User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 331 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 331
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickJ.G.
    Jul 4, 2002
    10
    An imaginative vision of a future dystopia. Blows away "Attack of the Clones" visually. Not only is "Minority Report" a delight to watch, but it contains characters I cared about, particulary Anderton (Cruise) and Pre-Cog Agatha (Samatha Morton). At a time when Hollywood thinks it must choose between action/special effects and ideas, "Minority Report" is a delight in an Adam Sandler An imaginative vision of a future dystopia. Blows away "Attack of the Clones" visually. Not only is "Minority Report" a delight to watch, but it contains characters I cared about, particulary Anderton (Cruise) and Pre-Cog Agatha (Samatha Morton). At a time when Hollywood thinks it must choose between action/special effects and ideas, "Minority Report" is a delight in an Adam Sandler inspired mental wasteland. Some may complain about its lenght, but who cares. I wanted it to go on for another two hours and twenty minutes. Plus, I'm tired of complaints about the positive ending. Wake up folks: The year is 2002. We survived the Millenium New Year and Y2K. Now we should allow ourselves to have positive visions of the future. Expand
  2. DoctorM.
    Jul 6, 2002
    9
    By far, one of the greatest no-nonsense science fiction movies to come along in quite a while. Minority Report gives the right mix of futuristic vision with modern day connections to prevent audience detachment. The story is both smartly written and properly paced to capture the attention of even the non-sci-fi patrons. Although Tom Cruise gives an above average performance, what truly By far, one of the greatest no-nonsense science fiction movies to come along in quite a while. Minority Report gives the right mix of futuristic vision with modern day connections to prevent audience detachment. The story is both smartly written and properly paced to capture the attention of even the non-sci-fi patrons. Although Tom Cruise gives an above average performance, what truly stands out in Minority Reoprt are the small roles by transient characters. You will not forget them and you will not forget this movie. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Again, it's one of those films that are perfect because the mix of action and storytelling just works. While being still another approach to time paradoxes, Spielberg's direction and the dark, original plot elevate Minority Report to something special.
  4. AmanL.
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  5. JinC.
    Jun 22, 2002
    9
    An astonishing movie! not least of all because of the density of its references. it summons up classic hollywood films, video editing (!), history, literature, religion, current scientific research and the forensics work that more and more of the masses have become so familiar with as a result of other movies and popular tv. most surprising of all is the saavy and unapologizing way that An astonishing movie! not least of all because of the density of its references. it summons up classic hollywood films, video editing (!), history, literature, religion, current scientific research and the forensics work that more and more of the masses have become so familiar with as a result of other movies and popular tv. most surprising of all is the saavy and unapologizing way that MR embraces the GENRE to which it belongs - CYBERPUNK. philip k ended up inspiring this truly multidisciplinary category and the film's writers and spielberg strive to fulfill its membership, not avoiding it, not shying away. (in fact, even though cyberpunk has enjoyed a rather tenuous presence in film - from the mind blowing but flawed blade runner to the uneven virtuousity to the abominable johnny mnemonic, it seems that it is really coming into its own these days by way of MR and the MATRIX films... the genre is not a cinematic pariah then, perhaps just a bit ahead of its time.) (TRON and BRAINSTORM actually occupy the territory of CP as well but they did so before anyone knew what the heck was going on) i believe there is even a tip of the hat to 'cyberspacer' william gibson by the use of his term 'the sprawl', incorporating 'surgery parlors' as plot devices, and the unavoidable reality of illicit drug use into the forseeable future. i gotta say, it surprises me that probably THE DEFINING cyberpunk film comes from STEVEN SPIELBERG (?!) and as a film, it is tremendously well woven. a tapestry of setups and payoffs, plot developments and visual motifs, that intermesh perfectly into an organic, orgasmic, gestaltic whole. and spielberg REALLY does surprise! in this movie, he evokes bergman and hitchcock but not as one who homages on his decline like seeing one's life flash before his eyes. everything screams vitality and freshness and if possible, GROWTH! and on more than one occasion, an unbridled shriek from a particular girl in the audience proves that SS can still shock the heck out of an ever jaded movie going crowd. i can go on but i'll stop. see the movie. it's well worth full price. in a summer of really good summer movies, this is a great one that may actually succeed as more than a popcorn flick! Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Jun 28, 2002
    9
    Samantha Morton makes you want to join Greenpeace and save the seals (it's those eyes). She is a special, special actress. Imagine what she could've done with Jodie Foster's role in "Nell". As for the movie, it's a masterpiece up to the point Cruise and the pre-cog exit the mall. The d.p. deserves a special award for his work here. I even like "Lost Souls" now.
  7. ChrisG.
    Aug 9, 2002
    9
    My favorite movie so far this year. Spielberg wows us with a fantastic future and compells us with an increadable story. Not to mention there are an array of fine performances.
  8. SamP.
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    I do not watch mindless action thrillers!!! And let me tell you, "Minority Report" is NOT one of them!!! Sure it has its fair share of action and special effects but it doesn't have a sickeningly sentimental ending like last years, "A.I."! Which is a very good thing!!! The only bad moment I had watching "Minority Report" was when I was in such suspense that I gripped the bottom of my I do not watch mindless action thrillers!!! And let me tell you, "Minority Report" is NOT one of them!!! Sure it has its fair share of action and special effects but it doesn't have a sickeningly sentimental ending like last years, "A.I."! Which is a very good thing!!! The only bad moment I had watching "Minority Report" was when I was in such suspense that I gripped the bottom of my seat and noticed I had used gum all over my hands!!! To summarize all my thoughts (of which I have many) in one simple sentence would go somewhat like this: "Minority Report" is a landmark of visual and intellectual storytelling that is 100% fun the entire time. Expand
  9. AndreasR.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This is without doubt the best film of 2002. Steven Spielberg has made the 3rd masterpiece in a row (SPR, AI, MR). FANTASTIC. [****SPOILER: Consider that the last part of the film could be a dream! END SPOILER****.]
  10. AdamE.
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    This is a very clever and impressive sci-fi film that manages to keep the Philip K. Dick atmosphere. Mind blowing sp.effects,a fascinating story and a truly excellent performance from Cruise makes this movie one of the best since Blade Runner. I went to see it twice and I loved it!
  11. CyrusC.
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    My God, what are great movie.
  12. JimS.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    This is what you get when you pair a star and director who are both in peak form. Amazing.
  13. AndrewE.
    Jun 22, 2002
    10
    Quite possibly the best movie I've ever seen.
  14. WendyL.
    Jun 22, 2002
    10
    One of the best I've ever seen. Excellent plot, special effects, everything was top notch! It's been a long time since I've been so entertained with a sci-fi thriller.
  15. Michael
    Jun 23, 2002
    10
    This was a great movie with a couple of excellent twists. DEFINITELY worth seeing (I plan to see it again).
  16. BrianK.
    Jun 24, 2002
    10
    For those of you who hated this movie get your head examined! I love Spielberg's newest darkest side, The movie was very intense, provocatively directed and fast paced, the premise was excellent, Tom Cruise was great. If you thought his acting was bad, you really need to understand what good acting is because you have no clue. This movie works on all levels its funny, scary, and For those of you who hated this movie get your head examined! I love Spielberg's newest darkest side, The movie was very intense, provocatively directed and fast paced, the premise was excellent, Tom Cruise was great. If you thought his acting was bad, you really need to understand what good acting is because you have no clue. This movie works on all levels its funny, scary, and exciting. The best movie of the summer hands down! Expand
  17. JonahB.
    Jul 3, 2002
    10
    This movie is a modern masterpiece. Spielberg delivers a movie which has action, humor, and original plot and (rarest these days) a thought provoking subject. This movie goes all-out, and comes back with an amazing result.
  18. IanR.
    Jul 4, 2002
    9
    If you thought Blade Runner was an excellent movie then you need your head examined. This is less pretentious, more exciting, better acted and amounts, crucially, to more than the sum of its parts. Spielberg has taken the same dystopian view of the future that he created to such disappointing results in AI and, without the burden of Kubrick round his neck, has infused it with a coherent If you thought Blade Runner was an excellent movie then you need your head examined. This is less pretentious, more exciting, better acted and amounts, crucially, to more than the sum of its parts. Spielberg has taken the same dystopian view of the future that he created to such disappointing results in AI and, without the burden of Kubrick round his neck, has infused it with a coherent soul. What was a mish-mash then is fluid now and what was sentimental then is tempered in this film to be almost bearable. It has action, it has humour, it has character and it has a degree of intelligence that is inconceivable by today's Hollywood standards. I can see nothing more to ask for, except perhaps a less obvious conclusion, but that is made forgivable and then some by what has gone before. Go see it then bore your kids about it in 15 years. Expand
  19. M.Siegler
    Jul 7, 2002
    10
    A great hollywood film. Spielberg makes good use of his ability to get and make anything he wants.
  20. MauricioF.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    The most realistic future I've ever seen in a film... Great futuristc investigation! Incredible direction... Excellent story...
  21. MattK.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    Awesome Movie you have to see it right now!!!! One of the best movies EVER. If i could, i'd give it a 12! It has awesome action, an amazing plot, and has you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. You have to see this!!!
  22. BenW.
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    This is a brilliant movie, and not what the T.V. advertisments made it out to be at all. It sets an example and makes a mockery out of many other sci-fi thrillers. One of the best of 2002, and for sure, Spielberg's best, for making every minute of this film thrilling and enthralling, especially in the visual department.
  23. SpecTacular
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    Spectacular.
  24. JamesM
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    An unlikely classic in amongst endless Spielberg garbage.
  25. JavierU.
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    This is my favourite Spielberg movie, but I know it's not the best of the ones he has done. Anyway the acting is nice, the story is interesting and the visuals are stunning.
  26. R.L
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Minority Report is an exceptional piece of work, another great movie form Steven Spielberg and Tom Cruise that shows you a whole new side to the Sci-Fi world. Minority report tells the story of John Anderson, the head of a experimental division that catches criminals before they commit the crime.All things are going well until someone sets Anderson up for murder. Now He's got one Minority Report is an exceptional piece of work, another great movie form Steven Spielberg and Tom Cruise that shows you a whole new side to the Sci-Fi world. Minority report tells the story of John Anderson, the head of a experimental division that catches criminals before they commit the crime.All things are going well until someone sets Anderson up for murder. Now He's got one chance to clear his name try to find who set him up and why. Minority Report is an amazing film steeped in outstanding special effects and an amazing story based on the short story by the legendary king of Sci-Fi Phillip K. Dick, Tom Cruise is in top form and delivers one of his best and most potent action performances, solidifying why he is one of the best in the business. This film is an amazing example that shows what would happen if we had the power to prevent crimes before they would ever committed. IT shows that a power like that should never be used, but it could also be a benefit to our society. Minority Report is an exceptional Sci-Fi ride that you just don't want to miss. it's a movie that will keep you coming back to it for more. Expand
  27. RyanM.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    This is flat out one of the greatest cinematic experiences that anyone to walk the earth will ever endure.
  28. BobD.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    There was not a flaw in this movie. I do not understand why some critics could possibly dislike this. I never thought Tom Cruise could act until this movie. It should of got a 105 on the metascore. In short, it kicked ass.
