Relativity Media | Release Date: March 30, 2012
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
64
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
j_cianciulliJul 17, 2012
Of the two recent Snow White adaptations, not only was this worse, but this is easily the least necessary and, to some extent, the most disappointing. Taking over the reigns of Snow White is Lily Collins, a beautiful young actress... who hasOf the two recent Snow White adaptations, not only was this worse, but this is easily the least necessary and, to some extent, the most disappointing. Taking over the reigns of Snow White is Lily Collins, a beautiful young actress... who has a really bad problem for an actress; she can't act. The storyline is unoriginal, but this time around Julia Roberts is playing the evil queen... who is basically just a more sarcastic and PG-friendly Charlize Theron. Roberts acted her heart out, like usual, but it just couldn't save this Titanic from sinking. Also in this movie? Armie Hammer... who went from The Social Network and J. Edgar to this... my oh my is his short career coming to a close. And, Nathan Lane, wasting his career away. Overall, I was pretty disappointed by Mirror Mirror, but it wasn't all horrific. Roberts, like I said, can never be a bad actress, and it was just stunning to look at. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
BikerjamesApr 1, 2012
The young children in the audience seemed to enjoy the film, but this is not a film for adults. The script is weak, the acting is all over the place. Julia Roberts is fine, and the Prince is played well by Armie Hammer, but actors are onlyThe young children in the audience seemed to enjoy the film, but this is not a film for adults. The script is weak, the acting is all over the place. Julia Roberts is fine, and the Prince is played well by Armie Hammer, but actors are only as good as the lines given to them. There was no sense of wonder, and the humor for adults is non-existant. The story line is changed up from the traditional version which didn't bother me, but some of the changes are ludicrous, such as the dwarfs running around on stilts, and the amazing/ridiculous things the dwarfs can do on the stilts. I never laughed once during the film. I did enjoy some of the look and costumes. Overall very disappointing. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
BadMovieLoverApr 7, 2012
A lot of people talking about this movie were not enthused. I know some who said they preferred to wait for he next Snow White flick â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
DannyHerrera16Apr 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Movie It sucks, really had many expectations for this movie, but it is very bad. The history is not good and the script seems made for a 3 year old, really sucks. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
jacnagleApr 6, 2012
Not sure why this film starts off trying to be clever and unconventional. By the end, it manages to completely embalm itself in trite, insulting nonsense and cliche. Better to suffer a bout of constipation than sit through this stinker.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CriticalStateMay 17, 2012
It does not lack in style, but it does lack in almost every other area. A cast that seems to pander to a more adult audience (while also being child friendly) fails in its delivery to that audience. The movie fails in its introduction ofIt does not lack in style, but it does lack in almost every other area. A cast that seems to pander to a more adult audience (while also being child friendly) fails in its delivery to that audience. The movie fails in its introduction of the dwarfs, who are all poor actors and frankly do not have any funny lines. Julia Roberts attempts to ham it up and manages to be tolerable in this flick, but the writing damns her at every turn (along with the rest of the cast). The movie badly wants to be smart, but in the end is devoid of charm and any semblance of wit. If you are a Julia Roberts fan, or wish to see a rising star in Armie Hammer hit a speed bump, then you may consider seeing this one. Otherwise, it is well worth avoiding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
NickkkJun 21, 2012
I'm giving it a 1 only because it made me smile twice. Julia Roberts could have been much more convincing and the overall acting and the story were lame. I've hardly ever seen a comedy as boding as this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
reddave2Sep 12, 2012
Despite a touch of Gaelic design flair which could have been a cue to letting lose with some fun, this retelling of snow white is just too dull to get the most out of itself. It seems to be going for a tongue in cheek vibe, a-la the princessDespite a touch of Gaelic design flair which could have been a cue to letting lose with some fun, this retelling of snow white is just too dull to get the most out of itself. It seems to be going for a tongue in cheek vibe, a-la the princess bride, but its so frothy light that it becomes a battle to stay involved in the tale. Given that they are doing a story which everyone already knows the film-makers should have tried much harder to give it some character of its own. Its by the numbers and pretty dull as a result.

Was going to give it a 2 but my niece (7 years old) liked it so it gets a bonus point for that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LeonBlackwoodAug 4, 2012
I found this movie to be, mainly, bade for kids but there is a bit of wit for the adults. I didn't find Julia Roberts to be a convincing wicked witch because we are too used to seeing her play a goodie goodie. As for the rest of the cast, II found this movie to be, mainly, bade for kids but there is a bit of wit for the adults. I didn't find Julia Roberts to be a convincing wicked witch because we are too used to seeing her play a goodie goodie. As for the rest of the cast, I found there performances pretty average, except for the seven dwarfs who were quite funny. This isn't the best adaptation of Snow White, but its harmless family fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BrianMcCriticMar 11, 2013
This is one of the worst films of 2012. All the performance's here are forced. I knew this film would be a cheese fest, but I was hoping for a light hearted and fun movie. Instead we get a boring, unfunny, waste of everyone's time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JmsbppJul 15, 2013
La historia es aburrida se queda enredada en el espejo de la descepcion me hubiera gustado ver algo mejor, lamentablemente las cosas no se dieron y se fue al estrllato durante mas de la mitad de la pelicula
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
It's a very bad film. Awful. It's funny but come on guys! There are so many better films to see instead of Mirror Mirror. It's without doubt one of the worst pictures of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
bluishcatbagSep 22, 2014
The only points this movie scores from me is for moments of superficial visual beauty and there were a couple brief, funnyish scenes with Julia Roberts and her cosmetic routines. This film needs serious intervention when it comes to powerThe only points this movie scores from me is for moments of superficial visual beauty and there were a couple brief, funnyish scenes with Julia Roberts and her cosmetic routines. This film needs serious intervention when it comes to power dynamics and character development. I can't bleach my mind enough to rid myself of the pathetic sword fight where the main character is presented as capable but is reduced to being taunted and even sexually harassed. Later on we are given an offhanded rape joke that we are supposed to find amusing by the sheer absurdity of the situation but really this film clumsily mishandles empathy and comedy at every turn. It's a bumbling train wreck heavily reliant on dazzling visuals that gradually become less dazzling as the yawnfest crawls on and on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews