User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 297

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    Steven Spielberg? Tom Cruise? Seriously i was not expecting much from this movie, but I was wrong, as it turned out to be a "mature" science fiction movie. I liked how Mr. Spielber presented 2054 A.D. (Even if He was too optimistic I am afraid...), where "Pre-Cogs" predict crimes beforehand. This whole "Pre-cog" method of peacekeeping, and it use in more and more places every day, raiseSteven Spielberg? Tom Cruise? Seriously i was not expecting much from this movie, but I was wrong, as it turned out to be a "mature" science fiction movie. I liked how Mr. Spielber presented 2054 A.D. (Even if He was too optimistic I am afraid...), where "Pre-Cogs" predict crimes beforehand. This whole "Pre-cog" method of peacekeeping, and it use in more and more places every day, raise interesting ethical questions. Is the person really guilty if he/she has not committed the crime yet, because "Precrime" arrested him/her based on the prediction of "Pre-cogs"? Are "Pre-cogs" infallible? What if they make mistakes sometimes? Is If they do make mistakes, is it worth it for the greater good? Is it ethical to keep "Pre-cogs" sedated and placed in a room in their whole life to serve the law, basically taking away they chance to a normal life? These are some of the questions the movie ask from the viewer, while the plot unfolds. The movies main plot is also interesting and keep you seated the whole run time. It is about John Anderton who heads Precrime, and believes the system's flawlessness. However one day the "Pre-cogs" predict that Anderton will commit a murder himself in the next 36 hours. Anderton decides to get to the mystery's core by finding out the 'minority report' which means the prediction of the female "Pre-cog" Agatha that "might" tell a different story and prove Anderton innocent. I can only recommend the movie. It has some interesting twist and turns. Tom Cruise's character is layered and the actors all did a great job in their roles. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Again, it's one of those films that are perfect because the mix of action and storytelling just works. While being still another approach to time paradoxes, Spielberg's direction and the dark, original plot elevate Minority Report to something special.
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    "Everybody Runs". Yeah, away from the damn cinema screen. A convoluted, contrived, predictable and uninteresting mess. The concepts that this movie uses are such an assault on common intelligence. If this movie were a person, it would kick you in the balls, steal your wallet, wave it in your face and then try and advertise itself to you that you just had a good time sitting through it.
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    A good movie for some but with boring drama. Loved the visual effects, but besides the not-so-much suspense and action, I could have expected much more.
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    Minority Report is a fun movie but at times a bit to complex and Sci-fi for my liking. Don't take this wrong, Minority Report is action packed and full of twists and turns but perhaps I was lucky and just guessed right but I saw the future too. Cruise and Farrell do a great job and the graphics are top notch.
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    5
    Minority Report is thrilling and has some great special effects, but the entire plot is impossible--and I don't mean the being able to see the future thing. If you really pay attention to the plot you'll see that even in a world where precogs exist, the plot would not be able to happen. Acting is good though, and it did leave me entertained for the first five times that I watched it. ButMinority Report is thrilling and has some great special effects, but the entire plot is impossible--and I don't mean the being able to see the future thing. If you really pay attention to the plot you'll see that even in a world where precogs exist, the plot would not be able to happen. Acting is good though, and it did leave me entertained for the first five times that I watched it. But this most recent watching was when I noticed the plot holes. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    A perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look ofA perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look of each of the characters. Besides, it still had the action, just with the intellectual superiority, hard-hitting, thought-provoking and the haunting strangeness in both the visuals and the story that many other films don't have. The plot twists were careful enough not to tie you in knots, but remembered the audience knew that it was a science-fiction thriller, and ended up creating something intelligent and mind-blowing at the same time. Strangely, this is both Cruise's and Spielberg's best film that I have seen so far. Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed every second of this movie it was great, spectacular, wonderful and most of all exciting a thriller you should definitely see you could watch this movie a 100 times and you would still enjoy it
  9. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Minority Report is one of the most unique films I've seen. Tom Cruise stars in his role as John Anderton, lead officer in Washington, D.C.'s pre-crime division set in the mid-21st century. "Pre-crime" is a concept that revolves around the ability to stop murders before they happen thanks to three "precogs" and their ability to see into the future. This is an inherently controversial way to 'solve' crime but is largely accepted because it seems perfect considering that no murders had been committed in the six year experiment. The conflict is introduced when Cruise finds out that he is the next expected murderer. This puts him on the run from the division he once led and on an investigation to find out how he is supposedly going to murder someone he's never met. The action isn't overdone but rather placed well throughout the film. The combat sequences could've been better but they were still enjoyable. A few of the plot points were a little weak also but there weren't actual holes or anything. The acting was solid with Cruise and a supporting cast of Colin Farrell and Max von Sydow among others. The best part of the film, though, was the interesting plot. Even with the few weak parts it's just a very interesting story that develops nicely. Many movies struggle with the concept of the future being predicted but Minority Report does a great job and is very entertaining. Collapse
  10. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Most people don't recognize the name Phillip K. Dick and when you read his name, you probably just snickered. He might not have had an easy childhood with a name like that and you may not recognize his name, but he is to Science Fiction what Stephen King is to Horror. The films Blade Runner, Total Recall, Screamers, Paycheck, A Scanner Darkly, Next, & The Adjustment Bureau were all basedMost people don't recognize the name Phillip K. Dick and when you read his name, you probably just snickered. He might not have had an easy childhood with a name like that and you may not recognize his name, but he is to Science Fiction what Stephen King is to Horror. The films Blade Runner, Total Recall, Screamers, Paycheck, A Scanner Darkly, Next, & The Adjustment Bureau were all based on stories or books that he wrote. Minority Report is yet another of his stories developed for the big screen and one of the most popular. This ingenious film was Directed by Stephen Spielberg and starred Tom Cruise. I am by no means a fan of Tom Cruise, in fact, I've made it a point over the last few years to avoid seeing anything he is in, but this was one film I couldn't miss. To his credit Cruise was very good and exciting throughout, showing a lot of charisma, it was unexpected, but a welcome change from what we normally see from him. This terrific futuristic tale tells the story of pre-crime, a system in which high functioning autistics can predict murders with a very narrow margin of error. John Anderton (Tom Cruise) is the lead investigator, whose job it is to stop these crimes before they happen. Things are going well for him, that is until his name comes out of the machine and he becomes a target of his own men. The story was deep, yet somewhat complicated, as I was confused at several points in the movie, but that's how you know it's good Science Fiction. The action and chase sequences were fantastic, as was the direction and special effects. The story does however leave some lose ends and I found the precogs to be more than somewhat creepy. It almost seemed like these disabled people were being abused for their unique abilities and not a single character in the film had any issues with that. Minority Report is a long, complex story, but it's fast paced, visually impactful, and will make you think. It only took thirty years, but you can finally add a Tom Cruise film to the list of movies I enjoyed. Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    "Minority Report", directed by Steven Spielberg, is an ingenious and powerful sci-fi. It's also dark, heart-pounding and intense. This is the kind of movie that I have always wanted to see: an unpredictable plot combined with ferocious action and stunning visuals. Honestly, the worst thing about this film is the title.
  12. Jun 22, 2014
    7
    Overall, I definitely enjoyed this one. Tom Cruise does very well in this role and I also really enjoyed Colin Farrell here. The look and feel of the film is also really well done and the second half of the film is fantastic. In addition, the special effects are well done and the story, though slow forming, is very well put together and engrossing. However, on the negative side, the firstOverall, I definitely enjoyed this one. Tom Cruise does very well in this role and I also really enjoyed Colin Farrell here. The look and feel of the film is also really well done and the second half of the film is fantastic. In addition, the special effects are well done and the story, though slow forming, is very well put together and engrossing. However, on the negative side, the first half is iffy for me. As we are introduced to this futuristic world with no murders, the explanations and presentation of everything is spotty at best, leaving the viewer a tad confused and, at times, bored. However, once you finally wrap your head around everything, the film really takes off. I never really thought the "action" sequences were phenomenal, but otherwise, everything really began to click and the film had a very exciting and tense conclusion. Expand
  13. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A great example of qualitative sci-fi. The storyline is logical, has no even plot holes and everything is well explained. The cast is awesome, so are the memorable and well-written characters with their own motivation. The visual design|style is outstanding too.
  14. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    yeah i thought it was pretty good, it did not blow me away though. Some of the action was really good and some was too cgi heavy that it lost me completely. The jet pack scene was awesome. The whole plot had some nice twists in it and near the end it really started to win me over. The first half however felt like a remake of an old swartzenegger movie kind of like the 6th day meets totalyeah i thought it was pretty good, it did not blow me away though. Some of the action was really good and some was too cgi heavy that it lost me completely. The jet pack scene was awesome. The whole plot had some nice twists in it and near the end it really started to win me over. The first half however felt like a remake of an old swartzenegger movie kind of like the 6th day meets total recall. In the end though it does have enough of its own personality to come off as fresh and a cut above most sci-fi. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Um dos melhores ficções científicas e suspense já feito.
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Based on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. TheBased on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. The film's story also delves into some very complex literary topics, such as: determinism vs. free-will, legality vs. politics, and Self-perception. One of my favorite aspects of the film is the way it's shot. In terms of lighting, Spielberg used a deep contrast between lights and darks which really helps to give the film a sort of a badass neo-noir feel. Spielberg also bleach-bypassed the negatives of the film in order to desaturate the colors of overlit scenes. Both of these technical aspects helped to achieve the very unique visual style that this movie has to offer - I style that I found relevant to the rest of the movie's tone. In terms of action, there's a pretty good shovelful of these really badass set pieces that Spielberg is known best for. Also, Spielberg reunites with John Williams to create yet another amazing soundtrack. My only problem with the movie was the ending. While it was pretty uplifting, I didn't really think it fit the tone of the rest of the movie. However, it doesn't take away from the film in any way - I still enjoyed the movie immensely and a happy ending never hurts. Anyway, in the end, I think that "Minority Report" was a near seamless film that was as interesting as it was aesthetic, and fun. Expand
  17. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    Spielberg? Sci-fi? Tom Cruise? How can you go wrong? "Minority Report" is a delightfully entertaining and thoroughly engrossing film. I don't know why it took me so long to get around to seeing it this is another Spielberg masterpiece.
  18. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    A well-made dystopian film about the role of police and public safety VS individual rights. The film has a unique look and the action sequences are tense with well paced plot points.
  19. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    A truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and theA truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and the futuristic world of the film is impressive. It has moments of true emotion and the acting is just about flawless as well. It's only flaws are that the last couple of minutes weren't that great, and some of the cop on the run action wasn't as engaging as it should have been. Not that no action was any good, it's just that some big moments fell kinda flat. These are just nitpicks however in a film destined to be remembered as a classic. It's one of those rare movies that actually uses an ambitious premise well throughout the entire film and not just the beginning. Expand
  20. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the best movies Steven Spielberg has made and one of the best movies ever made. It is so brilliant, the acting is wonderful, the visuals are stunning, everything in this movie works
  21. Oct 3, 2014
    5
    What a shame! Minority Report starts out with a cool premise, but it doesn't know how to explore its philosophy and ideas. The movie ends up turning into a kind of peculiar, non-sensical utopia with product placement and strange plot lines. Some of the movie is just so random it doesn't make an impact. Cruise, Farrell and von Sidow are fine as the leads, but they're trapped in a movie thatWhat a shame! Minority Report starts out with a cool premise, but it doesn't know how to explore its philosophy and ideas. The movie ends up turning into a kind of peculiar, non-sensical utopia with product placement and strange plot lines. Some of the movie is just so random it doesn't make an impact. Cruise, Farrell and von Sidow are fine as the leads, but they're trapped in a movie that Mr. Spielberg could've done much more with. Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Minority Report exceeds in the majority.
    A breathtakingly genius concept of a future without crime that becomes overwhelmingly corrupt. Tom Cruise achieves massive success.
  23. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is the most thrilling science-fiction movie I have ever watched that is directed by Steven Spielberg. With excellent plot, combined with absolutely professional and successful performances of the cast, Minority Report is an amazing film which reminds me of other impressive ones such as Rian Johnson's Looper or Christopher Nolan's Inception. I definitely recommend this one
  24. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    This has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to asThis has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to as many details as you can, keep the popcorn handy, and be prepared to enjoy this amazing take on crime, love, and predestination. The first ten minutes tell you what to expect; the last ten minutes prove you were wrong. Wow! Cruise has never been better and Spielberg does it again. See it. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Spielberg's sharpest, brawniest, most bustling entertainment since "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and the finest of the season's action epics.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Ferociously intense, furiously kinetic, it’s expressionist film noir science fiction that, like all good sci-fi, peers into the future to shed light on the present.
  3. This is the kind of pure entertainment that, in its fullness and generosity, feels almost classic.