Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 721 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blamed for the terrorist bombing of the Kremlin, IMF operative Ethan Hunt is disavowed along with the rest of the agency when the President initiates "Ghost Protocol". Left without any resources or backup, Ethan must find a way to clear his agency's name and prevent another attack. ToBlamed for the terrorist bombing of the Kremlin, IMF operative Ethan Hunt is disavowed along with the rest of the agency when the President initiates "Ghost Protocol". Left without any resources or backup, Ethan must find a way to clear his agency's name and prevent another attack. To complicate matters further, Ethan is forced to embark on this mission with a team of fellow IMF fugitives whose personal motives he does not fully know. [Paramount Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 16, 2011
    100
    Ghost Protocol brims with scenes that are exciting and amazing at the same time; they're brought off with such casual aplomb that they're funny, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 16, 2011
    88
    It's implausible as hell, but no less fun for that.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Aug 2, 2015
    80
    The first live-action endeavor from director Brad Bird (The Incredibles, The Iron Giant), Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol is filled with the verve and clarity of his animated action sequences while lending just enough gravity and remote plausibility to the stunts and gadgetry to keep it from becoming a glorified cartoon in and of itself.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 15, 2011
    75
    Bird also really punches up the ensemble playing. I imagine one of the upsides of being the director of nonhuman beings is that you're trained to respond to characters as much as stars.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Dec 15, 2011
    70
    Gets back to action basics with globe-trotting, nifty gadgets, high-flying stunts and less loquacious villainy.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Dec 7, 2011
    70
    Pixar wizard Brad Bird's live-action debut serves up sights and setpieces of often jaw-dropping ingenuity and visual flair, but it's a movie of dazzling individual parts that don't come together to fully satisfying effect in the final stretch.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Walsh
    Aug 2, 2015
    40
    Ghost Protocol is action fluff, and on that level alone it works well enough.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 193
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Simply high octane action in the movie. This is the best action movie of 2011. Brad bird and Tom cruise rocks!! So go and watch this oneSimply high octane action in the movie. This is the best action movie of 2011. Brad bird and Tom cruise rocks!! So go and watch this one because you can't afford to miss such a great action thriller flick of the mission impossible franchise. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Tom Cruise returns to his Ethan Hunt character popularized by the previous three installments with this fourth entry produced by J.J. Abrams.Tom Cruise returns to his Ethan Hunt character popularized by the previous three installments with this fourth entry produced by J.J. Abrams. Josh Appelbaum and André Nemec provide the script for the Paramount production. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2015
    9
    Huzzah for Brad Bird's energy!
    "M:I-III" was an improvement over the last two films, but "M:I - Ghost Protocol" is so much better. The action
    Huzzah for Brad Bird's energy!
    "M:I-III" was an improvement over the last two films, but "M:I - Ghost Protocol" is so much better. The action scenes are spectacular, the cinematography is fantastic, the dialogue is funny and well-done, and the stunt work by Tom Cruise(that Burj Khalifa climb is conceptualized and executed so expertly, and very nerve-wracking-ly) and everyone else's contribution is great. The plot is intense and actually got me involved with what was going on. "Mission: Impossible III" was exciting, but "Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol" is intriguingly exhilarating.

    "M:I Ghost Protocol" help me become a good enough fan of this series and I sooo recommend viewing it at least once, or maybe twice. It's a pure action-packed, summer blockbuster.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol shows that the franchise is still going strong. Tom Cruise once again gives a top notch performance andMission Impossible: Ghost Protocol shows that the franchise is still going strong. Tom Cruise once again gives a top notch performance and Brad Bird shows a great eye for action scenes. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    Didn't regret seeing this movie. I've got my complaints, of course. Mysterious analyst Brandt's (Jeremy Renner) dramatic side-story is neverDidn't regret seeing this movie. I've got my complaints, of course. Mysterious analyst Brandt's (Jeremy Renner) dramatic side-story is never fully realized, the plot feels half-baked at times, and Paula Patton's acting is lackluster. Also, one can't help but wonder how an aging physicist can keep up with a young special agent physically. Still though, this being an action movie, it fails or succeeds based on the merit of said action sequences and they deliver in spades. From a chase scene in the middle of a sandstorm to a fight in an automotive production facility, the viewer gets the sense that the filmmakers made a serious effort to innovate. Rather than seeking to impress the viewer based on the quantity of explosions on the screen at any given moment (like this year's godawful Transformers movie), they instead do so by building tension and maintaining a bizzarre sense of plausibility. There are other good things about this movie, like the colorful locales and effective comic relief, but those elements live to serve the effective action sequences. If you'd like to shut your brain off for an hour and a half and enjoy some of the best original action sequences produced in years, then this film would be a solid investment. If you take yourself too seriously, maybe watch something else. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    The cast was well acted in the film. I particularly praise Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner for adding their own memorable atmosphere into theThe cast was well acted in the film. I particularly praise Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner for adding their own memorable atmosphere into the mix. The action sequence are also great and the suspense created during the dubai scene is phenomenal. My only problem with this film is the main villain. He isn't explained all that well I feel he could have been more defined from better writing. But to say the least Mission Impossible -Ghost Protocol is probably the best action flick I've seen this year Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    I agree 100% with weisberger. I honestly don't see how anyone likes this movie. The plot is incredibly shallow and generic, Explains prettyI agree 100% with weisberger. I honestly don't see how anyone likes this movie. The plot is incredibly shallow and generic, Explains pretty much nothing, and the dialogue is awful. The action scenes are poorly done and are so incredibly unrealistic that it leaves you dumb-founded. I really don't see how anyone could give this movie a position review let alone critical acclaim. Expand

See all 193 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.