User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 448

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    It may not boast the depth of his classic films, but the sweetly sentimental Midnight in Paris is funny and charming enough to satisfy this Woody Allen fan.
  2. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Original beyond belief featuring strong performances and charm and laughs and just an amazing story. Woody Allen directs an amazing movie. With a bit of low budget charm. I give this 94% of a good movie.
  3. May 22, 2011
    10
    This is Woody Allen's best movie in years. Not only a favorite of the critics, but a movie the public will love, too. Owen Wilson is perfect for the role and the supporting cast is terrific. A fun (and funny) fantasy that is definitely worth seeing.
  4. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    A perfect movie - smart, funny, beautifully shot and written. Woody Allen on top of his game combing aspects of the old - Annie Hall, Manhattan; the middle years Purple Rose of Cairo; and the rich luster of recent films Match Point, Vicky Cristina Barcelona with a new spin. Owen Wilson is perfect as "Woody".
  5. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Mr. Allen has rediscovered himself in the form of Owen Wilson and filled him with the verbal wit the younger Woody use to speak. I sat in a full theater two times and joined the others in a practice called "laughing out loud" through the entire film. The characters and cinematic rhythm moved with the beauty of classic Woody films such as "Manhattan". The second viewing filled me with more laughter. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie! Owen Wilson was great in his role, the script was crisp and witty, you really relate to the characters. Very funny and creative, the best Woody Allen movie in years..please go see it!
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I reserve "10" for best of all time or by my ratings an A+. Mr. Allen has created an A, excellent, exquisite film. Beside the "meaning" or intention, the upside and downside of living in nostalgia, I was taken away by this film. Mr Wilson perfectly channels Mr Allen; dialogue, mannerisms, and all. It made me drift a bit into the period, the people, the wonder, the times. I have never been to Paris but I wanted to move to that period. The music, the cinematography, the rain. But alas, that's knowing what I know now and of course that is the false hope of nostalgia. A wonderful film. Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    The return of Woody Allen is in full swing ushered in by (of all people!) Owen Wilson. The film takes a lighthearted jaunt through history and while the tale is familiar, the humor and splendid visuals help this film rise above most.
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I had no clue, this movie would be so good.I actually never heard of it, before I watched it. It turned out to be an instant Classic! I loved the idea of walking around in different times. This movie inspired me big time!
  10. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thirty years later, Luis Bunuel, no longer a young man but a Spanish ex-patriate biding his time in Mexico, reflects back on France in the 1920s, Jazz-age Paris, the time and place of his sensationalistic calling card, a short film he co-directed with Dali called "Un chien andalou", and remembers the American he met in a bar who pitched him the idea for a film, which at the time, puzzled the young surrealist. The American said he was from the future, and being like any self-respecting dadaist, Bunuel had taken the pronouncement by the delusional man in stride. But now he wonders, after having just won the Palm d'or at the 1961 Cannes Film Festival(for "Virdiana"), if Gil was indeed a time-traveller. To answer his own long-ago question as to why the party guests couldn't simply leave the room, it's because they're idiots, the ruling class, who in "The Exterminating Angel", celebrate their victory over the Popular Front in the Spanish Civil War to such an egregious extent, they resort to mob rule, nearly reducing a mansion to rubble. Released in 1962, the mordant comedy shows how even the bourgeoisie could be victims of totalitarian state. In essence, the film shows them to be little children who need to be told what to do. Left to their own devices, they throw a temper tantrum. The American, surmises Bunuel, must've had previous knowledge about Franco, the fascist dictator in cahoots with Hitler and Mussolini, the primary engineers of World War II. Gil, however, without meaning to, threatens the very existence of "The Exterminating Angel" by violating the first law of time travel. In futurist Hans Morveac's own words: "...a message sent to the past will alter the entire history." In Bunuel's case, stealing the intellectual property of a Hollywood professional could serve as revenge for how Warner Bros. appropriated his idea about a self-mobilizing hand("The Beast with Five Fingers") during a stint in the dubbing department. But then again, lifting the storyline from a hack writer, especially an American one, would be beneath him. Surely, after winning the top prize at the world's most prestigious film festival, Bunuel must've had offers from Hollywood, and yet history shows, he chose to toil away in Mexico as a director for hire. Unaware, perhaps, at the time of his first exile that American businesses supported Franco's fascist movement, Bunuel wasn't liable to sell-out his compatriots a second time around, this time knowingly. But if because of Gil's meddling, "The Exterminating Angel" never comes to fruition, then it's reasonable to conclude that another film which lampoons the upper class, "The Discreet Charm...", which features the same enigmatic impotence among the rich in regard to their ability to make a decision, would likewise, disappear from Bunuel's filmography. Gil, who professes to abhor the conservative politics of Inez and his prospective in-laws, unwittingly becomes one of them by sabotaging two great leftist films that baited the rich with provocative glee. A self-described liberal, Gil is more of the latte-sipping kind, the liberal elite, the sort who are said to be out of touch with the real needs of the proletariat. Only a chameleon could live with someone as materialistic and callow as Inez, his flinty fiance. The milieu of "The Roaring Twenties" also provides the setting for "Zelig", the 1983 mockumentary about a man named Leonard Zelig, a mutant("X-Men", anybody?) who could blend in with people of all creeds and colors. For the diegetic F. Scott Fitzgerald, it's deja vu all over again. In "Zelig", the narrator chronicles the famous author having met a man at a swanky party who mingled with socialites and servants alike, and now in "Midnight in Paris", "The Great Gatsby" author encounters a similarly adaptable man, a starving artist among starving artists, albeit one who could return to six or seven-figure paydays should his adventures in novel-writing not quite pan out. "The rich are different," Fitzgerald once said, and Gil is indeed different, a poseur, whose carriage and deportment wouldn't escape the astute writer's eye. Like "Forrest Gump", this love letter to Paris is the stuff of science fiction. Whereas the Robert Zemeckis film(infamous for its ideologically conservative subtext) presents a parallel universe, "Midnight in Paris"(like "The Purple Rose of Cairo") uses magic realism, grounded in the corporeal world. In both films, you have rightist protagonists who act as muses for progressive icons. Turnaround, however, is fair play. Cecilia, who gets her heart broken by Tom Baxer(the actor) in the 1985 classic, is avenged, in a sense, by Marion, who leaves the Hollywood scribe before he gets the chance to do the same. Unlike Cecilia, Gil chooses fantasy(the past) over reality(present), but like the Depression-era movielover, ends up with neither. Alas, this time, Hollywood gets burned. Expand
  11. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I loved this movie. It was entertaining, imaginative, and had great cinematography. I'm surprised that it didn't get better reviews by Lisa Schwarzbaum, Dana Stevens, and the AV Club. Just goes to show, I should never pay attention to critics unless they unanimously pan a movie ) in which case I'll take that into consideration.) Seriously, movie critics are pretty unnecessary nowadays since there are plenty of smart people out there who can no write their own reviews via the internet. Expand
  12. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    There is a certain chemistry or make-up in film that yields the perfect result, for me. Writing is primary. The story has to be enticing. The dialogue has to be intriguing. The acting has to be believable. The setting, ideally, would play a supporting role in the overall theme, almost like a character in and of itself. While Owen Wilson doesn't stretch much as an actor, he plays "Owen Wilson" perfectly and, thus, is the perfect cast as Gil, a screenwriter who makes the leap to novels, yet doesn't have the self-confidence to fulfill his potential. Through a series of midnight, time-traveling trists, Gil meets his artistic idols, from literary giants Hemingway and Fitzgerald, to painters Matisse and Salvador Dali, who all, through almost dream-like inspiration, allow him to clarify his own reality. "Paris" is so perfectly-written that it is almost unfair to others nominated for screenplays this year. At this writing, "Hugo" is the only Best Pic nominee I've not seen and, so far, "Paris" only slightly surpasses "My Week with Marilyn," even though the latter has stronger individual performances. For all intents and purposes, "Midnight in Paris" is a flawless film leaving one to wonder, "Who has the intellect and writing skills to replace Woody Allen when he is gone?" I can't imagine whom that would be. Expand
  13. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Any fan of Woody Allen should see this film. Anyone who has ever been enchanted by Gertrude Stein's circle of artists and writers will LOVE this film. One of his very best, similar in tone to "Purple Rose of Cairo."
  14. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    We begin with shots of Paris (yes, some of them in the rain) and I think I
  15. May 31, 2011
    9
    Grade: A-

    The Golden Age is a period of great peace and happiness, an ideal era that is ultimately self-labelled by the subjective minded individual. Woody Allen takes this farcical notion and expands it through the enchanting backdrop of France intertwining it with somewhat of magical storytelling. By doing so, he illustrates the futility of this "Golden Age" belief. With the charm and
    insight that channels his work prior to the 90s, Allen's Midnight In Paris gives us a glimpse of the director's comedic brilliance that has been unseen since Crimes And Misdemeanors.

    Taking a page from previous work The Purple Rose of Cairo, Allen re explores the "what-if" type of narrative, a wish-granted hypothetical situation. Midnight In Paris tells the story of screenwriter turned novelist, Gil Pender (Owen Wilson). On a vacation with his conventional fiancee (Rachel McAdams), Pender wanders away into Paris and is then transported by a car to the 1920s, the era in which he preconceives as perfect. There he meets the Lost Generation's Fitzgeralds and Hemmingway, and other iconic figures from the 20s. He soon conceives the idea that he finds inspiration in this past era, but finds out nostalgia is not all what it is said to be. Gil's transportation to the Golden Age of Paris is romanticized and illustrates the Parisian street setting as one of charm. Overall, the story gives off a dream sense of emotion with its subtle yet captivating cinematography and balances it with its entertaining story. Although none of the performances necessarily standout (Cotillard, who plays Owen's eventual love interest, comes close), Allen's clever writing gives the film its intellect and also its humor. The film does not quite have as much depth as Annie Hall (but I mean, what does?), but its charm and sentiment undoubtedly satisfies the cultured and romantic individual in us all.
    Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who says they don't make 'em like that anymore? This is a fun, sweet, interesting movie, with well realized characters... many of whom are beautifully portrayed artists, writers, and other well known celebrities oft he Golden era of Paris. This is a fascinating and sensitively rendered story of a deeply engaging and romantic era, contrasted with the almost universal lack of pizazz of modern times . Kathy Bates as Gertrude Stein is terrific, as are many others in small by beautifully portrayed roles brought to life by known, and not so well known, actors and actresses with bright futures. This is a movie to make everyone in it proud, and one that will charm you so deeply that you will never forget Midnight In Paris... it makes you want to run away to the Paris of that bygone age... when just being alive was electric, and life was so rich and intense that you were drunk on the joy of life; a time when global warming and outrageous corporate greed were unimaginable. Go early, so you can see it more than once before it leaves theaters. One of the few pictures in along time that was more than worth the price of a ticket... You might say that Midnight In paris is an over-night success. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Not generally a fan of Woody Allen, I was pleasantly surprised by Midnight in Paris. Charming and quirky, I found myself smiling throughout the film and afterwards. Depending on which of the male characters you more closely resemble, you may either glow in the historical and literary references or look down upon them. Not being a particular student of either, I found myself happily transported both by the whimsy and the theater like touches of music and scene transitions. Expand
  18. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Hemingway, Picasso, all we never heard if we are not go to college of literature or art. Woody Allen's latest is sweet, heartwarming and cheerful. It's beautiful fantasy movie about time-travelling. Paris is magic!
  19. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I am a big fan of Woody Allen and although this is not a big movie or even close to his best, it is still very good. It's a fine role for Owen Wilson and the gorgeous Rachel MacAdams is perfect . The film stretches both of them as actors and no doubt opens new possibilities for the future. Marion Cotillard is also quite beautiful and decorates the screen whenever she is on. An interesting mood is established with the time travel element striking a wonderful fanciful chord with the introduction of so many famous and well known artistic types. I find that as I think more about the film since I've seen it, I like it ever better. Expand
  20. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Midnight in Paris is the best movie of the year so far and one of Woody Allenâ Expand
  21. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Easily the best and the most accessible Woody Allen movie in years. Shockingly, it was sold out the first 2 times I tried to see it. Witty, intelligent, with outstanding natural performances. I've always considered Owen Wilson a somewhat limited actor in terms of range, but his performance hits the right notes. He conveys a romantic wonder at what occurs, but he doesn't overdo it with the gosh, gee whiz it's Picasso stuff. The movie has the ring of truth in that we tend to romanticize the past, ignoring the downsides. Sure, we might wish we lived in the big band era, but don't forget people were dying of polio. It was definitely a crowd pleaser and a welcome antidote to the slew of comic book films aimed at teenagers. Expand
  22. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I usually don't like Woody Allen films, as I find them boring and self-indulgent. However, Midnight in Paris is an excellent movie - funny, sweet, whimsical, and romantic. The actors are all excellent and the script is funny and believable. The scenery in Paris is beautiful and the cinematography is well done. Surprisingly, I really liked it!
  23. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the many fine elements that truly makes this film work is Woody Allen's uncanny casting of not only the principle players but of his circa 1920's "Lost Generation" cast. Without giving anything away story-wise, his casting of "Ernest Hemingway" (Corey Stoll) was so spot on in look and voice that I (as an acknowledge fan & Hemingway scholar) froze in my tracks. Same goes for "F. Scott Fitzgerald" (Tom Hiddleston) and "Gertrude Stein" (Kathy Bates!). If you enjoy reading the Novels and Writings of America's creative men and women writers living in Paris in the 1920's, you will die and ....want to go to....Paris! Expand
  24. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Wilson delivers a genuine Woody Allen-esque character with his subtle, internal conflicts that slowly reveal themselves throughout the movie as innocent, soft-spoken tourettes. It's a charming, slow moving picture that takes you back in time. I enjoyed watching it, but it's not one I would keep in my Blu-Ray collection.
  25. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Very cool movie if you're into the idea that there are amazing places outside of America, which I am. I'm not always a Woody Allen fan, but thought it was supremely entertaining.
  26. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Loved it! Rachel McAdams was pretty annoying and I really disliked her, which is great cause I love her in most films so she did very well in selling her role. Owen Wilson was fantastic, he usually is. He has that almost innocent quality not ignorant but ordinary guy kinda vibe that I relate to. Micheal Sheen was good I loathed his character which again I normally like him, he sold the arrogance. Excellent cinematography. I can't wait to see it again Expand
  27. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this film! Perhaps, I'm just nostalgic for Paris in the 1920's (and the 1890's!), but Kathy Bates' cameo as Gertrude Stein was pitch perfect, and Owen Wilson did a fine job of embodying the nerdy, intellectual Woody Allen character without Woody's ticks. The movie is sweet, fun and shows Paris at her best with some stunning, gorgeous cinematography. Magnifique!
  28. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Midnight in Paris makes me wanna escape to the 20's Montmartre and dance Charleston in speakeasy bars with the Fitzgeralds, Hemingway, Picasso and Dali. It resemblances Purple Rose of Cairo, a Woody Allen classic from the 80's. Both films display a protagonist fed up with the current, longing for a fantasy. Gil's fantasy is Paris in the 20's, which he gets to experience - just to testify that grass is always greener on the other side. Anyone who likes Woody Allen or Paris should see this movie! Expand
  29. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This is a delightful, smart, superb piece of filmmaking. It is a film that succeeds at every level: technical, acting, writing and directing. And one of the best pictures of 2011.
  30. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This is why I love Woody Allen's film.His writing and Directing style just goes trough the body into the heart .Midnight in Paris is Woody's best work since the 19s .The story is incredible and how he showed "Time Travel" with literature and Romantic was awesome. the music of the film was so amazing and wow , Its one of the best music work i have seen . & Paris Paris Paris ...... I'm in love with Paris. The way woody showed Paris anyone will fall in love with it . It was remarkable . The opening Montage was really cool and nice idea . The dialogues were so perfect , funny and meaningful . Owen did awesome job as the lead role . Also Rachel, Michael , Kathy , Mari , Tom and others did an amazing job . Paris im midnight even in the 21s it so amazing and it dose looks so romantic and amazing in Rain . Woody's Midnight in Paris is clearly in 2011's top ten . Midnight in Paris is a perfect movie to enjoy alone an with others . Its an amazing film to realize how to enjoy life . Paris in midnight ...Wow woody wow ......wow . Tnx so much (woody) for this wonderful , Amazing , Awesome , Reamrkable Movie . Expand
  31. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    This is the typical movie that, if you hear the storyline, you may think it's dumb as hell. If you watch it, it's heaven. I love Woody Allen's movies, and I liked this one as well. Owen Wilson proved he's much more of a Hollywood film star. I loved Marion Cotillard in the role of Adriana. The message of the movie is really interesting also. Fantastic movie, screw the haters.
  32. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Woody Allen's best film in years! He penned a sweet, charming and poignant script, assembled a top-notch cast, and directed them with grace and elegance in this beautifully shot movie. Owen Wilson is utterly charming and wonderful in this role. Nostalgia can be a cancer if one stops living in the moment, and Midnight In Paris humorously reveals the consequences of believing in "the good old days". I loved this movie! Expand
  33. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Watched this at Nova, Lygon St, with 9th class sound. Though the soundtrack was not demanding and therefore Nova was able to reproduce this laid-back french-style fantasy that is intended and was capable of drawing me into the atmosphere. Storyline is somewhat linear so I did not have to think to figure out what was happening (watched afterwork) but just sit back and relax, even just for the visual. As for visual, benchmark is far surpassed that expected in terms of both decorative choice and cinematography.

    I did not expected it to be that great of a movie; thought it was just one of those weird movies for the minority with tastes. But it was!! This is one of the few movies that gets me into a lasting mood after the movie!!! =)
    Expand
  34. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    An exquisite artwork of colourful characters, who all possess qualities that more or less contribute to the make-up of the paint and canvas, and the awe-inspiring surroundings of Paris, such as the glittering lights on the water and the shining little alleyways from little side-streets and cobblestone paths. Well, there's so much more, with the usual sights such as the Eiffel Tower and even over the particular bridge overlooking the lilies on the pond which was painted by Monet, but Woody Allen certainly has a thing of capturing the wonderful spirit of the small things. I think his point was to look at the surroundings of Paris at all times of the day, but we certainly got to look at the irrefutable sophistication of historical characters, which in no way conveyed a sense of patronising naivety, who could be said to be fascinating. With multiple angles and dry humour, this film has class with the use of talented actors and actresses and ends on a stylishly sweet note, ironically beginning the dream of a happily settled character (and audience) with not a scent of cliché in the Paris air. Expand
  35. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    WOW! Such a great movie. I loved the acting, the plot...and just about everything! I recommend it to anyone who wants to see a good movie. ................................................................................................................
  36. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    One of the best movies of 2011. Woody once again writes a great story with a message that I personally could relate to a lot: a desire to live in another time. With a terrific ensemble cast with the likes of Owen Wilson, Tom Hiddleston, and Kathy Bates (just scratching the surface), Midnight in Paris will leave you content and proves to be another quality Woody Allen film.
  37. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Now that i saw it 5+ times, i think this is one of the best Woody Allen movies ever. One of my most favorite movies of the year, deserves all the acclaim and awards it got. Midnight in Paris gets better and more interesting at every watch and it is a movie that i can survive watching over and over again! this movie has some great underlying humor that comes off quite beautiful, charming and very smart and clever as usual for a Woody Allen written movie. Superbly directed and masterfully written with good performances and original themes, this is one of the best romantic comedies and comedies in general i have seen in years. Collapse
  38. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If i have to explain in very few words then i would say, Artistic and Brilliant. The kind of beauty has shown in this movie is beautiful. Beauty of Paris is worth praising. There were many moments that made me learn some amazing things and facts about life. One should be with the person that respect his/her partner's opinions. Screenplay of the movie was really smooth and there was not any dull moment in the movie. At the end you will say that i loved it. A must watch. Expand
  39. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Midnight In Paris was funny, sweet, and beautifullyy filmed. I'm glad I'm a Woody Allen Fan. http://thecelebritycafe.com/reviews/2012/03/midnight-paris-movie-review
  40. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    i don't know what it is about this movie, but I've watched so many times and I also got back to some scenes so many times. it is so dreamy and it takes me away into another world like no other movie. maybe because the protagonist is experiencing something that we would like too, fullfillment of his dreams.
  41. Aug 25, 2014
    9
    Amidst a long list of genuinely great Woody Allen films, this one bolts right towards the top of that list. Midnight in Paris is as magical as it is sentimental. It's an ode to a beautiful city and peculiar characters of our past, this film will be long remembered.
  42. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Its a genius interacting with the history and the future of every single character.
    A beautiful story with talented actors and directing work perfectly by Woody Allen.
  43. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A truly beautiful film by the great Woody Allen. Mesmerizing and astonishing it's a film that should definitely be watched. Owen Wilson is great in this role and the meeting of history's greatest was amazing.
  44. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the most nostalgic and elegant movie i have ever seen.
    the sets and locations of fantastic Paris are perfect.
    It is especially made with feel good factor which is the most crucial thing.
    Everything is just excellent ,Owen Wilson is so charming and sweet,his best performance so far,and the supportive cast did very good.
    Marion Cotillard looks so glamorous and lovely.
    Really liked those funny scenes with legends especially with Salvador Dali.
    My younger brother suggested me to read a short story "The Third Level", bu Jack Finney,before watching the movie.
    Both are extremely related.
    i really loved the concept of time travelling to 1920's 1890's and so on.
    Must say the best screenplay of the year and movie too.
    Woody Allen,you are just great.
    Expand
  45. May 25, 2012
    10
    The script is top-notch, it is gorgeously filmed, fantastically directed and has some great acting. Sometiems Woody Allen wins some, and other times he loses some. He won some with M.I.P. as it is one of the best films of 2011.
  46. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I watched the movie (no prior synopsis) for two reasons: Paris, which I love, having been there several times and Kathy Bates. I didn't know it was an Allen film until the opening credits. Once knowing the latter, I knew what I was in store for. An Allen-penned central character is in a constant state of flux, often bemused and wondering "Why is this happening to me and why don't others around me understand me? How the Owen's and McAdam's characters even got together, much less engaged, is beyond me. Truly oil and water. He, the hopeless romantic, who falls in love with Paris and the aesthetics of the 1920's and she, the Type-A, in-your-face, critical Material Girl who thinks the world revolves around her and doesn't understand her man or much cares. A common Allen theme is to have a self-absorbed, bragging show-off, in this case, Paul. No one around him except Gil Pender, sees this and Gil wastes no time in dive bombing him to no avail. Was Earnest Hemingway really like this in true life or just a caricature. It's as if he is saying, "I am a Man and I do great things and if you don't do great things also, you are not a Man". Gil IS Woody Allen only younger, taller and better looking. Before you accuse me of being Anti-Semitic, celluloid history bears me out. I call it the "We Jews have been persecuted for 2000 years" syndrome. Be it Woody Allen, Carl Reiner, Mel Brooks, the Seinfeld Gang, etc, it seems to be all about complaining (Oh woe is me) and over analyzing others around them. Gil never truly asserts himself in the movie, but seems to always be holding on to a life preserver just to keep his head above water. Back to the movie...the cinematography of Paris was beautiful as were the costumes, set design, music and lighting in the 1920's sequences. I was dismayed to see the fine actress Kathy Bates relegated to a 10 line cameo role as was Adrian Brody. Well known actors (Oscar or not) seem to love being in a Woody Allen film, even in a diminished sub role. Of course, filming in Paris and the large salary for little work doesn't hurt either. The beautiful Marion Cotillard was a delight as the equally romantic, soul-searching Adriana. I kept wondering what the purpose was to throw in more and more literary or painting giants in each 1920's trip. Only 3 in the 1890's sequence, but that's because it was just one scene. In the end, our hero finds his soul mate, Gabrielle. A woman of heart and soul that compliments Gil. You might think, given my critique, that I did not enjoy the film. I did enjoy the movie, although I would've enjoyed it more if Gil stood up to Inez or even slapped her (just kidding, but hey, she would've deserved it, right?). If you are an incurable romantic and/or Francophile, like myself, you will enjoy this movie. Expand
  47. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Midnight in Paris is great. It perfectly mixes the Twilight Zone with a romantic comedy. It's full of witty humor and great acting. Then entire time you're gripped by both Owen Wilson's great performance as the confused writer and by the beauty that is Paris that Woody Allen highlights upon moment that he gets the chance. The movie is indeed artistic making it pleasant to watch and even more enjoyable to the eyes. I could see how this movie could not be your cup of tea but I can't see how anyone could say that it's bad. Expand
  48. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Being only a teenager I can't say that I'm all that aware of the works of Woody Allen, but if his other films are as good as Midnight in Paris than I want to see them all. The writing and narrative is both intelligent and intriguing with Owen Wilson playing an interesting character perfectly. The film is brilliant with an interesting ideology questioning the audience when was the Golden Era of the arts. Watch this film, and thank me later. Expand
  49. May 4, 2013
    10
    Woody Allen's best, most creative, and unbelievably origional film since Shadows and Fog. This movie went right up my alley since I'm a huge Fitzgerald and Hemmingway fan. One of my favorites.
  50. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I think that this movie really tells a message that our present-day world is in need of. It aims to make us understand that we should escape more often the rules that govern our daily life, our society, our entourage, everything that surrounds us and makes us act like some robotized creatures, dominated by mercantilism and falsity. It tells the story of the intellectual who confronts himself with so-called social problems because of his different way of seeing and experiencing life. Paris is a portal for the protagonist through which he accesses the past eras that he thinks he belongs to, but also the change of the living ambient that reveals the differences between his and his wife's ways of seeing things and living. Great script, the movie is catchy from start to end. Expand
  51. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    I know that my review must be 150 characters or more, but I have only one things to say about this movie. Perfect. My favorite Woody Allan film after Annie Hall
  52. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite Woody Allen movie, the script is amazing and original, the acting is excellent and I really really enjoy it, its a great comedy but it have a meaningful message.
  53. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    An absolute delight! Like wine and cheese on a sunny patio. It was so engaging and charming that you just want to know what happens next and next and next. The wonderful cast made all the characters shine. One of Woody's best romantic comedies to date.
  54. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This Woody Allen movie is an absolute gem of a romantic comedy and characterizes Woody Allen in his best form. The movie is beautifully cast and beautifully written and is an absolute must for romantics and everyone else.
  55. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    "Midnight in Paris" is a profound, romantic tale of an unforgettable experience in the most beautiful city of the world at night. A man suddenly finds himself given a chance to talk to the world's most prominent artists, writers and directors, and literally only him can have this one-of-a-kind opportunity, which not only changes his outlook on both his life and everything around him but also explores the beauty and value of realistic life that differs greatly from the bygones. This is a spectacular, wonderful motion picture by Woody Allen about the breathtaking nightlife in Paris supported by a talented star-studded cast. Expand
  56. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    ( as you can see i am not that a romantic guy but i love Woody Allen movies.) Midnight in paris is obviously a romantic story but i did not understand what was happening in the film where Owen Wilson is having a real past fantasy in 1800's or did he just wanted to get advice from his writing (or find a way to leave his fiance Rachael McAdam's with the past lover he has been waiting for.) A really great story also a really place to shoot the movie in Paris from Mr. Allen also a cast to die for in a romantic place. The Cast is superb in Paris Owen Wilson he plays a struggling writer just my kinda guy for this role, Rachael McAdams plays a his fiance which is well played i think it wasn't the best character for her to play basically she waited for Wilson's character to do something romantic but it never showed which sucked for her. (By the way how did woody allen get academy award winner Kathy Bates to be in his film ?.
    Grade A maybe an A-. ( Woody Alien did it again made a romantic film to die for like Blue Jasmine , Manhattan)
    Expand
  57. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Midnight in Paris is a wonderful and brillant masterpiece by Woody Allen. In years, I didn't see any Woody Allen's film like his new film. So charming, senseful and touching, the film introduce us the adventures of Gill, an american screenwriter in Paris. This is one of Woody Allen's most fantastic and genious movie ever he did. "Midnight in Paris" is, without doubt, one of the greatest films of the year. Romantic, sweet, strong and genial, Woody Allen one more time bring us his talent as a director and screenwriter, in an another amazing story. Gil, is an American writer in Paris, a city that he idolizes, with the bride Inez. Every day, at midnight, Gil is taken to the Paris of the 20s, that for Gil is the Parisian golden age, where he met many artists and writers of the day such as Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Salvador DalĂ­, Pablo Picasso and T.S. Elliot. Reveal that I did not expect much from the new Woody Allen movie, but I was surprised with this romantic and exciting love story about the past, illusion, love and of course, Paris. I''m sure you will love 'Midnight in Paris', one of Woody Allen's charming and sweet classic films! Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    A hymn to that beautiful city, is among his least consequential efforts. It's attractive and easy to slip into, but he didn't put enough thought into the design, and it soon falls apart.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 10, 2011
    75
    A fanciful French cousin to Allen's "Zelig" and "The Purple Rose of Cairo," yet the fulfilled wish for a better life is high-concept absurdity without high-anxiety guffaws.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 10, 2011
    88
    A lovely jaunt that ends up becoming one of Allen's most enjoyable films, start-to-finish, in years.