Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 76 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AldrinC.May 17, 2006
"Millions" is a priceless religious experience. Wonderful acting and the visuals are deeply astounding. The scenery looks like something straight from a Windows XP desktop wallpaper. And the music--prodigious! Great job, Mr. Boyle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinM.Nov 14, 2005
I was pleasently surprised by this film. It's a schmaltzy feel good film that preaches about giving. And yet, somehow I still came away thinking, I should give more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billys.Nov 3, 2005
This film didn't lose any of it's magic in a unusually long wait for the dvd. I said it in April and I'll say it again now in November-"Millions" is the BEST movie of the year. I just can't figure out why it is not being This film didn't lose any of it's magic in a unusually long wait for the dvd. I said it in April and I'll say it again now in November-"Millions" is the BEST movie of the year. I just can't figure out why it is not being mentioned in any of the pre-Oscar nominations forecasters predictions. After Trainspotting and 28 Days Later, I now consider Danny Boyle my new God Kubrick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamL.Jan 2, 2006
Excellent for all ages and with a good point
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarperMApr 6, 2009
Touching fantasy with a flashy, surrealistic visual style. The film has humor, pathos, and moments of menace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 26, 2005
The big emotional scene in "Millions" pays off because the mother's death, when addressed explicitly by the two boys, is done in a comic manner. Alex Etel plays muted trauma brilliantly. He effortlessly gains our sympathy. London, The big emotional scene in "Millions" pays off because the mother's death, when addressed explicitly by the two boys, is done in a comic manner. Alex Etel plays muted trauma brilliantly. He effortlessly gains our sympathy. London, depicted here, isn't predictably glum; the filmmaker doesn't want to overstate the tragedy. The flashy visuals work as a psychical projection of how these two boys try to remain childlike, so it's not all post-modern meaninglessness, or filmmaking overindulgence. Ultimately, "Millions" is fascinating to watch because Damian is a well-adjusted "Butcher Boy". If you see saints, there has to be a touch of madness there. If you see your dead mother, there has to be a touch of "Ponette" as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
aDec 29, 2005
You people have got to be kidding me!!!! this movie was more boring than watching the news when your 5!!! the plot line may be excellently developed but otherwise it just plain SUCKS!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Anti-hollywood5Mar 17, 2011
Amazing movie! Really really fun to watch. Also Very Imaginative and creative movie with a good moral to it. This movie was also religiously fascinating and the cinomtagraphy in it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGuysFeb 7, 2014
Millions may seem like an interesting movie, but it suffers tremendously from an awkward quirkiness and inconsistent filming that leave the movie feeling incoherent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
A contempo Christmas fairy tale for the CGI generation, Brit director Danny Boyle's "Millions" maintains a bankable charm and innocence even when overdrawn on the special effects side. Sparky but essentially small movie could do reasonableA contempo Christmas fairy tale for the CGI generation, Brit director Danny Boyle's "Millions" maintains a bankable charm and innocence even when overdrawn on the special effects side. Sparky but essentially small movie could do reasonable numbers with a wide swathe of auds if positioned clear of heavyweight crowd-pleasers.

Set before Christmas but shot in summery locations, pic’s unreal atmosphere is underlined from the start as two brothers, 9-year-old Anthony (Lewis McGibbon) and 7-year-old Damien (Alex Etel, in pic’s casting coup), move to a brand new housing development on the edge of Liverpool following the death of their mom (Jane Hogarth, only seen at end). In an orgy of exhilarating CGI, similar to the start of Li Shaohong’s Beijing-set “Baober in Love,” the houses literally spring up around the kids as they celebrate the beginning of a new life with their father, Ronnie (James Nesbitt), and away from the grim inner city.

While Anthony is a savvy mathematician with a businessboy’s brain, Damien is a dreamer fixated on saints, miracles and the world of imagination. Damien is building a hideaway out of packing boxes near the railroad — and hosting his first “guest,” a joint-smoking St. Clare (Kathryn Pogson) — when a bag stuffed with banknotes arrives through the air.

For the naive Damien, it’s a miracle from God. For the practical Anthony, it’s a £229,320 ($411,662) windfall that could be taxed at 40% if they declare it. Both agree to keep it a secret, though when St. Francis of Assisi (Enzo Cilenti) appears to Damien and tells him to help the poor, the kids find that easier said than done.

After this powerhouse opening half-hour, pic momentarily turns a little darker as a sinister-looking pauper (Christopher Fulford) turns up at Damien’s hideaway demanding money. Anthony’s presence of mind gets them out of that tangle, but there’s no escaping a looming bigger problem: Blighty is finally about to join the Euro (film is set in an imaginary near future) and in little more than a week’s time the sterling is going to be as worthless as Monopoly money.

Soon, a chipper young charity worker, Dorothy (Daisy Donovan), starts taking an interest in father Ronnie and — to the boys’ minds — the money, which turns out to be have been dumped from a train by bank robbers. All that’s left is to somehow spend the loot, but the police have already been alerted and the pauper is again hot on their trail.

After the early stages, film fortunately goes easier on the visual effects and concentrates more on character and story-telling, with scripter Frank Cottrell Boyce (a regular collaborator with Michael Winterbottom, and one of the U.K.’s most imaginative writers) keeping the thin plot alive with setbacks and left turns. Ending is simple and briefly affecting, with the moral of the tale (“money just makes everything worse”) spelled out but in lower case.

Dialogue by the kids has a slightly out-there, proto-adult flavor that’s handled with great assurance by both McGibbon and the younger Etel, with the latter practically stealing the film with his northern English blend of earthy cute.

Other roles are equally carefully calibrated to maintain the movie’s irreal atmosphere, with the adults, as in all fairytales, having a simple, one-dimensional flavor (upbeat Dorothy, kindly Ronnie, scary pauper) that keeps the emotional focus tightly on the youngsters. Nesbitt and Donovan are excellent in this regard, and Pearce Quigley, as a bureaucratic-speak community cop, stands out among the adult supports.

Tech package is aces at all levels, with key talent drawn from Boyle’s “28 Days Later” and his prior BBC telepics (“Strumpet,” “Vacuuming Completely Nude in Paradise,” whose antsy style “Millions” often recalls). Danish lenser Anthony Dod Mantle, who also worked on a slew of Dogme movies, creates a semi-magical, semi-realistic landscape of heightened colors and summery hues, in tandem with production design by Mark Tildesley, also a regular Winterbottom collaborator . John Murphy’s score keeps the movie at a brisk pace, in tandem with Chris Gill’s crisp cutting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 25, 2017
J'ai vu ça sur la chaîne Gulli et j'ai pensé à une erreur : un film de Danny Boyle sur la chaîne Gulli ?... n'y aurait-il pas nabot sous roche ? et effectivement, c'est la foire aux nabots avec des jus de fruits et du kiri. Du coup, j'aiJ'ai vu ça sur la chaîne Gulli et j'ai pensé à une erreur : un film de Danny Boyle sur la chaîne Gulli ?... n'y aurait-il pas nabot sous roche ? et effectivement, c'est la foire aux nabots avec des jus de fruits et du kiri. Du coup, j'ai pensé à une pensée poétique et l'ai notée dans mon carnet : et si les nains rajoutaient hara à kiri, ç'aurait pu être marrant, car j'adore les enfants, vraiment les enfants à la broche, c'est un régal !

Donc, le postulat de départ (les gniards qui trouvent un sac plein de fric...) fait long feu et on se fait ultra-chier en comptant les bouteilles de grenadine et de lait-fraise qui constituent l'intégralité de l'espèce d'histoire et des pseudo-dialogues qui la constituent. Je n'en reviens toujours pas, de cette "poésie" infantile moralisatrice à deux balles ! ça troue carrément le cul.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews