User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 284

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Again, it's one of those films that are perfect because the mix of action and storytelling just works. While being still another approach to time paradoxes, Spielberg's direction and the dark, original plot elevate Minority Report to something special.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    A perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look of each of the characters. Besides, it still had the action, just with the intellectual superiority, hard-hitting, thought-provoking and the haunting strangeness in both the visuals and the story that many other films don't have. The plot twists were careful enough not to tie you in knots, but remembered the audience knew that it was a science-fiction thriller, and ended up creating something intelligent and mind-blowing at the same time. Strangely, this is both Cruise's and Spielberg's best film that I have seen so far. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed every second of this movie it was great, spectacular, wonderful and most of all exciting a thriller you should definitely see you could watch this movie a 100 times and you would still enjoy it
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    "Minority Report", directed by Steven Spielberg, is an ingenious and powerful sci-fi. It's also dark, heart-pounding and intense. This is the kind of movie that I have always wanted to see: an unpredictable plot combined with ferocious action and stunning visuals. Honestly, the worst thing about this film is the title.
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A great example of qualitative sci-fi. The storyline is logical, has no even plot holes and everything is well explained. The cast is awesome, so are the memorable and well-written characters with their own motivation. The visual design|style is outstanding too.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Based on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. The film's story also delves into some very complex literary topics, such as: determinism vs. free-will, legality vs. politics, and Self-perception. One of my favorite aspects of the film is the way it's shot. In terms of lighting, Spielberg used a deep contrast between lights and darks which really helps to give the film a sort of a badass neo-noir feel. Spielberg also bleach-bypassed the negatives of the film in order to desaturate the colors of overlit scenes. Both of these technical aspects helped to achieve the very unique visual style that this movie has to offer - I style that I found relevant to the rest of the movie's tone. In terms of action, there's a pretty good shovelful of these really badass set pieces that Spielberg is known best for. Also, Spielberg reunites with John Williams to create yet another amazing soundtrack. My only problem with the movie was the ending. While it was pretty uplifting, I didn't really think it fit the tone of the rest of the movie. However, it doesn't take away from the film in any way - I still enjoyed the movie immensely and a happy ending never hurts. Anyway, in the end, I think that "Minority Report" was a near seamless film that was as interesting as it was aesthetic, and fun. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    A truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and the futuristic world of the film is impressive. It has moments of true emotion and the acting is just about flawless as well. It's only flaws are that the last couple of minutes weren't that great, and some of the cop on the run action wasn't as engaging as it should have been. Not that no action was any good, it's just that some big moments fell kinda flat. These are just nitpicks however in a film destined to be remembered as a classic. It's one of those rare movies that actually uses an ambitious premise well throughout the entire film and not just the beginning. Expand
  8. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the best movies Steven Spielberg has made and one of the best movies ever made. It is so brilliant, the acting is wonderful, the visuals are stunning, everything in this movie works
  9. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is the most thrilling science-fiction movie I have ever watched that is directed by Steven Spielberg. With excellent plot, combined with absolutely professional and successful performances of the cast, Minority Report is an amazing film which reminds me of other impressive ones such as Rian Johnson's Looper or Christopher Nolan's Inception. I definitely recommend this one
  10. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    This has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to as many details as you can, keep the popcorn handy, and be prepared to enjoy this amazing take on crime, love, and predestination. The first ten minutes tell you what to expect; the last ten minutes prove you were wrong. Wow! Cruise has never been better and Spielberg does it again. See it. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Spielberg's sharpest, brawniest, most bustling entertainment since "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and the finest of the season's action epics.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Ferociously intense, furiously kinetic, it’s expressionist film noir science fiction that, like all good sci-fi, peers into the future to shed light on the present.
  3. This is the kind of pure entertainment that, in its fullness and generosity, feels almost classic.