations, to the shootout scenes which are pretty graphic, but defintely worth seeing. Unfortunately, the negatives of the film overshadow the positives... One of the surprises about Vice is how badly the film is edited which was very disappointing since Mann's other films didn't necessarily have this problem. The other surprise is problems with the dialogue.... there are moments when the dialogue is confusing, but surprisingly, there are other moments when you just can't hear the dialogue. Also I was a bit disappointed in the casting of Gong Li. She's a wonderful actress and does a good job in this film, but somehow, the casting of her in this role didn't work for me. Finally, the plot of the film is a bit hard to follow(due to the dialuge/editing problems mentioned above) and also, don't expect an action film that is nonstop as this is really a brooding drama with action scenes. In conclusion, Miami Vice the movie in 2006 is like Miami Vice the TV show during its last few seasons on the air... great looking, but seriously flawed and recommended only to fans of the old TV show, actors or filmmaker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DominiqueL.Jul 27, 2006
My father got a free pass to see the advance screening of Miami Vice for last night and he invited me along. What possessed me to say yes is a question that will haunt me for the rest of my days. Before I tear this movie apart, I will admit My father got a free pass to see the advance screening of Miami Vice for last night and he invited me along. What possessed me to say yes is a question that will haunt me for the rest of my days. Before I tear this movie apart, I will admit there are a few good things about it: Miami Vice looks good (in a very Collateral, but nonetheless effective way) and the fighting sequences often prove to be very effective. That's about it. Honest to God, I have never been more bored in a movie theatre in my entire life. Colin Farrell proves once again that he can't act his way out of a paper bag. Jamie Foxx proves once again that all he can do is imitate Ray Charles. Gong Li and Naomie Harris prove once again they are wasted talent. None of the leads have any chemistry, not Farrell and Li, not Foxx and Harris, and, most of all, not Farrell and Foxx. None of the characters are engaging or fun to watch (with the possible exception of the villains), and when Harris's character is in mortal peril, no one cared less than me, except for Foxx as Rico Tubbs. He hardly shows any emotion in the entire flick, though maybe the screen writers or editors are to blame, we might never know. What's for sure is that Farrell (as Crockett) and Foxx show about as much depth as a Jessica Simpson video. I know that the TV series (which I never watched) was basically a play on the MTV generation and that the episodes were, in a way, music videos, but Mann does not exploit the film that way. Instead of being cheeky and superficial, Tubbs and Crockett have no personality and Mann only emphasizes that fact by trying to give them personal issues to work with. Pick a side!! The plot is incomprehensible for the most part. Farrell, in what appears to be a constant hangover, cannot enunciate to save his life (Foxx looks just as confused as I did) and the writing fails to build up the story effectively. The dialogue is also laughable. After a date, Li (as Isabella) tells Crockett about a fortune cookie. He pauses, and moves on by asking her about insurance. Are you kidding me???? Most of the movie's dialogue, however, is specific to Tubbs and Crockett's job, though it is never clarified to enlighten the viewer. I tried to decipher it all, but gave up after a few minutes, for I seriously did not really care. The geography is also confusing, as the characters are constantly flying/boating/driving in and out of various locales. The occasional title hardly helps the audience. Which brings me to another question: where the hell is Miami in 'Miami' Vice??? 'Central American' Vice might've been a better title... In the end, what I'm trying to say is I know that as a twenty year old girl, I am not the target audience, but does that mean I had to be bored to tears the entire time? The best thing about the film were the trailers for Children of Men and The Black Dahlia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinB.Jul 28, 2006
Ok, seriously? That was one of the worst movies I've ever sat through. I'll be honest, I'm 18, I've never seen the original series. I feel like that really hurt my experience
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewB.Jul 28, 2006
Miami Vice is a stylistic, cinematic experience that one should not miss. The film, like the TV series upon which it is based (as well as Michael Mann
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronK.Jul 28, 2006
"Miami Vice" is a stylish, intense movie, that works fully as a dramatic, action piece. I loved it and it is one of the best summer movies of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OmarK.Jul 29, 2006
Absolute garbage... The realism within gun battles was refreshing and intense, but every other part of the movie was a mockery. The BS connection between Farrell and the Asian woman ruined half of the movie. 3 thumbs down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ThomasJul 29, 2006
Wow, I can't believe the metascore for this is 64... I usually disagree when critics go the *other* way, which is more common. It just dragged on and on from the first min. to the last. They can't possibly expect people to sit Wow, I can't believe the metascore for this is 64... I usually disagree when critics go the *other* way, which is more common. It just dragged on and on from the first min. to the last. They can't possibly expect people to sit through this for over two hrs. I enjoyed watching the series as a kid, but this was nothing like the show. The plot was completely convoluted, the dialog was impossible to understand, esp. Farrell & Li (I just gave up on all their scenes together), and the shootout camerawork made me want to puke. I wish directors would stop trying to be 'edgy' by filming vomit-inducing scenes. The violence was way too over the top, w/ blood spurts on the lens and ppl's gray matter flying all over the place. I guess this is what studios think ppl want to see near the end of summer. I should've just watched POTC:DMC again, instead of wasting a ticket on this junk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanJul 29, 2006
I thought it was excellent. Great atmosphere and realism. Doesn't follow the typical hollywood formula for action movies, which is a good thing! not everyone will like this film though, but this is gritty and visceral entertainment that I thought it was excellent. Great atmosphere and realism. Doesn't follow the typical hollywood formula for action movies, which is a good thing! not everyone will like this film though, but this is gritty and visceral entertainment that makes you wonder how dangerous working undercover really is!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottJ.Jul 29, 2006
Performances by Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx were good but the plot develops so slowly and there's no action until about 1/2 hour from the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewY.Jul 29, 2006
With the excepton of the little but well done action scenes, the movie is very mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonD.Jul 29, 2006
Luckily I went for free. Numerous plot flaws, choppy and dark camera work(is that stylish?), drawn out shower sex scenes(one for Colin and one for Jamie), predictable twists, terrible soundtrack. Every member of the force is buff and Luckily I went for free. Numerous plot flaws, choppy and dark camera work(is that stylish?), drawn out shower sex scenes(one for Colin and one for Jamie), predictable twists, terrible soundtrack. Every member of the force is buff and attractive??I had a hard time sitting through this crap fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WilliamB.Jul 29, 2006
This could quite possibly be the worst movie I have ever seen. If you are going to call the movie, 'Miami Vice,' you need to at least make some cursory nod to the original TV show. The only connection here is that there are two This could quite possibly be the worst movie I have ever seen. If you are going to call the movie, 'Miami Vice,' you need to at least make some cursory nod to the original TV show. The only connection here is that there are two character who happen to be named Crockett and Tubbs. Typical scene: characters talk, characters give intense stare, characters talk some more, characters stare. Then there's an obligatory gun battle at the end. Avoid this 'movie' at all costs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettL.Jul 31, 2006
By far the best studio-made movie this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregM.Jul 31, 2006
Disappointing, boring, overlong-- as are most action movies these days. Colin Farrell sounds like he's gargling mojito-mouthwash and looks like Tim Daly. Gong Li should stick to Spanish. "Hola, Chico!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TechB.Jul 31, 2006
one heck of a fast paced glitzy gripping intense action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UlfM.Jul 31, 2006
I consider it a courageous and necessary decision to give this movie it's own identity and not just repackage everything the TV show had to offer. The basic theme of being torn between moral identity and the temptations of money, power I consider it a courageous and necessary decision to give this movie it's own identity and not just repackage everything the TV show had to offer. The basic theme of being torn between moral identity and the temptations of money, power and lifestyle is still the spine of the story. The HD cinematography gives it a breathtakingly real appearance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarryP.Jul 31, 2006
I don't understand what all the grumbling is about with this movie. It was tightly plotted, well crafted, filmed magnificently and avoided completely all the schlock associated with the original TV series. This was supposed to be a I don't understand what all the grumbling is about with this movie. It was tightly plotted, well crafted, filmed magnificently and avoided completely all the schlock associated with the original TV series. This was supposed to be a loose adaptation of the TV series, not some cheap paint by numbers retread. Its originality, cinematography and tension (especially during the last 45 minutes or so) make this a welcome addition to the Mann canon - I would only put Thief, Heat and the totally underrated The Insider higher on the list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CeeE.Jul 31, 2006
Very disappointing! The "look" is too grainy and out of focus and looks crappy -- if this is on purpose, I fail to see the point of it. The plot is hard to follow, and what pass for action scenes are BORING. We were looking forward to this Very disappointing! The "look" is too grainy and out of focus and looks crappy -- if this is on purpose, I fail to see the point of it. The plot is hard to follow, and what pass for action scenes are BORING. We were looking forward to this all summer, but my husband fell asleep and I yawned my head off. Too bad, because the acting was decent. Oh well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonydannieJul 31, 2006
It has the look and feel that i expect from a Michael Mann Film. Along with great dialogue and great music. It stands up there with Collateral and Heat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveTJul 31, 2006
Very Disappointed with Michael Mann this time. I was expecting his ususal work, but not this time. I guess everyone directs a stinker at least once. The problem I have is the script was terrible. There was really no sense that Crocket and Very Disappointed with Michael Mann this time. I was expecting his ususal work, but not this time. I guess everyone directs a stinker at least once. The problem I have is the script was terrible. There was really no sense that Crocket and Tubbs were a team. Sure they are both vice cops, but they really didn't work together. Durring the movie they are both off doing different things the whole time. Another thing is lighting is terrible in the movie. You can't see what's going on half the time. The worst is the big gun battle. You have no idea who is who. Sure the muzzle flash looks cool and night fire is scary, but it doesn't work well in the movie. I'll give Mann another chance, but not this movie. It stinks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatR.Jul 30, 2006
Michael Mann fan but this was so boring that after an hour I walked out. Gong Li was the only watchable part of the movie. Can you say DUD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickJul 31, 2006
I liked it... Granted I was in the right mood. I wasn't expecting the movie to change my life, I wanted a decent story with some decent action and cool cinematography... got it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesP.Jul 30, 2006
A bad remake of the TV show. no real plot, very slow moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RyencokeAug 1, 2006
Really bad. The movie was so boring, and I was a huge fan of Michael Mann's other movies, but this was stupid. Broing as hell, no action. Just bad, totally avoid this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaS.Aug 11, 2006
Like Mann doing Malick doing Mann. Even the movies percieved "slightness" is a strength. It never drops to the "look at us" pomp of "Heat" and knows better than to dip into politics. The pace is invigorating and the acting is fab. It's Like Mann doing Malick doing Mann. Even the movies percieved "slightness" is a strength. It never drops to the "look at us" pomp of "Heat" and knows better than to dip into politics. The pace is invigorating and the acting is fab. It's the kind of movie who's very flaws should prove beloved by its fans over time. Miss out at your own loss suckas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NathanP.Aug 1, 2006
I left the theater after a hour of this convoluted, confused, poor excuse of a mediocre 80's TV show. On the bright side I got to level 12 in Galga for just 50 cents while I waited for the rest of my friends to give up. (They joined me I left the theater after a hour of this convoluted, confused, poor excuse of a mediocre 80's TV show. On the bright side I got to level 12 in Galga for just 50 cents while I waited for the rest of my friends to give up. (They joined me fifteen minutes later.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnT.Aug 13, 2006
Michael Mann is one, if not my favorite, director. His insight into what makes great scenery and mood is unequalled. Don't fault him with bad chemistry between actors. Sometimes you just can't get what you want out of your cast. Michael Mann is one, if not my favorite, director. His insight into what makes great scenery and mood is unequalled. Don't fault him with bad chemistry between actors. Sometimes you just can't get what you want out of your cast. His actions scenes are second to no one at all. The impact of bullets on metal, the realistic percussion of the firearms, and the scenery is perfect. The plot is weak and the actors just dont mesh. See Collateral and watch how the boring Tom Cruise is made interesting. Jamie Fox makes a better blundering cab driver than Tubbs any time. The casting was a mistake, which affected the plot. Go see this in the theater with accurate expectations. The plot will be weak, the actors will be poorly cast, but the action will be fenominal, even though spaced out. The music is great (I'm going to cuss out Itunes for leaving Audioslave out of the soundtrack. Anyone know where to get these new Audioslave songs?). Taking a speedboat to Cuba on a whim is a brilliant plot feature. Doesn't anyone wonder why Jan Hammer did not want to do the score or why James Olmos turned down a part? If I heard Jaime Fox and Colin Ferrel, I would have puked too! Not for this movie! Which is what I said when I saw the first preview online. I was cussing the casting. Make no mistake. Mann is an artist. He has great insite and soul. Jaime Fox! Come on Mann!!!??? It would have been better to find no name actors like they did for the original series Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FramescourerAug 14, 2006
So cool, I almost started laughing in the theatre at how much I wanted to be a Florida Narc. There's very little character analysis - pathologies get played out on the surface with fast vehicles, girls and guns. James Bond is a wuss
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Aug 2, 2006
This movie rocks & is one of the best this summer for action! If you liked the old 80's series, you will like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SonyboyAug 2, 2006
If you are a fan of Michael Mann & Gong Li, go see this movie. It is way better than wasting your money on other summer movies that will disappoint you. Fast action, guns & hot salsa dancing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Aug 2, 2006
Michael Mann has taken his 1980's t.v show, one of the most innovative and distictive series in television history, and made one of the best TNT movies of the week ever! It has no connections to the series at all, and after 30 minutes Michael Mann has taken his 1980's t.v show, one of the most innovative and distictive series in television history, and made one of the best TNT movies of the week ever! It has no connections to the series at all, and after 30 minutes you find yourself praying for just one pastel color or one scene of "cool" comrade banter between the stars who are given no history between them and the lack of chemistry between Farrell & Foxx is a dull giveaway from the git-go. It simply is, a good made for t.v. movie with aspirations of becoming another Michael Mann classic but instead it's Johnny Depp in Pirates arriving on a sinking ship but standing tall as if it's not happening. A Major Dissapointment for a summer of minor disappointments already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonB.Aug 28, 2006
I've never been so bored in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TrickedintoSeeingAug 3, 2006
I'd read the good review in the globe so went to see; in the first five minutes, i was like "the acting is horrible!". i wasn't the only one, cuz throughout the movie the audience was laughing at farrell's badly delivered &I'd read the good review in the globe so went to see; in the first five minutes, i was like "the acting is horrible!". i wasn't the only one, cuz throughout the movie the audience was laughing at farrell's badly delivered & cheesy lines. if the actor or mann had been in the theatre, they would've burst into flames. in addtion to bad acting, there were huge problems w/the plot--why does he involve himself with the drug dealer's chick? this is a highly experienced cop... no way would he jeopradise his undercover role... etc etc. last point: in the movie farrel looks like a cowboy hustler in a low-budget porn-- which basically somes up the level of his acting. especially the extra-husky goofly low voice he uses... what's that all about? destined to parodied by SNL, etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlecB.Aug 30, 2006
coolest action movie of the summer so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Jan 11, 2007
Accusations of style over substance may be levelled here, but does that not hark back to the series? Style fairly oozes out of every pore here, Farrell and Foxx pose and posture with gusto, and Mann paints each scene with the brush of an Accusations of style over substance may be levelled here, but does that not hark back to the series? Style fairly oozes out of every pore here, Farrell and Foxx pose and posture with gusto, and Mann paints each scene with the brush of an artist, using enough vibrant images to paper over the odd plot hole here and there. A gourmet visual feast, but not a lot more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveJan 15, 2007
Michael Mann can make any screenplay look cool and Miami Vice is no exception! The HD camera will change the cinema experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful