Mindhunters

Mindhunters Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A training program for the FBI's psychological profiling division, known as Mindhunters, is infilitrated by a serial killer

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. In its design, at least, Mindhunters"surpasses all other Christie knockoffs.
  2. Corny? Oh, yeah. But it's also reasonably good fun.
  3. 50
    Here's a film that exhibits all kinds of joy in uncoiling a story with no ending, or an ending that's so arbitrary you get the feeling that the filmmakers just threw names in a hat to see who their killer would be.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    38
    A contrived, unpleasant and very drawn-out affair.
  5. A quintessential Renny Harlin film: a big, dumb, loud action movie.
  6. The psychobabble silliness passed off as investigative insight here is laughable at best.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie. It's got a great mystery storyline, mixed in with some comedy and good acting. Suspenseful. Funny. Awesome! I recommendMy favorite movie. It's got a great mystery storyline, mixed in with some comedy and good acting. Suspenseful. Funny. Awesome! I recommend this movie to everyone who enjoys good, fun movies, rather than "artsy" (boring/stupid) films Collapse
  2. PichatuC.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    I think this film is just great.. it's full of surprises. It keeps you in the suspense. This movie will keep you guessing who is the I think this film is just great.. it's full of surprises. It keeps you in the suspense. This movie will keep you guessing who is the murderer but then it will prove you wrong. so guess again and again... until you are sure who did it. I really like this film Expand
  3. yoshikam.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    I absolutely loved it.
  4. MikeH.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Literally my favourite movie ever. i saw mindhunters on tv and then went and bought it on dvd as well and watched it another couple times. i Literally my favourite movie ever. i saw mindhunters on tv and then went and bought it on dvd as well and watched it another couple times. i loved every bit of it every single time i watched it. it was violent, scary,funny, and even smart, everything you could want in a movie. film critics are a bunch of idiots. Expand
  5. DavidW.
    Aug 28, 2006
    8
    Really not sure where all the extreme negative comments are coming from. Thrillers are my favorite genre - I watch a ton of them. And this Really not sure where all the extreme negative comments are coming from. Thrillers are my favorite genre - I watch a ton of them. And this one had me entertained throughout. Yes, they end up alone on a island, which has been done before. It's a writing device people - one that is allowed to be used more than once in the history of film. I found the writing original and compelling, even if it wasn't always perfect. The production values were good, and the score was well done. Expand
  6. May 25, 2015
    7
    The cast of Mind Hunters is as weird and diverse as any movie can get, but what turned me on to this film was the fact that it was Directed byThe cast of Mind Hunters is as weird and diverse as any movie can get, but what turned me on to this film was the fact that it was Directed by Renny Harlin. Harlin is a legend in the world of action films, responsible for such films as Die Hard 2, 12 Rounds, & The Long Kiss Goodnight. He usually doesn't waste his time on direct-to-video films, and prefers to feature his own people, but the story here was so good, that he must of made an exception. Mind Hunters follows seven FBI agents who are training to be profilers, under the watch of the toughest trainer there ever was, Jake Harris (Val Kilmer). For their final test, the group goes to a small island the navy uses for training, and must work together in order to catch a serial killer that doesn't exist or do they? Once they begin their investigation, the group quickly come to realize that the scene is booby trapped and they are cut off from the outside world, trapped on an island with a killer. While having a unique location and a terrific director, what I really enjoyed about this film was how it was more than just some slasher film. This group isn't just a bunch of frat girls running from a guy in a hockey mask, they are trained, intelligent, FBI agents, trying to figure out which one of them is responsible for setting the rest up. This film features all the fighting, gun battles, and chases that you get in a typical action thriller, but there is also a methodical obsession among the group to find the one that betrayed them, and for that this film is unique. Kathryn Morris stars and has more than enough experience playing a detective, after sever years on Cold Case. Likewise LL Cool J has played a cop on numerous occasions, most recently on NCIS: Los Angles. Going into the film, I wasn't all that crazy about this cast, but once I got into it, I realized that they were brought together, because all of these guys have plays cops, FBI agents, or some kind of law enforcer in the past. That mix of unique personalities and experience help this film, because what the cast lacks in talent, they make up for with experience. Mind Hunters isn't something you've never seen before, but it brings together several different common themes in a new way and it will keep you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  7. Jono
    Apr 1, 2006
    1
    Stupid and moronic even if flashy and expensive looking. How can so much money be poared into something so blatently dumb? How many extra Stupid and moronic even if flashy and expensive looking. How can so much money be poared into something so blatently dumb? How many extra dollars would it take to develop a plot with even an atom of credibility. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.