  29. ArnoldP.
    Jun 23, 2002
    9
    I am compelled to give this terrific piece of entertainment it's due, despite flaws ( so who's perfect?) A deliciously gripping mix of noir and futuristic hokum elaborately adapted from a very short story that was visually expanded to explode on the screen, and it does!. Cruise soars as the lead is redeemed from clinkers like Vanilla Sky and Eyes Wide Shut. He is ably assisted I am compelled to give this terrific piece of entertainment it's due, despite flaws ( so who's perfect?) A deliciously gripping mix of noir and futuristic hokum elaborately adapted from a very short story that was visually expanded to explode on the screen, and it does!. Cruise soars as the lead is redeemed from clinkers like Vanilla Sky and Eyes Wide Shut. He is ably assisted by some dazzling co-stars playing; a tormentd "pre-cog" and a demented opthomologist. "So what!" , even if the great director is compelled to mix in his mommies feel good chicken soup in an embarrassingly mawkish ending it was a very worthwhile trip. Expand
  30. PaulF.
    Jun 23, 2002
    9
    Fantastic mesh of intrigue, speculation, visuals, characters, and philosophical musings on the nature of free will and crime. Slam-bang action but with a beating (if bleeding) heart. Exceptional entry in the Spielberg oeuvre.
  31. JoshuaW.
    Jun 24, 2002
    10
    In a summer where movies like "Scooby Doo" and "Star Wars:Attack of the Clones" are dominating ticket says a movie such as "Minority Report" feels like a God-send. Spielberg has blended all of the films many layers into a single seminal work that flows smoothly and effortlessly while at the same time challenging viewers to do something they may have forgotten movies can make them do, In a summer where movies like "Scooby Doo" and "Star Wars:Attack of the Clones" are dominating ticket says a movie such as "Minority Report" feels like a God-send. Spielberg has blended all of the films many layers into a single seminal work that flows smoothly and effortlessly while at the same time challenging viewers to do something they may have forgotten movies can make them do, think. "Minority Report" is part Drama, Sci Fi, Action and Mystery all blended together in the film style of "noir". The use of special effects as a means to an end, to tell the story and not to overshadow it is a lesson Lucas hopefully will take into account before he makes the next installment of his once great, now a mere joke, Star Wars saga. Cruise delivers a beautiful performance as do the rest of the cast. The most memorable part of the movie is the psychologically charged shot of Cruise's character, John Anderton and Samantha Morton's, Agatha with their heads together, facing opposite directions in a tight composition. The shot is spectactular (as is the rest of the movies camera and set work) and comes at the perfetc moment intensifying an already fervent plot build up and showing us, once again, how masterful a director Spielberg is. The story is an exciting tale that entertains on the most primal of levels while dealing with some of the intense philosophical problems we face as a race responsible for creating so many wonderful things, yet can miss-appropriating our advancements to hurt each in an attempt to create a utopian society. Hitchcock would be very proud of American cinema were he to see this film and hopefully Spielbergs cautionary tale will have an impact on future generations. Expand
  32. CamB.
    Jan 18, 2003
    9
    This film is cool.
  33. VickyS.
    Feb 27, 2003
    9
    Enjoyed this movie. Keeps you on your toes. Very good Plot. Kept you in the thick of things. Well-devloped characters. Wouldn't mind watching it more than a couple times.
  34. Matt
    Apr 25, 2003
    9
    I like this movie. Put simply, the ending sucks. It should have ended in 2 hours, instead of 2.5.
  35. JerryT.
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    One Word....Godly.
  36. Ken
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Two Words...Super Godly.
  37. Atch
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Greatest sc fi movie since Blade Runner: Spielberg-Cruise-K Dick trio, what more can you ask?
  38. Jake
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    Man, this one fooled me big time. It started out like a pure adventure film, like a Raiders or something, and then turned into a conspiracy thriller/poilitical commentary. Once Cruise gets Halo'ed, the film loses a lost of momentum. The ending was well done, it's just that all of the suspense was lost once he wasn't on the run anymore. Despite that, this is probably the Man, this one fooled me big time. It started out like a pure adventure film, like a Raiders or something, and then turned into a conspiracy thriller/poilitical commentary. Once Cruise gets Halo'ed, the film loses a lost of momentum. The ending was well done, it's just that all of the suspense was lost once he wasn't on the run anymore. Despite that, this is probably the single film with the most individually memorable scenes. Expand
  39. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    A perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look ofA perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look of each of the characters. Besides, it still had the action, just with the intellectual superiority, hard-hitting, thought-provoking and the haunting strangeness in both the visuals and the story that many other films don't have. The plot twists were careful enough not to tie you in knots, but remembered the audience knew that it was a science-fiction thriller, and ended up creating something intelligent and mind-blowing at the same time. Strangely, this is both Cruise's and Spielberg's best film that I have seen so far. Expand
  40. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed every second of this movie it was great, spectacular, wonderful and most of all exciting a thriller you should definitely see you could watch this movie a 100 times and you would still enjoy it
  41. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    "Minority Report", directed by Steven Spielberg, is an ingenious and powerful sci-fi. It's also dark, heart-pounding and intense. This is the kind of movie that I have always wanted to see: an unpredictable plot combined with ferocious action and stunning visuals. Honestly, the worst thing about this film is the title.
  42. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A great example of qualitative sci-fi. The storyline is logical, has no even plot holes and everything is well explained. The cast is awesome, so are the memorable and well-written characters with their own motivation. The visual design|style is outstanding too.
  43. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Based on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. TheBased on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. The film's story also delves into some very complex literary topics, such as: determinism vs. free-will, legality vs. politics, and Self-perception. One of my favorite aspects of the film is the way it's shot. In terms of lighting, Spielberg used a deep contrast between lights and darks which really helps to give the film a sort of a badass neo-noir feel. Spielberg also bleach-bypassed the negatives of the film in order to desaturate the colors of overlit scenes. Both of these technical aspects helped to achieve the very unique visual style that this movie has to offer - I style that I found relevant to the rest of the movie's tone. In terms of action, there's a pretty good shovelful of these really badass set pieces that Spielberg is known best for. Also, Spielberg reunites with John Williams to create yet another amazing soundtrack. My only problem with the movie was the ending. While it was pretty uplifting, I didn't really think it fit the tone of the rest of the movie. However, it doesn't take away from the film in any way - I still enjoyed the movie immensely and a happy ending never hurts. Anyway, in the end, I think that "Minority Report" was a near seamless film that was as interesting as it was aesthetic, and fun. Expand
  44. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    A truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and theA truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and the futuristic world of the film is impressive. It has moments of true emotion and the acting is just about flawless as well. It's only flaws are that the last couple of minutes weren't that great, and some of the cop on the run action wasn't as engaging as it should have been. Not that no action was any good, it's just that some big moments fell kinda flat. These are just nitpicks however in a film destined to be remembered as a classic. It's one of those rare movies that actually uses an ambitious premise well throughout the entire film and not just the beginning. Expand
  45. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the best movies Steven Spielberg has made and one of the best movies ever made. It is so brilliant, the acting is wonderful, the visuals are stunning, everything in this movie works
  46. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is the most thrilling science-fiction movie I have ever watched that is directed by Steven Spielberg. With excellent plot, combined with absolutely professional and successful performances of the cast, Minority Report is an amazing film which reminds me of other impressive ones such as Rian Johnson's Looper or Christopher Nolan's Inception. I definitely recommend this one
  47. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    This has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to asThis has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to as many details as you can, keep the popcorn handy, and be prepared to enjoy this amazing take on crime, love, and predestination. The first ten minutes tell you what to expect; the last ten minutes prove you were wrong. Wow! Cruise has never been better and Spielberg does it again. See it. Expand
  48. Jan 16, 2015
    9
    Full on high octane action and kinetic sci-fi thrills, Steven Speilberg's "Minority Report" is one of the smartest and realistic science fiction movies of the 2000's.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Spielberg's sharpest, brawniest, most bustling entertainment since "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and the finest of the season's action epics.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Ferociously intense, furiously kinetic, it’s expressionist film noir science fiction that, like all good sci-fi, peers into the future to shed light on the present.
  3. This is the kind of pure entertainment that, in its fullness and generosity, feels almost classic.