Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A wicked enchantress schemes and scrambles for control of a spirited orphan’s throne and the attention of a charming prince. When Snow White’s beauty wins the heart of the prince that she desperately pursues, the Queen banishes her to the forest, where a ravening man-eating beast hungrily awaits. Rescued by a band of diminutive highway robbers, Snow White grows into an indomitable young woman determined to take back her realm from the treacherous Queen. With the support of her subjects, she roars into action in an epic battle that blends spectacle, magic and contemporary humor in Singh’s signature, jaw-dropping visual style. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 29, 2012
    85
    Mirror Mirror has a great deal of energy and wit and color, so much that it sometimes threatens to go right over the top. Somehow, though, it always stops short of being just too much.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Holmes
    Mar 30, 2012
    70
    The performance that lingers after the film like a fizzy champagne buzz is Hammer's. He remains at all times deeply and persuasively sexy, but he also commits utterly to sequences that require a level of silliness that not all traditionally gorgeous young actors can give themselves over to so completely.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    The finery and regalia of their contributions are integral to Singh's vision, giving this mostly conventional princess story its fair share of romantic froth and more than a little moxie.
  4. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Mar 29, 2012
    50
    For all its pomp and fabulosity, Mirror Mirror is actually Tarsem Singh's most minimalistic effort, a dialed-down game board of elaborate pieces that's akin to the human chess set captained by Julia Robert's evil Queen Clementianna.
  5. Reviewed by: Sandie Angulo Chen
    Mar 29, 2012
    50
    As Snow White, actress Lily Collins is a washout.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 2, 2012
    40
    It's evasive and feeble; Julia Roberts is not a properly funny or satisfying villain, and yet neither is she the interestingly flawed, even sympathetic figure she might have been if the film had kept the all-important question she asks the mirror.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 30, 2012
    0
    There is one big winner in this mess, though. Congratulations, 1961's "Snow White and the Three Stooges": You're now the second-worst movie on the subject.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 55
  2. Negative: 13 out of 55
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This movie was a lot of fun. I've been seeing a lot of reviews call it weak and for children. I don't agree at all. I think the people saying those things are those who have lost their innocence and imagination. I read a review where someone said, "This movie is a delight and it doesn't need to be anything else." I completely agree. I actually found myself laughing a lot during the film. Tarsem's vision is gorgeous, as it always is. Great job, once again sir. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    mirror mirror on the wall who.........has the hairiest eyebrows of them all. sorry i just had to. anyway, i put off seeing this movie for a couple of weeks based on all the negative reviews that i heard of it. but i had a bunch of free time so i decided to watch it and man was i glad i did. this is a really fun movie, from start to (close to the) finish. the acting was great, even from the supporting. the writing and directing was great. the only thing that i had a problem with was the forest scenes. they just looked so artificial that i sometimes took me out of the movie. and knowing that it was a Tarsem movie made it even worse. also the musicale number was just so out of place (and so was the music that went with it), but those are negligible. you know when they say "a movie for the whole family", and it turns out just to be a bunch of bs. well this is the kind of movie that they are talking about, i really do think that everyone would enjoy this movie. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    Espelho, Espelho Meu reflete a velha história da Cinderela, mas com um toque a mais. A produção não chega a ser excelente e memorável, mas é boa de assistir. Expand
  4. May 12, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. These dwarfs eat meat, and this princess is no vegetarian. In Mirror Mirror, the woodland creatures don't want anything to do with Snow White. It's an enchantless forest; not dark exactly, but it's sterile, lacking light, and especially, magic. Dissimilar to the young woman's 1937 forerunner, when the huntsman, the would-be murderer, gives Snow a reprieve from her death sentence, an ordinance from the queen, the princess' wicked stepmother, the arising girl isn't greeted by any critters, following that mad dash through the woods. As a child, her father, the king, bequeathed a dagger to his daughter. It's implied that the animals know she's armed and carnivorous. Instead of gooseberry pie, apple dumplings, and plum pudding, this Snow White prepares lamb gravy for the inaugural feast, which raises a pertinent question: Did she butcher the young sheep with her own bare hands? Outfitted with a decidedly more rugged gal, Mirror Mirror performs a sort of alchemy on Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, whose heroine respects non-human life, a characteristic that seems more ideologically consistent with Buddhism than the Christian faith. The remake avows for this reconstructed eastern thinking, ferreted out from the Disney classic, in a scene, where the kitchen help encourages Snow to venture beyond the palace gates, and see for the first time, the impoverished lives of the queen's overtaxed subjects, wasting away in a kingdom that the sheltered princess recalls from childhood, as being distinguished by singing and dancing. Snow's distancing from her provincial-minded upbringing is straight of the Buddha's origin story, let alone, Little Buddha, especially in the scene where Prince Siddhartha(Keanu Reeves) encounters old age, illness, and death, setting the stage for his declination as the next sovereign, foregoing the crown in favor of asceticism, a monkhood for the ages. On his first visit, accompanied by the king, Siddhartha observes people at leisure, an ongoing party, similar to the opening animated sequence in Mirror Mirror, narrated by the queen, who interjects about how nobody had jobs, giving young Snow a false impression about the peasants, just like the future Buddha, since his father, by decree, asked that the townsfolk banish the undesirables from plain view before their official visit. Sound familiar? On the prince's return trip, this time, with only his driver Channa for company, he learns that people work for a living, often to the bone. Likewise, Snow, possessing the same naivety about class warfare as Prince Dharming, in hushed tones, asks a woman of modest means about the hamlet's sad state with a melancholic wonderment. No doubt suspicious about the fine threads that adorn Snow, the starving denizen answers conservatively, informing the poorly treated, but nevertheless, privileged royal, that there hasn't been a jubilee of any sort in ages. Was Snow's father really a benevolent ruler? Is he responsible for the dwarfs' ostracization? Perhaps, there is little difference in how both royals treated their subjects. Unlike the missing king, his second wife, the queen, never bothered with propaganda like her husband or Siddhartha's father, King Suddhodana, making the wicked stepmother, if anything, an honest monarch. Since the queen's subjects are kept off-screen in the original, as a result, Snow is politically hard to read, but in Mirror Mirror, we know for sure that our heroine has a conscience, with nary an interest for earthly possessions. Interestingly, one of the dwarfs, Chuck, is Chinese, giving their lair just the slightest hint of being an emblematic monastery. In Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Bashful describes the sleeping girl stretched out across their tiny beds as an "angel", but her high regard for animals, a tenet associated with Buddhism, makes her supposed celestial nature, strictly a byproduct of her ethereal beauty, because in a filmic sense, her latent eastern leanings casts her out of the enchanted forest for being a heretic. The tree limbs act as wizened claws, attempting repeatedly to grab her. The elms are jealous of the Bodhi. Seemingly, the face of God manifests itself on a trunk. As for Snow White's housemates, in Mirror Mirror, the seven dwarfs are thieves, not miners, yet it's their latter incarnation in the Disney film which seems the more malevolent of the two. Armed with pickaxes, the little men stand poised around the bed, ready to hack the stranger into pieces, until they learn that the uninvited guest is a lost girl, and not somebody who has an eye on their diamond mine. When it comes to jewels, the dwarfs have the potential to be cold-blooded killers; they also might be lovers. While Half-Pint covets Snow, she doesn't reciprocate his affection, but does her predecessor covet Grumpy? In icing, she writes "Grumpy" on a cake as she sings "Someday My Prince Will Come". Grumpy, who looks as old as the Buddha. Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2014
    5
    Another Snow White disappointment. The film suffers from not being able to decide whether it is a family film or a sarcastic Snow White spoof. There are good funny moments for adults then turns into a disneyish child's film. Julia Roberts is great as the evil Queen though. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    This is one of the most ridiculous, yet not funny films I have recently seen. There's a lot to see here, but not so much to follow. The screenplay seems to be put together by kids, maybe for kids, but the real problem is the lame slapstick comedy. I laughed two times, I kid you not, and one of these times I laughed AT the movie. Julia Roberts is miscast as the evil queen and Armie Hammer overacts every line.

    Still, it's so naive and silly, it's hard to be really angry at it.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    Not sure why this film starts off trying to be clever and unconventional. By the end, it manages to completely embalm itself in trite, insulting nonsense and cliche. Better to suffer a bout of constipation than sit through this stinker. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers