Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 28, 2006
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 279 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
135
Mixed:
44
Negative:
100
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
MichaelB.Dec 18, 2006
Decent. Apparently what most people consider Vice's biggest selling-point is what I consider its biggest flaw. The scenes change rather rapidly, and little is revealed through dialogue (with the exception of a few key moments). Decent. Apparently what most people consider Vice's biggest selling-point is what I consider its biggest flaw. The scenes change rather rapidly, and little is revealed through dialogue (with the exception of a few key moments). It's basically Heat with Sonny and Rico, except that this formula worked for Heat and makes Vice seem a little awkward. As if the premise of the movie wasn't already far-fetched (vice cops who live on the beach, wear designer clothes and drive expensive sports cars), the ending is pure fantasy (not to mention pure idiocy). It is also quite lengthy at 2 hrs 20 min; proper editing could have easily eliminated about 10-15 minutes. It is worth renting if you like movies about undercover police work and if nothing else catches your eye. I really can't recommend owning it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DaveC.Jul 29, 2006
Read: "Charlotte Observer - Lawrence Toppman"'s review at 38... It's right on! And the only reason why I gave it a rating as favorable as a 4 is because the deaths look very cool... nothing else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
hughie*Aug 1, 2006
Flat looking. Ordinary. This is what $150 million gets you nowadays?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielP.Aug 2, 2006
I agree with much of what has been said. What was the point of the film ? Did the Archangel character get caught ? Could they really let Ging Li go ? How can an "action" film be so boring ? And finally .."I'm a fiend for mojitos". Aaack!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GaborA.Aug 5, 2006
Pretty much what I expected from Michael Mann at this stage in his career given his tendancy of slow deterioration. We're leagues away from Heat and Insider but still a good head and shoulders above the rest of the wire fu and The Rock Pretty much what I expected from Michael Mann at this stage in his career given his tendancy of slow deterioration. We're leagues away from Heat and Insider but still a good head and shoulders above the rest of the wire fu and The Rock fronted tripe surrounding it. Really this movie's only flaw, be that a significant one, was bad pacing. I don't mind a lack of action even in such a film, but a lack of 30 minutes of tango and farshots of speedboats in the sunrise would also have been nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CBSep 3, 2006
Amazing to look at. But what a dull film. Was Jamie Foxx even in it? I don't care that it has almost nothing to do with the TV show, just make me a good movie Mr. Mann.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanS.May 29, 2007
I recall enjoying the television episodes of "Miami Vice"...for example, when the Chief of Detectives would mutter remarks like " the rhythm of the streets must be restored". The ultra-cool pastel fashions modeled by our heroes and the I recall enjoying the television episodes of "Miami Vice"...for example, when the Chief of Detectives would mutter remarks like " the rhythm of the streets must be restored". The ultra-cool pastel fashions modeled by our heroes and the fantasy powerboat were always fun; the plots were easy to follow and the dialogue was often quite witty. This very long retrospective film , however, fails to evoke that. The plot is muddled and unconvincing, while the shootouts are noisy and even tedious.. Yet, the cinematography was quite spectacular at times, especially in South America (the Iguasso Falls!!) and along the Havana waterfront. Crockett is not as stupid as he looks; at least he knows when to take a break from his chores to carouse with Gong Li. She's ALWAYS great to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoePDec 21, 2006
All flair, no substance. The plot was the typical cops infiltrate drug cartel. Flashy scenery with not a lot going on in this movie. Overacting by Colin Farrell killed this, and Jamie Foxx should get out of acting after this flop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LonnieB.Jul 26, 2006
As a fan of the television show and of Michael Mann's previous films, I was really looking forward to seeing Miami Vice... unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the film and surprised with the flaws of the film. First let me start As a fan of the television show and of Michael Mann's previous films, I was really looking forward to seeing Miami Vice... unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the film and surprised with the flaws of the film. First let me start with the positives: 1. Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx - ... these two really did a good job of playing their roles and it didn't take me long to accept them as Crockett and Tubbs. 2. I was also really impressed with how some of the scenes were shot... from the boating scenes, to the exotic locations, to the shootout scenes which are pretty graphic, but defintely worth seeing. Unfortunately, the negatives of the film overshadow the positives... One of the surprises about Vice is how badly the film is edited which was very disappointing since Mann's other films didn't necessarily have this problem. The other surprise is problems with the dialogue.... there are moments when the dialogue is confusing, but surprisingly, there are other moments when you just can't hear the dialogue. Also I was a bit disappointed in the casting of Gong Li. She's a wonderful actress and does a good job in this film, but somehow, the casting of her in this role didn't work for me. Finally, the plot of the film is a bit hard to follow(due to the dialuge/editing problems mentioned above) and also, don't expect an action film that is nonstop as this is really a brooding drama with action scenes. In conclusion, Miami Vice the movie in 2006 is like Miami Vice the TV show during its last few seasons on the air... great looking, but seriously flawed and recommended only to fans of the old TV show, actors or filmmaker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottJ.Jul 29, 2006
Performances by Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx were good but the plot develops so slowly and there's no action until about 1/2 hour from the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewY.Jul 29, 2006
With the excepton of the little but well done action scenes, the movie is very mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Aug 2, 2006
Michael Mann has taken his 1980's t.v show, one of the most innovative and distictive series in television history, and made one of the best TNT movies of the week ever! It has no connections to the series at all, and after 30 minutes Michael Mann has taken his 1980's t.v show, one of the most innovative and distictive series in television history, and made one of the best TNT movies of the week ever! It has no connections to the series at all, and after 30 minutes you find yourself praying for just one pastel color or one scene of "cool" comrade banter between the stars who are given no history between them and the lack of chemistry between Farrell & Foxx is a dull giveaway from the git-go. It simply is, a good made for t.v. movie with aspirations of becoming another Michael Mann classic but instead it's Johnny Depp in Pirates arriving on a sinking ship but standing tall as if it's not happening. A Major Dissapointment for a summer of minor disappointments already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonB.Aug 28, 2006
I've never been so bored in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexM.Jul 28, 2006
Went to see it and it was OK. 'Heat', Mann's other thriller was much better and I know why: Pacino, DeNiro and Val Kilmer. Farrell and Foxx are lightweights as actors, totally overrated with zero chemistry. This movie had Went to see it and it was OK. 'Heat', Mann's other thriller was much better and I know why: Pacino, DeNiro and Val Kilmer. Farrell and Foxx are lightweights as actors, totally overrated with zero chemistry. This movie had nothing in common with the series and it it doesn't want anything to do with it either. The filming/scenes are awesome and the sound was great. The bad guys do a good job. Gong Li, hard to understand... Overall it's pretty good, I think with a good DVD sound system it would be a great rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrianMDec 15, 2007
This film is just a boring piece of crap. If you're going to make a cop movie, then make a good cop movie. This film was completely uninvolving and boring with no character development. It's just a crappy movie with Colin Farrel This film is just a boring piece of crap. If you're going to make a cop movie, then make a good cop movie. This film was completely uninvolving and boring with no character development. It's just a crappy movie with Colin Farrel and Jamie Foxx holding guns and trying to look cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Compi24Feb 18, 2015
Soulless lead characters and an absolutely mind-numbing second act squelch any chance that "Miami Vice" has in convincing the audience to buy its gritty, updated interpretation of the classic TV saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FrenziedPandaH2Jul 9, 2017
Jamie Foxx is a Rapper... ..... Policial Cliché, action comes only when the weapons come...
Predictable, but nostalgic
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews