Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 14, 2011
    88
    A terrific thriller with action sequences that function as a kind of action poetry.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 15, 2011
    100
    The most exciting action flick of the year, by a huge margin.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Dec 14, 2011
    91
    As Cruise clings to the side of the building using malfunctioning equipment, and a sandstorm looms in the distance, the question shifts from whether Bird can direct an action film to whether there's anyone out there who can top him.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 14, 2011
    88
    The wait for a great action movie is finally over. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol is pure popcorn of the highest, most flavorful order, and it's good for you, too.
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 16, 2011
    100
    Ghost Protocol brims with scenes that are exciting and amazing at the same time; they're brought off with such casual aplomb that they're funny, too.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 16, 2011
    91
    A very good thrill ride and Cruise is better than he's been in a long time.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 16, 2011
    88
    It's implausible as hell, but no less fun for that.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 15, 2011
    88
    Oscar-winning animator Brad Bird seems to have accomplished the impossible with the fourth Mission: Impossible installment by injecting the 15-year-old series with newfound, breathtaking energy.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 574 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 186
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    The action scenes are the one element that makes this mission great. Not only are they creative, but director Brad Bird handles them like an action master. Personally, I haven't seen action this good since "Casino Royale." Unlike a lot of other recent action films, there's no shaky cam, and the action almost always stays focused on one particular element. In other words, it rarely gets out of hand and overwhelming (unlike the last two "Transformers" movies for instance). Take note, this is how action should always be done. It's sad that action this great is now a novelty, but as an action fan, I'll sure as heck take this as a gift. Besides the cinematography, I also thought the makers did a clever job of giving Hunt opportunities to escape his "impossible" situations. It was like the creators adapted Matthew Vaughn's philosophy when he made "Kick-Ass". The philosophy was this: If there's at most a 1 out of 1000 chance that a character can accomplish the stunts given to them, it's included it in the movie. Is it likely Hunt could have done the things he did? No. Is it possible? Maybe. Adapting this philosophy prevents us from laughing at the action, and it allows us, instead, to just go along for the ride. My only quibble with this film is its running time. With its fairly simple storyline and stock characters, 133 minutes is pushing it just a bit. Luckily, the cast keeps things fresh with Simon Pegg giving an incredibly sharp performance as the techie-nerd comic relief. Tom Cruise also shows us that at 49 he can kick some major ass. This is a must-see for just about any action fan, and it has to be seen in theaters. The visuals are too incredible for you to get the same effect on a television. Full Review »
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    2
    The positive reviews for this film, by both the public and the critics, have made me wonder if I am living in an alternate universe. Perhaps people who go to Mission Impossible films are self selecting, and don't want anything different. But what about the critics? At any rate, I went with my two sons who are in their twenties and after the film ended we paused and then universally acclaimed that the film was absolutely pathetic. Wooden comic book writing, absurd situations (one must suspend disbelief, i know, but the Tom Cruise character cannot run down or later win a fight with a 60 year old physicist? Really?) and just overall the type of film I might have liked when I was 10 (or not). Trust me - go see Dragon Tatoo if you want to be entertained. Or stay home. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    1
    Marvel at Tom Cruise's ability to fill endless scenes with running (but never catching). Gasp in awe at the way he can fall thirty feet onto his face and not even bruise. Squeal with delight as 30 minutes of plot magically becomes two hours. This was an Apple commercial with James Bond dreams...but I suppose that means it was exactly the same as the rest of the series. Full Review »