Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 24, 2012
    40
    Boasting perhaps the most bored-sounding voice-over ever, this unexceptional drama imagines itself - much as its young heroine does - to be far more noteworthy than it actually is.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 22, 2012
    40
    The mood is generally melodramatic and ends as mushy, aided by the soft-focus cinematography that drenches it all in melancholic nostalgia.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    May 25, 2012
    63
    If you can overlook Andie MacDowell's Mitteleuropa accent as a Jewish Holocaust survivor (I know: big if), the cinematic roman a clef Mighty Fine has some quiet charms.
  4. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 24, 2012
    50
    It all makes for a family therapist's dream scenario, but an otherwise choppy and predictable memory piece.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 24, 2012
    50
    Mighty Fine chugs along heartily until it abruptly stops on the edge of cliff, leaving you feeling shortchanged. It is a couple of crucial scenes away from feeling complete.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 24, 2012
    40
    Subtle, it's not.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    May 24, 2012
    50
    Chazz Palminteri's the best thing in the movie. He now has the look of a slightly beefier Steve Buscemi. But where Buscemi is all nerves on edge and something bad waiting to happen, Palminteri has a winning ease.
  8. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 22, 2012
    40
    Despite a committed performance from Palminteri (ripping through scenes like an aged bulldog), Debbie Goodstein's loosely autobiographical drama is as nondescript as made-for-pennies independents come.
  9. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    May 21, 2012
    50
    Has heart to spare, but little new to say.
  10. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    May 21, 2012
    38
    Debbie Goodstein-Rosenfeld's film seems oddly anemic when it deals with anyone but Chazz Palminteri's Joe.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. May 31, 2012
    7
    I found the story line to be very deep and moving and while it left me wanting more it also touched me deeply in a reminder of how real families aren't always so Disneyesque....
    The Performance of Chaz Palminteri shows just how wonderfully cast he was for this role and how he has many levels to his acting abilities...

    The daughters were simply amazing and I can see long careers for both...

    The Artwork brought me back to my own childhood in the 70's and the art director did an amazing job recreating the scenes from that time period.

    Overall I would recommend this movie for those that want a deep thinking film and not just action and adventure this summer.
    Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2012
    3
    Mighty Fine is padded with subplots. The anti-Semitism arc doesn't peak the way it should, and there's a subplot about Joe's involvement with loan sharks that doesn't resolve. Mighty Fine is painful to look at. Edges are blurry, and colors are dull. It's shot largely in close-ups, and there isn't much coverage. The direction is overall leaden and predictable, and newcomer Qualley, while attractive, is particularly wooden. The script is melodramatic. There is no subtext in Mighty Fine. There is just text. It's in bold, and underlined. A voice-over narration, read by a flat, nasal Garofalo continues well past its welcome. Full review on my blog. Full Review »