Relativity Media | Release Date: March 30, 2012
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
64
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
heyitsmegrif4Jul 22, 2012
Mirror Mirror is pretty enough and funny enough with enough good performances to please. Also this may not be Tarsem's best film because of its sort of cliche run of the story. I give this movie 52%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
j_cianciulliJul 17, 2012
Of the two recent Snow White adaptations, not only was this worse, but this is easily the least necessary and, to some extent, the most disappointing. Taking over the reigns of Snow White is Lily Collins, a beautiful young actress... who hasOf the two recent Snow White adaptations, not only was this worse, but this is easily the least necessary and, to some extent, the most disappointing. Taking over the reigns of Snow White is Lily Collins, a beautiful young actress... who has a really bad problem for an actress; she can't act. The storyline is unoriginal, but this time around Julia Roberts is playing the evil queen... who is basically just a more sarcastic and PG-friendly Charlize Theron. Roberts acted her heart out, like usual, but it just couldn't save this Titanic from sinking. Also in this movie? Armie Hammer... who went from The Social Network and J. Edgar to this... my oh my is his short career coming to a close. And, Nathan Lane, wasting his career away. Overall, I was pretty disappointed by Mirror Mirror, but it wasn't all horrific. Roberts, like I said, can never be a bad actress, and it was just stunning to look at. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
pinattarJun 16, 2012
mirror mirror on the wall who.........has the hairiest eyebrows of them all. sorry i just had to. anyway, i put off seeing this movie for a couple of weeks based on all the negative reviews that i heard of it. but i had a bunch of free timemirror mirror on the wall who.........has the hairiest eyebrows of them all. sorry i just had to. anyway, i put off seeing this movie for a couple of weeks based on all the negative reviews that i heard of it. but i had a bunch of free time so i decided to watch it and man was i glad i did. this is a really fun movie, from start to (close to the) finish. the acting was great, even from the supporting. the writing and directing was great. the only thing that i had a problem with was the forest scenes. they just looked so artificial that i sometimes took me out of the movie. and knowing that it was a Tarsem movie made it even worse. also the musicale number was just so out of place (and so was the music that went with it), but those are negligible. you know when they say "a movie for the whole family", and it turns out just to be a bunch of bs. well this is the kind of movie that they are talking about, i really do think that everyone would enjoy this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
noonanMar 30, 2012
I am so surprised by the negative reviews, as I saw this with 12 fifth graders and their families and we all loved it! The casting was great, the dwarves were a riot, and the inside jokes were fantastic. Give it a try!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
rodriqueJul 8, 2012
With a poor performance from Julia Roberts and Lily Collins acting like a 3 years old girl ,this movie looks like an bollywood production that was made in two weeks
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ReviewCriticApr 1, 2012
Although it tries to be good, Mirror Mirror just ends up being what you would expect from a movie adaption of Snow White.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MRedzuanMar 31, 2012
The critics really need to lighten up, this is pure fun entertainment. Mirror Mirror wasn't good, it was great. The cast was hilariously perfect. Julia Roberts is a constant scene-stealer, Armie Hammer was the perfect prince, the dwarves wereThe critics really need to lighten up, this is pure fun entertainment. Mirror Mirror wasn't good, it was great. The cast was hilariously perfect. Julia Roberts is a constant scene-stealer, Armie Hammer was the perfect prince, the dwarves were funny, and hot newcomer Lily Collins was solid. Goofy entertainment for the kids and the script was extremely funny, adults will love all the double entendre's and some social commentary on the upper classes that govern the people. Singh even managed to fit in some hilarious lines on forced inter-species intercourse that had me burst with laughter in the theatre. Stay for the credits to see Snow White's Bollywood-inspired end. Will definitely watch it again Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
bicknaysApr 1, 2012
The art direction and costume design are wonderful. The story is sufficient to hold up the aesthetic. Julia Roberts is fun and inoffensive as the queen. The jokes are mostly ho-hum but the pace keeps moving. It was a nice date movie - light,The art direction and costume design are wonderful. The story is sufficient to hold up the aesthetic. Julia Roberts is fun and inoffensive as the queen. The jokes are mostly ho-hum but the pace keeps moving. It was a nice date movie - light, easy, sweet, pretty to look at. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
gunnyartApr 10, 2012
My pre-teen daughter and I watched it and enjoyed it. It wasn't spectacular but I didn't find any major fault with it. I laughed out loud several times.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryApr 3, 2012
This light-hearted twist on the Snow White story falls flat in almost every way. Julia Roberts plays the evil queen, whose jealousy of her step-daughter (Lily Collins) drives her to vicious acts. The deviations from the original plot areThis light-hearted twist on the Snow White story falls flat in almost every way. Julia Roberts plays the evil queen, whose jealousy of her step-daughter (Lily Collins) drives her to vicious acts. The deviations from the original plot are interesting, but the dialogue is seldom clever, even when it tries to use contemporary vernacular. Director Tarsem brings his unique eye for visual extravagance and infuses good-natured energy to the uninspired script. I really wanted to like this flick, but just kept getting stunned its ineptness. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
eightcellApr 2, 2012
I like Tarsem, but I went into this film expecting a cringeworthy kids film. I was pleasantly surprised by the all ages humor, twists on the original story, and awesome costume design.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
BikerjamesApr 1, 2012
The young children in the audience seemed to enjoy the film, but this is not a film for adults. The script is weak, the acting is all over the place. Julia Roberts is fine, and the Prince is played well by Armie Hammer, but actors are onlyThe young children in the audience seemed to enjoy the film, but this is not a film for adults. The script is weak, the acting is all over the place. Julia Roberts is fine, and the Prince is played well by Armie Hammer, but actors are only as good as the lines given to them. There was no sense of wonder, and the humor for adults is non-existant. The story line is changed up from the traditional version which didn't bother me, but some of the changes are ludicrous, such as the dwarfs running around on stilts, and the amazing/ridiculous things the dwarfs can do on the stilts. I never laughed once during the film. I did enjoy some of the look and costumes. Overall very disappointing. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
themidgardknighApr 1, 2012
This movie was a lot of fun. I've been seeing a lot of reviews call it weak and for children. I don't agree at all. I think the people saying those things are those who have lost their innocence and imagination. I read a review where someoneThis movie was a lot of fun. I've been seeing a lot of reviews call it weak and for children. I don't agree at all. I think the people saying those things are those who have lost their innocence and imagination. I read a review where someone said, "This movie is a delight and it doesn't need to be anything else." I completely agree. I actually found myself laughing a lot during the film. Tarsem's vision is gorgeous, as it always is. Great job, once again sir. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
jarjouraApr 3, 2012
I think critics are misunderstanding the point of this movie. It's a pure visual treat and I found some of the innuendos to be clever and funny :-). It's not a deep movie plot wise, and it doesn't need to be. It's simply a rendering of aI think critics are misunderstanding the point of this movie. It's a pure visual treat and I found some of the innuendos to be clever and funny :-). It's not a deep movie plot wise, and it doesn't need to be. It's simply a rendering of a fairytale that makes you smile from start to finish. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BadMovieLoverApr 7, 2012
A lot of people talking about this movie were not enthused. I know some who said they preferred to wait for he next Snow White flick â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
DanielOnFilmMar 31, 2012
Like his previous films The Cell and last year's Immortals, Tarsem once again shows a fascination with lavish costume and set design inMirror Mirror, steeped in symbolism. Tarsem reveals a talent for rapid fire dialog and flowingLike his previous films The Cell and last year's Immortals, Tarsem once again shows a fascination with lavish costume and set design inMirror Mirror, steeped in symbolism. Tarsem reveals a talent for rapid fire dialog and flowing conversational rhythms from his actors. The dialog, witty, modern, and biting, is the film's strong suit. Furthermore, the plot of Mirror Mirror is lean, organic. Every scene has a purpose, not a moment is wasted. One scene triggers another, like falling dominoes in a series of causes and effects, actions and reactions. However, Mirror Mirror's chief problem is--who is it supposed to be for? The story itself is a fairy tail--presumably aimed at children--but Tarsem is as fetishistic as ever in Mirror Mirror, and the film runs deep with female libido. Ultimately, Mirror Mirror defies being either recommended or condemned, but is rather the kind of film that boils down to personal taste. Some adults may find it too simplistic and cartoony, particularly in the bland depiction of Snow White herself, yet others may appreciate it as a kinky, biting satire of fairy tales and fantasy films that subverts traditional gender roles. It's weird, it's whimsical, and it's definitely not for everyone, but it has a unique sense of itself that could earn it cult status. Full review on my blog. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMar 30, 2012
Two snow whites this year, is a great considence, and the first is Mirror Mirror, with Collins and Roberts, and I need say, the film can not be the better of the comedy films, but is really funny, I love this version of Snow White.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
DannyHerrera16Apr 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Movie It sucks, really had many expectations for this movie, but it is very bad. The history is not good and the script seems made for a 3 year old, really sucks. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
jacnagleApr 6, 2012
Not sure why this film starts off trying to be clever and unconventional. By the end, it manages to completely embalm itself in trite, insulting nonsense and cliche. Better to suffer a bout of constipation than sit through this stinker.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CriticalStateMay 17, 2012
It does not lack in style, but it does lack in almost every other area. A cast that seems to pander to a more adult audience (while also being child friendly) fails in its delivery to that audience. The movie fails in its introduction ofIt does not lack in style, but it does lack in almost every other area. A cast that seems to pander to a more adult audience (while also being child friendly) fails in its delivery to that audience. The movie fails in its introduction of the dwarfs, who are all poor actors and frankly do not have any funny lines. Julia Roberts attempts to ham it up and manages to be tolerable in this flick, but the writing damns her at every turn (along with the rest of the cast). The movie badly wants to be smart, but in the end is devoid of charm and any semblance of wit. If you are a Julia Roberts fan, or wish to see a rising star in Armie Hammer hit a speed bump, then you may consider seeing this one. Otherwise, it is well worth avoiding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Pelen23Jul 25, 2014
Another Snow White disappointment. The film suffers from not being able to decide whether it is a family film or a sarcastic Snow White spoof. There are good funny moments for adults then turns into a disneyish child's film. Julia Roberts isAnother Snow White disappointment. The film suffers from not being able to decide whether it is a family film or a sarcastic Snow White spoof. There are good funny moments for adults then turns into a disneyish child's film. Julia Roberts is great as the evil Queen though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ShiiraMay 12, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. These dwarfs eat meat, and this princess is no vegetarian. In Mirror Mirror, the woodland creatures don't want anything to do with Snow White. It's an enchantless forest; not dark exactly, but it's sterile, lacking light, and especially, magic. Dissimilar to the young woman's 1937 forerunner, when the huntsman, the would-be murderer, gives Snow a reprieve from her death sentence, an ordinance from the queen, the princess' wicked stepmother, the arising girl isn't greeted by any critters, following that mad dash through the woods. As a child, her father, the king, bequeathed a dagger to his daughter. It's implied that the animals know she's armed and carnivorous. Instead of gooseberry pie, apple dumplings, and plum pudding, this Snow White prepares lamb gravy for the inaugural feast, which raises a pertinent question: Did she butcher the young sheep with her own bare hands? Outfitted with a decidedly more rugged gal, Mirror Mirror performs a sort of alchemy on Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, whose heroine respects non-human life, a characteristic that seems more ideologically consistent with Buddhism than the Christian faith. The remake avows for this reconstructed eastern thinking, ferreted out from the Disney classic, in a scene, where the kitchen help encourages Snow to venture beyond the palace gates, and see for the first time, the impoverished lives of the queen's overtaxed subjects, wasting away in a kingdom that the sheltered princess recalls from childhood, as being distinguished by singing and dancing. Snow's distancing from her provincial-minded upbringing is straight of the Buddha's origin story, let alone, Little Buddha, especially in the scene where Prince Siddhartha(Keanu Reeves) encounters old age, illness, and death, setting the stage for his declination as the next sovereign, foregoing the crown in favor of asceticism, a monkhood for the ages. On his first visit, accompanied by the king, Siddhartha observes people at leisure, an ongoing party, similar to the opening animated sequence in Mirror Mirror, narrated by the queen, who interjects about how nobody had jobs, giving young Snow a false impression about the peasants, just like the future Buddha, since his father, by decree, asked that the townsfolk banish the undesirables from plain view before their official visit. Sound familiar? On the prince's return trip, this time, with only his driver Channa for company, he learns that people work for a living, often to the bone. Likewise, Snow, possessing the same naivety about class warfare as Prince Dharming, in hushed tones, asks a woman of modest means about the hamlet's sad state with a melancholic wonderment. No doubt suspicious about the fine threads that adorn Snow, the starving denizen answers conservatively, informing the poorly treated, but nevertheless, privileged royal, that there hasn't been a jubilee of any sort in ages. Was Snow's father really a benevolent ruler? Is he responsible for the dwarfs' ostracization? Perhaps, there is little difference in how both royals treated their subjects. Unlike the missing king, his second wife, the queen, never bothered with propaganda like her husband or Siddhartha's father, King Suddhodana, making the wicked stepmother, if anything, an honest monarch. Since the queen's subjects are kept off-screen in the original, as a result, Snow is politically hard to read, but in Mirror Mirror, we know for sure that our heroine has a conscience, with nary an interest for earthly possessions. Interestingly, one of the dwarfs, Chuck, is Chinese, giving their lair just the slightest hint of being an emblematic monastery. In Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Bashful describes the sleeping girl stretched out across their tiny beds as an "angel", but her high regard for animals, a tenet associated with Buddhism, makes her supposed celestial nature, strictly a byproduct of her ethereal beauty, because in a filmic sense, her latent eastern leanings casts her out of the enchanted forest for being a heretic. The tree limbs act as wizened claws, attempting repeatedly to grab her. The elms are jealous of the Bodhi. Seemingly, the face of God manifests itself on a trunk. As for Snow White's housemates, in Mirror Mirror, the seven dwarfs are thieves, not miners, yet it's their latter incarnation in the Disney film which seems the more malevolent of the two. Armed with pickaxes, the little men stand poised around the bed, ready to hack the stranger into pieces, until they learn that the uninvited guest is a lost girl, and not somebody who has an eye on their diamond mine. When it comes to jewels, the dwarfs have the potential to be cold-blooded killers; they also might be lovers. While Half-Pint covets Snow, she doesn't reciprocate his affection, but does her predecessor covet Grumpy? In icing, she writes "Grumpy" on a cake as she sings "Someday My Prince Will Come". Grumpy, who looks as old as the Buddha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NickkkJun 21, 2012
I'm giving it a 1 only because it made me smile twice. Julia Roberts could have been much more convincing and the overall acting and the story were lame. I've hardly ever seen a comedy as boding as this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
svetapiatakovaMar 30, 2012
When a story as legendary as Snow White comes to life (twice in 2012), the stakes are pretty high to make it entertaining yet keep that fairy tale feel children love so much, that air of wonder, with the quiet rustle of pages for soundtrack.When a story as legendary as Snow White comes to life (twice in 2012), the stakes are pretty high to make it entertaining yet keep that fairy tale feel children love so much, that air of wonder, with the quiet rustle of pages for soundtrack. One would not expect so much snow from the Indian director Tartsem Singh, or maybe itâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroJun 7, 2012
Mirror Mirror is undeniably beautiful, a grand spectacle. Let's forget about the story, it's for children tale before a sleep after all. With impressive cast and Bollywood dance sequence, I couldn't deny I like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NJWolfgangJun 29, 2012
Thank god that no one involved in this project took themselves seriously. This is very reminiscent of The Princess Bride. There are really no over the to special effects, the costumes are not impressive, the cinematography is mediocre.Thank god that no one involved in this project took themselves seriously. This is very reminiscent of The Princess Bride. There are really no over the to special effects, the costumes are not impressive, the cinematography is mediocre. What saves it is the performances. Everyone involved clearly does not take themselves seriously and have fully accepted that they are just having fun. Sadly this could have not been made and no one would have missed it. In fact it probably shouldn't have been made. Imagine doing J Edgar and then following that up with Mirror Mirror. Doesn't look good on a resume. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LeewayJul 3, 2012
"It's the same Snow White you've seen before..."
The storyline starts off as like any other Snow White movie like such from Disney but it's different in setting and tone. The Queen bores a beautiful daughter in whom she names it Snow White,
"It's the same Snow White you've seen before..."
The storyline starts off as like any other Snow White movie like such from Disney but it's different in setting and tone. The Queen bores a beautiful daughter in whom she names it Snow White, but she dies quickly from an illness which leaves Snow White under the protection of the King. The King remarries another woman and she becomes Queen. He then goes out into battle but never returns. The Wicked Queen imprisons Snow White. She focuses more towards the physical appearance than the inward beauty because she must remain the fairest of them all....Snow White escapes, meets the Seven Dwarves...falls in love with a Prince...ya-di-dah. This is all being narrated by the Evil Queen whom she believes this story belongs to her. Its funny to hear her **** sarcastic humor especially towards the prologue. The Queens main concern is to get rid of Snow White, marry a rich Prince who can pay off her 'financial problems' and live happily ever after. It however, doesn't happened that way...
Its very fun, charming but often too sweet or (like the consensus said) lacking in depth. However, the key to this film is the actors that are involved in it. They made each character so likeable and peppy. Julia Roberts is the main show and she really balances the evilness and sarcasm of her villainous character. I think she did a really good job and I'm hoping that other future actresses would look to her for inspiration. Lily Cole is the best choice for this kind of Snow White. She looks sweet and innocent but mature. Lily Cole' Snow White also displays that sense of desperation to be free and who can blame her, she'd just turned 18. The Seven Dwarves did a good job but they weren't as surprising as the eight trio from Snow White & the Huntsman (SWATH: the Dwarves in that movie changed the mood and lightened the tone). Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane did a good job too.
Another key part that made it so 'lively' was the visuals and the costume designs so i give them props for making it colorful and bright. I mean who thinks of a dress made in the form of a swan or bunny ears for the hat. It was also unique to see an egg-yoke colored coat and dress both worn by Snow White and the Queen. The tall boats that the Dwarves worn were also something ordinary and the castle looked like it came straight out of India.
Overall, this is one of Singh' better works than his previous one, Immortals
*the song in the end is also very catchy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AlienSpaceBatsMar 16, 2013
Probably about as mainstream as Tarsem gets, this adaptation plays the fairytale setting pretty straight, with excellent art direction and unique visual style (to be expected). Mirror Mirror has what Snow White and the Huntsman doesn't;Probably about as mainstream as Tarsem gets, this adaptation plays the fairytale setting pretty straight, with excellent art direction and unique visual style (to be expected). Mirror Mirror has what Snow White and the Huntsman doesn't; craft, imagination and levity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
rafael14Aug 10, 2012
this is not a good movie, because the history is not the real thruth and also when i watch i asked to myself: Who is the Hustman?, but there is something good in this film, is the actors they are very good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ClariseSamuelsSep 22, 2012
This movie was a bit of a mishmash. Having recently finished watching Season 1 of television series Once Upon a Time, Julia Roberts in the role of the evil queen does not compare well to Lana Parrilla. Parrilla's evil queen is a doubleThis movie was a bit of a mishmash. Having recently finished watching Season 1 of television series Once Upon a Time, Julia Roberts in the role of the evil queen does not compare well to Lana Parrilla. Parrilla's evil queen is a double character appearing both in the traditional fairy-tale realm and in a modern-day scenario, and Parrilla gives an original reinterpretation of the character that is hard to surpass, even if Parrilla is almost an unknown compared to Roberts. Yet, there are some interesting aspects to this reinvention of the Grimms' fairy tale. The ball gowns worn by Julia Roberts and Lily Collins (Snow White) are resplendent. The castle on the hilltop, the village, and the home of the seven dwarves are imaginative sets. The film holds your interest, and parts of it will leave you almost spellbound, but afterward you will forget most of the story because it was too disconnected and chaotic, almost nonsensical. The spell-breaker at the end is seeing Snow White doing a music video during the final credits, where she sings a rock song with the repeated phrase--I believe, I believe, I believe, I believe in love, love. I assume Lily Collins wants to be a singer, and her contract promised her one song in the movie--somewhere. The dwarves are renamed for trademark reasons, so we have Napoleon, Half-Pint, Grub, Grimm, Wolf, Butcher, and Chuckles. They have a complex about being short, so they are thieves who rob travelers while wearing stilts. Armie Hammer as the love interest for both Snow and the step-mom starts out showing promise, but when Roberts slips him a love potion that accidentally causes puppy love, which literally means the victim wants to follow his master everywhere and lick his master's face, things start getting a bit exaggerated. This is probably why the film doesn't work as well as it should have. There's an inclination to be a seriously creative reinvention of the Snow White story coupled with a desire to be a spoof where everyone hams it up. (Nathan Lane, as the Queen's valet, gives up on high art and jumps into the spoof, so he's the most consistent character.) It's confusing. Roberts' character is the most confusing of all, and it seems the director kept changing his mind, so sometimes she borders on being truly evil and sometimes she is mocking her own character. The queen's mirror is not the conventional mirror of Snow White lore. When the Queen demands a consultation, she enters a body of water from which she arises, and then walks into a thatched-roof hut on a tiny island in another dimension, somewhere tropical; although the natives are absent, it could have been Henri Rousseau's Banana Harvest. The conversations with the oracle might have been an interesting opportunity to philosophize, but this was not an intellectual movie. The only words of wisdom imparted by the oracle in the mirror (nicely, and seriously, played by Roberts)--there is a price to pay for magic. In the end, you can watch this movie for light entertainment. It won't give you nightmares. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews