Mirror Mirror

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 130
  2. Negative: 29 out of 130
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    Mirror Mirror is pretty enough and funny enough with enough good performances to please. Also this may not be Tarsem's best film because of its sort of cliche run of the story. I give this movie 52%.
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    4
    With a poor performance from Julia Roberts and Lily Collins acting like a 3 years old girl ,this movie looks like an bollywood production that was made in two weeks
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Although it tries to be good, Mirror Mirror just ends up being what you would expect from a movie adaption of Snow White.
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    The art direction and costume design are wonderful. The story is sufficient to hold up the aesthetic. Julia Roberts is fun and inoffensive as the queen. The jokes are mostly ho-hum but the pace keeps moving. It was a nice date movie - light, easy, sweet, pretty to look at.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    This light-hearted twist on the Snow White story falls flat in almost every way. Julia Roberts plays the evil queen, whose jealousy of her step-daughter (Lily Collins) drives her to vicious acts. The deviations from the original plot are interesting, but the dialogue is seldom clever, even when it tries to use contemporary vernacular. Director Tarsem brings his unique eye for visualThis light-hearted twist on the Snow White story falls flat in almost every way. Julia Roberts plays the evil queen, whose jealousy of her step-daughter (Lily Collins) drives her to vicious acts. The deviations from the original plot are interesting, but the dialogue is seldom clever, even when it tries to use contemporary vernacular. Director Tarsem brings his unique eye for visual extravagance and infuses good-natured energy to the uninspired script. I really wanted to like this flick, but just kept getting stunned its ineptness. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    Like his previous films The Cell and last year's Immortals, Tarsem once again shows a fascination with lavish costume and set design inMirror Mirror, steeped in symbolism. Tarsem reveals a talent for rapid fire dialog and flowing conversational rhythms from his actors. The dialog, witty, modern, and biting, is the film's strong suit. Furthermore, the plot of Mirror Mirror is lean,Like his previous films The Cell and last year's Immortals, Tarsem once again shows a fascination with lavish costume and set design inMirror Mirror, steeped in symbolism. Tarsem reveals a talent for rapid fire dialog and flowing conversational rhythms from his actors. The dialog, witty, modern, and biting, is the film's strong suit. Furthermore, the plot of Mirror Mirror is lean, organic. Every scene has a purpose, not a moment is wasted. One scene triggers another, like falling dominoes in a series of causes and effects, actions and reactions. However, Mirror Mirror's chief problem is--who is it supposed to be for? The story itself is a fairy tail--presumably aimed at children--but Tarsem is as fetishistic as ever in Mirror Mirror, and the film runs deep with female libido. Ultimately, Mirror Mirror defies being either recommended or condemned, but is rather the kind of film that boils down to personal taste. Some adults may find it too simplistic and cartoony, particularly in the bland depiction of Snow White herself, yet others may appreciate it as a kinky, biting satire of fairy tales and fantasy films that subverts traditional gender roles. It's weird, it's whimsical, and it's definitely not for everyone, but it has a unique sense of itself that could earn it cult status. Full review on my blog. Expand
  7. May 12, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. These dwarfs eat meat, and this princess is no vegetarian. In Mirror Mirror, the woodland creatures don't want anything to do with Snow White. It's an enchantless forest; not dark exactly, but it's sterile, lacking light, and especially, magic. Dissimilar to the young woman's 1937 forerunner, when the huntsman, the would-be murderer, gives Snow a reprieve from her death sentence, an ordinance from the queen, the princess' wicked stepmother, the arising girl isn't greeted by any critters, following that mad dash through the woods. As a child, her father, the king, bequeathed a dagger to his daughter. It's implied that the animals know she's armed and carnivorous. Instead of gooseberry pie, apple dumplings, and plum pudding, this Snow White prepares lamb gravy for the inaugural feast, which raises a pertinent question: Did she butcher the young sheep with her own bare hands? Outfitted with a decidedly more rugged gal, Mirror Mirror performs a sort of alchemy on Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, whose heroine respects non-human life, a characteristic that seems more ideologically consistent with Buddhism than the Christian faith. The remake avows for this reconstructed eastern thinking, ferreted out from the Disney classic, in a scene, where the kitchen help encourages Snow to venture beyond the palace gates, and see for the first time, the impoverished lives of the queen's overtaxed subjects, wasting away in a kingdom that the sheltered princess recalls from childhood, as being distinguished by singing and dancing. Snow's distancing from her provincial-minded upbringing is straight of the Buddha's origin story, let alone, Little Buddha, especially in the scene where Prince Siddhartha(Keanu Reeves) encounters old age, illness, and death, setting the stage for his declination as the next sovereign, foregoing the crown in favor of asceticism, a monkhood for the ages. On his first visit, accompanied by the king, Siddhartha observes people at leisure, an ongoing party, similar to the opening animated sequence in Mirror Mirror, narrated by the queen, who interjects about how nobody had jobs, giving young Snow a false impression about the peasants, just like the future Buddha, since his father, by decree, asked that the townsfolk banish the undesirables from plain view before their official visit. Sound familiar? On the prince's return trip, this time, with only his driver Channa for company, he learns that people work for a living, often to the bone. Likewise, Snow, possessing the same naivety about class warfare as Prince Dharming, in hushed tones, asks a woman of modest means about the hamlet's sad state with a melancholic wonderment. No doubt suspicious about the fine threads that adorn Snow, the starving denizen answers conservatively, informing the poorly treated, but nevertheless, privileged royal, that there hasn't been a jubilee of any sort in ages. Was Snow's father really a benevolent ruler? Is he responsible for the dwarfs' ostracization? Perhaps, there is little difference in how both royals treated their subjects. Unlike the missing king, his second wife, the queen, never bothered with propaganda like her husband or Siddhartha's father, King Suddhodana, making the wicked stepmother, if anything, an honest monarch. Since the queen's subjects are kept off-screen in the original, as a result, Snow is politically hard to read, but in Mirror Mirror, we know for sure that our heroine has a conscience, with nary an interest for earthly possessions. Interestingly, one of the dwarfs, Chuck, is Chinese, giving their lair just the slightest hint of being an emblematic monastery. In Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Bashful describes the sleeping girl stretched out across their tiny beds as an "angel", but her high regard for animals, a tenet associated with Buddhism, makes her supposed celestial nature, strictly a byproduct of her ethereal beauty, because in a filmic sense, her latent eastern leanings casts her out of the enchanted forest for being a heretic. The tree limbs act as wizened claws, attempting repeatedly to grab her. The elms are jealous of the Bodhi. Seemingly, the face of God manifests itself on a trunk. As for Snow White's housemates, in Mirror Mirror, the seven dwarfs are thieves, not miners, yet it's their latter incarnation in the Disney film which seems the more malevolent of the two. Armed with pickaxes, the little men stand poised around the bed, ready to hack the stranger into pieces, until they learn that the uninvited guest is a lost girl, and not somebody who has an eye on their diamond mine. When it comes to jewels, the dwarfs have the potential to be cold-blooded killers; they also might be lovers. While Half-Pint covets Snow, she doesn't reciprocate his affection, but does her predecessor covet Grumpy? In icing, she writes "Grumpy" on a cake as she sings "Someday My Prince Will Come". Grumpy, who looks as old as the Buddha. Expand
  8. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    When a story as legendary as Snow White comes to life (twice in 2012), the stakes are pretty high to make it entertaining yet keep that fairy tale feel children love so much, that air of wonder, with the quiet rustle of pages for soundtrack. One would not expect so much snow from the Indian director Tartsem Singh, or maybe itâ
  9. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    Mirror Mirror is undeniably beautiful, a grand spectacle. Let's forget about the story, it's for children tale before a sleep after all. With impressive cast and Bollywood dance sequence, I couldn't deny I like it.
  10. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    Thank god that no one involved in this project took themselves seriously. This is very reminiscent of The Princess Bride. There are really no over the to special effects, the costumes are not impressive, the cinematography is mediocre. What saves it is the performances. Everyone involved clearly does not take themselves seriously and have fully accepted that they are just having fun.Thank god that no one involved in this project took themselves seriously. This is very reminiscent of The Princess Bride. There are really no over the to special effects, the costumes are not impressive, the cinematography is mediocre. What saves it is the performances. Everyone involved clearly does not take themselves seriously and have fully accepted that they are just having fun. Sadly this could have not been made and no one would have missed it. In fact it probably shouldn't have been made. Imagine doing J Edgar and then following that up with Mirror Mirror. Doesn't look good on a resume. Collapse
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    "It's the same Snow White you've seen before..."
    The storyline starts off as like any other Snow White movie like such from Disney but it's different in setting and tone. The Queen bores a beautiful daughter in whom she names it Snow White, but she dies quickly from an illness which leaves Snow White under the protection of the King. The King remarries another woman and she becomes Queen.
    "It's the same Snow White you've seen before..."
    The storyline starts off as like any other Snow White movie like such from Disney but it's different in setting and tone. The Queen bores a beautiful daughter in whom she names it Snow White, but she dies quickly from an illness which leaves Snow White under the protection of the King. The King remarries another woman and she becomes Queen. He then goes out into battle but never returns. The Wicked Queen imprisons Snow White. She focuses more towards the physical appearance than the inward beauty because she must remain the fairest of them all....Snow White escapes, meets the Seven Dwarves...falls in love with a Prince...ya-di-dah. This is all being narrated by the Evil Queen whom she believes this story belongs to her. Its funny to hear her **** sarcastic humor especially towards the prologue. The Queens main concern is to get rid of Snow White, marry a rich Prince who can pay off her 'financial problems' and live happily ever after. It however, doesn't happened that way...
    Its very fun, charming but often too sweet or (like the consensus said) lacking in depth. However, the key to this film is the actors that are involved in it. They made each character so likeable and peppy. Julia Roberts is the main show and she really balances the evilness and sarcasm of her villainous character. I think she did a really good job and I'm hoping that other future actresses would look to her for inspiration. Lily Cole is the best choice for this kind of Snow White. She looks sweet and innocent but mature. Lily Cole' Snow White also displays that sense of desperation to be free and who can blame her, she'd just turned 18. The Seven Dwarves did a good job but they weren't as surprising as the eight trio from Snow White & the Huntsman (SWATH: the Dwarves in that movie changed the mood and lightened the tone). Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane did a good job too.
    Another key part that made it so 'lively' was the visuals and the costume designs so i give them props for making it colorful and bright. I mean who thinks of a dress made in the form of a swan or bunny ears for the hat. It was also unique to see an egg-yoke colored coat and dress both worn by Snow White and the Queen. The tall boats that the Dwarves worn were also something ordinary and the castle looked like it came straight out of India.
    Overall, this is one of Singh' better works than his previous one, Immortals
    *the song in the end is also very catchy.
    Expand
  12. Aug 10, 2012
    4
    this is not a good movie, because the history is not the real thruth and also when i watch i asked to myself: Who is the Hustman?, but there is something good in this film, is the actors they are very good
  13. Sep 22, 2012
    5
    This movie was a bit of a mishmash. Having recently finished watching Season 1 of television series Once Upon a Time, Julia Roberts in the role of the evil queen does not compare well to Lana Parrilla. Parrilla's evil queen is a double character appearing both in the traditional fairy-tale realm and in a modern-day scenario, and Parrilla gives an original reinterpretation of theThis movie was a bit of a mishmash. Having recently finished watching Season 1 of television series Once Upon a Time, Julia Roberts in the role of the evil queen does not compare well to Lana Parrilla. Parrilla's evil queen is a double character appearing both in the traditional fairy-tale realm and in a modern-day scenario, and Parrilla gives an original reinterpretation of the character that is hard to surpass, even if Parrilla is almost an unknown compared to Roberts. Yet, there are some interesting aspects to this reinvention of the Grimms' fairy tale. The ball gowns worn by Julia Roberts and Lily Collins (Snow White) are resplendent. The castle on the hilltop, the village, and the home of the seven dwarves are imaginative sets. The film holds your interest, and parts of it will leave you almost spellbound, but afterward you will forget most of the story because it was too disconnected and chaotic, almost nonsensical. The spell-breaker at the end is seeing Snow White doing a music video during the final credits, where she sings a rock song with the repeated phrase--I believe, I believe, I believe, I believe in love, love. I assume Lily Collins wants to be a singer, and her contract promised her one song in the movie--somewhere. The dwarves are renamed for trademark reasons, so we have Napoleon, Half-Pint, Grub, Grimm, Wolf, Butcher, and Chuckles. They have a complex about being short, so they are thieves who rob travelers while wearing stilts. Armie Hammer as the love interest for both Snow and the step-mom starts out showing promise, but when Roberts slips him a love potion that accidentally causes puppy love, which literally means the victim wants to follow his master everywhere and lick his master's face, things start getting a bit exaggerated. This is probably why the film doesn't work as well as it should have. There's an inclination to be a seriously creative reinvention of the Snow White story coupled with a desire to be a spoof where everyone hams it up. (Nathan Lane, as the Queen's valet, gives up on high art and jumps into the spoof, so he's the most consistent character.) It's confusing. Roberts' character is the most confusing of all, and it seems the director kept changing his mind, so sometimes she borders on being truly evil and sometimes she is mocking her own character. The queen's mirror is not the conventional mirror of Snow White lore. When the Queen demands a consultation, she enters a body of water from which she arises, and then walks into a thatched-roof hut on a tiny island in another dimension, somewhere tropical; although the natives are absent, it could have been Henri Rousseau's Banana Harvest. The conversations with the oracle might have been an interesting opportunity to philosophize, but this was not an intellectual movie. The only words of wisdom imparted by the oracle in the mirror (nicely, and seriously, played by Roberts)--there is a price to pay for magic. In the end, you can watch this movie for light entertainment. It won't give you nightmares. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    A slightly different take on the classic tale of "Snow White".

    Julia Roberts gives it a lot of spice as the Evil Queen - and not in all the ways you might expect. As in the previews, she brings a lot to the table. Lily Collins as Snow White was... well, not great, but good enough for the role. Prince Alcott (Armie Hammer) gets more than he's prepared for when visiting the kingdom. The
    A slightly different take on the classic tale of "Snow White".

    Julia Roberts gives it a lot of spice as the Evil Queen - and not in all the ways you might expect. As in the previews, she brings a lot to the table. Lily Collins as Snow White was... well, not great, but good enough for the role. Prince Alcott (Armie Hammer) gets more than he's prepared for when visiting the kingdom. The dwarves were entertaining and funny, just as the rest of the story, but even with the overall laughs it wasn't an awesome film.

    Good enough for a couple watches, however, and some silly fun with a classic story.
    Expand
  15. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    Surprisingly, not terrible. It isn't a great movie, but you won't regret seeing it. Julia Roberts' evil queen is suitably evil and sells the role very well. It was a worthwhile addition to the Snow White canon, and the twist at the end will keep you interested. A nice movie for family rental night.
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure if this is a Disney movie, but it defiantly has that taste to it. My 8 and 10 year olds really loved it, but the humor really was directed for kids, as was much of the movie. Great for kids...
  17. Jun 16, 2012
    5
    I had a lot of fun with this movie, and even took some other people to see it. While it lacked some of the creativity I was hoping and expecting from a Tarsem movie, it was still a lot of fun. I'm content with the casting of the prince and Snow White herself, but some of the casting was questionable. Julia Roberts was not, to me, a very solid evil Queen. Her accent was strange and forced.I had a lot of fun with this movie, and even took some other people to see it. While it lacked some of the creativity I was hoping and expecting from a Tarsem movie, it was still a lot of fun. I'm content with the casting of the prince and Snow White herself, but some of the casting was questionable. Julia Roberts was not, to me, a very solid evil Queen. Her accent was strange and forced. Her behavior even more odd. The dwarves were also fairly weak. Two members from the cast of Pitboss? Their acting made the dwarf scenes suffer when they should've been a more comedic moment. I would rather see this again than the other Snow White movie of the season. Expand
  18. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    Sugary and sweet, the Snow White reboot Mirror Mirror is incredibly gorgeous to behold (it is a Tarsem film, after all), but the remaining picture ultimately is too watered down with simplistic morals, pop culture references, and a lack of imagination storyline-wise. As far as dedication to roles go, Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane are put through endless humiliations that they fully dedicateSugary and sweet, the Snow White reboot Mirror Mirror is incredibly gorgeous to behold (it is a Tarsem film, after all), but the remaining picture ultimately is too watered down with simplistic morals, pop culture references, and a lack of imagination storyline-wise. As far as dedication to roles go, Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane are put through endless humiliations that they fully dedicate themselves to, even if most of the gags fall flat (there is a grasshopper-rape joke that took me by surprise), so that is admirable. Hammer in particular seems to be stuck after the success of The Social Network with roles that don't do his talents justice. He reminds of a rising James Franco. In comparison, the leading ladies (Lily Collins as Snow White & Julia Roberts as The Evil Queen) seem dull and kind of float through their roles. There is eye candy here (in both the visuals and the actors) and that might get audiences through it, but it overall seems to be pleased with just dealing out sugar and leaving the spice out of the screenplay. Expand
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    This is one of the most ridiculous, yet not funny films I have recently seen. There's a lot to see here, but not so much to follow. The screenplay seems to be put together by kids, maybe for kids, but the real problem is the lame slapstick comedy. I laughed two times, I kid you not, and one of these times I laughed AT the movie. Julia Roberts is miscast as the evil queen and Armie HammerThis is one of the most ridiculous, yet not funny films I have recently seen. There's a lot to see here, but not so much to follow. The screenplay seems to be put together by kids, maybe for kids, but the real problem is the lame slapstick comedy. I laughed two times, I kid you not, and one of these times I laughed AT the movie. Julia Roberts is miscast as the evil queen and Armie Hammer overacts every line.

    Still, it's so naive and silly, it's hard to be really angry at it.
    Expand
  20. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    OK. Someone compared it to the "Princess Bride" I sort of get that: a bit of humor, a bit of parody-satire, some romance--but here it is not nearly as seamless, or likable as the Princess Bride.--it feels disjointed.
  21. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    I am hard to please. I know I am. I watched about 30 minutes of it, without thinking or doing anything else. The sets and costumes were great, but I was bored. So bored that i decided to fast forward. Not off to a good start. I didn't hate it, but I also didn't like it either. If you want to watch it, just be sure you have the remote near by. Thank God i watched it on netflix and didn'tI am hard to please. I know I am. I watched about 30 minutes of it, without thinking or doing anything else. The sets and costumes were great, but I was bored. So bored that i decided to fast forward. Not off to a good start. I didn't hate it, but I also didn't like it either. If you want to watch it, just be sure you have the remote near by. Thank God i watched it on netflix and didn't even have to pay anything to watch it. Eh, it's okay. Expand
  22. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    Okay, but very annoying and strange. Visually stunning but a weak script and uneven story really held this one back. Add to that an annoying performance from Julia Roberts, all Mirror Mirror provides is an attractive mess.
  23. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    "Mirror, Mirror" does not bring fresh air to the movies. I feel that this movie is very good for its target, tween girls. "Mirror, Mirror" has a lot of color, magic and it is full of good intentions. Julia Roberts plays well the role of the evil Queen. Lily Collins is a correct Snow White and Armie Hammer also. "Mirror, Mirror" reminds me of "Ella Enchanted" and "Get a Clue", movies to"Mirror, Mirror" does not bring fresh air to the movies. I feel that this movie is very good for its target, tween girls. "Mirror, Mirror" has a lot of color, magic and it is full of good intentions. Julia Roberts plays well the role of the evil Queen. Lily Collins is a correct Snow White and Armie Hammer also. "Mirror, Mirror" reminds me of "Ella Enchanted" and "Get a Clue", movies to watch and tea time forgettable. Expand
  24. May 26, 2013
    5
    This film is beautiful, but bad acting (with the exception of Julia Roberts), a BADLY written script, and extremely BAD CGI. The only things good about it is its witty humor, and very good cinematography. In the end, I can only give this a 5/10. This could have been better.
  25. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    Entertaining funny and joyful Tarsem Singh created a fantastic world .
    Julia was just having fun loved that performance Hammer was good i can't think about a better actor to play the prince charming
  26. Jul 25, 2014
    5
    Another Snow White disappointment. The film suffers from not being able to decide whether it is a family film or a sarcastic Snow White spoof. There are good funny moments for adults then turns into a disneyish child's film. Julia Roberts is great as the evil Queen though.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    This is fussy filmmaking, overly made-up (the costume mandate seems to include the buzzwords "coffee filters," "croquembouche," and "Day-Glo paint") and bereft of wit.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Apr 4, 2012
    40
    To borrow a line Roberts spits at Collins, there's something about Mirror that's incredibly irritating. Fingers crossed Huntsman has more edge.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 2, 2012
    40
    It's evasive and feeble; Julia Roberts is not a properly funny or satisfying villain, and yet neither is she the interestingly flawed, even sympathetic figure she might have been if the film had kept the all-important question she asks the mirror.