User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 619 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 619

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    Good fun, great action... Hey, it's Mission Impossible, not the Joy Luck Club. Think it's too shallow? Check out Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon or Battle Los Angeles and get back to me.
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Like all of the Mission Impossible, this is a wild thrill ride with humour that very much entertains. That being said, the film doesn't seem as tight as the others and one is left feeling that they're being taken from one choreographed action spectacle to the next without much care for the story. As well, the opening credits, for some god-forsaken reason show every scene in the movie inLike all of the Mission Impossible, this is a wild thrill ride with humour that very much entertains. That being said, the film doesn't seem as tight as the others and one is left feeling that they're being taken from one choreographed action spectacle to the next without much care for the story. As well, the opening credits, for some god-forsaken reason show every scene in the movie in quick succession. All in all, it's an entertaining film, Tom Cruise gives it his all and its worth the price of admission for the Dubai Tower scene alone. But it's not as great as it could have been. Still better than the third. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Nice movie. A thrilling ride through the world of Ethan hunt. The stunts, locations and plot are so engaging that they compel a person to literally sit on his/her seat's edge. The big picture style and the amazing music encourage the audience to keep asking "what's next?". The execution is very realistic. A traditional espionage movie with 21 st century gadgets and the grandest locations!Nice movie. A thrilling ride through the world of Ethan hunt. The stunts, locations and plot are so engaging that they compel a person to literally sit on his/her seat's edge. The big picture style and the amazing music encourage the audience to keep asking "what's next?". The execution is very realistic. A traditional espionage movie with 21 st century gadgets and the grandest locations! A must watch movie! Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    When the IMF is implicated in an attack on the Kremlin Ethan Hunt and his team are forced to go rouge in order to clear their name and prevent nuclear war.

    As with most big-budget blockbusters there are a few things that don’t really add up if you think about them too much but it is easy to forgive any plot holes in a movie that is so entertaining. The Mission Impossible franchise is of
    When the IMF is implicated in an attack on the Kremlin Ethan Hunt and his team are forced to go rouge in order to clear their name and prevent nuclear war.

    As with most big-budget blockbusters there are a few things that don’t really add up if you think about them too much but it is easy to forgive any plot holes in a movie that is so entertaining. The Mission Impossible franchise is of course famous for its plethora of outrageous gadgets and they are put to use here to create some fantastic set pieces, including the much talked about scene in which Hunt scales the Burj Khalifa in Dubai using only a pair of prototype adhesive gloves. Refreshingly CGI free it is a rare joy to behold such impressive stunt work.

    The chemistry between the small team, on whom much of the movie focuses, is also very good. Benji (Simon Pegg) is given more screen time providing genuine comic relief and the addition of Brandt (Jeremy Renner) as a more down to earth, but equally effective, agent adds a further dimension to proceedings.

    All in all Ghost Protocol is an excellent addition to the series and proof that there is still plenty of life left in Mission Impossible yet.
    Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is the slickest, most entertaining and clever action flick since The Bourne Ultimatum. An action movie really has no right to be such a rounded and well-developed viewing experience, and Brad Bird completely embraces his newfound freedom as a live-action director, and has created an honest-to-goodness balls-out thrill ride. The action is superb - theMission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is the slickest, most entertaining and clever action flick since The Bourne Ultimatum. An action movie really has no right to be such a rounded and well-developed viewing experience, and Brad Bird completely embraces his newfound freedom as a live-action director, and has created an honest-to-goodness balls-out thrill ride. The action is superb - the key set-pieces completely eclipsing everything in the series thus-far. They're not just flawlessly executed either - they're completely original. Who'd have thought we'd see Ethan Hunt fighting his way single-handedly out of a rioting Russian prison accompanied by Dean Martin on loudspeaker? Or scaling the outside of the world's tallest building in Dubai with only the use of some high-tech sticky gloves? Or chasing his target through a ferocious sandstorm? Or in a fantastically brutal final brawl in a car factory? You just don't see scenes like this in everyday action films. It's not all about the action, either. The film has the best cast of the series (Tom Cruise has rarely been better, and both Simon Pegg and franchise newcomer Jeremy Renner impress), and the script is rather good as well (it's nicely self-aware, playfully deconstructing a few of the more ropey trademarks of the series, and pleasingly, writers Andre Nemec and Josh Appelbaum know just when to play dialogue completely straight and when to inject a bit of humour into the situation). The most concrete aspect of the film though, is the story. It's rather simple for a Mission: Impossible film, but it's done extremely well. Sometimes less really is more (except where action is concerned, as mentioned above). Quite simply, it puts the rest of the series to shame. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    The cast was well acted in the film. I particularly praise Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner for adding their own memorable atmosphere into the mix. The action sequence are also great and the suspense created during the dubai scene is phenomenal. My only problem with this film is the main villain. He isn't explained all that well I feel he could have been more defined from better writing. ButThe cast was well acted in the film. I particularly praise Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner for adding their own memorable atmosphere into the mix. The action sequence are also great and the suspense created during the dubai scene is phenomenal. My only problem with this film is the main villain. He isn't explained all that well I feel he could have been more defined from better writing. But to say the least Mission Impossible -Ghost Protocol is probably the best action flick I've seen this year Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    This was an excellent movie all around. The action was genius, haven't seen this good of action sequences in a long time. Brad Bird did a masterful job with this film. Tom Cruise knocks it out of the park again with another great pulse-pounding mission. Jeremy Renner is my favorite actor out there and he did a very good job all around in this movie. He has great promise and a very brightThis was an excellent movie all around. The action was genius, haven't seen this good of action sequences in a long time. Brad Bird did a masterful job with this film. Tom Cruise knocks it out of the park again with another great pulse-pounding mission. Jeremy Renner is my favorite actor out there and he did a very good job all around in this movie. He has great promise and a very bright future ahead of him. This movie was plain genius all around. The acting to the visuals, to the action, and of course the highly entertaining story/ plot. The only reason why i give it a 9 and not a 10 is some of the action sequences were very unbelievable, won't go into detail because I don't want to give anything away, but obviously thats expected from a movie like this, but overall, I loved this movie. This is a must-see film. If you like to watch a masterpiece, then go see this now. 9.5/10 Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    This should have been called 'Chuck' the movie. It's the funny humor of spy films passed, mixed with popcorn candy action that really makes this film stand out. I now want to go back and watch the first three. I just wish the first three were as good as this action masterpiece.
  9. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Wow! This movie is great! It has great acting and action, with a good plot. It also has great special effects and stunts. You don't have to watch the other three MI's to understand the plot, which I love because it's so hard to find sequels on DVD or Netflix. I highly recommend this movie to everyone, especially action-seekers.
  10. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Mission Impossible 4 was a movie that did not need to be made but does manage to be fun enough for a watch and has some scenes that bring some thrills. The supporting cast take on bigger rolls in the story which is a good choice as Tom Cruses does not come across as obnoxious as he did previously. There's a suspenseful scene in Dubai Tower I found to be entertaining and makes the movieMission Impossible 4 was a movie that did not need to be made but does manage to be fun enough for a watch and has some scenes that bring some thrills. The supporting cast take on bigger rolls in the story which is a good choice as Tom Cruses does not come across as obnoxious as he did previously. There's a suspenseful scene in Dubai Tower I found to be entertaining and makes the movie worth watching. Not the greatest movie but you could do a lot worst. Expand
  11. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" Se trata fácilmente de la mejor de la franquicia. Brad Bird ha sabido muy bien encaminar la cuarta parte de la saga aunque con cierta suspicacia y en momento el guion se tensa mucho como para permitirnos saborear, lo forzado del mismo, pese a esto y tratarse de la primera película en Live Action de Brad Bird el resultado es"Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" Se trata fácilmente de la mejor de la franquicia. Brad Bird ha sabido muy bien encaminar la cuarta parte de la saga aunque con cierta suspicacia y en momento el guion se tensa mucho como para permitirnos saborear, lo forzado del mismo, pese a esto y tratarse de la primera película en Live Action de Brad Bird el resultado es verdaderamente fascinante, acción y aventura, cumple lo que promete, y bien puede hacerse llamar como la mejor película de acción del 2011. Expand
  12. CRL
    Jan 16, 2012
    9
    This is an action movie, and as an action movie it does not disappoint. From the almost-adrenaline inducing scenes in Dubai to the parts inside the supercomputer in Mumbai, the action is nonstop and pure entertainment. Good acting, though there's really nothing really to be said about the characters, but if you came to see MI4 for the characters you need to be checked. Good writing forThis is an action movie, and as an action movie it does not disappoint. From the almost-adrenaline inducing scenes in Dubai to the parts inside the supercomputer in Mumbai, the action is nonstop and pure entertainment. Good acting, though there's really nothing really to be said about the characters, but if you came to see MI4 for the characters you need to be checked. Good writing for an action movie. Great cinematography. Even the 2 hour running time didn't seem too long. All in all, Ghost Protocol is a fun ride. Expand
  13. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I watched Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol, I watched it for a few reasons. The guy from Lost was in it. Jeremy Renner and that awesome trailer I saw in the theater, plus it had been a long time since I had seen a MI film, even though I wasn't a huge fan to begin with. Let me say the good things about MIGP. The action in this is very good. Obviously the highlight action scene is the Dubai scene with Tom Cruise hanging on the tallest building in the world. There were other good scenes though, like the sandstorm scene. Overall the movie is very well paced for a movie that ran, I think 2 hours even of screen time. The cinematography in this is outstanding in this as well. There was also some good use of gadgets here too. All that aside though, there are more negatives about this movie, than good things. For example, I mentioned that I loved that the guy from Lost was in this, but they end up killing him in the beginning of the movie. Overall the acting is kinda dull, I wouldn't say it's bad acting but, just not great. I also thought that they showed too much stuff in the trailer, and way too many TV spots showed the Dubai tallest building in the world scene. The character development overall is not really here for Tom Cruise. We really don't get any character progression with him in. I mean when you stamp a franchise around a guy, like Bruce Willis has done for Die Hard, you need some character progression and development. There's little to no explanation to what's happened to Tom Cruise in the beginning of the film too. Other characters get some okay back story, like Paula Patton. Jeremy Renner, is supposed to be a bit unknown in this movie, but when he finally reveals the secret it feels like wow, that's the big secret. It's not that I saw it coming or I thought that Renner didn't deliver with his acting, it just wasn't a big secret, even though the very ending was cool. The story in this is also disappointing. I mean the IMF's mission is to stop a nuclear war or bomb. It would be cool if the villain had some motivation in this movie. All you really see him doing in this movie is hold a brief case. I thought the assassin woman was way better. Overall you end up getting a story that is decent, but the Russians don't show that they are really all over these guys. For a movie that is called Mission Impossible, it doesn't seem like the stakes are all that high in the movie. Even though some of the things that they do, like the huge building that Tom Cruise climbs. I don't think you feel the desperation in the mission, because the main villain doesn't seem to be all that serious about taking action, besides using a nuclear bomb, with unclear motivations. I could go on and on about this movie, but I'll say that this movie is an excellent, action movie. I thought that Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner give good performances. The movie does a good job of throwing impossible scenarios to Ethan Hunt and his team, but the feeling of desperation, is not there enough, like it was in the previous MI movies. It was a cool kick your feet up movie though. There was some creative direction with Brad Bird at the helm, but he doesn't know how to quite direct actors. I'll give him a pass though because this is his first live action movie, he's directed. So if you haven't seen this movie, you should definitely see this, just don't expect something great. Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is a great example of awesome action-spy movie with incredible techniques. The story was good but not awesome& the way they use those techniques was freaking amazing . The Moscow part was a bit boring and that explosion could be a lot more better it they used more angles.The camera angle of that scene was not good. The end part In India started goodMission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is a great example of awesome action-spy movie with incredible techniques. The story was good but not awesome& the way they use those techniques was freaking amazing . The Moscow part was a bit boring and that explosion could be a lot more better it they used more angles.The camera angle of that scene was not good. The end part In India started good but ended badly.And I believe If someone took a car from that high ,His legs would definitely be smashed so badly . Now come to Dubai . That was one of the best action scene i have ever seen. The sand storm scene was awesome, Building scene was also awesome. No complain to the actors..... Tom is freaking Tom ,Simon did amazing , Patton did a lot better then I expected & Jeremy did good but I expected more . Brad Bird's directing was good except for the Moscow part . Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is definitely the best action movie of 2011. Expand
  15. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    pretty good flick when you watch it whilst eating popcorn cause its definitely one of those films - action-based, cgi, etc. etc....
    really entertaining for the average movie-goer i suspect. plus, the gadgets used in the film are pretty dope.
  16. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Despite the fact the ageing Mission Impossible franchise hasn't seen a truly great instalment since the 1st I had high hopes for Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol. So I was extremely happy to discover that it is by far the best instalment of the series, not only because director Brad Bird is fantastic at ratcheting up tension while making every action and shot seem beautiful. Bird seemsDespite the fact the ageing Mission Impossible franchise hasn't seen a truly great instalment since the 1st I had high hopes for Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol. So I was extremely happy to discover that it is by far the best instalment of the series, not only because director Brad Bird is fantastic at ratcheting up tension while making every action and shot seem beautiful. Bird seems to have realised everything that made the first movie great and gone from there. The introduction of new team members instead of returning to the old was a smart one as both Jeremy Renner and Paula Patton are great additions, if only because they are likeable characters (in comparison to MI3's Lawrence Fishburne and Keri Russell).
    Ghost Protocol still has the high stakes (its about global nuclear conflict) but Bird's direction never lets it overburden the film so the viewer can't have fun. The main draw is that its just fun, beginning to end. From the opening action in a eastern European jail to the fast paced, final act it delivers a joyride well worth taking. It actually makes me eager to find out where this franchise goes next.
    Expand
  17. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    So, let's just be frank, Tom Cruise freaks me out. I know I am not the only one who feels this way, ever since the man decided to dance on Oprah's sacred couch in a display of frenetic and borderline insanity. Anyway, beyond my particular feelings toward Tom Cruise, this movie is good. I would never say great, no, no, not by a long shot, but it is formidably and fantastically good at whatSo, let's just be frank, Tom Cruise freaks me out. I know I am not the only one who feels this way, ever since the man decided to dance on Oprah's sacred couch in a display of frenetic and borderline insanity. Anyway, beyond my particular feelings toward Tom Cruise, this movie is good. I would never say great, no, no, not by a long shot, but it is formidably and fantastically good at what it is trying to do. In this day and age of movies, that says a lot. Cruise's slightly deranged stare works well for him in this picture, and it doesn't hurt that he is almost solely surrounded by beautiful people. Although I have not seen any other Mission Impossibles, I enjoyed this one, and I am sure you will too. Expand
  18. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is awesome, the action is fast and loud, the whole thing is finely tuned thrill ride, it is awesome. The acting is very good as Tom Cruise performs admirably as Ethan Hunt and all the other characters perform well too. The plot is the same as any other action film but it is not very good, it is rather paper thin and so are the characters themselves butMission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is awesome, the action is fast and loud, the whole thing is finely tuned thrill ride, it is awesome. The acting is very good as Tom Cruise performs admirably as Ethan Hunt and all the other characters perform well too. The plot is the same as any other action film but it is not very good, it is rather paper thin and so are the characters themselves but there is enough dazzling action to make up for that, it is still an awesome movie that you will want to see. Overall, Ghost Protocol is a great action-packed film that will not release you until the credits roll. This is an example of a fast, fun, and entertaining movie that allows it's audiences to simply enjoy the movie as an action movie should be. It is awesome. Breakdown for "Mission Impossible- Ghost Protocol": Presentation: 7.0, Plot: 6.1, Acting: 8.0, Script: .5, Lasting Appeal: 8.5, Verdict: 7.5 out of 10 "Great". Expand
  19. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    Great special effects and fantastic action scenes make this film unlike any other MI film. Not to forget to mention the great humor throughout the story. However as in any other action drama: many things are unrealistic. The villain is a good example. His character wasn't elaborated upon very well. And this is also the case with Cruise's own character. The Ethan Hunt we saw in MI:3 lookedGreat special effects and fantastic action scenes make this film unlike any other MI film. Not to forget to mention the great humor throughout the story. However as in any other action drama: many things are unrealistic. The villain is a good example. His character wasn't elaborated upon very well. And this is also the case with Cruise's own character. The Ethan Hunt we saw in MI:3 looked immensely different than the Ethan we get to see know. Bird has not continued on expanding his character. Overall this film is easy to digest for action drama fans, and of course fans of the MI franchise. If you want more than just action and a good laugh, this film is not for you then. That is why I decided to give it a 7 out of 10. Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable hokum to fill a New Year's Eve. Good set pieces and a lot of fun laughing at the plot holes...man of them (but no masks???). Cruise does his funny running and Simon Pegg is amusing. Sound...
  21. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I have never seen any of the other Mission: Impossible movies, but this is great. The story makes sense and the action scenes are clever, not to mention is is beautifully filmed.
  22. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Definitely the best of the Mission: Impossible movies. The CGI can be a bit annoying at times, but other than that, it's a great and enjoyable popcorn entertainment flick. Kudos to director Brad Bird for successfully directing his first live-action film, it was truly great.
  23. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Your mission, Mr Cruise..is to create a vehicle to save your career from going into the 'hell hole' that traps many A-listers once they reach middle age. WIth that in mind, mission accomplished. By reigning in his ego, and creating the first Mission Impossible that doesn't feel like 'The Mr Tom Cruise show', Cruise salvages his career and created one of the best action film of 2011.Your mission, Mr Cruise..is to create a vehicle to save your career from going into the 'hell hole' that traps many A-listers once they reach middle age. WIth that in mind, mission accomplished. By reigning in his ego, and creating the first Mission Impossible that doesn't feel like 'The Mr Tom Cruise show', Cruise salvages his career and created one of the best action film of 2011. Great action, great ensemble, super set pieces (especially in Dubai). It is the best Mission Impossible of the four. Expand
  24. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    For re-watch value, sheer fun, entertainment, awe-inspirng special effects and excellent performances, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is flawless. Not only is it one of the best action films in previous years, but it is hard not to watch over again after finishing it.
    Tom Cruise returns for a fourth time as the adrenaline rushed IMF agent Ethan Hawke, joined again by Simon Pegg(Star
    For re-watch value, sheer fun, entertainment, awe-inspirng special effects and excellent performances, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is flawless. Not only is it one of the best action films in previous years, but it is hard not to watch over again after finishing it.
    Tom Cruise returns for a fourth time as the adrenaline rushed IMF agent Ethan Hawke, joined again by Simon Pegg(Star Trek) as Benji, and introducing Paula Patton(Precious) as IMF agent Jane Carter and Jeremy Renner(The Hurt Locker) as a Chief analyst within the IMF.
    Right from the get-go, director Brad Bird lights the fuse, and it creates an explosive, action packed film which never ceases to amaze and entertain.
    What simply works with this movie is its fast-paced action which never gets old, one critic compared it to a "sleight of hand" action film, completely on the mark, it flawlessly incorporates action with humour, and executes visual masterpieces with ease and shoulder-shrugging envy. The scenes involving Cruise scaling the Burj Khalifa tower in Dubai, the tallest building to grace our earth, are easily some the greatest visually satisfying scenes of our time, not only was it jaw-dropping, but Cruise was in fact climbing it himself, without a stunt double in sight. These scenes amongst many others in the film are so unique that they are completely absurd to the point that they are too good to be believed.
    Patton excels as as the emotionally driven agent Carter, and Brit Simon Pegg is replicating his Scotty character from Star Trek, but thats not a bad thing.
    MIGP still manages to maintain its over the top scenes which we seen in previous instalments, but not only is GP better than the others by a long shot, but it tries to set out on its own and does this with ease, much like Fast Five, GP will surpass and amaze the expectations of most, simply because they brought fun and entertainment back to the table, Its a hard thing to do after three previous instalments but Brad Bird, coupled with an excellent cast, have managed to create a story driven sequel that bangs,bops and sleekly edges its way into our heart.
    For what it is, and for the amazing set pieces at work, its cunning ability to pull off its magician-like charm, Mission Impossible:Ghost Protocol is a new path in the right direction and will get a perfect 10 for its flawless delivery....Mission Accomplished!
    Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    Most certainly the most epic action movie I've seen in recent days. The whole dubai sequence is so bad*ss, from the skyscraper to the sand storm. It gets a deduction from me because it was a little too long.
  26. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    I personally don't particular like action movies, but this one was certainly entertaining. The story is straight forward this time. I remember the first one was a big head scratcher. More importantly, I am so delighted that the action/fight scenes were very clear. You can see clearly who's fighting who. In so many other action movies, you can never tell who is fighting who; you just see aI personally don't particular like action movies, but this one was certainly entertaining. The story is straight forward this time. I remember the first one was a big head scratcher. More importantly, I am so delighted that the action/fight scenes were very clear. You can see clearly who's fighting who. In so many other action movies, you can never tell who is fighting who; you just see a bunch of people beating the crap out of each other. Action scenes are well choreographed. Director Brad Bird did a great job on this film. Expand
  27. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Mission Incredible Director Bird -he of The Incredibles/Pixar pedigree - has delivered a no brain, non-stop thriller that makes the latest James Bond look like a BBC period piece. Forget the premise - who can believe a genius Swedish physicist fit enough to outrun Cruise, wants to start a nuclear war? So don't expect any Christopher Nolan style cleverness (thank God!)to lumber the movie inMission Incredible Director Bird -he of The Incredibles/Pixar pedigree - has delivered a no brain, non-stop thriller that makes the latest James Bond look like a BBC period piece. Forget the premise - who can believe a genius Swedish physicist fit enough to outrun Cruise, wants to start a nuclear war? So don't expect any Christopher Nolan style cleverness (thank God!)to lumber the movie in layers of psycho-babble. This is popcorn chomping of the highest order. The key to the success of this film rests in the fabulous stunts and chases and an excellent ensemble cast. Right from the first scene, the movie grabs you in an adrenalin pumping escape from a Russian jail. It takes you from one amazing set piece to the next - all featuring the nearly 50 year old Cruise doing the impossible. The top scene is the one set in Dubai which had the entire audience gasping for air. Forget suspension of disbelief - there was not one believable scene - it was a tour de force of CGI and physical prowess from Cruise. The real bonus was the four characters who make up the Impossible team - Cruise, Pegg, Renner and the girl (Carter?). The three men were terrific - Cruise, charismatic, Pegg, funny, and Renner - just wonderful. The Amazonian mocha colored girl was unbelievable as all these females are - beautiful, powerful - incredible. Yet the interplay worked with all of them, and they separated this movie from the usual action dross. Points off for total lack of coherent plot, terrible villain, and a dash of hoke throughout - Cruise's wife, the Russians, the female agent's grief over a lost agent/boyfriend - well, you can't ask for everything. Exciting, funny, brainless Expand
  28. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    So this is my first ever movie review and I'll just start it because it's just my opinion anyway, so instead of utilizing any evaluation average methods I'll just say what I thought about the movie because I haven't developed and evaluation method for movies yet so....
    The film is a good action movie with a few twists and a forgettable plot, if you are thinking about watching it, well just
    So this is my first ever movie review and I'll just start it because it's just my opinion anyway, so instead of utilizing any evaluation average methods I'll just say what I thought about the movie because I haven't developed and evaluation method for movies yet so....
    The film is a good action movie with a few twists and a forgettable plot, if you are thinking about watching it, well just watch it but do not expect it to be fantastic just another average action espionage film. The acting is good but nothing impressive, what I liked was the gadgets that reminded of a James Bond movie.....still at the end of the day Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is a good Saturday afternoon experience, not a great movie but a fine one, in my opinion the best Mission: Impossible is still the original series but maybe I'm one of the few who actually thinks that way. Final Score 6.5/10 which means 7/10 in Metacritic.
    Expand
  29. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    The Dialogue is clever but the plot is mediocre, YET the film has some of the best choreographed, edited and shot action sequences of all time. A movie so amazing that you forget the story is on rails the entire time. I love the series overall though.
  30. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    M:I 4 - another impossible mission made possible with difficult stunts.

    This is the fourth part in a series, and it keeps to the spirit of the previous movies, providing breath-taking situation, betrayals, backstabbing, unknown elements and pushing human limits to achieve victory and save humanity (your standard action movie). Tom Cruise is his usual self, as is Ethan Hunt. His team
    M:I 4 - another impossible mission made possible with difficult stunts.

    This is the fourth part in a series, and it keeps to the spirit of the previous movies, providing breath-taking situation, betrayals, backstabbing, unknown elements and pushing human limits to achieve victory and save humanity (your standard action movie).

    Tom Cruise is his usual self, as is Ethan Hunt. His team is new (although we did see a glimpse of Ving Rhames, who played Luther in three previous movies). While Ethan's team wasn't bad, with Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner being faces I like from before, they weren't given that much background or room to grow. (Plus they totally ruined Renner's character's back-story that was driving him so hard.)

    A pleasant surprise was Samuli Edelmann's performance. I always dread Finnish actors in foreign productions, but he was rather good, I must admit, speech included.

    All in all the plot was good, the story moved fast, but at the same time it felt that it had been... split into pieces, making it feel less like one whole story when moving from one location to the next. I also wasn't a fan of the starting credits, which kind of showed scenes from the upcoming movie; I would have liked them to allow me to keep guessing a bit longer about where they were going to journey in the movie.

    A must-see for Cruise fans and those who have enjoyed other M:I movies. Action guaranteed, and a few good laughs too, seeing as Pegg's character was there mostly for the laughs.
    Expand
  31. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    It's a raining day and you're bored out of your mind, it seems like there is nothing you can do to brighten the afternoon but watch a movie. If this happens to you grab some friends and go see Mission: Impossible- Ghost Protocol, and expect to be entertained from start to finish. Definitely the best of the trilogy, Mission Impossible sets out to be an exciting thrill ride and succeeds withIt's a raining day and you're bored out of your mind, it seems like there is nothing you can do to brighten the afternoon but watch a movie. If this happens to you grab some friends and go see Mission: Impossible- Ghost Protocol, and expect to be entertained from start to finish. Definitely the best of the trilogy, Mission Impossible sets out to be an exciting thrill ride and succeeds with non stop action and a great spy story that rivals James Bond. The only complaint I have about this movie is that it is a little long and during the last twenty minutes (as exciting as they are) you may find yourself awaiting the epic conclusion to the two hour and twenty minute movie. Expand
  32. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Action, action, action. If you aren't going to see this movie for the action, then don't watch it. The plot is interesting enough to drive the movie forwards, but don't expect anything groundbreaking. The acting is nice, and the scenes are well made.
  33. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    I wanted to like this movie so much after reading critic reviews and good word of mouth. However, I agree with other reviews, totally predictable, and been there done that terrorist plot. Overall, I expected more from JJ Abrams and Brad Bird- two talented directors. Also, product placement was incredibly distracting. I am sick of seeing BMWs and Dos Equis every other scene. However,I wanted to like this movie so much after reading critic reviews and good word of mouth. However, I agree with other reviews, totally predictable, and been there done that terrorist plot. Overall, I expected more from JJ Abrams and Brad Bird- two talented directors. Also, product placement was incredibly distracting. I am sick of seeing BMWs and Dos Equis every other scene. However, action scenes were incredible. Acting was fine. Worth seeing, but temper expectations. Expand
  34. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    don't get me wrong, this is a great movie, but there is one major mistake, or is it meant to be like this; their car, the Land rover, has a fake registration plate, this is because in dubai, the letter comes before the numbers, is this a mistake or was it supposed to be like that?
  35. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    A solid, well filmed action flick, and the second best in the series. I prefer J.J. Abrams' MI:3. Sure there are some fantastic action sequences, and yes, Tom Cruise runs a lot. A. LOT. The whole thing just seems overblown, overplayed, and...over. Kudos to Simon Pegg for adding some much needed humor but why Brad Bird, WHY did you add the Three Stooges slapstick stuff, i.e. JeremyA solid, well filmed action flick, and the second best in the series. I prefer J.J. Abrams' MI:3. Sure there are some fantastic action sequences, and yes, Tom Cruise runs a lot. A. LOT. The whole thing just seems overblown, overplayed, and...over. Kudos to Simon Pegg for adding some much needed humor but why Brad Bird, WHY did you add the Three Stooges slapstick stuff, i.e. Jeremy Renner pacing, stretching, doing lunges before his big jump? Save that stuff for a Pixar film. Expand
  36. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The first 3/4 of the movie are excellent. I was literally on the edge of my seat during the hotel scenes. However, it gets a tad slow as they are closing in on the master villain. Still, this was the best action movie of the year.
  37. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    This movie is a fun, the action is fun, the characters are fun and the script is fun. Cruise is ok, but still tolerable. Simon Pegg is funny as always and a pleasure to watch him. The script is also surprisingly good. This is the type of movie that really draws you in and makes you experience the action with the characters. Really good action movie, worth checking out.
  38. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    This movie is a tale of 2 halves.......The first half leaves you amazed with jaw dropping action sequences.....At the same time,the 2nd half is stale and leaves you disappointed....
  39. JYT
    Jan 21, 2012
    7
    It follows the Mission:Impossible spirit of the tv series. The locations and places where it was films looks really good. There are good guys and bad guys but also the standard useless idiot with Simon Peg and also the abnoxious rich Indian with all his mobile phone who does not deserve one pence who what he owns. Good to see his a.. kicked.
  40. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not a huge fan of action movies most of the time, but my dad and I like to see movies together, so he dragged me to this movie--I have to say I'm thankful for that. I went in with relatively low expectations, as I've never been a Tom Cruise fan, but man, I was blown away. The action scenes were brilliant, the technology was incredibly intriguing (particularly the hologram sheet thing Pegg and Cruise used when infiltrating the Kremlin), and the plot was pretty good, especially for an action flick. The most fun I've had at the theater in awhile, I'd highly recommend you see MI:GP. Expand
  41. Jan 8, 2012
    6
    Action packed, no doubt, the ghost protocol is not short on thrills and spills. The story isn't amazing, but is decent enough to tie the action together. The chemistry between the characters works well, and the tech is not too shabby either (especially in one scene in the Kremlin). But to be honest, it was all a bit too much for too long. Not since transformers 3 have my eyes beenAction packed, no doubt, the ghost protocol is not short on thrills and spills. The story isn't amazing, but is decent enough to tie the action together. The chemistry between the characters works well, and the tech is not too shabby either (especially in one scene in the Kremlin). But to be honest, it was all a bit too much for too long. Not since transformers 3 have my eyes been subjected to such seamlessly never ending pointless explosions and jumping about, particularly towards the end, where I was just hoping the international wrong doers would succeed so the film could finish there and then. Expand
  42. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie, it has comedy, and awesome action moments. I was drawn into the movie from the beginning, I wasn't even expecting much, I came out of the theater very happy.
  43. lbl
    Jan 20, 2012
    6
    Too long, too, too long. When the stunts start to get boring you know that the film is just way too long. Cut about thirty minutes out of it and it would have been a blast, although most of the great stuff happened in the first twenty minutes.
  44. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol continues the M:I agent Ethan Hunts exploits as he takes on the impossible and dishes out the amazing. Ethan Hunt (played by the amazing* Tom Cruise) is sent into a spiral of deception and chaos as he and his team are set up and "Ghost Protocol" is initiated and IMF is shut down. Ethan and his team, with help from a mysterious outsider Brandt (JeremyMission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol continues the M:I agent Ethan Hunts exploits as he takes on the impossible and dishes out the amazing. Ethan Hunt (played by the amazing* Tom Cruise) is sent into a spiral of deception and chaos as he and his team are set up and "Ghost Protocol" is initiated and IMF is shut down. Ethan and his team, with help from a mysterious outsider Brandt (Jeremy Renner) bolt off in a thrill-a-minute ride to clear their names and invoke the IMF trust back into the heart of the government.

    M:I-Ghost Protocol delivers in every since of what the franchise is trying to do. Placing a bit more humor into the mix does make for a more "popcorn" feel of a movie, but do not hesitate M:I fans; Ghost Protocol delivers more excitement and punches than previous installments. Tom Cruise, being more of a daredevil in this one, helps to bring the authenticity to the role making everything more believable in the small frame of time they have. The character of William Brandt helps introduce a new kind of operative to the circle, though Renner is great, his portrayal of Brandt came off a tad bland and bit dull. Renner still did a great job and the character of Brandt is something that people could possibly come to like a lot in the series because of his humanity and humbleness he carries.

    And who could forget the lovely Paula Patton, though her character did not have much back story going in, her story forward is pretty much solidified as a great addition to the series. Not to mention her smile is as intoxicating as a glass of the finest scotch.

    One has to hand it to Mr. Cruise as he has, with help, been able to keep this franchise from dying and drying out and continuously offering a new feeling of enjoyment.

    *he totally should have won an award for he portrayal in the Last Samurai.
    Expand
  45. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    Not many movies have made me gasp like the scene where Cruise was hanging on the building in Dubai. This is hands down the best entry in this series and one of the best action films from 2011. I would love to see another if they keep Patton and Bird. Patton was very sexy and Bird was as great as ever( The Incredibles).
  46. Jan 25, 2012
    7
    Easily the best of the M:I series so far. Good action scenes, a decent plot and some interesting characters. But seriously, they need to stop with the whole "disavowed" thing; surely by now they would have just disbanded the entire operation given how often they seem to screw stuff up.
  47. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    Fun, exciting and entertaining, BUT pointless. BUT who cares!? This is just one of those action movies that takes you away for 2 hours. Big budget explosions and fast paced storytelling will make you forget how **** real life is.
  48. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    Very impressive. The scenes are really beautiful, and IMAX makes it even better. It is definitely better than the third one. The plot is attractive. I was gripped all through the movie. I believe it's a perfect farewell for Tom Cruise to the series of Mission Impossible.
  49. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    Pure action, with not much else. Lazy script writing, with the audience being whisked to exotic locations (Dubai, India) for reasons quite unclear. Some impressive shots and action sequences, my favourite being a chase in the middle of a sandstorm. But frankly, it's not enough to overcome the complete lack of a credible story. I loved the first Mission Impossible, precisely because therePure action, with not much else. Lazy script writing, with the audience being whisked to exotic locations (Dubai, India) for reasons quite unclear. Some impressive shots and action sequences, my favourite being a chase in the middle of a sandstorm. But frankly, it's not enough to overcome the complete lack of a credible story. I loved the first Mission Impossible, precisely because there was just enough of everything: suspense, tension, plot twists, character development etc. Not so for this one. Expand
  50. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Tom Cruise knows how to deliver on the non-stop action, and Brad Birdâ
  51. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    Amazing action film. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. As Mission Impossible should have, there are many well developed suspenseful moments. Special effects and acting are top notch! Its a must see, and probably my second favorite behind the original in this action packed series.
  52. Apr 24, 2012
    4
    I must not have watched the same movie as everyone else, because I don't understand how anyone could think this was an above average, or even good movie. The action scenes are forced and boring; and everything was just one big joke. They tried to have funny, clever dialogue around the action, a la True Lies and failed miserably. Even the equipment they use is so ridiculous it takes awayI must not have watched the same movie as everyone else, because I don't understand how anyone could think this was an above average, or even good movie. The action scenes are forced and boring; and everything was just one big joke. They tried to have funny, clever dialogue around the action, a la True Lies and failed miserably. Even the equipment they use is so ridiculous it takes away from any "cool" factor from it. One scene, they use a device to change the engraved room number plaques in a hotel. Who would even think to invent something like that? Let alone how stupid it is to think about how something like that would even work. They even have a bunch of them, not just one! It sounds nit-picky, but the entire movie just has that feel. Outlandish gadgets that take away from any suspense or plausibility to their plans. No creative solutions to anything, just have the writers make up some gadget that fixes a plot point, then throw in some chase scenes and explosions. Maybe it's the same writers on this site that are somehow giving this movie 8's, 9's and even 10's. Save yourself the time and skip this one, you've already watched it in the previous three movies anyway. Expand
  53. May 4, 2012
    4
    MI:4 wasn't a bad movie, it just didn't deliver on the hype and expectations. It had decently redeemable action sequences but others were staid and typical. Tom himself is a bit out of shape on the heavy side so that didn't work well for him. Simon Pegg delivered on the decent but predictable comedy relief. Paula Patton was forgettable except when wearing that gown. The villains wereMI:4 wasn't a bad movie, it just didn't deliver on the hype and expectations. It had decently redeemable action sequences but others were staid and typical. Tom himself is a bit out of shape on the heavy side so that didn't work well for him. Simon Pegg delivered on the decent but predictable comedy relief. Paula Patton was forgettable except when wearing that gown. The villains were lackluster and forgettable too which I suppose speaks to Cruise's own insecurity, which is likely why Josh Holloway (Sawyer on "LOST") was killed off so quickly. Barely recommended. Expand
  54. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Pretty good Cruise film, but I like him in the Impossible series and Top Gun. Guess I'm a sucker for some thriller action movies that you know the hero will come out on top, but hey, it's Hollywood and they're gambling on what we want to watch. Thought the acting was convincing but not spectacular, action scenes good enough, gadgetery appealing, and the storyline twists suspenseful.Pretty good Cruise film, but I like him in the Impossible series and Top Gun. Guess I'm a sucker for some thriller action movies that you know the hero will come out on top, but hey, it's Hollywood and they're gambling on what we want to watch. Thought the acting was convincing but not spectacular, action scenes good enough, gadgetery appealing, and the storyline twists suspenseful. Probably the best in the series, but TC is getting old (like most of us) and will get caught in the next one. Quit while you're still ahead and alive. Expand
  55. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    A movie that was truthfully well put together after the last film in 2006. The action in the film was great, the humor, and cast was wonderful as well. Pick this film up when it comes out on DVD.
  56. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    Mission Impossible is a staisfying movie. Neither great nor bad. This is just one of those action movies that takes you away for 2 hours and then you forget.
  57. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. For sure the best mission impossible yet. Acting was great. Everyone was great in the movie. Score was great. Same old great mission impossible music. Story is really good. The special effects are great. Action sequences are spectacular. Its just all amazing. Overall MI4 is a great movie. With so much action, and some comedy, makes this a sureFirst off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. For sure the best mission impossible yet. Acting was great. Everyone was great in the movie. Score was great. Same old great mission impossible music. Story is really good. The special effects are great. Action sequences are spectacular. Its just all amazing. Overall MI4 is a great movie. With so much action, and some comedy, makes this a sure treat. Highly recommended. Expand
  58. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Ghost Protocol is probably the strongest entry in the Mission Impossible series so far. It's a fast paced, strong plot loaded with exciting action set pieces, none more so than the Burj Khalifa stunts, which look fantastic. With clever gadgets, missions, disguises and Hunt working as part of a true IMF team, Ghost Protocol stays true to the Mission Impossible mantra. Speaking of the IMFGhost Protocol is probably the strongest entry in the Mission Impossible series so far. It's a fast paced, strong plot loaded with exciting action set pieces, none more so than the Burj Khalifa stunts, which look fantastic. With clever gadgets, missions, disguises and Hunt working as part of a true IMF team, Ghost Protocol stays true to the Mission Impossible mantra. Speaking of the IMF team, Paula Patton, Jeremy Renner and Simon Pegg add to the film's dynamics as well as most of the film's humourous moments. Make no mistake though, Ghost Protocol is Tom Cruise's film. When Ethan Hunt is on form, and is he in Ghost Protocol, Cruise probably doesn't play a better character these days. He seems to thrive on the stunts he performs himself and the film is better for it. The film isn't without its flaws however, I didn't feel that anywhere near enough emphasis was placed on Michael Nyqvist's villain. In fact, I could barely remember him the following day! Also, for the fact that the film is based on a protocol that supposedly renders the team with no support or back-up, it didn't really seem to have any impact at all on the mission. I can't remember it really being mentioned later on.

    All things considered though, Ghost Protocol is a really enjoyable action film with some fantastic action sequences.
    Expand
  59. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    No soy un fan de la serie, pero esta fue muy entretenida. La verdad es que quede muy satisfecho cuando sali del cine. La aciion es constante y las escenas son intensas. Una de las mejores peliculas de accion del 2011 y para mi la mejor Mision Imposible que he visto.
  60. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    great movie. you need to see every movie to understand this though. if you are scared of heights you want to close your eyes at some points. why? because he climbs the tallest building. it was really exciting. it was terrific
  61. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie really got me by surprise. After M:I 3 I thought that the franchise will be buried and forgotten, however somehow M:I 4 made me forget everything that was bad. The story is believable (except the Kremlin explosion and Dubai sand storm) and the acting is solid. Jeremy Renner is a refreshment and Simon Pegg (as usually) gives the movie lightness and humor. The jokes have an excellent timing and even the cliches are tolerable. The only thing that made me cringe was the obvious product placement (Dell servers, I mean really!). All in all, 2 hours of action and fun. What more would you need from Tom Cruise? Expand
  62. May 12, 2012
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised by this film. Exciting and creative actions scenes were the main driving point and there were even a few plot twists that (although you could see it coming miles away) still added positively to the experience. A good film to watch when you're tired and in need of dumb entertainment.
  63. Apr 15, 2012
    6
    This movie worth renting but not buying. Hour 1 was good but hour to felled rushed to me. The ending was I don't no how to explane it. MI Ghost Protocol 6.4/10
  64. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    The live action directing debut of Brad Bird makes think that this man is pro,great action sequences a well careful directing,and amazing quotes.A highly recommended action movie for the fans of the series but not only.
  65. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    This time they did everything right. Superb casting with an excellent and in-form Cruise delivering a recital on how an action flick should be made henceforth. Clever dialogues build around, though not only, witty remarks between the characters, along with breathtaking action sequences create a high octane mixture that explodes in a brilliant finale. Best in the series and possibly theThis time they did everything right. Superb casting with an excellent and in-form Cruise delivering a recital on how an action flick should be made henceforth. Clever dialogues build around, though not only, witty remarks between the characters, along with breathtaking action sequences create a high octane mixture that explodes in a brilliant finale. Best in the series and possibly the best action movie of this decade. Expand
  66. May 3, 2012
    8
    Quite simply put; Tom Cruise still has it. One of the better M:Is I've seen (I liked 4 the best). The story was very good, though not the strongest I've seen; you did not really get to know many of the characters very well.

    Still, very good movie and I don't regret seeing it.
  67. May 16, 2012
    7
    Since 1996 the Mission Impossible series has thrived in the action genre, delivering exhilarating action, high tech gadgets and nail biting escape sequences. Twenty five years later. Tom Cruise returns again with a new team to take on the fourth entry in the series, Ghost Protocol.

    Ghost Protocol follows on from the third; during an interception of an important file in Moscow, the Kremlin
    Since 1996 the Mission Impossible series has thrived in the action genre, delivering exhilarating action, high tech gadgets and nail biting escape sequences. Twenty five years later. Tom Cruise returns again with a new team to take on the fourth entry in the series, Ghost Protocol.

    Ghost Protocol follows on from the third; during an interception of an important file in Moscow, the Kremlin is blown up and the blame placed solely on IMF. The secret organisation is disavowed, leaving Ethan Hunt and his team (now comprised of Benjie Dunn, Jane Carter and later William Brandt) are the only means to prevent a nuclear war between the USA and Russia. Itâ
    Expand
  68. May 16, 2012
    7
    This is a review for the release of the Blu Ray edition of Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol. The movie was great, and action packed. The Blu Ray special features on the other hand were a little lacking. For a Blu Ray, there were a medium amount of special features. The special features also do not go into great depth other than the Making of featurette. What about the film quality? Well,This is a review for the release of the Blu Ray edition of Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol. The movie was great, and action packed. The Blu Ray special features on the other hand were a little lacking. For a Blu Ray, there were a medium amount of special features. The special features also do not go into great depth other than the Making of featurette. What about the film quality? Well, there are times when the film is a little blurry, but other than that the transfer was superb. The sound quality is also impressive. Overall, if you wanted to buy the blu ray version to add to your collection I would encourage it. On the other hand, if this is a film you don't care to have in high definition, I would recommend that you save a few dollars and just get a normal version sans the special features. Expand
  69. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    I haven't seen any of the previous "Mission: Impossible" films but I can tell you that "Ghost Protocol" is amazing. It's thrilling, breathtaking and intelligent. Tom Cruise fits perfectly well as his role here, and probably is one of his most fitting roles, if you don't count "Minority Report".
  70. May 25, 2012
    7
    all that was good about this movie was the effects and action other than that theres not much to this movie the plot is just an excuse to see tom cruise blow things up. there are only a few moments in the entire movie where they explain the plot or who enemy is in the entire film i just saw it for the action and thats what i expected and thats what i got.
  71. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    The plot can be unoriginal, it seems you've seen it lots of times, but it entertains you. It is a good movie because of this: is entertaining. It's intense, a lot of action, and some more action too. But that's what matter. End of story.
  72. Aug 18, 2012
    7
    Pixar's Brad Bird makes his live-action debut with the second best M:I film in the series. The action is well choreographed and they don't try to overload the viewer by leaving room for the story developent and dialogue scenes. It's a fun spectacle and reinvigorates a series that was on a downhill slope. Bring on M:I-5!
  73. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This is definitely the best action pack movie from Mission Impossible series and the best action pack movies this year. It is a non-stop action movie right from the beginning till the end. It is very important to catch audience attention for the first 2 to 5 minutes of play time. This movie did a great job on this and kept continuing till the end. Action packed movies lovers wouldThis is definitely the best action pack movie from Mission Impossible series and the best action pack movies this year. It is a non-stop action movie right from the beginning till the end. It is very important to catch audience attention for the first 2 to 5 minutes of play time. This movie did a great job on this and kept continuing till the end. Action packed movies lovers would definitely quarantee to love this. Expand
  74. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    This has been the best action film I have seen in a long time. Me and my whole family loved this movie. I have always like the "Mission Impossible" movies.
  75. Dec 15, 2012
    4
    After watching this film, I was filled with utter apathy for it. Definitely didn't hate it, but really didn't enjoy it either. Sort of like sitting at a red light waiting for the next great green thing to come along, but really in that moment you are just sitting there doing nothing staring at some red glowing circle. Blah.
  76. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Favorite action movie of 2011/2012. Lots of extreme action and it has a plot. Tom Cruse is a very good actor. I would go see this movie 10000000000 times and never get tired of it.
  77. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking visuals, enchanting characters and dialogue, and some truly intelligent storytelling not only make "Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol" the best of the franchise, but maybe even the best of its kind.
  78. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    The best in the series. Stretches the imagination and the laws of physics at times. Had some truly epic scenes like the ones shot in Dubai, and also some that infuriated the hell out of me. The plot was typical_ chasing a one dimensional villain around the globe.
  79. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    This movie really upset me with the amount of endorsed advertisements in it. And this movie had potential but shot down by greed to become a giant advertisement. Mission impossible was about secret-super agents that had access to high-tech gadgets. What this movie had in store was iPhone, after iPad, after iPhone. Like seriously I know the secret service does not use Apple everything toThis movie really upset me with the amount of endorsed advertisements in it. And this movie had potential but shot down by greed to become a giant advertisement. Mission impossible was about secret-super agents that had access to high-tech gadgets. What this movie had in store was iPhone, after iPad, after iPhone. Like seriously I know the secret service does not use Apple everything to get things done otherwise they would get NOTHING done. Not to mention that there's only one brand of car in the world of "Mission Impossible" and that is BMW. So we paid for a two hour advertisement...Cool. Expand
  80. May 19, 2013
    10
    Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol disposes of the over-the-top mindless action sequences that burdened the previous films in the series and succeeds by injecting realistic and believable action based stunts that parallel a intriguing and well- developed story
  81. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    I'm not a big Tom Cruise fan. But I thought the action in this movie was great. I kept saying ouch & wincing whenever he smashed into a wall or whatnot. Cruise is looking a tad too skinny in this movie. You especially notice this during the scene in the hospital when he's shirtless. Thought Jeremy Renner, was good in this movie. Simon Pegg was funny & Paula Patton was beautiful. She canI'm not a big Tom Cruise fan. But I thought the action in this movie was great. I kept saying ouch & wincing whenever he smashed into a wall or whatnot. Cruise is looking a tad too skinny in this movie. You especially notice this during the scene in the hospital when he's shirtless. Thought Jeremy Renner, was good in this movie. Simon Pegg was funny & Paula Patton was beautiful. She can kick some butt too. I always like to see strong female characters. I almost didn't recognize Josh Holloway in the beginning of the movie. Where did he disappear to? Anway, stunning location shoots, great action & solid acting. Me like! Expand
  82. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What Could go wrong with Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol with Tom Cruise.
    Nothing really it was a good movie. Except for one thing. The action scenes at times were pretty cheesy and a bit inbelieveable. With Tom Cruise in Jack Reacher which is his latest film that to has cheesy scenes.
    The cheesiet part in the film is when Tom Cruise is on the building trying to swing over to a window he was trying to reach. Oh my god he falls and he hangs onto a ledge.
    Cheesy..............
    They could've done that scene totally different😞
    Seriously.
    Overall besides the bad cheesy scenes I give it
    10 full stars😃
    Expand
  83. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Now, to tell you guys i wasn't really excited about Mission: Impossible 4. Why? Cause of "Knight and Day" It was fun, but not really smart. Okay, i saw the movie and it wasn't just good. it was GREAT and EPIC! This movie had everything a sequel needs. It's got great action, smart suspense, it's well acted, well directed and it goes into directions that you don't even expect. Every time,Now, to tell you guys i wasn't really excited about Mission: Impossible 4. Why? Cause of "Knight and Day" It was fun, but not really smart. Okay, i saw the movie and it wasn't just good. it was GREAT and EPIC! This movie had everything a sequel needs. It's got great action, smart suspense, it's well acted, well directed and it goes into directions that you don't even expect. Every time, you're gonna be like "I was totally not expecting that, and that is AWESOME!" There's even a scene where Ethan Hunt's climbing the Dubai tower, which is the tallest tower in the world, and he does that by Spider-Man crawling up the glass. It turned out to be the best and most exciting scene in the entire movie. Also, they made this absurd that doesn't even exist, but it's so damn awesome! I really like that, it was awesome. We got a great and epic summer movie in winter. I'm serious, you should go and check it out, it's totally worth watching Expand
  84. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol shows that the franchise is still going strong. Tom Cruise once again gives a top notch performance and Brad Bird shows a great eye for action scenes.
  85. May 16, 2013
    9
    It is amazing how the director managed to change the style of the franchise, leaving the film much funnier and violent while transformanado the plot into something more interesting complex, and once again starring Tom Cruise so good.
  86. May 25, 2014
    7
    Ghost Protocal was a vast improvement in the Mission Impossible series since the first one back in 1996. The cast is good im sure they could have picked a better female(Paula Patton) for this role but she did well. Simon Pegg did a great job acting in this movie though they still used him for some comic relief. To be honest i was not pleased on how Jeremy Renner character was just thrownGhost Protocal was a vast improvement in the Mission Impossible series since the first one back in 1996. The cast is good im sure they could have picked a better female(Paula Patton) for this role but she did well. Simon Pegg did a great job acting in this movie though they still used him for some comic relief. To be honest i was not pleased on how Jeremy Renner character was just thrown into the movie.

    Still this was a great two hour long movie with the opening scene being around ten minutes long i enjoyed it from start to finish.
    Expand
  87. Feb 4, 2015
    8
    Its been over 5 and a half years since the last outing of Ethan Hunt, with Tom Cruise playing the spy of all spys *debates Bond and Bourne* from the IMF. Last time we saw Ethan Hunt, he was trying to stop a dangerous arms dealer, while trying to keep his identity secret from his family and friends, in order to protect the people he cared about.
    Fast forward to present day, and now Ethan
    Its been over 5 and a half years since the last outing of Ethan Hunt, with Tom Cruise playing the spy of all spys *debates Bond and Bourne* from the IMF. Last time we saw Ethan Hunt, he was trying to stop a dangerous arms dealer, while trying to keep his identity secret from his family and friends, in order to protect the people he cared about.
    Fast forward to present day, and now Ethan is at it again this time trying to stop a terrorist who has gained access to Russian nuclear launch codes, but now without the help of the IMF (we will explain why shortly) but with only the remaining 3 people by his side, What seems to be left of the IMF, creating a new team for Ethan Hunt to be a part of.

    The story of Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is pretty simple, good guys, good guys framed, bad guys, bad guys want to start nuclear war to new beginnings, conclusion, end, but that doesn’t mean from one second to the next that its not a great ride to be part of.

    The story ball starts rolling, when there is a bombing at the Kremlin in Moscow, and while Ethan and his team are there to get evidence on another case, it seems like they have been set up to be at the Kremlin at the wrong time, and when this bombing takes place, and implicates the IMF (Impossible Missions Force), the IMF is then subsequently shut down, and ‘Operation Ghost Protocol’ is put into effect. This then means that Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise), Jane Carter (Paula Patton), Benji Dunn (Simon Pegg), and William Brandt (who as luck has it joins the team on the ‘off chance’ (Jeremy Renner) are the only 4 remaining people of IMF, having to work together as a team, on the limited supplies they have (which turn out to be a fair amount considering they travel around half way around the world) and piece together what really happened at the bombing, or if the bombing it just a small piece of this puzzle

    We have to admit. We were pretty much hooked all the way through the movie,The action scenes looks great, with what you would expect from a Hollywood blockbuster. The chase scenes were done to perfection, and the hand to hand combat scenes were done as fluid as any recent Bourne or Bond film out there.

    We have to say that obviously the ‘poster boy’ sequence at the Burj Khalifa building in Dubai, is of course as good as everyone is making it out to be, from the setting off of the initial scene, the whys and the hows, to the showcased climbing up the building, to the venture back down and in the building. The trailer may have given a lot of the scene away, but still worth watching in its full feat. Lets also not forget, there are some other great scenes in the film including the mentioned Kremlin explosion, and a personal favourite, the sand storm chase scene. Everything in that scene brimmed excellence and perfection, so props has to go to the cinematography for that scene, as well as the film as a whole, as it does look a spectacle throughout.

    Going back to Tom Cruise as the spy of all spy’s, Tom really does still have it. His acting throughout the film is great, along with his other cast members, including Simon Pegg who plays the comic relief perfectly, and is genuinely funny for once, and doesn’t seem misplaced at all, Paula Patton who plays the good girl/bad girl with a grudge, to Jeremy Renner, who plays the analyst/spy with great ease, which may cause to ring truth that Renner and his character have been made up to take over at the helm of the Mission Impossible Series once Cruise feels he’s had enough.

    Another quick touch on Cruise, his acting and screen presence. A lot of other reviewers out there have said that they felt this was Cruise first and Mission Impossible second. I have to disagree, even though Cruise ran with the film (obviously he is the main sell, the main character after all) I really felt that everyone had there fair share of screen time, and did what that had to with great finesse.

    Talking about screen time. The only major disappointment in MI:GP for me was Michael Nyqvist. Not the actor by any means, he was fine in every scene that he had, and especially his major act with Cruise near the end of the film, but it just felt like he was underused. Being the main villain of the film, it never really felt like we feared his character, or even the threat of what his actions were. We just knew that Ethan Hunt and his team were trying to stop someone, doing something, for some reason, but never much else. It’s touched upon, but Michael Nyqvist threat as Hendricks just seems lack luster which was shame.

    Full Review @ItsMuchMore
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 70
    The movie is wonderful, nonsensical fun.
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    70
    The movie is sheer hurtling mechanism - the entire world in motion - and it's great silly fun. [2 Jan. 2012, p.79]
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Dec 20, 2011
    70
    If the M:I films are immune to the tarnish on the Cruise brand, it's precisely because their spectacle requires us to be impressed by Ethan Hunt, not to like him.