Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 21, 2002
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 422 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
316
Mixed:
45
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AmanL.Jun 30, 2002
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickJ.G.Jul 4, 2002
An imaginative vision of a future dystopia. Blows away "Attack of the Clones" visually. Not only is "Minority Report" a delight to watch, but it contains characters I cared about, particulary Anderton (Cruise) and Pre-Cog Agatha (Samatha An imaginative vision of a future dystopia. Blows away "Attack of the Clones" visually. Not only is "Minority Report" a delight to watch, but it contains characters I cared about, particulary Anderton (Cruise) and Pre-Cog Agatha (Samatha Morton). At a time when Hollywood thinks it must choose between action/special effects and ideas, "Minority Report" is a delight in an Adam Sandler inspired mental wasteland. Some may complain about its lenght, but who cares. I wanted it to go on for another two hours and twenty minutes. Plus, I'm tired of complaints about the positive ending. Wake up folks: The year is 2002. We survived the Millenium New Year and Y2K. Now we should allow ourselves to have positive visions of the future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Aug 4, 2002
I do not watch mindless action thrillers!!! And let me tell you, "Minority Report" is NOT one of them!!! Sure it has its fair share of action and special effects but it doesn't have a sickeningly sentimental ending like last years, I do not watch mindless action thrillers!!! And let me tell you, "Minority Report" is NOT one of them!!! Sure it has its fair share of action and special effects but it doesn't have a sickeningly sentimental ending like last years, "A.I."! Which is a very good thing!!! The only bad moment I had watching "Minority Report" was when I was in such suspense that I gripped the bottom of my seat and noticed I had used gum all over my hands!!! To summarize all my thoughts (of which I have many) in one simple sentence would go somewhat like this: "Minority Report" is a landmark of visual and intellectual storytelling that is 100% fun the entire time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasR.Feb 10, 2003
This is without doubt the best film of 2002. Steven Spielberg has made the 3rd masterpiece in a row (SPR, AI, MR). FANTASTIC. [****SPOILER: Consider that the last part of the film could be a dream! END SPOILER****.]
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CyrusC.Dec 29, 2002
My God, what are great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimS.Jun 21, 2002
This is what you get when you pair a star and director who are both in peak form. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewE.Jun 22, 2002
Quite possibly the best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WendyL.Jun 22, 2002
One of the best I've ever seen. Excellent plot, special effects, everything was top notch! It's been a long time since I've been so entertained with a sci-fi thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJun 23, 2002
This was a great movie with a couple of excellent twists. DEFINITELY worth seeing (I plan to see it again).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianK.Jun 24, 2002
For those of you who hated this movie get your head examined! I love Spielberg's newest darkest side, The movie was very intense, provocatively directed and fast paced, the premise was excellent, Tom Cruise was great. If you thought his For those of you who hated this movie get your head examined! I love Spielberg's newest darkest side, The movie was very intense, provocatively directed and fast paced, the premise was excellent, Tom Cruise was great. If you thought his acting was bad, you really need to understand what good acting is because you have no clue. This movie works on all levels its funny, scary, and exciting. The best movie of the summer hands down! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonahB.Jul 3, 2002
This movie is a modern masterpiece. Spielberg delivers a movie which has action, humor, and original plot and (rarest these days) a thought provoking subject. This movie goes all-out, and comes back with an amazing result.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.SieglerJul 7, 2002
A great hollywood film. Spielberg makes good use of his ability to get and make anything he wants.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MauricioF.Aug 17, 2002
The most realistic future I've ever seen in a film... Great futuristc investigation! Incredible direction... Excellent story...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattK.Aug 3, 2002
Awesome Movie you have to see it right now!!!! One of the best movies EVER. If i could, i'd give it a 12! It has awesome action, an amazing plot, and has you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. You have to see this!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.Sep 13, 2003
This is a brilliant movie, and not what the T.V. advertisments made it out to be at all. It sets an example and makes a mockery out of many other sci-fi thrillers. One of the best of 2002, and for sure, Spielberg's best, for making This is a brilliant movie, and not what the T.V. advertisments made it out to be at all. It sets an example and makes a mockery out of many other sci-fi thrillers. One of the best of 2002, and for sure, Spielberg's best, for making every minute of this film thrilling and enthralling, especially in the visual department. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpecTacularJan 15, 2004
Spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMDec 20, 2005
An unlikely classic in amongst endless Spielberg garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LMar 12, 2009
Minority Report is an exceptional piece of work, another great movie form Steven Spielberg and Tom Cruise that shows you a whole new side to the Sci-Fi world. Minority report tells the story of John Anderson, the head of a experimental Minority Report is an exceptional piece of work, another great movie form Steven Spielberg and Tom Cruise that shows you a whole new side to the Sci-Fi world. Minority report tells the story of John Anderson, the head of a experimental division that catches criminals before they commit the crime.All things are going well until someone sets Anderson up for murder. Now He's got one chance to clear his name try to find who set him up and why. Minority Report is an amazing film steeped in outstanding special effects and an amazing story based on the short story by the legendary king of Sci-Fi Phillip K. Dick, Tom Cruise is in top form and delivers one of his best and most potent action performances, solidifying why he is one of the best in the business. This film is an amazing example that shows what would happen if we had the power to prevent crimes before they would ever committed. IT shows that a power like that should never be used, but it could also be a benefit to our society. Minority Report is an exceptional Sci-Fi ride that you just don't want to miss. it's a movie that will keep you coming back to it for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Jun 21, 2002
This is flat out one of the greatest cinematic experiences that anyone to walk the earth will ever endure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobD.Jun 21, 2002
There was not a flaw in this movie. I do not understand why some critics could possibly dislike this. I never thought Tom Cruise could act until this movie. It should of got a 105 on the metascore. In short, it kicked ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaW.Jun 24, 2002
In a summer where movies like "Scooby Doo" and "Star Wars:Attack of the Clones" are dominating ticket says a movie such as "Minority Report" feels like a God-send. Spielberg has blended all of the films many layers into a single seminal work In a summer where movies like "Scooby Doo" and "Star Wars:Attack of the Clones" are dominating ticket says a movie such as "Minority Report" feels like a God-send. Spielberg has blended all of the films many layers into a single seminal work that flows smoothly and effortlessly while at the same time challenging viewers to do something they may have forgotten movies can make them do, think. "Minority Report" is part Drama, Sci Fi, Action and Mystery all blended together in the film style of "noir". The use of special effects as a means to an end, to tell the story and not to overshadow it is a lesson Lucas hopefully will take into account before he makes the next installment of his once great, now a mere joke, Star Wars saga. Cruise delivers a beautiful performance as do the rest of the cast. The most memorable part of the movie is the psychologically charged shot of Cruise's character, John Anderton and Samantha Morton's, Agatha with their heads together, facing opposite directions in a tight composition. The shot is spectactular (as is the rest of the movies camera and set work) and comes at the perfetc moment intensifying an already fervent plot build up and showing us, once again, how masterful a director Spielberg is. The story is an exciting tale that entertains on the most primal of levels while dealing with some of the intense philosophical problems we face as a race responsible for creating so many wonderful things, yet can miss-appropriating our advancements to hurt each in an attempt to create a utopian society. Hitchcock would be very proud of American cinema were he to see this film and hopefully Spielbergs cautionary tale will have an impact on future generations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryT.Nov 11, 2002
One Word....Godly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenNov 11, 2002
Two Words...Super Godly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AtchNov 21, 2005
Greatest sc fi movie since Blade Runner: Spielberg-Cruise-K Dick trio, what more can you ask?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickkkMar 14, 2012
Again, it's one of those films that are perfect because the mix of action and storytelling just works. While being still another approach to time paradoxes, Spielberg's direction and the dark, original plot elevate Minority Report toAgain, it's one of those films that are perfect because the mix of action and storytelling just works. While being still another approach to time paradoxes, Spielberg's direction and the dark, original plot elevate Minority Report to something special. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
smumites45Dec 10, 2011
Enjoyed every second of this movie it was great, spectacular, wonderful and most of all exciting a thriller you should definitely see you could watch this movie a 100 times and you would still enjoy it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialNov 4, 2013
"Minority Report", directed by Steven Spielberg, is an ingenious and powerful sci-fi. It's also dark, heart-pounding and intense. This is the kind of movie that I have always wanted to see: an unpredictable plot combined with ferocious action"Minority Report", directed by Steven Spielberg, is an ingenious and powerful sci-fi. It's also dark, heart-pounding and intense. This is the kind of movie that I have always wanted to see: an unpredictable plot combined with ferocious action and stunning visuals. Honestly, the worst thing about this film is the title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheFineBroMay 17, 2013
This is probably one of the best movies Steven Spielberg has made and one of the best movies ever made. It is so brilliant, the acting is wonderful, the visuals are stunning, everything in this movie works
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJan 2, 2014
This is the most thrilling science-fiction movie I have ever watched that is directed by Steven Spielberg. With excellent plot, combined with absolutely professional and successful performances of the cast, Minority Report is an amazing filmThis is the most thrilling science-fiction movie I have ever watched that is directed by Steven Spielberg. With excellent plot, combined with absolutely professional and successful performances of the cast, Minority Report is an amazing film which reminds me of other impressive ones such as Rian Johnson's Looper or Christopher Nolan's Inception. I definitely recommend this one Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JinC.Jun 22, 2002
An astonishing movie! not least of all because of the density of its references. it summons up classic hollywood films, video editing (!), history, literature, religion, current scientific research and the forensics work that more and more An astonishing movie! not least of all because of the density of its references. it summons up classic hollywood films, video editing (!), history, literature, religion, current scientific research and the forensics work that more and more of the masses have become so familiar with as a result of other movies and popular tv. most surprising of all is the saavy and unapologizing way that MR embraces the GENRE to which it belongs - CYBERPUNK. philip k ended up inspiring this truly multidisciplinary category and the film's writers and spielberg strive to fulfill its membership, not avoiding it, not shying away. (in fact, even though cyberpunk has enjoyed a rather tenuous presence in film - from the mind blowing but flawed blade runner to the uneven virtuousity to the abominable johnny mnemonic, it seems that it is really coming into its own these days by way of MR and the MATRIX films... the genre is not a cinematic pariah then, perhaps just a bit ahead of its time.) (TRON and BRAINSTORM actually