User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 115
  2. Negative: 25 out of 115

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Although it tries to be good, Mirror Mirror just ends up being what you would expect from a movie adaption of Snow White.
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    3
    The young children in the audience seemed to enjoy the film, but this is not a film for adults. The script is weak, the acting is all over the place. Julia Roberts is fine, and the Prince is played well by Armie Hammer, but actors are only as good as the lines given to them. There was no sense of wonder, and the humor for adults is non-existant. The story line is changed up from the traditional version which didn't bother me, but some of the changes are ludicrous, such as the dwarfs running around on stilts, and the amazing/ridiculous things the dwarfs can do on the stilts. I never laughed once during the film. I did enjoy some of the look and costumes. Overall very disappointing. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    2
    Of the two recent Snow White adaptations, not only was this worse, but this is easily the least necessary and, to some extent, the most disappointing. Taking over the reigns of Snow White is Lily Collins, a beautiful young actress... who has a really bad problem for an actress; she can't act. The storyline is unoriginal, but this time around Julia Roberts is playing the evil queen... who is basically just a more sarcastic and PG-friendly Charlize Theron. Roberts acted her heart out, like usual, but it just couldn't save this Titanic from sinking. Also in this movie? Armie Hammer... who went from The Social Network and J. Edgar to this... my oh my is his short career coming to a close. And, Nathan Lane, wasting his career away. Overall, I was pretty disappointed by Mirror Mirror, but it wasn't all horrific. Roberts, like I said, can never be a bad actress, and it was just stunning to look at. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    4
    With a poor performance from Julia Roberts and Lily Collins acting like a 3 years old girl ,this movie looks like an bollywood production that was made in two weeks
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    1
    I'm giving it a 1 only because it made me smile twice. Julia Roberts could have been much more convincing and the overall acting and the story were lame. I've hardly ever seen a comedy as boding as this one.
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    4
    this is not a good movie, because the history is not the real thruth and also when i watch i asked to myself: Who is the Hustman?, but there is something good in this film, is the actors they are very good
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    A lot of people talking about this movie were not enthused. I know some who said they preferred to wait for he next Snow White flick â
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Movie It sucks, really had many expectations for this movie, but it is very bad. The history is not good and the script seems made for a 3 year old, really sucks. Expand
  9. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    Not sure why this film starts off trying to be clever and unconventional. By the end, it manages to completely embalm itself in trite, insulting nonsense and cliche. Better to suffer a bout of constipation than sit through this stinker.
  10. May 17, 2012
    3
    It does not lack in style, but it does lack in almost every other area. A cast that seems to pander to a more adult audience (while also being child friendly) fails in its delivery to that audience. The movie fails in its introduction of the dwarfs, who are all poor actors and frankly do not have any funny lines. Julia Roberts attempts to ham it up and manages to be tolerable in this flick, but the writing damns her at every turn (along with the rest of the cast). The movie badly wants to be smart, but in the end is devoid of charm and any semblance of wit. If you are a Julia Roberts fan, or wish to see a rising star in Armie Hammer hit a speed bump, then you may consider seeing this one. Otherwise, it is well worth avoiding. Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    Sugary and sweet, the Snow White reboot Mirror Mirror is incredibly gorgeous to behold (it is a Tarsem film, after all), but the remaining picture ultimately is too watered down with simplistic morals, pop culture references, and a lack of imagination storyline-wise. As far as dedication to roles go, Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane are put through endless humiliations that they fully dedicate themselves to, even if most of the gags fall flat (there is a grasshopper-rape joke that took me by surprise), so that is admirable. Hammer in particular seems to be stuck after the success of The Social Network with roles that don't do his talents justice. He reminds of a rising James Franco. In comparison, the leading ladies (Lily Collins as Snow White & Julia Roberts as The Evil Queen) seem dull and kind of float through their roles. There is eye candy here (in both the visuals and the actors) and that might get audiences through it, but it overall seems to be pleased with just dealing out sugar and leaving the spice out of the screenplay. Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2012
    3
    Despite a touch of Gaelic design flair which could have been a cue to letting lose with some fun, this retelling of snow white is just too dull to get the most out of itself. It seems to be going for a tongue in cheek vibe, a-la the princess bride, but its so frothy light that it becomes a battle to stay involved in the tale. Given that they are doing a story which everyone already knows the film-makers should have tried much harder to give it some character of its own. Its by the numbers and pretty dull as a result.

    Was going to give it a 2 but my niece (7 years old) liked it so it gets a bonus point for that.
    Expand
  13. Aug 4, 2012
    3
    I found this movie to be, mainly, bade for kids but there is a bit of wit for the adults. I didn't find Julia Roberts to be a convincing wicked witch because we are too used to seeing her play a goodie goodie. As for the rest of the cast, I found there performances pretty average, except for the seven dwarfs who were quite funny. This isn't the best adaptation of Snow White, but its harmless family fun. Expand
  14. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    This is one of the most ridiculous, yet not funny films I have recently seen. There's a lot to see here, but not so much to follow. The screenplay seems to be put together by kids, maybe for kids, but the real problem is the lame slapstick comedy. I laughed two times, I kid you not, and one of these times I laughed AT the movie. Julia Roberts is miscast as the evil queen and Armie Hammer overacts every line.

    Still, it's so naive and silly, it's hard to be really angry at it.
    Expand
  15. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    I am hard to please. I know I am. I watched about 30 minutes of it, without thinking or doing anything else. The sets and costumes were great, but I was bored. So bored that i decided to fast forward. Not off to a good start. I didn't hate it, but I also didn't like it either. If you want to watch it, just be sure you have the remote near by. Thank God i watched it on netflix and didn't even have to pay anything to watch it. Eh, it's okay. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    Okay, but very annoying and strange. Visually stunning but a weak script and uneven story really held this one back. Add to that an annoying performance from Julia Roberts, all Mirror Mirror provides is an attractive mess.
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    1
    This is one of the worst films of 2012. All the performance's here are forced. I knew this film would be a cheese fest, but I was hoping for a light hearted and fun movie. Instead we get a boring, unfunny, waste of everyone's time.
  18. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    La historia es aburrida se queda enredada en el espejo de la descepcion me hubiera gustado ver algo mejor, lamentablemente las cosas no se dieron y se fue al estrllato durante mas de la mitad de la pelicula
  19. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    It's a very bad film. Awful. It's funny but come on guys! There are so many better films to see instead of Mirror Mirror. It's without doubt one of the worst pictures of the year.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    This is fussy filmmaking, overly made-up (the costume mandate seems to include the buzzwords "coffee filters," "croquembouche," and "Day-Glo paint") and bereft of wit.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Apr 4, 2012
    40
    To borrow a line Roberts spits at Collins, there's something about Mirror that's incredibly irritating. Fingers crossed Huntsman has more edge.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 2, 2012
    40
    It's evasive and feeble; Julia Roberts is not a properly funny or satisfying villain, and yet neither is she the interestingly flawed, even sympathetic figure she might have been if the film had kept the all-important question she asks the mirror.