Million Dollar Baby

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 684 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Million dollar baby is a story about a female boxer who decides in her early 30's to star boxing.She goes to a gym to exercise and there she finds a coach. Million times if you see that film a tear will come out from your eye. A depressive sport movie that it is really touching and it shows friendship and love. Million dollar baby also shows how difficult is for a person that loves you toMillion dollar baby is a story about a female boxer who decides in her early 30's to star boxing.She goes to a gym to exercise and there she finds a coach. Million times if you see that film a tear will come out from your eye. A depressive sport movie that it is really touching and it shows friendship and love. Million dollar baby also shows how difficult is for a person that loves you to decide whether you are going to live or die. Hillary Swank was amazing in that movie. I don't know how she did that. I actually thought that i was feeling what she was feeling. I don't understand the negative reviews and I don't want to spend any time telling my opinion for them and i simply understand that some people don't have a heart. That's all I have to say for that masterpiece. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Swank, annoying as she is, uses everything we hate about her to plow into the the role. There'll be talks about the great performance she delivered. It wasn't great. The role just suited her. Eastwood and Freeman, on the other hand, are phenomenal.
  3. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    Yes, its ending will undoubtedly tear your soul out and shred it into a thousand pieces, but there's more than enough to admire in Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" a spectacularly directed, written, and acted drama that fits snuggly within the impressive pantheon of Best Picture Oscar winners.
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Best movie of all time. Greatest Acting by the main 3 actors, best directing in years, amazing script, completely absorbing.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Strong and Powerful! A touching story proved with sweat and pain, and the same time - with beauty and grace of boxing goddess! This sport-drama is one which surely leaves a warm spark into our hearts!
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    There are few movies that can tug at me emotionally. But This one put me on the verge of tears. You fall in love with Swank and her character. The way she compliments the performances of Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood just creates a powerhouse of a movie. Well done. Boxing is a sport that tends to show up in movies a lot but that is only because it has so many metaphorical connotationsThere are few movies that can tug at me emotionally. But This one put me on the verge of tears. You fall in love with Swank and her character. The way she compliments the performances of Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood just creates a powerhouse of a movie. Well done. Boxing is a sport that tends to show up in movies a lot but that is only because it has so many metaphorical connotations and digs at our own willpower to be fighters in our own lives, which is personified in this film. It's a different angle considering the fighter is a female. It gives more room to broaden the audience and be a significant and entertaining stand point for both guys and girls. It confronts the conflict of families, what makes them and what breaks them. It brings reality to the cost of chasing a dream. Watch it. The end will make you want to strangle someone, or just cry, one of the two. Expand
  7. JoaoCandidoZ.
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Saddest movie in History.
  8. ClintM
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    I just watched the movie this morning at 9am before I went to work, before my morning cup of coffee and before breakfast! But as soon as the credits began for Million Dollar Baby it had my attention until the very end. Hillary Swank and Clint Eastwood's (and Morgan Freeman and Clint for that matter) relationship was extremely touching and there wasn't a note of disbelief in the I just watched the movie this morning at 9am before I went to work, before my morning cup of coffee and before breakfast! But as soon as the credits began for Million Dollar Baby it had my attention until the very end. Hillary Swank and Clint Eastwood's (and Morgan Freeman and Clint for that matter) relationship was extremely touching and there wasn't a note of disbelief in the whole film. It hits you all the way to your core and brings your eyes to tears more than once. Props to all the actors involved for a wonderful job. Expand
  9. KP
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Let me first qualify that I've done many reviews on here and never given anything a 10. I save 10's for the rare movie that goes beyond being a movie. A movie that actually touches your soul. In addition to having tons of heart to it, the story, acting, directing and score are all first rate as well. Anyone who rates this film less than an 8 clearly has serious personal issues.Let me first qualify that I've done many reviews on here and never given anything a 10. I save 10's for the rare movie that goes beyond being a movie. A movie that actually touches your soul. In addition to having tons of heart to it, the story, acting, directing and score are all first rate as well. Anyone who rates this film less than an 8 clearly has serious personal issues. Films don't get much better than this. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" illustrates Hilary swank (Beast performance) as a under-seen boxer emerging to her fame and ultimately, to her downfall. As expected from Clint Eastwood, the film is filmed and written richly and immensely. It certainly is one of the year's best.
  11. DaveS
    Aug 19, 2005
    2
    If you are a dark, negative anti-catholic red state bigot you will love it. It may be the slowest movie of all time. The only people who could give this a high rating are those unfortunate souls who are pretending to be different and deep.
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    Still amazes me that this got so much attention. Clint Eastwood is a great filmmaker and has made some masterpieces, but this movie was sluggish and simply too predictable. I love the surprises in Unforgiven and Gran Torino and several others, but this one was not even close to Clint's best. I even enjoyed J. Edgar better than this film.
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    5
    Bottom Line: Best Picture? Iâ
  14. EdwardJ.
    Jan 30, 2005
    1
    Slow-moving, dull, depressing, and worst of all, emotionally manipulative, oscarbait. Eastwood once again invokes a gritty facade for a forgettably conventional melodrama.
  15. bobk.
    Feb 1, 2005
    6
    What I've loved about Eastwood eever since I saw him as a kid in "Paint Your Wagon" beside Lee Marvin, is his use of short power phrases, and long looks. This movie had me "at hello" , and I was on my way to delivering one of my best ratings ever. Then came the cathartic ending. True, this movie delivers a "punch", but imagine the "punch" if determination, and persistence would truly What I've loved about Eastwood eever since I saw him as a kid in "Paint Your Wagon" beside Lee Marvin, is his use of short power phrases, and long looks. This movie had me "at hello" , and I was on my way to delivering one of my best ratings ever. Then came the cathartic ending. True, this movie delivers a "punch", but imagine the "punch" if determination, and persistence would truly have paid off here: much moreso, I believe. Expand
  16. lenz.
    Feb 2, 2005
    2
    Hated this over rated cliched piece of crap.cannot believe how people can be minupulated by critics into thinking this is anything but pedestrian at best.
  17. DavidS.
    Mar 21, 2005
    4
    The best way I can describe "Million Dollar Baby" is that it is only pseudo-deep. I never felt the film became truly human. Perhaps this is because Clint Eastwood causes it to seem self-consciously "classical." Many consider it a masterful demonstration of "classical filmmaking," but in my opinion this attempt to keep things "stripped down" to the bare essentials has gone beyond "Mystic The best way I can describe "Million Dollar Baby" is that it is only pseudo-deep. I never felt the film became truly human. Perhaps this is because Clint Eastwood causes it to seem self-consciously "classical." Many consider it a masterful demonstration of "classical filmmaking," but in my opinion this attempt to keep things "stripped down" to the bare essentials has gone beyond "Mystic River" and actually affected characterization. None of the characters have any flaws, and thus provided me with no connection. I felt I was watching an interesting story that was well shot, and that was that. In the end, there is truly nothing special about "Million Dollar Baby." Even the Oscar-winning actors of the trio gave superficial performances (how in the world did Swank win over Imelda Staunton, Kate Winslet, and Annette Bening?). I think the only reason "Baby" exists is to give people a reason two years from now to complain about how Scorsese lost to an undeserving director yet again, because I'm sticking by my notion that a film this thin in true, honest humanity and this riddled with cliches will not stand the test of time. Expand
  18. Abrahamsson
    Mar 8, 2005
    3
    OVERRATED! This movie gets one point each for the dedication of Eastwood, Swank, and especially Freeman. But come on! The boxing throughout is portrayed in a very superficial, disingenuous manner, and I am by no means a boxing fan. A dozen consecutive first round KOs? Why not aim for a little realism here? And the "twist." Let's just say that wouldn't happen, and if it didOVERRATED! This movie gets one point each for the dedication of Eastwood, Swank, and especially Freeman. But come on! The boxing throughout is portrayed in a very superficial, disingenuous manner, and I am by no means a boxing fan. A dozen consecutive first round KOs? Why not aim for a little realism here? And the "twist." Let's just say that wouldn't happen, and if it did **SPOILER ALERT** they'd hang the "scabby kraut" from the rafters. Did Maggie really "not win"? She was felled by A Cheap Shot After the Bell. Hello DQ, followed by lynch mob.
    The title character's family is the most ridiculous caricature of a selfish white trash family. Give them some kind of dimension, ANYthing. Instead, they're slaveringly selfish Mickey Mouse-emblazoned louts with thick drawls and thicker torsos. Ho hum.
    Expand
  19. JoshC
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    One of Eastwood's worst movies, and one of the most overrated films in recent years. The plot was not orginal as Indira said. The film was formulaic and cliche ridden.
  20. MattF.
    May 7, 2008
    3
    I thought that this film was well-made; beautiful direction from Clint Eastwood and terrific performances from everyone in the cast. However, I had some problems with some of the material. The depiction of poor people in the film was ignorant and offensive; Haggis seems to think that all poor people are white-trash slobs who don't even care about their loved ones. Also, the film I thought that this film was well-made; beautiful direction from Clint Eastwood and terrific performances from everyone in the cast. However, I had some problems with some of the material. The depiction of poor people in the film was ignorant and offensive; Haggis seems to think that all poor people are white-trash slobs who don't even care about their loved ones. Also, the film seems to think that one is better off dead than paralyzed, I suggest that Paul Haggis views "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," the best film of 2007, and a much finer picture than this one. Expand
  21. Guy
    Sep 12, 2005
    0
    Maudlin garbage. The worst example of emotional manipulation I've seen in a long time. As the tragedies piled on, I had a hard time keeping from laughing. The only excuse for this kind of contrived plotting is if it were actually true.
  22. BakerW.
    Feb 10, 2006
    4
    Good plot premise BUT...both Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood "mailed it in". They trotted out two-dimensional cliches of their characters. I doubt if director Eastwood was critical of any scenes either of them played in. Hilary Swank didn't look like even a woman boxer. The best performances were the actors playing the cheezy relatives playing for dough even as she realizes there Good plot premise BUT...both Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood "mailed it in". They trotted out two-dimensional cliches of their characters. I doubt if director Eastwood was critical of any scenes either of them played in. Hilary Swank didn't look like even a woman boxer. The best performances were the actors playing the cheezy relatives playing for dough even as she realizes there is little hope. Eastwood should have been more self-critical & Freeman should have put more into his role. A mediocre effort from a talented ensemble. Expand
  23. AstridF
    Jun 9, 2007
    2
    Sorry, this is totally unbelievable. What a sentimental mess from beginning to end. I am trying to write something nice about this, but Mr Eastwood, I love you and therefore I forgive you for this.
  24. KenL.
    Sep 7, 2007
    0
    If there were a prize awarded for the largest collection of whopping fat cliches in a movie, this maudlin mess would win hands down over any movie in recent memory. It would also break the needle off the sentimentalometer. It's all served up with the straightest of faces, a classic recipe for unintentional comedy. Yes, that's right, when maggie somehow manages to suffer a broken If there were a prize awarded for the largest collection of whopping fat cliches in a movie, this maudlin mess would win hands down over any movie in recent memory. It would also break the needle off the sentimentalometer. It's all served up with the straightest of faces, a classic recipe for unintentional comedy. Yes, that's right, when maggie somehow manages to suffer a broken neck at the the hands of a malicious stool, i laughed. Whilst all around me, the sound of sniffling noses signalled breaking hearts by the score. perhaps someday when the impenetrable eastwood mystique finally begins to dissipate, people will awaken as if from a dream and say, Expand
  25. MarcPosner
    Jan 15, 2005
    0
    came out of this movie furious -- and I'm a Clint Eastwood fan........

    This movie is just an overbearing piece of propaganda for sanctioning euthanasia -- or as it is commonly known -- MURDER..... Life ain't fair, as this movie graphically illustrates,,,,,but murdering the unfortunate among us just makes it worse.... Yet another example of a film suggesting that
    came out of this movie furious -- and I'm a Clint Eastwood fan........

    This movie is just an overbearing piece of propaganda for sanctioning euthanasia -- or as it is commonly known -- MURDER.....

    Life ain't fair, as this movie graphically illustrates,,,,,but murdering the unfortunate among us just makes it worse....

    Yet another example of a film suggesting that "situational ethics" trump "absolute truths"

    The Hollywood loonies could do us all a favor by taking some of those "painkillers" that Eastwood gave to Swank at the end of this disgusting film...
    Expand
  26. JimF.
    Nov 8, 2005
    3
    Great actors and director... interesting story... terrible ending! I was looking forward to renting this move and enjoyed it right up to the final five minutes - it bothers me that murder is Ok if its done under the right circumstances or for the right reason.
  27. ReneeR
    Dec 4, 2005
    0
    Truly horrid film. The acting is contrived, the plot is unbelievably sappy and the concept overdone.
  28. RyanM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    4
    This movie had a consistent tone that was effective in terms of mood. Unfortunately the only other bright spots seemed to be the acting of Morgan Freeman, who is one of the best at supporting roles, and clint eastwood, who reaches down deep to pull out a great and wrenching performance. but the movie was written poorly. filled with cliches' and predictability over the second half. This movie had a consistent tone that was effective in terms of mood. Unfortunately the only other bright spots seemed to be the acting of Morgan Freeman, who is one of the best at supporting roles, and clint eastwood, who reaches down deep to pull out a great and wrenching performance. but the movie was written poorly. filled with cliches' and predictability over the second half. and of course the beleivability and absurdness of the final fight was laughable. this movie proves once again that the academy, hollywood and the general population, are suckers for a formulatic tear-jerker. i certainly felt sucker punched. clint can do better than this. what a million dollar mistake. Expand
  29. DavidB.
    Aug 9, 2005
    5
    I gave the movie a 5 because of the acting which was good, but I don't see how this movie won the Oscar. They made the final fight see like a WWF bout with the liver/sucker/illegal blows. The should also do a little bit of medical research. I thought I was watching a soap opera with the medical mistakes. One can not speak nearly as clearly on a ventilator without a device to assist I gave the movie a 5 because of the acting which was good, but I don't see how this movie won the Oscar. They made the final fight see like a WWF bout with the liver/sucker/illegal blows. The should also do a little bit of medical research. I thought I was watching a soap opera with the medical mistakes. One can not speak nearly as clearly on a ventilator without a device to assist this. Swank also looked very nice for being a bed ridden patient. Eastwood's view of voluntary euthanasia is a bit over the edge as a physican was not involved in the process. There are ethical/psyhchological issues to be discussed before a person is removed from life support. A family member can not just go uplug/unhook the device and not be charge with a crime. Expand
  30. JohnM.
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    The worst boxing movie I have ever seen. In fact one of the worst movies ever made. You don't have to work too hard now days to fool people. For those who thought it was OK go and watch a proper boxing movie like Raging Bull. The movie was clearly made for, well you know those less fortunate in society.
  31. JackT
    Jan 14, 2007
    0
    Along with "Lost in Translation", one of the worst films of 00's. Clint's recent work has been crassly over praised. This film is sentimental, ridiculous and formulaic.
  32. CarlyG.
    May 19, 2007
    4
    Really not as good as it is described. Only in the mainstream Oscar industry it is. Compared to a independant film about euthenasia, million dollar baby is nothing.
  33. bobkorg
    Jan 26, 2005
    2
    The most depressing film I've seen since Mystic River. MR was basically unrelenting in keeping my mood low but Million Dollar Baby was good for about the first 3/4's until the main character becomes a quadrapelegic, then has her legs amputated, then wants to die but can't get any assistance so she bites her tongue to try to bleed to death, then is saved but keeps trying toThe most depressing film I've seen since Mystic River. MR was basically unrelenting in keeping my mood low but Million Dollar Baby was good for about the first 3/4's until the main character becomes a quadrapelegic, then has her legs amputated, then wants to die but can't get any assistance so she bites her tongue to try to bleed to death, then is saved but keeps trying to kill herself, then finally succeeds in getting help to die. Fortunately, I survived this movie and learned that I will have to do more thorough research before going to a film. Expand
  34. AlyE.
    Aug 22, 2005
    3
    Simply put, this movie was just not good. I was so excited when it came out on DVD because I felt left out during the Oscars. Now that I've seen it, I think people say it's good because the "right" people say it's good (Hollywood is, after all, an industry of followers who can't form their own opinions). But the "right" people have been wrong about a lot lately Simply put, this movie was just not good. I was so excited when it came out on DVD because I felt left out during the Oscars. Now that I've seen it, I think people say it's good because the "right" people say it's good (Hollywood is, after all, an industry of followers who can't form their own opinions). But the "right" people have been wrong about a lot lately (Aviator, Sideways, etc.). None of the actors had any depth, the story was too long, and the plot was both unbelievable and predictable. The writers didn't develop the B-line at all (Frank's alienation from his daughter) and Maggie's family was just too exaggerated to be believed. Actually, the only likeable character in the movie was Dangerous! I tried to convince myself that the movie was good-- that perhaps I was just distracted or apathetic-- but turns out, my gut instinct was right: Million Dollar Baby is another Hollywood miss that got backed by the right people because of Clint Eastwood. Expand
  35. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    will i watch million dollar baby or will i stick a needle in my eye. Its a difficult decision but i think il go with the needle. Why anyone would want to watch this miserable pile of crap is beyond me but the taste of the unwashed masses generally does. Avoid like the plague
  36. MattJ.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Movie of the year! It´s great!
  37. PibbyD.
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best movie that I have seen this year. No movie has ever moved me like this one.
  38. ACDwyer
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    Could you honestly have thought it was that deep going in? I was very surprised, and enjoyed the movie without reservation. Freeman gives the story ability to move without the other two main characters and does so by giving the film a sense of noble class. A great film.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Masterpiece.
  40. JohnL.
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    Great acting , not your typical boxing movie. More feelings and sad at the end. I left the theatre thinking about the movie. It was touching.
  41. RuthA
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Not what you'd expect.
  42. BillC.
    Jan 8, 2005
    6
    Good movie, but a little to slow for my liking.
  43. M.A.Moran
    Feb 2, 2005
    8
    Clint Eastwood does it again! Eastwood, Swank and Freeman are all excellent and each deserves the Oscar. I just wish it had a happier ending.
  44. GloriaG.
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Very touchy, sad .....best of the best 2005.
  45. JohnH.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    The most emotionally intense movie in many years. Old-fashoined, straight-forward and totally captivating. Brilliant performances and direction. Eastwood's masterpiece to this point.
  46. Fantasy
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    You could not hear a pindrop throughout the theater. I loved Clint, Hillary and Morgan, and hated Hillary's mother and siblings. Therefore, the acting was great and produced the desired connection with me the viewer. It should win Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor & Best Actress. The movie definitely scores a knockout. Then please explain to me why I left the theater You could not hear a pindrop throughout the theater. I loved Clint, Hillary and Morgan, and hated Hillary's mother and siblings. Therefore, the acting was great and produced the desired connection with me the viewer. It should win Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor & Best Actress. The movie definitely scores a knockout. Then please explain to me why I left the theater feeling so depressed. Expand
  47. TienP.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Easily the besr movie i have seen in a long time.
  48. Dave
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    Certainly the best movie I've seen this year, and one of the best movies I have seen in my entire life. The acting, writing and directing are second to none.
  49. AceM.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year and deserves it.
  50. LeeW.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    This was the best movie i have seen at the cinema for quite some time. The people who have given it such a low rating clearly do not know much about movies and what the mass majority of cinema-goers are entertained by, and i would like to know what movies they find entertaining/good -- i expect they are anti-mainstream people (in other words, pretentious, and enjoy obscure, dull movies). This was the best movie i have seen at the cinema for quite some time. The people who have given it such a low rating clearly do not know much about movies and what the mass majority of cinema-goers are entertained by, and i would like to know what movies they find entertaining/good -- i expect they are anti-mainstream people (in other words, pretentious, and enjoy obscure, dull movies). Anyway, this movie is brilliant, and wholeheartedly deserved all of the top Oscars it achieved (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor, Best Actress). Expand
  51. JohnnyW
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    It boggles the mind that some people cannot appreciate this for the masterpiece it is. Sure, MAYBE some of the events wouldn't have happened the way they did in the movie, but in the end, isn't the only thing that matters the story the film tells? Don't tell me you can't suspend your disbelief just a little bit.
  52. JessicaB.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    GREAT MOVIE!!!
  53. ZacharyF.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    The best film of 2004, bar none.
  54. LivvyM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    LOVED IT! really loved it! we watched it in english and most of us were in tears after watching it....really touching.
  55. ryanj.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Well written and thought out film that actually addresses some of the issues we see in society today. The score was a little overdone in some places but the general flow of the film was enjoyable and left the viewer to contemplate his/her own issues related to the ending.
  56. PatC.
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Nice flow, many genuinely poignant moments. A little pretentious in spots (an east German prostitute boxer who fights dirty, come on), and ultimately enlightened defeatism, but genuinely so. Great energetic can-do performance by Swank.
  57. Tonydannie
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    I rememeber being very upset at the fact that this movie got the Oscar for best picture. But then again I did not get to see it until I picked up the DVD. I honestly thought Eastwood could not overdo Mystic River. And of course, I am proving wrong (It happent from time to time) This film deserved any awards it got. The relationship between Eastwood and Swank is magic. I hate when i get I rememeber being very upset at the fact that this movie got the Oscar for best picture. But then again I did not get to see it until I picked up the DVD. I honestly thought Eastwood could not overdo Mystic River. And of course, I am proving wrong (It happent from time to time) This film deserved any awards it got. The relationship between Eastwood and Swank is magic. I hate when i get teary when watching movies. And here I did as well. Great film! Expand
  58. HenryV.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Never hits a false note, never breaks from its melancholy, reminiscent tone.
  59. ShayneR.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    Any movie that can achieve such depth of character deserves greater respect than this movie seems to be getting. There are three major characters all of which are amazingly realistic!
  60. BhiveshB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    The Academy Awards' jury has a tendency to favour those dramatic motion pictures that feature protagonists' lives opersating on many levels. Million Dollar Baby is the winner of Best Motion Picture of 2004 at the 77th Academy Awards, besides winning three more Oscars including the one for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, played by Hilary Swank. But for me this The Academy Awards' jury has a tendency to favour those dramatic motion pictures that feature protagonists' lives opersating on many levels. Million Dollar Baby is the winner of Best Motion Picture of 2004 at the 77th Academy Awards, besides winning three more Oscars including the one for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, played by Hilary Swank. But for me this movie is chiefly about the anguished life of its male protagonist, Frank Dunn, a senile boxing trainer trying to make amends for his disturbing elusive past. He is guilt-ridden and attends the Mass everyday. He writes to his (estranged) daughter every week, hoping for a reconciliation with her. And we do not have to wait for long until we find out that his other actions are equally unclear. Their motive(s) is/are never described: (1) He is shown as attending the Mass for twenty-three years, but why he keeps pissing off the Father by asking real inane religious questions is never hinted at. (2) What is the reason behind his constant attempt to learn Gaelic? We cannot come close to even guess that. Is it his hobby-horse or is it just another minute revelation connected to his unknown past? Answer for yourself. (3) Why does Frank try to prevent Willie Jones to have his shot, until the latter loses his patience and finally leaves the old trainer ending eight-years of their professional bonding. But one thing ramains clear: Frankie's life experiences really proves that if a life's course is that of his, then indeed "Tough ain't Enough". What is required in addition to toughness is endurance-an endurnce to fight with your inner demon, to be able to sustain by grappling with melancholy memories, haunting thoughts and a hopeless existence. Frank Dunn painstakingly manages to do that. What really thrilled me about this movie are not the boxing fights, most of which I believe have been handled amateurishly, but its intense climax. You just quietly (and sadly) watch Maggie's physical condition going from bad to worse, ultimately reaching a deadlock when her existence only indicates a virtual endless death-in-life experience. This calls for her release in euthanasia, which is given to her by Frank thus increasing his own anguish to its highest level. The act leaves Frank alone and despair, gloomy and with probably a single hope to attain absolution, sooner than later. But till that hope sustains, he attempts to find a little peace at "a place set in the cedars and oak trees, somewhere between nowhere and goodbye. But that's probably wishful thinking." This psychologically motivating and emotionally engaging movie is worth a watch. Strictly recommendable! Expand
  61. SauloC.
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    Oscar fun!!! Wonderful, Great, Show!!!!
  62. BillW
    Dec 20, 2004
    7
    A true "dinosaur" movie of cliches, executed artfully-- the basic plot (or both of them) is shamelessly melodramatic. Nice byplay between Eastwood and Freeman, and beautiful shadows in the boxing gym and elsewhere, but I literally COULD NOT BELIEVE the weepy final act. Also features the most contemptible depiction of "white trash" since About Schmidt.
  63. va
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    Exquisite. You must go see it. If any other film takes top honors come Oscar time (especially the horrible Sideways), I will be highly upset. This is the BEST film of the year.
  64. JeanneN
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Hands down, the best film I've ever seen. I kept thinking about it after I left the theater and the next day! Great performances and Oscars all around.
  65. GeraldC.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Best picture of the year.
  66. MarieC.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Best picture. Oscars all around.
  67. JeremyS
    Jan 21, 2005
    7
    A tough one to grade. On the upside, an Oscar-worthy performance by Swank, who is utterly convincing and sympathetic; I really rooted for her. Terrific cinematography and fight scenes that actually got my heart racing a little. However, critics are correct when they say this movie is full of cliches. I suppose it's hard to avoid repeating certain basic themes in a sports movie, A tough one to grade. On the upside, an Oscar-worthy performance by Swank, who is utterly convincing and sympathetic; I really rooted for her. Terrific cinematography and fight scenes that actually got my heart racing a little. However, critics are correct when they say this movie is full of cliches. I suppose it's hard to avoid repeating certain basic themes in a sports movie, especially a boxing movie, but so many elements were completely predictable. My biggest problem is with the final act. Some have praised it as giving the movie a kind of profundity and significance that would have been missing otherwise. While it certainly added some weight to the proceedings, however, like the rest of the movie there was absolutely nothing original about it. It did not challenge the viewer or break any new ground, which, considering the attention lavished on this movie, is a real shame. But overall this is a well made and enjoyable movie. It just could have been something better, and I many viewers seem to be convinced it is something it isn't. Expand
  68. DeanD.
    Jan 20, 2005
    5
    This movie had all the cliches and tear-jerking moments that were characteristic of movies in the 40's and 50's. OK, I won't give away the ending, except to say that it was too long in coming. The fight scenes were of the "Rocky" type: haymakers that in real life would have killed a bull but in this movie just send her to the corner so Clint can tell her to suck it up. And This movie had all the cliches and tear-jerking moments that were characteristic of movies in the 40's and 50's. OK, I won't give away the ending, except to say that it was too long in coming. The fight scenes were of the "Rocky" type: haymakers that in real life would have killed a bull but in this movie just send her to the corner so Clint can tell her to suck it up. And of course she does. I saw a few damp eyes in the theater, so if you are a sucker for a tear-jerker, this flick is for you, but if you like more sophisticated, realistic movies, like Mystic River, take a pass. Collapse
  69. HowardM.
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    At 74 Eastwood is doing his best work yet. Screenplay, direction, and performances are all first rate. Great film.
  70. TimN
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    This was an amazing story about hope, perseverance and friendship told eloquently by Eastwood and his masterful direction. The mesage is not delivered by a knock out punch but rather through deliberate jabs. Masterful performances by Swank, Freeman and Eastwood make this film one of the year's best.
  71. DelaneR.
    Jan 28, 2005
    9
    The only reason Scorsese will win the Oscar over Eastwood is because Clint already won. Calling Million Dollar Baby a "formula film" is obsurd. The acting alone is brilliant. If any movie was slow, It was the last hour of The Aviator. Alan Alda for Best Supporting Actor? I'll take Morgan Freeman. At least he was in the movie for more than five minutes.
  72. BobE.
    Jan 28, 2005
    0
    I am sorry to say but this is the most overestimated film this year. Republican Eastwood is starting to come off as a pompous snoot, who thinks he's better than Ford and Welles. This is a manipulative, cliche-ridden smug movie, that will deservedly lose to Martin Scorsese's "The Aviator" in the Best Picture race. Similarly, I hop Imelda Staunton manages to get the Oscar over Ms. Swank.
  73. JoeM.
    Jan 28, 2005
    1
    Major dissapointment! A slow, trdious and eventually formula film that belongs on cable. Eastwood is far from the staggering genius many seem to think he is.
  74. LucilleJ.
    Jan 28, 2005
    0
    It was a slow, boring and predictable drama that falls far short of the effusive praise it is getting. I liked Mystic River, but this one was forgettable.
  75. vevahgriffin
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    best movie of the year
  76. TimS.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    Beautifully made and supremely well acted.
  77. ShaiF.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Amazing emotional trip. Swank is an iron clad guarranty to get the Oscar.
  78. LynnD.
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    Engages the viewer such that they are more than just an observer - they are involved in these people's lives. A very powerful movie.
  79. RobertM.
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Excellent and thought provoking film. Beautiful lighting. Excellent acting. Nice to see stories like this that don't fit the standard studio formula for box office appeal.
  80. VictoriaS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Absolutely stunning, this beautifully crafted film transcends potential cliches (numerous, it's true), for a devastating, yet oddly spiritually uplifting, moviegoing experience. Magnificent, understated performances by all, particularly the incredible Hilary Swank. Expresses so much about fathers and daughters -- and the true dimensions of love and responsibility. Bring boxes of Absolutely stunning, this beautifully crafted film transcends potential cliches (numerous, it's true), for a devastating, yet oddly spiritually uplifting, moviegoing experience. Magnificent, understated performances by all, particularly the incredible Hilary Swank. Expresses so much about fathers and daughters -- and the true dimensions of love and responsibility. Bring boxes of Kleenex, and prepare to be haunted by this exquisite film long after you've left the theater. Expand
  81. lindas.
    Jan 30, 2005
    2
    Honestly one of the most boring , contrite, cliched, cliched, cliched movies I've seen in ages. The ending was depressing. The acting was okay. I guess I just expected a better film than this. I imagine that if it wins the best picture award, in 5 years people will be saying, what in the heck was the academy thinking?
  82. BrianG.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Exciting movie. All the acting is brilliant. The pace is perfect even in the movie's final act. Not only Eastwood's best performance, it's also his best musical score to date. I also love how the film was lit. Excellent, Excellent!
  83. ShaylaM.
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    This movie was awful! I hated it. seriously the worst movie of the year!
  84. KatK.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Kicked my butt. Loved it.....Eastwood/Swank convinced us what love is truly all about. Oscars for all three leads...movie and director.
  85. williamr.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This movie is rooted in one of Hollywood's oldest plots--the come-from-behind sports movie. But, it's very hard to make a totally original movie after 100 years of movie-making. Yet, Eastwood and the others in the cast have transcended cliche and made one of the most engrossing movies in years. I suspect this film will be one that Eastwood is most remebered by. By the This movie is rooted in one of Hollywood's oldest plots--the come-from-behind sports movie. But, it's very hard to make a totally original movie after 100 years of movie-making. Yet, Eastwood and the others in the cast have transcended cliche and made one of the most engrossing movies in years. I suspect this film will be one that Eastwood is most remebered by. By the way--speaking of cliches: One person is reponsible for 90% of the negative reviews registered here. He doesn't have the wit to cover his tracks with varied style in his narratives. His writing is supreme evidence of cliche run rampant. He's also a believer in "Vote and vote often." Without his multiple entries this movie would have an audience rating closer to 95%. Expand
  86. ChadS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Ideology-wise, "Million Dollar Baby" is cruel. Eastwood gives us a welfare family which exemplifies the darkside of liberalism that Republicans warn us about, but it's the go-getter that overcomes her environment who gets punished. What is Eastwood's message? Life's not fair. This is my favorite subversion of the inspirational sports movie since "Lucas".
  87. JonathanS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    9
    Well-done, entertaining, interesting ending, but didn't leave a deep emotional impression. The big surprise is that the Hillary Swank character is really a man. (just kidding)
  88. CharlieS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    [***SPOILERS***] Superb! Raw emotions without being sappy. 3 unapolgetic fighters to the end. Spinal cord injury scenes not shown as bad as it really is.We know because we live it and there is alot of physical and emotional pain. Thank you for bringing awarenss to this terrible injury.
  89. GregM.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    I don't know what more you could possibly want. Exactly as I hoped it would be!
  90. SamJ.
    Jan 6, 2005
    1
    The year's most overated film, dull, uninspiring, sluggish filmaking with too many cliches.
  91. RonaldR.
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    Emotions run the gammut... You'll laugh, you'll cuss, you'll cry.
  92. WinnieS.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    Eastwood captures the most heartfelt emotions without becoming overly sentimental. The relationships between the three main characters are incredibly touching and ring very true. He captures the complexities of life in such an understated manner that you cannot help but be caught up in the characters' stories and swept in a tide of emotion. But you never feel manipulated. It just is Eastwood captures the most heartfelt emotions without becoming overly sentimental. The relationships between the three main characters are incredibly touching and ring very true. He captures the complexities of life in such an understated manner that you cannot help but be caught up in the characters' stories and swept in a tide of emotion. But you never feel manipulated. It just is what it is. Hilary Swank surpasses her performance in "Boys Don't Cry." This physical transformation (she IS this boxer) is also powerful, but it's her portrayal of someone who, despite overwhelming odds, stays ture to her authentic self, and pursues her quest for a true family and her dream with equal exuberance. This is a classic that is detined to move audiences for years to come. Expand
  93. JoshG.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Powerful, emotional, gut-stirring don't really come close to describing this movie. No movie has ever smacked me as hard as this one.
  94. SueM
    Feb 13, 2005
    8
    Excellent performances all around, and very tight writing and directing. The first three quarters of the film are just about perfect. The ending causes me some concern, not because of its content (life doesn't always give us happy endings), but that it's just too facile. All in all, a very good movie with true emotional punch.
  95. santiagoq.
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    It looks already like a classic.
  96. ThomasF.
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    Great movie - Clint Eastwood is one of the best. Morgan Freeman did a wonderful job, if fact the whole movie was extremely well acted and beautifully photographed.
  97. DavisD.
    Feb 22, 2005
    3
    I'm not a big Clint Eastwood fan, but I had high hopes with all the good press that this movie would make my day. I was disappointed. Rather than a movie with an interesting twist at the end, it was like it was 2 unrelated movies cobbled together. Both were filmed beautifully, but neither worked for me indepedently and the combination just left me very disappointed. I wish I had gone I'm not a big Clint Eastwood fan, but I had high hopes with all the good press that this movie would make my day. I was disappointed. Rather than a movie with an interesting twist at the end, it was like it was 2 unrelated movies cobbled together. Both were filmed beautifully, but neither worked for me indepedently and the combination just left me very disappointed. I wish I had gone to see Hotel Rwanda instead which seems to have such heavy subject matter but appears in the end to be uplifting. MDB seemed to be gratuitously "heavy" and "deep" while ultimately missing the mark and was a big disappointment. Expand
  98. NunoR.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    It's one of the movies of the year... Great movie, Great director, great actress, great secondary role actor (Morgan Freeaman)!! Loved it!!!
  99. MichaelMargetis
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    The Best Film of the Year. On the outside 'Million Dollar Baby' seems like a boxing picture, but it's really a character study of the three characters involved (played expertly by Clint Eastwood, Hilary Swank and Morgan Freeman). Before I saw the film, I thought it was going to be a tacky and sappy girl boxing movie, but it wasn't. I find even after I've seen it,The Best Film of the Year. On the outside 'Million Dollar Baby' seems like a boxing picture, but it's really a character study of the three characters involved (played expertly by Clint Eastwood, Hilary Swank and Morgan Freeman). Before I saw the film, I thought it was going to be a tacky and sappy girl boxing movie, but it wasn't. I find even after I've seen it, it's hard to convince people the film is not like that, and it's not a conventional formulatic boxing film like Rocky, but that it is something a hell of a lot deeper. After seeing the film for a second time, I found that it really has no weak points other then being a little slow towards the beginning (which was essential in order to tell the story correctly.) Clint Eastwood not only does an outstanding job directing this soon-to-be-classic, but he also produces the film, composes a spellbinding musical score, and gives his very best screen performance as Frankie Dunn, a down-on-his-luck boxing manager who decides to take on a wannabe female boxer. Morgan Freeman provides us with a quiet yet extremely effective performance as Frankie's long-time friend and partner. Not only does Freeman play this part, but his character narrates the story, so the whole movie is told from this character's perspective. The on-screen chemistry between Eastwood and Freeman is too incredible for words, a chemistry that was only once before seen in 1992's Best Picture winner 'Unforgiven', that was also made by Eastwood. The best peformance of the film obviously comes from Hilary Swank as the average trailer-trash restaurant waitress who's one true passion is for boxing. Swank delivers a tour-de-force performance, and along with Eastwood it's also her best on-screen acting performance. Ms. Swank knows her character very well, and it shows that she didn't just memorize the lines of the character, but she embodied the character. Overall, when you see the film you don't see the three actors, but the characters they portray. 'Million Dollar Baby' is my choice for Best Picture, along with the Oscars for Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Director, Best Film Editing and Best Original Score. I give
    'Million Dollar Baby' an 'A'.
    Expand
  100. SusanM.
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    I saw this movie last night and I adored it, it was moving and inspiring and the acting was unbelievable!! I find it mind-boggling that anyone could see this movie and not love it, but I guess it all boils down to taste!! I rate it up there with Shawshank Redemption, I hope it wins every award!!
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Under Eastwood's painstakingly stripped-down direction -- his filmmaking has become the cinematic equivalent of Hemingway's spare though precise prose -- the story emerges as that rarest of birds, an uplifting tragedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Staying at the top of his game when most of his contemporaries have long since hung up their gloves, Clint Eastwood delivers another knockout punch with Million Dollar Baby.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    Eastwood takes the audience to raw, profoundly moving places. If you fear strong emotions, this is not for you. But if you want to see Hollywood filmmaking at its most potent, Eastwood has delivered the real deal.