occupy the territory of CP as well but they did so before anyone knew what the heck was going on) i believe there is even a tip of the hat to 'cyberspacer' william gibson by the use of his term 'the sprawl', incorporating 'surgery parlors' as plot devices, and the unavoidable reality of illicit drug use into the forseeable future. i gotta say, it surprises me that probably THE DEFINING cyberpunk film comes from STEVEN SPIELBERG (?!) and as a film, it is tremendously well woven. a tapestry of setups and payoffs, plot developments and visual motifs, that intermesh perfectly into an organic, orgasmic, gestaltic whole. and spielberg REALLY does surprise! in this movie, he evokes bergman and hitchcock but not as one who homages on his decline like seeing one's life flash before his eyes. everything screams vitality and freshness and if possible, GROWTH! and on more than one occasion, an unbridled shriek from a particular girl in the audience proves that SS can still shock the heck out of an ever jaded movie going crowd. i can go on but i'll stop. see the movie. it's well worth full price. in a summer of really good summer movies, this is a great one that may actually succeed as more than a popcorn flick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jun 28, 2002
Samantha Morton makes you want to join Greenpeace and save the seals (it's those eyes). She is a special, special actress. Imagine what she could've done with Jodie Foster's role in "Nell". As for the movie, it's a Samantha Morton makes you want to join Greenpeace and save the seals (it's those eyes). She is a special, special actress. Imagine what she could've done with Jodie Foster's role in "Nell". As for the movie, it's a masterpiece up to the point Cruise and the pre-cog exit the mall. The d.p. deserves a special award for his work here. I even like "Lost Souls" now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DoctorM.Jul 6, 2002
By far, one of the greatest no-nonsense science fiction movies to come along in quite a while. Minority Report gives the right mix of futuristic vision with modern day connections to prevent audience detachment. The story is both smartly By far, one of the greatest no-nonsense science fiction movies to come along in quite a while. Minority Report gives the right mix of futuristic vision with modern day connections to prevent audience detachment. The story is both smartly written and properly paced to capture the attention of even the non-sci-fi patrons. Although Tom Cruise gives an above average performance, what truly stands out in Minority Reoprt are the small roles by transient characters. You will not forget them and you will not forget this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisG.Aug 9, 2002
My favorite movie so far this year. Spielberg wows us with a fantastic future and compells us with an increadable story. Not to mention there are an array of fine performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamE.Nov 16, 2002
This is a very clever and impressive sci-fi film that manages to keep the Philip K. Dick atmosphere. Mind blowing sp.effects,a fascinating story and a truly excellent performance from Cruise makes this movie one of the best since Blade This is a very clever and impressive sci-fi film that manages to keep the Philip K. Dick atmosphere. Mind blowing sp.effects,a fascinating story and a truly excellent performance from Cruise makes this movie one of the best since Blade Runner. I went to see it twice and I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanR.Jul 4, 2002
If you thought Blade Runner was an excellent movie then you need your head examined. This is less pretentious, more exciting, better acted and amounts, crucially, to more than the sum of its parts. Spielberg has taken the same dystopian view If you thought Blade Runner was an excellent movie then you need your head examined. This is less pretentious, more exciting, better acted and amounts, crucially, to more than the sum of its parts. Spielberg has taken the same dystopian view of the future that he created to such disappointing results in AI and, without the burden of Kubrick round his neck, has infused it with a coherent soul. What was a mish-mash then is fluid now and what was sentimental then is tempered in this film to be almost bearable. It has action, it has humour, it has character and it has a degree of intelligence that is inconceivable by today's Hollywood standards. I can see nothing more to ask for, except perhaps a less obvious conclusion, but that is made forgivable and then some by what has gone before. Go see it then bore your kids about it in 15 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JavierU.Aug 28, 2005
This is my favourite Spielberg movie, but I know it's not the best of the ones he has done. Anyway the acting is nice, the story is interesting and the visuals are stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnoldP.Jun 23, 2002
I am compelled to give this terrific piece of entertainment it's due, despite flaws ( so who's perfect?) A deliciously gripping mix of noir and futuristic hokum elaborately adapted from a very short story that was visually expanded I am compelled to give this terrific piece of entertainment it's due, despite flaws ( so who's perfect?) A deliciously gripping mix of noir and futuristic hokum elaborately adapted from a very short story that was visually expanded to explode on the screen, and it does!. Cruise soars as the lead is redeemed from clinkers like Vanilla Sky and Eyes Wide Shut. He is ably assisted by some dazzling co-stars playing; a tormentd "pre-cog" and a demented opthomologist. "So what!" , even if the great director is compelled to mix in his mommies feel good chicken soup in an embarrassingly mawkish ending it was a very worthwhile trip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Jun 23, 2002
Fantastic mesh of intrigue, speculation, visuals, characters, and philosophical musings on the nature of free will and crime. Slam-bang action but with a beating (if bleeding) heart. Exceptional entry in the Spielberg oeuvre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamB.Jan 18, 2003
This film is cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VickyS.Feb 27, 2003
Enjoyed this movie. Keeps you on your toes. Very good Plot. Kept you in the thick of things. Well-devloped characters. Wouldn't mind watching it more than a couple times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattApr 25, 2003
I like this movie. Put simply, the ending sucks. It should have ended in 2 hours, instead of 2.5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeDec 14, 2005
Man, this one fooled me big time. It started out like a pure adventure film, like a Raiders or something, and then turned into a conspiracy thriller/poilitical commentary. Once Cruise gets Halo'ed, the film loses a lost of momentum. The Man, this one fooled me big time. It started out like a pure adventure film, like a Raiders or something, and then turned into a conspiracy thriller/poilitical commentary. Once Cruise gets Halo'ed, the film loses a lost of momentum. The ending was well done, it's just that all of the suspense was lost once he wasn't on the run anymore. Despite that, this is probably the single film with the most individually memorable scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EssenceOfSugarJan 24, 2013
A perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go inA perhaps surreal futuristic science-fiction thriller, Cruise perfects it by staying in control of his all-guns-blazing urges but brandishes a tricky yet fascinating personality. The ending comes extremely close to letting it all go in Spielberg style, but it felt like a matter of the poignancy involved when dealing with sensitive areas, alongside the corruption and multi-faceted look of each of the characters. Besides, it still had the action, just with the intellectual superiority, hard-hitting, thought-provoking and the haunting strangeness in both the visuals and the story that many other films don't have. The plot twists were careful enough not to tie you in knots, but remembered the audience knew that it was a science-fiction thriller, and ended up creating something intelligent and mind-blowing at the same time. Strangely, this is both Cruise's and Spielberg's best film that I have seen so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sLmFeb 9, 2013
It was very good
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineSep 6, 2013
A great example of qualitative sci-fi. The storyline is logical, has no even plot holes and everything is well explained. The cast is awesome, so are the memorable and well-written characters with their own motivation. The visual design|styleA great example of qualitative sci-fi. The storyline is logical, has no even plot holes and everything is well explained. The cast is awesome, so are the memorable and well-written characters with their own motivation. The visual design|style is outstanding too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Based on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overallBased on the short story by the legendary Philip K. Dick, Steven Spielberg's "Minority Report" was an incredibly interesting experience. I'd have to say that this film is easily one of the best science fiction films of the 2000s. The overall premise of the movie is really novel as well as provocative, and all the performances help to ...tell this complex narrative with great intensity. The film's story also delves into some very complex literary topics, such as: determinism vs. free-will, legality vs. politics, and Self-perception. One of my favorite aspects of the film is the way it's shot. In terms of lighting, Spielberg used a deep contrast between lights and darks which really helps to give the film a sort of a badass neo-noir feel. Spielberg also bleach-bypassed the negatives of the film in order to desaturate the colors of overlit scenes. Both of these technical aspects helped to achieve the very unique visual style that this movie has to offer - I style that I found relevant to the rest of the movie's tone. In terms of action, there's a pretty good shovelful of these really badass set pieces that Spielberg is known best for. Also, Spielberg reunites with John Williams to create yet another amazing soundtrack. My only problem with the movie was the ending. While it was pretty uplifting, I didn't really think it fit the tone of the rest of the movie. However, it doesn't take away from the film in any way - I still enjoyed the movie immensely and a happy ending never hurts. Anyway, in the end, I think that "Minority Report" was a near seamless film that was as interesting as it was aesthetic, and fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithJun 11, 2013
A truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking andA truly great movie hindered by a couple of minor flaws. First and foremost this is one of Spielberg's best movies, and I can't believe it only received one Oscar nomination. Better than none, but still. The movie is thought provoking and should be watched more than once in order to soak everything in better. The unique bleached look to the film is just about perfect, and the futuristic world of the film is impressive. It has moments of true emotion and the acting is just about flawless as well. It's only flaws are that the last couple of minutes weren't that great, and some of the cop on the run action wasn't as engaging as it should have been. Not that no action was any good, it's just that some big moments fell kinda flat. These are just nitpicks however in a film destined to be remembered as a classic. It's one of those rare movies that actually uses an ambitious premise well throughout the entire film and not just the beginning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jack1eyedFeb 27, 2014
This has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action andThis has always been one of my favorite films. Coming right on the heels of A.I., it continues the blend of science fiction and a beautiful yet sad future, and it does it with a Blade Runner twist or two that loads it with action and testosterone. It's a good fit 10 years after it was made in today's sci-fi storylines and it gives you a lot to see and think about. Pay attention to as many details as you can, keep the popcorn handy, and be prepared to enjoy this amazing take on crime, love, and predestination. The first ten minutes tell you what to expect; the last ten minutes prove you were wrong. Wow! Cruise has never been better and Spielberg does it again. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Jan 16, 2015
Full on high octane action and kinetic sci-fi thrills, Steven Speilberg's "Minority Report" is one of the smartest and realistic science fiction movies of the 2000's.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FilmQueenOct 22, 2015
Extremely good! Very interesting sci-fi ideas with lots of action. The story is well-written and well paced. Also apart from the "seeing into the future thing" it's not a ridiculously non-realistic vision of the 2050s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 15, 2016
Excellent movie - well made, well acted, well paced and a good story.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-5fc-Minority-Report-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BillW.Jul 2, 2002
Very solid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamianP.Jul 7, 2002
Cruise was better than usual. There were holes in the plot, but they can be forgiven as this is a block-buster which won't hurt your intellect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanH.Apr 3, 2004
Hugely entertaining even if i did predict the entire last thirty minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllenH.Dec 20, 2002
Yes, it is worth renting. A very good film - part sci-fi, part mystery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KelliR.Jun 28, 2002
This movie is not A.I. It will never be A.I. Perhaps my appreciation of this movie came out of the fact that I was not comparing it to A.I. as I watched it, and I am not comparing it to A.I. now. "Minority Report," while not, perhaps, This movie is not A.I. It will never be A.I. Perhaps my appreciation of this movie came out of the fact that I was not comparing it to A.I. as I watched it, and I am not comparing it to A.I. now. "Minority Report," while not, perhaps, Spielberg's greatest work, has a lovely classic feel to it, and I quite enjoyed the fact that it is set a measley fifty years in the future. Cruise is not, by any stretch of the imagination, my favorite actor, but I felt he did a good job. The messages are adequately sent, although the film is a bit lengthy. Special effects are fabulous. Overall, it was quite enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveC.Aug 2, 2003
Kick ass film with a lame ass ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 23, 2003
Set designs are impressive if somewhat overblown throughout, several action set pieces are brilliantly, breathtakingly conceived(just as few are just downright silly), and it has good if perfunctory performances. And, its dystopian vision of Set designs are impressive if somewhat overblown throughout, several action set pieces are brilliantly, breathtakingly conceived(just as few are just downright silly), and it has good if perfunctory performances. And, its dystopian vision of the future is more subtly toned than usual but the film lacks a convincing emotional core, what with Cruise being his usual earnest dopey eyed self. The grey cinematography is memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomV.Jan 16, 2004
Raises moral questions without being boring... very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GilbertNov 20, 2002
Not bad. Not a Steven Masterpiece, but hey - it's better than "Always". Or "1941". Or that other one he did that wasn't very good. I think there was one. Phil Dick would have approved - especially since it was such a big hit he Not bad. Not a Steven Masterpiece, but hey - it's better than "Always". Or "1941". Or that other one he did that wasn't very good. I think there was one. Phil Dick would have approved - especially since it was such a big hit he could finally start eating human food rather than living off the Pedigree Chum. Sam Morton is immaculate, Colin Farrell unforgettable, and will all those people who keep saying Tom Cruise can't act, just to make themselves look good, please now shut up? No, thought not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillS.Jun 24, 2002
Definitely the best Sci Fi flick of the Summer. Spielberg gives us a movie with a solid plot, great pacing, action, drama and even humor. I would probably only argue with Max Von Sidow's casting in the film...he's to the point of Definitely the best Sci Fi flick of the Summer. Spielberg gives us a movie with a solid plot, great pacing, action, drama and even humor. I would probably only argue with Max Von Sidow's casting in the film...he's to the point of being typecast for that type of role (it was enough to give away the story for me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeC.Jun 29, 2002
An excellent film in every respect----excitement, intelligence, humor----right up to the denoument, which seems to be nothing but a conventional, even cliched, whodunnit denoument. I'm almost tempted to believe that this is An excellent film in every respect----excitement, intelligence, humor----right up to the denoument, which seems to be nothing but a conventional, even cliched, whodunnit denoument. I'm almost tempted to believe that this is deliberate----that Spielberg gives us the "predestined" ending, the ending we have all seen before in other movies is an analogy to the precognition theme. But even making this generous assumption, the ending still lacks something--- a defining image, a novel idea--- some point of interest to redeem the fundamentally cliched ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobB.Dec 16, 2006
Awesome movie, as one of the critics said, it manages to mix a whole bunch of themes into one, and it pleases mostly everyone who will see it. Great special effects, very good acting/casting, and that unique Spielburg style directing you Awesome movie, as one of the critics said, it manages to mix a whole bunch of themes into one, and it pleases mostly everyone who will see it. Great special effects, very good acting/casting, and that unique Spielburg style directing you don't see anywhere else. I took one point off because of the ending, as someone before me said, was just too narrated, or forced, as some of Spielburgs movies are. It would've been better if they just let the movie end directly after the climax, instead of having Cruise explain what happened afterward. The other point I took off was because, although the movie is a great thriller, it does seem to lack action, or freshness, after you've seen it. But, as long as you don't "overwatch" it to keep the movie fresh, I'd really recommend buying this. Awesome movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaneApr 8, 2006
I really liked this movie. It was actoin packed and Tom Cruse really impressed me. The one thing i didn't like abput it was that it was very confusing, and a little over the edge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleP.Oct 11, 2002
Tom Cruise did a beautiful job in this movie. The actress that was absolutely incredible was the girl who played the pre-cog Agatha. The plot was suspenseful, and as for the gadgets, one word:cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RayW.Jun 25, 2002
My rating is actually more like 8.5. This film and A.I. represent a new direction for Spielberg that shows a lot of promise. I thought that A.I. had stronger themes and a few moments of greatness. Unfortunately, this greatness was marred by My rating is actually more like 8.5. This film and A.I. represent a new direction for Spielberg that shows a lot of promise. I thought that A.I. had stronger themes and a few moments of greatness. Unfortunately, this greatness was marred by a few serious flaws I won't get into here. Minority Report is more consistent and assured, and Spielberg's visual style is at times breathtaking. At first, I might have given the movie a 10. But in the days since I've seen it, I've come to realize that the themes were not as strong as those in A.I. It's great for a movie to deal with an issue like free will, but it wasn't actually deeply explored. The cast was exceptional, showcasing some of Cruise's best work (but I'm not a fan). The supporting cast is terrific; the crucifix-kissing Collin Farrrell was especially engaging. The plot has a few curveballs, but other twists are telegraphed far in advance. If Spielberg could merge the best aspects of both A.I. and Minority Report, it would be his best movie to date. Even so, I really liked both films, and Minority Report even represents a modest improvement over its predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JulianG.Jul 16, 2002
Minority Report is a movie I have been aware of for some time, and after the trailers started running repetetively, I began to lose hope. When I went to see it on opening night, I was blown away. After the eventual mess that A.I. ended up, I Minority Report is a movie I have been aware of for some time, and after the trailers started running repetetively, I began to lose hope. When I went to see it on opening night, I was blown away. After the eventual mess that A.I. ended up, I really began to doubt that Spielberg could end a movie, and it turns out, in this case, he still can't, but he doesn't ruin the movie with an inconsistant ending this time, he just adds to it. As many critics have said, the first 20 minutes are masterful science fiction, and there are many clever cracks about it being the future later in the film. But behind the clever and quite excellently dark new age writing, there is a great analogy to greek mythology, with the precognitives representing the oracles of the books. But right before the last half hour of the movie, we feel like it's over. We've reached that point we've been waiting for, it's been an incredible ride, and yet, the film continues. Unlike A.I., however, the last half hour of this one isn't useless crap, it's just entertaining Hollywood, which I can deal with, only that it exiles from the art that was the rest of the movie before it. The last half hour feels more like a little unnecessary bonus than a real connection to the dark rest of the film. An incredible all star casting job, with supporting actors from such films as O Brother Where Art Thou and Chocolat. The visual effects, and performances, are both as good as it gets. An enthralling ride that is 3/4 art and 1/4 suspensefull but unnecessary Hollywood. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Dec 18, 2003
A pioneering effort. Now we can get on to a real movie about how our legal system already judges and convicts people on the mere suspicion they might commit a crime. Don't think so? When your ex merely has to declare being afraid, then A pioneering effort. Now we can get on to a real movie about how our legal system already judges and convicts people on the mere suspicion they might commit a crime. Don't think so? When your ex merely has to declare being afraid, then obtains a protection order that separates you permanently from your children, and forces you to pay child support to underwrite the fraud, you'll know better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TommyL.Mar 17, 2003
It was amazing, until the last 20 minutes just ruined it. What a weak ending to a 'could-have-been-great' movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Bruce722Jun 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minority Report is one of the most unique films I've seen. Tom Cruise stars in his role as John Anderton, lead officer in Washington, D.C.'s pre-crime division set in the mid-21st century. "Pre-crime" is a concept that revolves around the ability to stop murders before they happen thanks to three "precogs" and their ability to see into the future. This is an inherently controversial way to 'solve' crime but is largely accepted because it seems perfect considering that no murders had been committed in the six year experiment. The conflict is introduced when Cruise finds out that he is the next expected murderer. This puts him on the run from the division he once led and on an investigation to find out how he is supposedly going to murder someone he's never met. The action isn't overdone but rather placed well throughout the film. The combat sequences could've been better but they were still enjoyable. A few of the plot points were a little weak also but there weren't actual holes or anything. The acting was solid with Cruise and a supporting cast of Colin Farrell and Max von Sydow among others. The best part of the film, though, was the interesting plot. Even with the few weak parts it's just a very interesting story that develops nicely. Many movies struggle with the concept of the future being predicted but Minority Report does a great job and is very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Jun 16, 2013
Most people don't recognize the name Phillip K. Dick and when you read his name, you probably just snickered. He might not have had an easy childhood with a name like that and you may not recognize his name, but he is to Science Fiction whatMost people don't recognize the name Phillip K. Dick and when you read his name, you probably just snickered. He might not have had an easy childhood with a name like that and you may not recognize his name, but he is to Science Fiction what Stephen King is to Horror. The films Blade Runner, Total Recall, Screamers, Paycheck, A Scanner Darkly, Next, & The Adjustment Bureau were all based on stories or books that he wrote. Minority Report is yet another of his stories developed for the big screen and one of the most popular. This ingenious film was Directed by Stephen Spielberg and starred Tom Cruise. I am by no means a fan of Tom Cruise, in fact, I've made it a point over the last few years to avoid seeing anything he is in, but this was one film I couldn't miss. To his credit Cruise was very good and exciting throughout, showing a lot of charisma, it was unexpected, but a welcome change from what we normally see from him. This terrific futuristic tale tells the story of pre-crime, a system in which high functioning autistics can predict murders with a very narrow margin of error. John Anderton (Tom Cruise) is the lead investigator, whose job it is to stop these crimes before they happen. Things are going well for him, that is until his name comes out of the machine and he becomes a target of his own men. The story was deep, yet somewhat complicated, as I was confused at several points in the movie, but that's how you know it's good Science Fiction. The action and chase sequences were fantastic, as was the direction and special effects. The story does however leave some lose ends and I found the precogs to be more than somewhat creepy. It almost seemed like these disabled people were being abused for their unique abilities and not a single character in the film had any issues with that. Minority Report is a long, complex story, but it's fast paced, visually impactful, and will make you think. It only took thirty years, but you can finally add a Tom Cruise film to the list of movies I enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oliver1hFeb 12, 2013
Steven Spielberg? Tom Cruise? Seriously i was not expecting much from this movie, but I was wrong, as it turned out to be a "mature" science fiction movie. I liked how Mr. Spielber presented 2054 A.D. (Even if He was too optimistic I amSteven Spielberg? Tom Cruise? Seriously i was not expecting much from this movie, but I was wrong, as it turned out to be a "mature" science fiction movie. I liked how Mr. Spielber presented 2054 A.D. (Even if He was too optimistic I am afraid...), where "Pre-Cogs" predict crimes beforehand. This whole "Pre-cog" method of peacekeeping, and it use in more and more places every day, raise interesting ethical questions. Is the person really guilty if he/she has not committed the crime yet, because "Precrime" arrested him/her based on the prediction of "Pre-cogs"? Are "Pre-cogs" infallible? What if they make mistakes sometimes? Is If they do make mistakes, is it worth it for the greater good? Is it ethical to keep "Pre-cogs" sedated and placed in a room in their whole life to serve the law, basically taking away they chance to a normal life? These are some of the questions the movie ask from the viewer, while the plot unfolds. The movies main plot is also interesting and keep you seated the whole run time. It is about John Anderton who heads Precrime, and believes the system's flawlessness. However one day the "Pre-cogs" predict that Anderton will commit a murder himself in the next 36 hours. Anderton decides to get to the mystery's core by finding out the 'minority report' which means the prediction of the female "Pre-cog" Agatha that "might" tell a different story and prove Anderton innocent. I can only recommend the movie. It has some interesting twist and turns. Tom Cruise's character is layered and the actors all did a great job in their roles. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Um dos melhores ficções científicas e suspense já feito.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WriteFilmLive21Mar 17, 2013
Spielberg? Sci-fi? Tom Cruise? How can you go wrong? "Minority Report" is a delightfully entertaining and thoroughly engrossing film. I don't know why it took me so long to get around to seeing it this is another Spielberg masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joeybearDec 29, 2012
A well-made dystopian film about the role of police and public safety VS individual rights. The film has a unique look and the action sequences are tense with well paced plot points.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Minority Report exceeds in the majority.
A breathtakingly genius concept of a future without crime that becomes overwhelmingly corrupt. Tom Cruise achieves massive success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LeokaAug 20, 2016
Spielberg nunca hace una mala película (salvo Indiana Jones y la calavera de cristal) y acá lo demuestra haciendo esta obra futurista que habla sobre lo impredecible y como el sistema puede manipular a la gente siempre que se le de esaSpielberg nunca hace una mala película (salvo Indiana Jones y la calavera de cristal) y acá lo demuestra haciendo esta obra futurista que habla sobre lo impredecible y como el sistema puede manipular a la gente siempre que se le de esa responsabilidad. Ya el hecho de que Anderton escuche "La inconclusa" es una metáfora de toda la película. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndriusB.Jun 22, 2002
A much more integrated approach than the ill-fated "A.I". Midbrow, but still, there are plenty of novel quotes from Kubrick and Hitchcock, and the art direction is very fresh. But Steve still breaks out in sweat when he has to choose between A much more integrated approach than the ill-fated "A.I". Midbrow, but still, there are plenty of novel quotes from Kubrick and Hitchcock, and the art direction is very fresh. But Steve still breaks out in sweat when he has to choose between the mysterious sublime and the safe conventions of sentiment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelF.Jun 21, 2002
The movie's last 30mins lowered the grade from an A- to a B. The last 30mins are SO cliche. I also wish that the film was a bit more personal, like the bad "A.I." I liked the style very much. Wish that the film would stop trying to be a The movie's last 30mins lowered the grade from an A- to a B. The last 30mins are SO cliche. I also wish that the film was a bit more personal, like the bad "A.I." I liked the style very much. Wish that the film would stop trying to be a "big summer blockbuster action movie that's really entertaining." Cruise is fine, he explodes too muc though. I REALLY liked the 2hours then the ending 30mins just ruined it a bit. It was entertaining, but not artsy enough. BRILLIANT concept and well adapted from the original story but it needed to try not to be a big fun summer action movie and be a bit darker, it was dark but it should've been darker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertH.Jun 27, 2002
Very clever premise that holds your attention until about 30 minutes remain in the movie. By then the telegraphed ending ruins the movie by its predictable conclusion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakeM.Jul 12, 2002
Wow this movie is really odd, its like the setting of A.I. just a different plot. I liked the technology used in this movie, and it was fairly realistic. There wasn't anything completely wrong in this movie, its just it doesn't Wow this movie is really odd, its like the setting of A.I. just a different plot. I liked the technology used in this movie, and it was fairly realistic. There wasn't anything completely wrong in this movie, its just it doesn't live up to a perfect 10 on the scale. Mabye if they re-wrote the script a little better, and lose Tom Cruise, it could be awesome. (Mabye in 40 years they will make another Minority Report) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickG.Jun 22, 2002
An OK sci-fi flick with some nice visual elements and an interesting premise. Still, it's a bit slow at times and probably could have been a half hour shorter without much effect. Acting was solid, but overall it's just a bit above An OK sci-fi flick with some nice visual elements and an interesting premise. Still, it's a bit slow at times and probably could have been a half hour shorter without much effect. Acting was solid, but overall it's just a bit above average as far as films go. If you are looking for an oustanding 'sci-fi' flick with Cruise, check out Vanilla Sky; if you are expecting something of that level then you will be dissapointed. A good rental, more or less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveM.Jun 24, 2002
Have you ever gone out to eat one night only to be asked a few days later, what you did the other night, and can't remember? This movie is kind of like that. Not great, but certainly not awful. It gets around. The action scenes Have you ever gone out to eat one night only to be asked a few days later, what you did the other night, and can't remember? This movie is kind of like that. Not great, but certainly not awful. It gets around. The action scenes aren't bad. The special effects were good (though the acid washed freeway scenes didn't do much for me- why didn't they just drive those Lexus cars around? Or, why didn't they drive the ones in those scenes where they were driving the Lexus cars around? Where were all the people in the auto-plant anyway?) There were holes in the script, but not many (was Cruise's ex-wife's character really necessary? If she was, why was she just kind of "there". She didn't really DO anything (well, maybe the end, but something else could have been done.) There was A LOT of advertising throughout- which was somewhat annoying. There were good guys and bad guys, and a guys you thought were good or bad, who turned out to be the opposite. There was a weird gardner lady who supposedly started the whole thing "pre-cogs." Then of course, there were the pre-cogs (one, that mattered at all. The other two just floated around in the milk pool.) Everyone kind of ran around for a while, searching for the truth, but in the end, it all worked out...I think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeB.Jun 26, 2002
It was enjoyable but hardly great. I had hoped for more from both Cruise and Spielberg. Without Cruise, this turns into a very ordinary chase movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackD.Jun 29, 2002
Spielberg's apology for A.I. is accepted. Tom Cruise's apology for his last several movies is also accepted. ...but the reviewers seem to have gone overboard in their praise just a little. If you love product placement in movies, Spielberg's apology for A.I. is accepted. Tom Cruise's apology for his last several movies is also accepted. ...but the reviewers seem to have gone overboard in their praise just a little. If you love product placement in movies, this is the one for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GustavoH.R.Jan 23, 2006
"Minority Report" is one of those stylish, self-conscious, intricate science fiction events that generate plenty of discussions about its subject matter after it finishes. Themes such as the right to exercise your own free will, the "Minority Report" is one of those stylish, self-conscious, intricate science fiction events that generate plenty of discussions about its subject matter after it finishes. Themes such as the right to exercise your own free will, the decadence of privacy and the importance of family as the base for a balanced life in society are approached. The setting is futuristc. The overall tone of people's lives in 2054 is hopelessly murky. Director Steven Spielberg uses his tremendous skill as a prodigious technical director to bring jaw-dropping action sequences to life here, not to mention his dead-on ability to emulate the tense atmosphere of classic film noir, now blended with what can be described as a touch of realistic fantasy. The screenplay is mundane at best, though, for there are a couple of weak plot twists which end up causing a feeling of not enough innovation when it comes to building a relevant plot. This 102 million dollar thriller did not amaze audiences, afterall. Either because these people considered it too distant and dark as an escapist entertainment or, probaby, they simply disassociated it from those big, generic summer blockbusters. Mr. Spielberg achieved a slightly pretentious, enormously nice-looking motion picture, but not a particulary memorable one, so to speak. It ultimately lacks some depth and substance. As a Spielberg film, "Minority Report" can easily be labelled as average only. If compared to similar flicks, it is definetely above average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
Minority Report is a fun movie but at times a bit to complex and Sci-fi for my liking. Don't take this wrong, Minority Report is action packed and full of twists and turns but perhaps I was lucky and just guessed right but I saw the futureMinority Report is a fun movie but at times a bit to complex and Sci-fi for my liking. Don't take this wrong, Minority Report is action packed and full of twists and turns but perhaps I was lucky and just guessed right but I saw the future too. Cruise and Farrell do a great job and the graphics are top notch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 22, 2014
Overall, I definitely enjoyed this one. Tom Cruise does very well in this role and I also really enjoyed Colin Farrell here. The look and feel of the film is also really well done and the second half of the film is fantastic. In addition, theOverall, I definitely enjoyed this one. Tom Cruise does very well in this role and I also really enjoyed Colin Farrell here. The look and feel of the film is also really well done and the second half of the film is fantastic. In addition, the special effects are well done and the story, though slow forming, is very well put together and engrossing. However, on the negative side, the first half is iffy for me. As we are introduced to this futuristic world with no murders, the explanations and presentation of everything is spotty at best, leaving the viewer a tad confused and, at times, bored. However, once you finally wrap your head around everything, the film really takes off. I never really thought the "action" sequences were phenomenal, but otherwise, everything really began to click and the film had a very exciting and tense conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
McCorpseJan 22, 2013
yeah i thought it was pretty good, it did not blow me away though. Some of the action was really good and some was too cgi heavy that it lost me completely. The jet pack scene was awesome. The whole plot had some nice twists in it and nearyeah i thought it was pretty good, it did not blow me away though. Some of the action was really good and some was too cgi heavy that it lost me completely. The jet pack scene was awesome. The whole plot had some nice twists in it and near the end it really started to win me over. The first half however felt like a remake of an old swartzenegger movie kind of like the 6th day meets total recall. In the end though it does have enough of its own personality to come off as fresh and a cut above most sci-fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkashVijayApr 9, 2015
Brilliantly directed but poorly written. The plot often skips logic and the ending is a complete cop-out but Minority Report is thrillingly entertaining and visually gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews