Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 5, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 351 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
274
Mixed:
47
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ArthurC.Nov 7, 2007
Nearly perfect. This is the best written movie of the year. Tense, smart, and all the things you want from a legal thriller. The final face off that Clooney has is pure brilliance. He deserves an Oscar nom if not the win.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jwNov 9, 2007
What a great movie. Or should I say: What? A great movie?? If Wilkinson doesn't get an Oscar for support, I'll eat my shoe. All of it. And I walk through nasty stuff. Scenes between him and Clooney are high-end. The words are What a great movie. Or should I say: What? A great movie?? If Wilkinson doesn't get an Oscar for support, I'll eat my shoe. All of it. And I walk through nasty stuff. Scenes between him and Clooney are high-end. The words are fantastic. Informed but not sermonic, huge but not bombastic (save where bombast is called for). Come to think of it, Clooney getting an Oscar would not be uncalled for, though that will probably go to Tommy Lee Jones. Tilda Swinton continues to show up in movies I like (SEE: Thumbsucker, Broken Flowers). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
blondevixenDec 21, 2011
Extremely boring....I could hardly stay awake enough to pay attention. Do not see this late at night or after more than one drink....you will soon be sound asleep.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ghorahnJan 6, 2012
A seriously enthralling movie. I'm a fan of thrillers, but I usually just start up a movie on netflix and then let the movie give me a reason to watch it. By the end of this movie, I was squatting in front of the tv, my heart racing. Loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
I was pretty confused right off the back. It was over acted( like that is a surprise.) Still it wasn't that bad, but it wasn't very interesting. The ending picked up when everything began to connect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobApr 13, 2012
Very solid performances by the cast. The flaw of this though is that it's a little confusing at times and it never really peaks until the end of the film (around the last 20 minutes of the film). Its still a good movie though, I enjoyed watching it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
InsanityOnABunDec 21, 2012
Even with only a couple spots of true action, this film's characters and plot are engaging enough to sell the whole package. It is a bit slow, but it proves to be worthy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bram29Jan 19, 2013
i always wondered one thing when watching those b-movies that feature a lot of people getting sick because of evil companies with lots of money and the hero suing the company and winning because of his/her good heart: the side of the badi always wondered one thing when watching those b-movies that feature a lot of people getting sick because of evil companies with lots of money and the hero suing the company and winning because of his/her good heart: the side of the bad guys. because those movies tend to leave all the arguments of the bad guys at: they just want te make more money. here's something interesting: this movie plays from the viewpoint of the bad guys, and you know what? this one actually became a complicated character piece with lots of intrigue and businessmen in suits. and, my favourite, the good guys do not win in the end because they get lucky or because they love everybody so much. no, they do it the old fashioned way: by being smarter than the opposition. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
WiesyJan 21, 2013
A complicated but good and exciting thriller. The best movie of 2007. Again Robert Ludlum blow my mind like he did by the Jason Bourne movies (Robert Ludlum is the writer of the Jason Bourne movies and this movie). I like the cast and theA complicated but good and exciting thriller. The best movie of 2007. Again Robert Ludlum blow my mind like he did by the Jason Bourne movies (Robert Ludlum is the writer of the Jason Bourne movies and this movie). I like the cast and the story. Nice movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
VidsRuleApr 1, 2013
This movie relies on a perfect complicated-yet-understandable story and the type of acting that is completely grounded in reality. You don't see Clooney have wild ups and downs because his character wouldn't have them. Same with all otherThis movie relies on a perfect complicated-yet-understandable story and the type of acting that is completely grounded in reality. You don't see Clooney have wild ups and downs because his character wouldn't have them. Same with all other actors including the hit men. Just pros. No yelling or screaming. Scarily, this is probably how pro hitmen work. They don't act or look different. And Wilkenson plays a man in the mists of a manic episode perfrectly. His is the only character that acts in extremes, but believe me, it's very realistic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersMay 26, 2013
Very, very, very slow and hard to follow at first. But, Michael Clayton is a very good thriller. A unique thing about this film, isn't the plot, but the way it appeals as a thriller. With the minimal use of a score and action, it's thrillsVery, very, very slow and hard to follow at first. But, Michael Clayton is a very good thriller. A unique thing about this film, isn't the plot, but the way it appeals as a thriller. With the minimal use of a score and action, it's thrills are driven by the acting. So many other thrillers depend on intense music and fighting, but this film depends solely upon it's brilliant cast. George Clooney, Tom Atkinson, and Tilda Swinton are fantastic in this film. Definitely worth a watch. I promise that after the slow first hour, it gets very good and intense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonJun 7, 2013
Lawyer Michael Clayton cleans up tricky legal problems for his companies wealthiest clients. After years on the job he’s had enough of, he’s middle-aged, divorced and realizes that his career is going nowhere but remains dependent on theLawyer Michael Clayton cleans up tricky legal problems for his companies wealthiest clients. After years on the job he’s had enough of, he’s middle-aged, divorced and realizes that his career is going nowhere but remains dependent on the company thanks to his gambling troubles and a failed attempt at opening a bar. When one of the companies partners goes AWOL after working on a case for six years Clayton is sent to get him back on the job but soon begins to unravel an uncomfortable truth about the case.

The movie forgoes action for the most part, instead choosing to let the truth behind the case gradually unravel through glimpses at legal documents and out of context conversations that really require the viewer to concentrate. Each of the major characters comes across as well rounded with some good performance throughout but the movie is held together by George Clooney, who remains a terrific screen presence and his characters gradual development plays a huge part in the movies overall success.

I have heard Michael Clayton described as a thriller, and that is perhaps the wrong word to use, but it is certainly an interesting movie and well worth investing two hours of your time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFOct 8, 2013
Many people have notions of what a 'fixer' may actually do, some see rubber gloves and cleaning up crime scenes, others may see smooth talking, good looking and suited up individuals who confidently go about their job as a sought afterMany people have notions of what a 'fixer' may actually do, some see rubber gloves and cleaning up crime scenes, others may see smooth talking, good looking and suited up individuals who confidently go about their job as a sought after individual. But George Clooney plays a different sort of fixer, his character, Michael Clayton, is realistic in his approach to every part of his job, he isn't a miracle worker, nor does he make every problem disappear because at the end of the day, he simply cleans up the mess, but the bigger the mess, the more complex the clean-up. Clayton himself has problems of his own that he cannot sweep under the rug, while he may look the part, Clooney portrays a character who isn't everything he appears, he owes serious amounts of money to loan sharks after we discover his gambling habit, struggles with financing his life and desperately tries to repair his past mistakes but still creating new ones, all while taking on a big "mess". The law firm he works for is facing a crisis after one of its partners, Arthur Edens (Tom Wilkinson) has quite the mental breakdown in the midst of a massive court case which Arthur knows the company his firm is defending are guilty of their crimes, something Michael is desperately trying to amend. It's clear to see why we have the title named after our main character, it is focusing on the life a man leads who feels he has no purpose, a man who is taken for granted and then thrown to the side, something Clooney portrays through many forces and silent stares, while we also see how he tries to balance his life as a dad and a man with a job that he can't really explain to anyone, but he shares the screen with someone else who is confident in her job but masks her demons, lawyer for the big client, a client called UNorth being sued for illegal chemical dumping Karen Crowdor (Tilda Swinton), equally as cunning and potentially dangerous as Clayton. It's films like this where we look to the talent involved to realise they are the driving force of the film, the tension and chemistry they create while also taking from a sharp and smartly written piece from director and writer Tony Gilroy, who cleverly takes a sombre approach to have this business thriller being much more than it seems, there isn't realty an inspiring touch to leave you flabbergasted, but more about style and the performances, it focuses solely on the consequences of actions as we have many guilt-ridden characters with too much power on their hands. As mentioned, the performances are the standout moments of this film, Clooney proves his stability and grit while Swinton also shoes her worth as the sort of Yin to Clooney's Yang. It's a smart and complex film that stays intriguing thanks to its strong cast and compelling story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithDec 20, 2013
A very atmospheric and exceptionally well written drama that doubles as a thriller, Michael Clayton will grip any intelligent moviegoer until the end. The plot delves into corporation conspiracies, murder, and deceit galore, and it's allA very atmospheric and exceptionally well written drama that doubles as a thriller, Michael Clayton will grip any intelligent moviegoer until the end. The plot delves into corporation conspiracies, murder, and deceit galore, and it's all played out brilliantly. The cast is great and the direction is precise, but I couldn't help but feel that something was missing. I previously gave this movie a 9, but as time went on I began to realize that it's actually somewhat limited. It works almost perfectly when you're watching it, but it doesn't really linger on the mind when it's over. It also could have been more kinetic. I'm not saying that I wanted full on shoot outs, but a couple of fights should have been thrown in for good measure. Complaints aside, it's still very, very good. Forgot to mention how beautifully shot the film, but you'll see that for yourself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
NancyZ.Mar 2, 2008
Film went off in hundred directions and never quite developed anything. Clooney just broods. I can not see the hipe in this film. What a mess.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
OhshiA.Nov 8, 2007
Very over-rated, this film didn't entice me from the start. It had a little bit of everything which added up to nothing. I guess I've seen one too many "lawyer" movies to think this film had anything new or significant to contribute.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
OrsonNov 11, 2007
I laughed a lot, then walked out 90 minutes later in the face of this dreck. "Clayton" is a noir version of "Erin Brockovich," but instead of telling us from the plaintif's side, we see the defendants view. The story hinges on believing I laughed a lot, then walked out 90 minutes later in the face of this dreck. "Clayton" is a noir version of "Erin Brockovich," but instead of telling us from the plaintif's side, we see the defendants view. The story hinges on believing in a conspiracy of 11 people knowing The Truth - except that at least a few dozen more know it. The story's body count is only a fraction of what was needed to keep a lip on this! Hence, my laughter at its predictability. PEOPLE! Didn't Watergate, or at least "All The President's Men," not teach us that beyond 6-12 in the loop, The Truth will out? Yes. At least most films violating this tule distract the audience with action ACTION A-C-T-I-O-N! This one's a ponderous, pretentious bore, redeemed only by fine acting and production values - but an unbelievable script. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TaylorC.Nov 26, 2007
Holy crap this blew! I agree with Olson or whatever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
laladadaJan 14, 2008
I'd only give this movie a ten for the ten or so snores i heard in the unpacked theater screening. despite it being a free screening, i was quite upset that i lost two hours of precious time. actually, just an hour and a half...i got I'd only give this movie a ten for the ten or so snores i heard in the unpacked theater screening. despite it being a free screening, i was quite upset that i lost two hours of precious time. actually, just an hour and a half...i got some much needed sleep during the other 30 minutes. at least i left the theater somewhat rested. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GeorgeMovieJan 22, 2008
Both my wife and I thought this was a ZZZZZZZZ. It was a SO WHAT movie. Based on the people in the audience. they didn't think much of this talky either. Maybe it's the Liberal George Cloony? Its a rental on a Nothings on Tv night.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MichaelPJan 27, 2008
I only give this a one because of a couple of decent scenes, one being at the very end. Otherwise, as many users said here, the most overrated film of the year. Much adieu about nothing, plot-wise. Structuring the whole movie as one long I only give this a one because of a couple of decent scenes, one being at the very end. Otherwise, as many users said here, the most overrated film of the year. Much adieu about nothing, plot-wise. Structuring the whole movie as one long flashback--by giving away a key ending scene--blew all the suspense for what might have been a very good part of the film. Overall, this felt contrived, like the filmmakers were trying too hard to be artsy and not hard enough simply to tell a good, gripping story. Your money is better spent on other films that are out right now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FrankS.Jan 27, 2008
Talking heads. Far too much dialogue. To the filmmakers: learn to use your medium. Less is more. Show, don't tell. A picture is worth a thousand words. And PLEASE don't have one character read the CV of another character aloud! Talking heads. Far too much dialogue. To the filmmakers: learn to use your medium. Less is more. Show, don't tell. A picture is worth a thousand words. And PLEASE don't have one character read the CV of another character aloud! Take a screenwriting course to learn how to avoid this. (How do millions get spent on a fundamentally bad movie...? And these critics--are they paid off by the studio or something?) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LindaL.Jan 27, 2008
Wow, considering the reviews & rankings this film got, I really was disappointed that it was not more suspenseful. Not one detail in it startled me, unnerved me or surprised me. Clooney looked and seemed exactly the same throughout. (For a Wow, considering the reviews & rankings this film got, I really was disappointed that it was not more suspenseful. Not one detail in it startled me, unnerved me or surprised me. Clooney looked and seemed exactly the same throughout. (For a brilliantly portrayed white-collar guy who's gradually consumed by the angst of a stressful situation, please see Russell Crowe in "The Insider.") Good acting by all, but the plot is less exciting than than a typical episode of "Law & Order: Criminal Intent." I would guess that critics' and the Academy's love for Clooney must account for this film being judged so stupendously superior to others that are much more engrossing and suspenseful . . . "Eastern Promises" comes to mind (also with good acting, and a lot more actually happens). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndrewD.Jan 29, 2008
A great film for people who are deeply moved by class action suits, lawyers droning endless legalese, and George Clooney's expressionless face. Corporate "thrillers" suck. Who wants to watch movies about this stuff? Workaholics? Save A great film for people who are deeply moved by class action suits, lawyers droning endless legalese, and George Clooney's expressionless face. Corporate "thrillers" suck. Who wants to watch movies about this stuff? Workaholics? Save yourself the expense and just work some overtime--you'll get the same thrill and make an extra buck or two in the process. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JasonW.Jan 29, 2008
I didn't buy the premise of this movie. In real life, a lawyer off the rails like the one portrayed here would simply be replaced by his firm. The excuses for not doing this were flimsy. Furthermore, what's with this hackenyed I didn't buy the premise of this movie. In real life, a lawyer off the rails like the one portrayed here would simply be replaced by his firm. The excuses for not doing this were flimsy. Furthermore, what's with this hackenyed plot? Big, bad, greedy corporation is taken down by good-hearted hero. Please! This theme has been done to death. I don't understand what the critics see in this unoriginal work. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
StuartC.Feb 17, 2008
This is an anti capitalist diatribe worthy of a left wing zealot like Clooney. And by the way don't you require a body to make sure someone is dead?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherS.Feb 20, 2008
This movie spent a lot of time showing us how flawed and difficult Michael Clayton's life is, he gambles, he's divorced, his restaurant is being sold off, his father is hooked up to oxygen his brother is an alcoholic loser and This movie spent a lot of time showing us how flawed and difficult Michael Clayton's life is, he gambles, he's divorced, his restaurant is being sold off, his father is hooked up to oxygen his brother is an alcoholic loser and he's in debt to who? Mobsters? And he has till Friday to pay them off? If he doesn't then what?. So What!! I suppose to serve as a contrast to his great abilities as "fixer". But the one scene where the best "fixer" in the business shows his stuff is at the very beginning when he is called upon to help a client with a sticky hit and run problem. What does he offer this desperate man as a solution? The name of a good trial attorney! The client was understandably unimpressed, so was I. The rest of the movie he's nothing more then a glorified baby-sitter and he screws that up pretty badly. The scene in the field with the horses falls flat simply because Clooney is incapable of letting himself go emotionally. As a result it comes off as an awkward contrivance created simply to get the character out of the car. As a hero Michael Clayton is unimpressive and unimposing. As a villain, Karen Crowder is laughable. This underwritten nebbish of a character is all that stands in Michael's way? Give me a break. The climactic confrontation at the end is a joke. I felt sorry for Crowder and thought Clayton looked more like a classroom bully who gets his kicks picking on little girls then an avenging hero standing up for truth and justice. Totally unimpressive. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SamuelG.Feb 24, 2008
All movies of this sort delight in loose ends, so I'll not dwell on those. Instead, something about the movie's paradoxes. A self-consciously slick Hollywood product that adopts all of the fetishizing gimmicks of the advertising All movies of this sort delight in loose ends, so I'll not dwell on those. Instead, something about the movie's paradoxes. A self-consciously slick Hollywood product that adopts all of the fetishizing gimmicks of the advertising used by the story's evil company? A paean to seeing the world clearly, to taking a fearless moral stand, that treats humans like cartoons and suggests an equation between ethical status and real estate values? And yet again Tilda Swinton wins praise for impersonating a robot Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoeT.Feb 25, 2008
The Western elite are flawed and morally bankrupt, I get it. ...Impeccably shot though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
XavierL.Feb 25, 2008
Reminds me of The Firm, but worse. Of course, because it's handsome George staring, and since he's determined to be recognized as an actor, this pseudo-artistic faux-70ies thriller is pleasing the critics, but not the Reminds me of The Firm, but worse. Of course, because it's handsome George staring, and since he's determined to be recognized as an actor, this pseudo-artistic faux-70ies thriller is pleasing the critics, but not the discriminating viewer who enjoys a well-made movie, i.e. don't pretend to make one if your cliche's are...so cliche'! when it pretends to be one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnneA.Feb 26, 2008
2/26 Just saw. Absolutely fabulous!!! Best movie we've seen in years should of won more oscars!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
d.michelleMar 6, 2008
Entertaining with no basis in fact. Companies do bad things, but they are entitled to legal defense. Should the company have taken out a full page ad in WSJ announcing thier wrongdoing? Maybe they should settle with the people that were Entertaining with no basis in fact. Companies do bad things, but they are entitled to legal defense. Should the company have taken out a full page ad in WSJ announcing thier wrongdoing? Maybe they should settle with the people that were harmed? Oh wait... that happened. A GC that hires hitmen is about as plausible as one that uses her magic wand to curse opposing counsel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DeanC.Mar 11, 2008
Way too slow.took too long to develop.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JamesF.Mar 12, 2008
Nothing special here. This story should have been a hour crime solving TV show. Overhyped, I was disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AlecE.Mar 14, 2008
the acting is good but its just clooney playing himself, youve seen it before. the story is good but its nothing you havent seen before in a thousand michael crichton stories. old hat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
D.LebowskiMar 26, 2008
Hopefully people call this intellectual only because they had plenty of time while the movie was droning on to think about more interesting topics or daydream. The choices the characters have to make are ridiculous and seem contrived to Hopefully people call this intellectual only because they had plenty of time while the movie was droning on to think about more interesting topics or daydream. The choices the characters have to make are ridiculous and seem contrived to serve the weakly themed plot. Acting and direction were good, could have used an editing floor renovation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoshD.Mar 30, 2008
I really wanted to enjoy this movie but found it a little irritating... I know it is directed at a certain audience, and I also like to think I am in that audience but this movie just meandered along... George Clooney nearly looked like he I really wanted to enjoy this movie but found it a little irritating... I know it is directed at a certain audience, and I also like to think I am in that audience but this movie just meandered along... George Clooney nearly looked like he didn't know what was going on as well ! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Apr 2, 2008
Extremely well-acted but too slowly paced, it treads familiar ground; there is nothing new here. The three horses on the hill scene is pretentious and obvious, and the extended close-up of Clooney in the taxi at the end has "I'm the Extremely well-acted but too slowly paced, it treads familiar ground; there is nothing new here. The three horses on the hill scene is pretentious and obvious, and the extended close-up of Clooney in the taxi at the end has "I'm the star" written all over it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnN.May 6, 2008
Very slow and predictable. Characters had the potential, but the plot was weak.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MiKEMay 31, 2008
Well acted. but who cares? This movie was a bore! I made myself watch the whole movie, waiting for clever twist. But it never came.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KevinC.Jan 10, 2009
Horrible. Watched it with 5 intelligent, educated professionals, and 1 hour in to it, when it was obvious everyone wanted to quit watching it we still couldn't tell you what the movie was about. Possibly the most boring film I've Horrible. Watched it with 5 intelligent, educated professionals, and 1 hour in to it, when it was obvious everyone wanted to quit watching it we still couldn't tell you what the movie was about. Possibly the most boring film I've ever tried to endure. I truly can't believe the acclaim this steaming pile of boredom received...it completely baffles me. God, it was so bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Nov 3, 2007
Clooney for President.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RJM.Nov 9, 2007
Entertaining at least. not a great film though. starts off strong and gradually loses its edge. had lots of potential. But very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BasilL.Nov 10, 2007
Overall a good movie with a good ending but at times can be slow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrantWNov 11, 2007
I went to this movie with absolutely no idea of what I was going to see, and I left absolutely floored by how great of a film this was. Thrilling, subtle, entertaining, and I loved that ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyTonyNov 12, 2007
Awesome. Nobody left their seats until half way through the credits. They just let the rich tone of the finish savor for a while. Casting and performance was dead on perfect from Clooney, Swinton, Pollack and Wilkinson. Oscars for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KenGNov 18, 2007
The acting is good, and I could see and appreciate the attempt to make a "grown-up" movie, but all that doesn't make up for a script that takes a long time to get started, too often drags, and has too many unecessary scenes, that add The acting is good, and I could see and appreciate the attempt to make a "grown-up" movie, but all that doesn't make up for a script that takes a long time to get started, too often drags, and has too many unecessary scenes, that add nothing to the film, bogg down the story's forward momentum, and would have been better left on the editing room's floor. Also Swinton's pivitol character was seriously underwritten. In short, the performances were clearly better than the script. And no, I don't need explosions, car chases, and a lot of action to enjoy a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Nov 26, 2007
A solid film in which all characters, good/bad/other are flawed - just like in real life. The "reveals" and character development are subtle. You don't need to be hit over the head to figure out why Clayton is divorced and how good/bad A solid film in which all characters, good/bad/other are flawed - just like in real life. The "reveals" and character development are subtle. You don't need to be hit over the head to figure out why Clayton is divorced and how good/bad a father he is, but it's all there for you to consume without an abundance of dialog or setup. Clooney gives us a character trying to separate what is right from what is reality as he attempts to find the grey area in between which will enable him to live with himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrollDec 2, 2007
Excellent direction. Clooney in his best inrerpretation: Oscar candidate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Dec 2, 2007
Excellent thriller. Worth the entrance fee to see this well-made film. Great acting by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HovsepM.nDec 7, 2007
Great acting, great story telling. Sometimes the plot becomes slightly complicated , but it is fascinating to see how the actors maintain the tempo throughout the two hour movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimothyDungan-LevantDec 8, 2007
A solid, gripping genre piece -- not perfect, but very good, with a superb, low-key performance by Clooney at its center that gives it heft it might not otherwise have had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jerlrDec 28, 2007
One of the best films I've seen. Supberb writing and acting and great suspense. Clooney who is usually in macho roles does a wonderful nuanced performance of a man coming to grips with life
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClayK.Jan 1, 2008
I agree that this is a thriller. The ending was not a let-down, and I felt that this is a sure pick for a Best Picture nomination. To me, it doesn't feel like a Best Picture winner, but a sure nominee.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeC.Jan 16, 2008
People who don't like this movie are idiots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusA.Jan 22, 2008
Oh my god, definitely one of the top 3 this year. No one is better than Clooney when he is at his best. If you don't like this movie it's probably because your too dumb to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BHJan 26, 2008
Definitely the performances were better than the script. I didn't feel the tension or the drama. Not enough development on the characters and thus I didn't care for them nor was there any character arcs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricL.Jan 28, 2008
Decent movie. Tom Wilkinson was amazing in this movie and so was George Cloony.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffB.Jan 28, 2008
This was an intelligent, suspenseful, and intricate corporate thriller which was bolstered by some electric performances. All three actors who were nominated for Oscars were deserving, and the tension built as the pieces slowly started This was an intelligent, suspenseful, and intricate corporate thriller which was bolstered by some electric performances. All three actors who were nominated for Oscars were deserving, and the tension built as the pieces slowly started coming together. This was a very entertaining movie, and one of Clooney's best performances ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jan 29, 2008
"Am I clean?" Those are the ironic words of a "company man" who just planted a bomb in another company man's car. The real hero of "Michael Clayton" isn't the George Clooney character, or Arthur Edens(Tom Wilkinson); it's "Am I clean?" Those are the ironic words of a "company man" who just planted a bomb in another company man's car. The real hero of "Michael Clayton" isn't the George Clooney character, or Arthur Edens(Tom Wilkinson); it's Michael's 9-year-old son Henry, who is clean; who is good. That's why Michael gets out of the car for a closer look at the horses. Overwhelmed by a wave of love for his son, this morally-compromised man realizes that being a father redeems his bad business decisions, and disappointing career in the law firm. As Michael gets up close and personal with the band of equine faces, he regrets his patronizing attitude towards Henry's enthusiasm about a book; a book that Arthur appropriates for the cover page of a report which will lead to his salvation; the same book that Michael ignores. "Am I a good movie," asks "Michael Clayton". Yes, perhaps, even a great one. (As a side note: Is this writer/director a Scientologist? Yes, Arthur's awakening is primarily motivated by his penis, but the once complicit lawyer also goes off his meds. Without the psychotropic drugs, Arthur is an improved man. Can you imagine the controversy "Michael Clayton" would court from the media if Tom Cruise played the titular former prosecutor?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AriK.Jan 31, 2008
Very cool and gratifying film. An amazing cast too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KGFeb 11, 2008
Sydney Pollack did a good job as the head lawyer. No one in the packed theater dared move at the end until we saw all of the credits. Nice trick. I didn't get the horses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelE.Feb 12, 2008
No classic, but if every Hollywood movie turned out like this (and they all should), then I would be a much happier man. I absolutely have a crush on Tilda Swinton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyTFeb 12, 2008
Good but nothing new or original and definitely not an Oscar contender for movie or performance by George Clooney. If anyone should have been considered it would be Tom Wilkinson as Arthur.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Feb 13, 2008
Complex and intense thriller, excellent acting, especially by Tom Wilkinson. Nice pacing and tense. Well directed, great score and editing. A solid piece of filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackFeb 17, 2008
Oscar worthy. Not for the younger crowd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SMFeb 20, 2008
I have enjoyed this movie the most among the nominees of this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulaC.Feb 23, 2008
So So. Interesting portrayal by Tilda Swinton and I loved Tom Wilkinson. The scene with the horses was contrived and empty. George Clooney was good but not Oscar good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JTFeb 24, 2008
On the whole this was an enjoyable movie. Not as earth shatteringly good as some people seem to say it was, but still a good movie. As some of the other comments make clear, you won't like it if you're a corporate tool who has been On the whole this was an enjoyable movie. Not as earth shatteringly good as some people seem to say it was, but still a good movie. As some of the other comments make clear, you won't like it if you're a corporate tool who has been brainwashed to believe that corporate greed is good and that any critiques of capitalism are solely a product of some radical left wing cabal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatEFeb 24, 2008
Intricate, subtle, tense--well-served by the score--not a single wrong note in the acting, the theme wonderfully summarized in the confrontation between Wilkinson's and Clooney's characters (o.k., maybe the loaves were a bit too Intricate, subtle, tense--well-served by the score--not a single wrong note in the acting, the theme wonderfully summarized in the confrontation between Wilkinson's and Clooney's characters (o.k., maybe the loaves were a bit too much). Every single relationship between characters -- such as the brothers -- well defined without bombast...cinematography both clever and serving to advance the story, with some truly wonderful shots. A complete package without a wrong note. My husband and I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathleenK.Feb 24, 2008
Satisfying modern day noir; tightly composed script weaves complex personal stories together to build a tense layered thriller. Understated and darkly realistic acting by Clooney, Wilkinson, Tida Swinton score high praise. Worth re-viewing Satisfying modern day noir; tightly composed script weaves complex personal stories together to build a tense layered thriller. Understated and darkly realistic acting by Clooney, Wilkinson, Tida Swinton score high praise. Worth re-viewing to fully enjoy how the script pulls all those loose ends together with such elegance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexFeb 24, 2008
Great character, and plot development. The ending was somewhat of letdown; somewhat predictable and very fast. Other than that it was a great film. Very intense and kept my attention throughout. Stuart, only a right wing moron would see this Great character, and plot development. The ending was somewhat of letdown; somewhat predictable and very fast. Other than that it was a great film. Very intense and kept my attention throughout. Stuart, only a right wing moron would see this movie the way you did. It has NOTHING to do with politics, and EVERYTHING to do with inside corruption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
davids.Feb 27, 2008
Stellar acting, an intelligent script and innovative direction distinguish this otherwise routine political thriller. Clooney and Gilroy are self-proclaimed devotees of 70s cinema - both the subject matter and the distorted framings and Stellar acting, an intelligent script and innovative direction distinguish this otherwise routine political thriller. Clooney and Gilroy are self-proclaimed devotees of 70s cinema - both the subject matter and the distorted framings and innovative juxtapositions are straight out of films like Network, Parallax View or Klute. One feels however that Clooney, good as he is, is straining a bit too hard to be heroic, or maybe the script is too reliant on grandstanding speeches. Still, Wilkinson and Swinton are good, too, as is Sydney Pollack. The opening of the film is a blistering start and propels us into the film. It is a cracking thriller, but perhaps a little pleased with itself at times, as in the final shot of Clooney in the taxi, which seems superfluous. It would be a better ploy to just watch him enter the taxi say drive and then film the taxi drive off in to the distance. There's one subtle 70s ploy the filmmakers missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LisaZFeb 29, 2008
Kickass ending. I like Clooney now. He's pretty good for a big actor. I like the crazy guy too. And the horses were pretty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelK.Mar 8, 2008
I must say, I was impressed by this movie and by the way this film was shot. This film attacked a very disturbing subject and brought it to the forefront very well. True, the topic it did attack is that to which so many people believe is not I must say, I was impressed by this movie and by the way this film was shot. This film attacked a very disturbing subject and brought it to the forefront very well. True, the topic it did attack is that to which so many people believe is not entirely entertaining, but it does have a time and place for its thought provoking nature. Contrary to so many of the reviews I have read about this movie, reviews about how the world doesn't work this way or how things don't just happen like this, I want you to take a step back for a moment and look at things from the films point of view. I am not saying it does happen this way, but I wouldn't be entirely surprised if I were you and you actually got a chance to walk the paths that some actually do every day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianG.Mar 24, 2008
An intelligent, earthy, fiery and fluid drama - all the elements were there, all the cliches challenged, the world evoked believable, the characters intriguing, and beguiling. The three horses on the hill evoked a moral clarity beyond spoken An intelligent, earthy, fiery and fluid drama - all the elements were there, all the cliches challenged, the world evoked believable, the characters intriguing, and beguiling. The three horses on the hill evoked a moral clarity beyond spoken words. Ultimately emotionally and intellectually satisfying, it cleverly questions how we can go on any other path than the truth. A wonderful companion to 'The Constant Garden' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Mar 27, 2008
Great movie with superb acting. George Clooney really surprised me, and i found his portrayal of michael clayton to be authentic and refreshing. Tom Wilkinson portrayed Arthur with complexity and depth, like a true mad genious. The film was Great movie with superb acting. George Clooney really surprised me, and i found his portrayal of michael clayton to be authentic and refreshing. Tom Wilkinson portrayed Arthur with complexity and depth, like a true mad genious. The film was never very suspensful, however, could be taken very seriously as a corporate thriller with interesting concepts and a thick plot. I highly recommend for those who love scandals, and who can easily comprehend these kinds of events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatS.Jun 18, 2008
Really fantastic. Suspenseful, and phenomenally acted. If you want a smart thriller that respects its audience, this is the one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonS.Nov 1, 2008
Starts slow, but by the end is really captivating. Very suspenseful in the best possible way. Each half-hour of this 2-hour movie improves over the one that came before. I highly recommend this to fans of subtle characterizations, great Starts slow, but by the end is really captivating. Very suspenseful in the best possible way. Each half-hour of this 2-hour movie improves over the one that came before. I highly recommend this to fans of subtle characterizations, great acting, and intelligent writing and directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathnNov 28, 2008
I wouldnt call it an incredible, amazing, perfect movie, but i found it very interesting. took a while for the whole plot to start to come together, although that might also be because all my friends were talking the whole time. Its a very I wouldnt call it an incredible, amazing, perfect movie, but i found it very interesting. took a while for the whole plot to start to come together, although that might also be because all my friends were talking the whole time. Its a very intelligent movie, and if you want a mindless movie to sit through, do not watch Clayton. you will be disappointed. however, if you like intelligent movies that make you think, Clayton is a winner. a slightly slow movie, but well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobNJul 27, 2009
What matters to me in a film is the atmosphere, the tone, and how the characters and plot heighten or develop that tone. This film is simple. It is simply good. I love the tone of this film, the corporation lurking always in the background What matters to me in a film is the atmosphere, the tone, and how the characters and plot heighten or develop that tone. This film is simple. It is simply good. I love the tone of this film, the corporation lurking always in the background and the sense of dread. Simply put, one of the best films of the past 5 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickGAug 2, 2009
I've had to force myself to watch this film on more than on occasion and I have to say that I still haven't quite caught on to the unnecessarily complicated plot.The performance of the actors, I have to say was quite I've had to force myself to watch this film on more than on occasion and I have to say that I still haven't quite caught on to the unnecessarily complicated plot.The performance of the actors, I have to say was quite convincing...But it still was enough for me to enjoy the film.It is baffling to see the acclaim this movie got-I doubt most of the reviewers understood this movie 100%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeH.Oct 7, 2009
Just a solid legal thriller with great performances. Only the dull and the lazy will have trouble grasping this plot; anyone else will be sucked right in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonL.Dec 25, 2009
Sydney Pollack ALSO deserved an Oscar nod for ACTING!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkTJan 24, 2010
Allow me to recommend two things for all who were bored by "michael clayton:" Ritalin and membership in the Michael Bay Fan Club.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Oct 4, 2007
I Haven't seen Goerge Clooney any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HDavidsonOct 5, 2007
This is a terrific, intelligent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichardG.Oct 6, 2007
Dull... Predictable... Disappointing... I was psyched to like this film but it turned out to be a pale imitation of the real thing. Sidney Lumet wannabe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarceloOct 7, 2007
Good movie. Needs more action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DevonC.Oct 7, 2007
I watched the trailer on Youtube and I felt totally engaged and couldn't wait to watch it. But, George Clooney, Tom Wilkinson, Tilda Swinton, Sean Cullen, Michael O'Keefe, and Sydney Pollack took the risk of a huge downfall. A I watched the trailer on Youtube and I felt totally engaged and couldn't wait to watch it. But, George Clooney, Tom Wilkinson, Tilda Swinton, Sean Cullen, Michael O'Keefe, and Sydney Pollack took the risk of a huge downfall. A total disaster zone. This is definitely the wrong road for Tony Gilroy as a Director. Just continue writing films because you did an amazing job on The Bourne Ultimatum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatG.Oct 7, 2007
The thinking person's thriller. This is an excellent film with an intelligent, sharply honed script realized through very strong performances. Kudos all around!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnoldP.Oct 7, 2007
Are we so dumbed out watching product that we can't appreciate such an intelligent, gripping, moral tale. It gets a nine because what piece of entertainment is flawless? Clooney clearly has the taste for meaty roles, and he is excellent Are we so dumbed out watching product that we can't appreciate such an intelligent, gripping, moral tale. It gets a nine because what piece of entertainment is flawless? Clooney clearly has the taste for meaty roles, and he is excellent together with Wilkinson who is brilliant and Swinton who soars. It sizzles with the tightest of scripts, smart layer of stories that keep you engrossed every scene to the perfect end. In the time of Enron, Iraq, a debate over torture, and tainted meat this country is loosing it's moral ground this film is a mirror for our time. It deserves a 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoyceC.Oct 8, 2007
Just dumb and unactive, it explains things in the best of ways that seems like they exxagerate. The situation is big, but the movie is not. The story is just the situation, and now it has a plot problem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErakOct 8, 2007
It's really just a run-of-the-mill thriller, but the performances are fantastic, particularly Tom Wilkinson. (Note to Jared C.--*possible mild spoiler alert* at what point in the movie is Wilkinson a bad guy?)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HollycOct 8, 2007
This movie is incredibly good. I had no idea what they were trying to sell this movie as, so I was a little unsure going in (i.e. I didn't have huge expectations, but wasn't expecting crap either). After the first 20 minutes This movie is incredibly good. I had no idea what they were trying to sell this movie as, so I was a little unsure going in (i.e. I didn't have huge expectations, but wasn't expecting crap either). After the first 20 minutes you're left with a starting point, but mostly in the dark and hoping to god they (writer/director) pay it off in the end. And man, do they ever. It was such a perfect ending. This is definitely something akin to say, The Firm, or even Syriana in a way though it's definitely not a "message-movie" nor is it the Bourne Ultimatium---However, it's a very intelligent, wonderfully written, directed and acted film. George Clooney gives a great performance. So far, I think Michael Clayton and 3:10 to Yuma are the best films I've seen this year. Go see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WillOct 10, 2007
"Its such a perfect ending". Yeah if you like cliche endings to law firm movies. The first half was spectacular, the second lost steam (why make something intense if you already told the outcome in the beginning?) and the ending ruined the "Its such a perfect ending". Yeah if you like cliche endings to law firm movies. The first half was spectacular, the second lost steam (why make something intense if you already told the outcome in the beginning?) and the ending ruined the movie by making it something smaller than what it could of been. Tom Wilkinson gave a stellar performance, which deserves an oscar nomination at the very least. The rest of the cast, not so much. Clooney feels better at playing at playing the part he always has by adding a little more depth to that character. He is George Clooney playing Michael Clayton, he isn't Michael Clayton. Tilda Swinton gave a slightly better performance, but was not given enough screen time to display a lot of her talent. Sydney Pollack was just used for just saying things that were relevant, only used as a plot device. The script, had great dialogue, however, I think the story and the arc could have been executed a lot better. Perhaps a not so predictable ending? The script was shaky to say the least. The score and was absolutely fantastic and so was the editing. To conclude, it had such potential to be great, but failed to execute in the last half. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
normdepalmaOct 11, 2007
inaccurate on almost every legal level and completely unsuspenseful---only positive points are a unique murder and clooney bringing gray hair in vogue---he is cary grant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesqRudolphOct 12, 2007
I cannot figure out what all the fuss is about. SOLARIS was a better film and that is not saying much
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MathewBainbridgeOct 12, 2007
Honest, satisfying, never panders down to the audience. Adult.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MisaelS.Oct 13, 2007
Tony Gilroy's new conspiracy thriller is All the President's Men's kid brother, and very nearly as good. It's a no-bs, adult, smart, ingeniously stylized, masterpiece (yes, I said it, masterpiece). The film is so subtle Tony Gilroy's new conspiracy thriller is All the President's Men's kid brother, and very nearly as good. It's a no-bs, adult, smart, ingeniously stylized, masterpiece (yes, I said it, masterpiece). The film is so subtle it hurts (in a good way) and will likely alienate many in theaters because of it. This is not a hard film to understand, but it certainly takes work to appreciate. It's not about anything in particular (although ecological issues surely are raised) and it has no specific political agenda. It's more and beyond that. Michael Clayton concerns personal ethics, forcing its character's to make big moral decisions. The way the film delves into these issues is provocative, fantastically paced, brilliantly scripted, and enrapturing to see unfold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful