Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 21, 2002
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 415 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
311
Mixed:
43
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
pauljohnsonJun 6, 2012
"Everybody Runs". Yeah, away from the damn cinema screen. A convoluted, contrived, predictable and uninteresting mess. The concepts that this movie uses are such an assault on common intelligence. If this movie were a person, it would kick"Everybody Runs". Yeah, away from the damn cinema screen. A convoluted, contrived, predictable and uninteresting mess. The concepts that this movie uses are such an assault on common intelligence. If this movie were a person, it would kick you in the balls, steal your wallet, wave it in your face and then try and advertise itself to you that you just had a good time sitting through it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
TommyR.Nov 4, 2006
The most boring film I have ever seen in my life.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 28, 2005
It seemed a bit confused to me, in that it couldn't figure out whether to be a thriller or a family comedy. You have very dark moments followed immediately by cute vignettes. It didn't jive well for me. The special effects are It seemed a bit confused to me, in that it couldn't figure out whether to be a thriller or a family comedy. You have very dark moments followed immediately by cute vignettes. It didn't jive well for me. The special effects are beautiful yes; they usefully serve to distract you from the horribly convoluted plot. In an ironic twist, the movie includes far more subplots and "gotchas" than the original text. One thing I didn't really care for about the visuals, though, is the bizarre use of color. I found it rather disturbing and oddly reminiscent of Gladiator's butchering of color. The ending, to use a borrowed phrase, is "spielberged". It would have been fine, had the movie finished about a half-hour before it actually did. If you've seen it, then you know what I'm talking about; if you haven't then I don't really want to spoil it for you. Lastly, I feel as though Phil Dick ought to be rolling in his grave over this movie. The "take home" message of the movie is diametrically opposed to that of the short story on which it's based. This would almost be ok (but not really), if I had agreed with the movie more, but I don't. If you think I'm some kind of purist that just doesn't like screen adaptations, you'd be right. But in this particular case, I saw the movie first; in fact, I hated the movie so much I almost didn't bother with the short story. Collapse
0 of 7 users found this helpful
3
SagaBoyJul 3, 2002
Minority Report was pretentious and condesending. If you think "Blade Runner" was an excellent movie, you will be sorely disappointed with Minority Report. I was actually bored through certain parts of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KurtH.Jun 22, 2002
Boring, predictable, unoriginal, loud, without interest or merit
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
L.KeeneJun 24, 2002
This is a confusing, cliche-ridden picture with an interesting premise, that once again shows that Spielberg and Cruise try too hard. They are getting long at the tooth and it shows. Spielberg's usually suspect messages take another bad This is a confusing, cliche-ridden picture with an interesting premise, that once again shows that Spielberg and Cruise try too hard. They are getting long at the tooth and it shows. Spielberg's usually suspect messages take another bad turn when he mixes anti civil liberty bias with passionate individualism. Huh? Hitchcock once said that he refused to make movies with characters who stand around explaining the plot to each other. This movie had such a rapid, confusing wrap-up that it will take a couple of viewings to get it - and then it ends up not being good story telling. A disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndyS.Jun 23, 2002
A solid 3 on an an adjusted scale of 1 to 10, with 1 representing the entertainment value of Spielberg's previous masterpiece, AI, and 10 representing the entertainment value of getting kicked in the teeth by a rabid llama. If you want A solid 3 on an an adjusted scale of 1 to 10, with 1 representing the entertainment value of Spielberg's previous masterpiece, AI, and 10 representing the entertainment value of getting kicked in the teeth by a rabid llama. If you want to be really bored for a very long time, experience true prescience in the form of knowing exactly what's going to happen in every scene, sequence and act, and then have your intelligence insulted by a sappy ending so inane that even though you saw it coming you still simply cannot believe what you're watching, then see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BradH.Jun 28, 2002
It's amazing to me to see the positive reviews (like Ebert and Roepers) giving this garb "two enthusiastic thumbs up". How much of a kickback do they get? The movie is just not good. A complete insult to your intelligence. But, it is It's amazing to me to see the positive reviews (like Ebert and Roepers) giving this garb "two enthusiastic thumbs up". How much of a kickback do they get? The movie is just not good. A complete insult to your intelligence. But, it is not as bad as AI....which isn't saying much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful