User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 332
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyneD.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    This film was incredible!!!! Everyone of the cast members is amazing! (Especially Tom and MICHELLE) J.J Well Done!!!!!!!!!!
  2. stasz.
    May 10, 2006
    9
    By far one of the best action movies. Watch and Chill, don't expect oscar elements. Nothing but great entertainment value.
  3. AlexeyA.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Probably the best action movie ever.
  4. BillyB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I thought this movie was excellent!
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    One of the best action adventure movies I have ever watched despite a good chill and thrill by the great director of J.J. Abrams. I also liked the great cast and of course a chilling plot.
  6. JaredB.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    This is, in my opinion, the best "Mission Impossible" film yet. Tom Cruise gives the character of Ethan Hunt a level of depth that I didn't find in the other two movies. I also enjoyed Ving Rhames as Arthur Stickell, Hunt's right-hand man. Philip Seymour Hoffman was a better bad guy than anyone in the last two films. My advice: If you haven't seen this, rent or buy it as This is, in my opinion, the best "Mission Impossible" film yet. Tom Cruise gives the character of Ethan Hunt a level of depth that I didn't find in the other two movies. I also enjoyed Ving Rhames as Arthur Stickell, Hunt's right-hand man. Philip Seymour Hoffman was a better bad guy than anyone in the last two films. My advice: If you haven't seen this, rent or buy it as soon as possible. Expand
  7. Tonydannie
    May 5, 2006
    7
    Hey folks! Well I just got back from a lonely midnight show of Tom Cruise's MI:3. I got to say, I am a bit Dissapointed. Not That I was not Entertained. The First 3 Quarters Of the Movie Is what you would expect from a Mission Impossible Flick. [***SPOILERS***] Lots of Action, Haging On wires, Wearing the Villains Face as a mask. Tom Cruise Grinning Like an Idiot every 20 seconds.(I Hey folks! Well I just got back from a lonely midnight show of Tom Cruise's MI:3. I got to say, I am a bit Dissapointed. Not That I was not Entertained. The First 3 Quarters Of the Movie Is what you would expect from a Mission Impossible Flick. [***SPOILERS***] Lots of Action, Haging On wires, Wearing the Villains Face as a mask. Tom Cruise Grinning Like an Idiot every 20 seconds.(I kidd) I was Hooked. The Bridge sequence was amazing. It is The last act where It lost me. The Villain's Demise was not what I was expecting it to be. It was a Tad weak. Don't get me wrong Seymore Hoffman was deliciously evil Through out the movie And to me a character that evil deserves a better kill off then what he got. There was no BIG finale!! Looking back at the First 2 movies(Second being my Favorite) They Got it right. The London terminus sequence on the first and the Bike Chase on the second. This one lacked that punch. And I am sorry. It was WEAK. And I do not think that Ethan Hunt should settle down. And though the action was top notch i would really love for this so called "new" directors to stop shaking the damn camera everytime there is action in the frame. i want to enjoy it. not get nosious. All in all it was entertaining, but it was not cinematic enough. it felt like i was watching a tv show. Hmmm...I wonder why? JJ Abrahams Needs to get rescued of that Damn deserted Island. Expand
  8. Jake
    May 6, 2006
    8
    Only the ending sucked....you know if you've seen it. Other than that, just one crazy action scene after another. Way better than the 2nd one (it sucked! come on people! the car wreck scene was so GAY!).
  9. ConradS.
    May 7, 2006
    7
    Its quite entertaining, but there's nothing I haven't seen before.
  10. VerbalK.
    May 7, 2006
    8
    A great combination of the the first two movies' strengths. It felt like an extended version of the original television series. Great. If this is any indication of the summer to come, we are in good shape. JJ Abrams Trek venture is now highly anticipated for me. The bridge scene is riveting. Kong and the T-rexes riveting. Give Tom Cruise his props, not one of the three MIs has been a A great combination of the the first two movies' strengths. It felt like an extended version of the original television series. Great. If this is any indication of the summer to come, we are in good shape. JJ Abrams Trek venture is now highly anticipated for me. The bridge scene is riveting. Kong and the T-rexes riveting. Give Tom Cruise his props, not one of the three MIs has been a bomb. I feel justified in stating that these films are the closest equivalent to 007 we have. Moms, grandpops, and teenies likes MI. Fanboys stick to Bourne's mole-hunt upon mole-hunt contrived euro-sedan chase sequences. Don't get it twisted, I like those films, choppy editing and all, its just that they has strayed SO far from the brilliant source material. Which brings me full circle. IMF in Peter Graves' day was always about the hacker, the strongman, and the make-up artist. The fact that dude is crazy in real life adds to the believability that Ethan Hunt would do the insane base-jumping stunts in each movie. Oprah's coach was just conditioning. Props to VIC ARMSTRONG the second unit director AND stunt coordinator. He Indy being drug behind the nazi benz cargo truck in Raiders. Cruise and Abrams have managed to interject the Tom's personal life(engagement/googley eyes) into a blockbuster and it took NADA away from the characterization, plot, or tone of the film. Jason Strahams and Karl Urbans take note. This is how to do it. He didn't have me at hello... But MI:3 had me at the lip reading, the execution scene, and moonwalking up and down the Vatican walls. Let see Robert Langdon do that! Expand
  11. ChadS.
    May 12, 2006
    8
    Tom Cruise isn't a chameleon like Billy Bob Thornton, in which a superior acting ability can make an audience forget his controversial personal life. Ethan Hunt is, indeed, Tom Cruise, here in action star-mode, as opposed to his "I'm a serious actor"-mode, in which he says things like "You complete me," and "Respect the cock." When he wears shades(he's crying, yes, but it Tom Cruise isn't a chameleon like Billy Bob Thornton, in which a superior acting ability can make an audience forget his controversial personal life. Ethan Hunt is, indeed, Tom Cruise, here in action star-mode, as opposed to his "I'm a serious actor"-mode, in which he says things like "You complete me," and "Respect the cock." When he wears shades(he's crying, yes, but it also could be construed as aloofness towards his Catholic surroundings) at a funeral where crosses are present, we're aware of his religious beliefs. An explosive device(read: potentially, a psychotropic drug) seems to kid his war against psychiatry. He also tells a colleague that his love is "real". What surprised me about "MI3" is that the official narrative is more fun than the subtext. It's a lot of fun. Keri Russell gives the early scenes a kick in a great casting-against-type performance. Expand
  12. josak
    May 15, 2006
    8
    I think people giving this movie a bad rating are just picky bastards to tell you the truth. You know -- those people, who have to be critical just to be, because they can't sit down and just enjoy a movie for what it is. And anyone ragging on this movie because of Tom Cruise needs to get a life. Who's worse - a scientologist, or a guy who pays more attention to somebody elses I think people giving this movie a bad rating are just picky bastards to tell you the truth. You know -- those people, who have to be critical just to be, because they can't sit down and just enjoy a movie for what it is. And anyone ragging on this movie because of Tom Cruise needs to get a life. Who's worse - a scientologist, or a guy who pays more attention to somebody elses life than his own? Anyway, this is a straight up, pumped up action movie; but it has brains, and lotso drama. It's crazy, I was pretty blown away actually. My only quibble is that the dialogue could have been better in a few scenes. Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised. No, it's probably not better than MI:1 -- and anything is better than MI:2. Regardless, go see this movie. Expand
  13. Christopher
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Wasn't bad. Better than I expected. It should have been called The Alias Movie. Better than the second, but nowhere near as good as the original.
  14. A.Martinez
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Over the top? Yes, that's why it's so good. Some one also told them to keep the backstabbing plots simple and the action coming. The first movie, way too complicated. Second, better. Third, the best, I think. It kicks butt, and Philip Seymour Hoffman as the bad guy? Very cool.
  15. ZapistoF.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Woah....I mean WOOAAHH...that's a freaking action movie. J.J. Abrams just reinvented how to make one. I was not a fan of his work with Alias, and I found the pilot of Lost to be ok. So, I didn't have all that high of expectations going in, but man....scene after scene after scene of "edge of your seat"/penetrating/visionary action. Tom Cruise is at his best here, as is the Woah....I mean WOOAAHH...that's a freaking action movie. J.J. Abrams just reinvented how to make one. I was not a fan of his work with Alias, and I found the pilot of Lost to be ok. So, I didn't have all that high of expectations going in, but man....scene after scene after scene of "edge of your seat"/penetrating/visionary action. Tom Cruise is at his best here, as is the entire cast. The accompanying score is phenomenal. Shout it from the rafters. J.J. ABRAMS is a freaking genius and Tom is a genius for getting him to do this movie!!!!! Expand
  16. DanGerman
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Excellent action, great pace, top performances.
  17. LuisR.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    I simply loved it! pure action and thrill during all the film, enjoyable and great!
  18. MarcD.
    May 6, 2006
    8
    I had a hell of a lot of fun with this movie. In fact, there was not a stretch longer than about 2 minutes in the film in which I wasn't grabing my face, pulling my hair, or kicking the seat in front of me because of all the crazy/original sh*t going on on the screen. I came into this movie having somewhat liked the first two and not totally excited to see how Tom probably acts with I had a hell of a lot of fun with this movie. In fact, there was not a stretch longer than about 2 minutes in the film in which I wasn't grabing my face, pulling my hair, or kicking the seat in front of me because of all the crazy/original sh*t going on on the screen. I came into this movie having somewhat liked the first two and not totally excited to see how Tom probably acts with Katie, but if you're like me, you'll drop that 'tude as soon as the first action sequence kicks into gear. I like "Alias" a lot, and this movie seemed like Alias on Steroids. Yes, the cream AND the clear. The storyline wasn't as convoluted as the first one was. Don't want to spoil any plot points. I'll just say that it was worth the $$ to make this thing, so just go see it. Expand
  19. ManfredP.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    Let's get one thing straight, right off the bat: this is not the incredible gem of a movie that was DePalma's 'Mission: Impossible', but it is also significantly...and I mean, significantly...better than John Woo's abysmal attempt at trying to mix oil and water (namely, his own style and the 'M:I' movie franchise) that the world must regretfully refer to Let's get one thing straight, right off the bat: this is not the incredible gem of a movie that was DePalma's 'Mission: Impossible', but it is also significantly...and I mean, significantly...better than John Woo's abysmal attempt at trying to mix oil and water (namely, his own style and the 'M:I' movie franchise) that the world must regretfully refer to as 'Mission: Impossible II'. Within ten seconds of the Paramount logo disappearing into the ether, you are hooked. Utterly hooked. The trademark pre-title sequence is intense and masterfully constructed, and is arguably the best piece of film in the entire movie. And what a place to put it. The plot itself lacks any real complexity, but what it lacks in overt intelligence it more than makes up for in how completely engaging and entertaining it actually is. The emotional beats are right on cue - although this can be called into question slightly in the closing minutes of the movie - and the action scenes are visceral, real and are actually incredibly scary for a PG-13 movie. There are plenty of thoroughly satisfying teamwork sequences that are highly satisfying to watch on a number of levels, and the film thrills, amuses and shocks for its entire duration. Not much can top a showdown between an IMF mentor and student on the top of a speeding bullet train, but Abrams does a damn good job at pitching the stakes of the finalé on a suitably 'impossible' level to mentioned respectfully after Hunt's suicidal Channel Tunnel dash in the first movie. In terms of acting: Cruise is at his superstar best, Hoffman is deliciously evil and wonderful as the entirely uncompassionate bad guy, Rhames is more implemented than ever before and exuding his usual sense of cool, and Simon Pegg delivers some very welcome humour to the movie. There are nods to previous Mission: Impossible movies, including the famed wire-drop from the first film when Hunt and company decide to...get this...infiltrate the Vatican (a scene that is accompanied by a charmingly amusing performance of Cruise going all Italian), and even a small homage to 'Top Gun'. Yes, this is a Tom Cruise film. But - as this movie goes to show - that's no bad thing by any stretch of the imagination. This thing is gripping, enthralling, and surprisingly taught for a movie that clocks in at just over two hours in length. For now, at least, the first movie remains unchallenged as the masterpiece of the franchise. It is the ultimate 'M:I' experience and is crafted with the mastery one would expect from a filmaker like DePalma; Abrams is still a novice by comparison. But, rest assured, 'Mission: Impossible III' is one mission you'll be more than happy to accept as a kick-ass Summer blockbuster that is thoroughly satisfying on every level. Expand
  20. D.N.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    The best of the series. It's everything you want it to be.
  21. BarbW.
    May 7, 2006
    9
    This is a pure action/thriller movie with lots of 'edge of your seat' thrills. Tom Cruise shows that he still has that movie star 'magic', something that so few actors possess. That's a pretty amazing feat, considering the constant bullying and harassment he receives from the press. Go see this movie, if only to see a true movie star at his best! (The non-stop This is a pure action/thriller movie with lots of 'edge of your seat' thrills. Tom Cruise shows that he still has that movie star 'magic', something that so few actors possess. That's a pretty amazing feat, considering the constant bullying and harassment he receives from the press. Go see this movie, if only to see a true movie star at his best! (The non-stop action and excitement doesn't hurt either). Expand
  22. JaredC
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Explosions, stunts, and espionage....what more could you want?
  23. Fairis
    May 8, 2006
    8
    Well-made movie. Edge of seat stuff with great pacing, nice action sequences + a few laughs here and there. Just let down by the ending which was low-key (maybe i was expecting John Woo's MI:II ending which indeed was spectacular). And i thought Hoffman's Davian was one-dimensional.. i mean, yeah, i'm convinced that he's mean and stuff but not much characterization Well-made movie. Edge of seat stuff with great pacing, nice action sequences + a few laughs here and there. Just let down by the ending which was low-key (maybe i was expecting John Woo's MI:II ending which indeed was spectacular). And i thought Hoffman's Davian was one-dimensional.. i mean, yeah, i'm convinced that he's mean and stuff but not much characterization took place.. what made the guy he was, what's he motivation that kind of stuff, y'know. But hey, it's a pop-corn movie so didn't expect that anyways.. Expand
  24. SusanM.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Yes, yes, YES! This movie has everything that belongs in a good action movie, and nothing that doesn't. Go see it!
  25. [Anonymous]
    May 9, 2006
    8
    This movie was pretty good there wasn't a lot of plot but it was very intense and I thought it was a pretty fun movie.
  26. EfeB.
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    tom cruise must be the best actor who ever lived because he takes the impossible and makes it possible.
  27. MikeS.
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Great ending employer of Tom criuse realizes he was set up and gives him the accommodation he deserves.
  28. CraigA.
    Jun 2, 2006
    8
    Hugely entertaining - even if it has the world's most predictable plot twist. Oooo, I wonder who the REAL mole is?
  29. MatthewR.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    90% Yes predictable, girl gets kidnapped guy comes to rescue her, yep dont we all know by now. There are some "seen before moments" but there are some places that will keep you asking what happens next. Plus any funnies in the the film are well placed. "You've got to be kidding me". Nope I am not, it's not a classic and unless you have something you need to do you should go watch it.
  30. ConorS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    7
    The real show-stealer here is Philip Seymour Hoffman, who brings a serious brutality and rage to the part of the villain in this third installment. He does just what any good villain should do: he makes us hate him and want to see him dead. The plot also works nicely enough, and the rest of the cast do their jobs well.
  31. JimB.
    May 15, 2006
    9
    I'm confused; I see people calling this movie "enjoyable" and "entertaining" , yet "not nessarily a good movie." What kind lunacy is this? This is just your stereotypical critic: a guy who nit-picks just because he can. What happened to a movie being judged on it's entertainment value? Kind of common sense, right? I tend to use that a alot, I'm just non-intellectual like I'm confused; I see people calling this movie "enjoyable" and "entertaining" , yet "not nessarily a good movie." What kind lunacy is this? This is just your stereotypical critic: a guy who nit-picks just because he can. What happened to a movie being judged on it's entertainment value? Kind of common sense, right? I tend to use that a alot, I'm just non-intellectual like that. I mean... makes sense to me, a movie entertains me... it probably deserves a higher score. These are the same guys, who rate snorefests a 10 because of great acting and dialogue. That's all well and good, and it certainly helps a movie, but if it's still not that entertaining, is that "nesessarily a good movie?" I'll let you ponder that question. Meanwhile, go see this movie. Expand
  32. IanI.
    May 19, 2006
    7
    Dispite the fact that the first two movies recieved a cumulative metascore of 60 and this one recieved a 66 this is not the better movie. MI3 is better than MI2 by far but not nearly as good as MI. It was an adiquitly entertaining film that does nothing more than what you would expect (perhaps a little less) and leaves you compleatly undazzeled. [***SPOILERS***] movie would be better if Dispite the fact that the first two movies recieved a cumulative metascore of 60 and this one recieved a 66 this is not the better movie. MI3 is better than MI2 by far but not nearly as good as MI. It was an adiquitly entertaining film that does nothing more than what you would expect (perhaps a little less) and leaves you compleatly undazzeled. [***SPOILERS***] movie would be better if they left out the first scene revealing that cruise would be captured by the bad guy at the end therefor reaveling that no matter what he did durring the movie you knew for a fact that the bad guy would not die untill that scene was compleate and so in all the scenes there was no suspense, you also already knew he would not get to his wife in time and she would be eventualy captured just like hoffman claimed he would do. Dumb Move. It added nothing to the movie and detracted everything. Expand
  33. RobertB.
    May 22, 2006
    9
    Perfect summer action fair, Entertaining.
  34. Mitch
    May 20, 2006
    8
    First of all, it's a Mission Impossible movie. If you go to see that, you won't be disappointed. I liked this movie a lot more than the previous two. Actually, this movie felt a lot more "Mission Impossible" than any of the previous films. More teamwork, more choreographed espionage. It was a really fun, adventure flick. See it in a good theatre. The sound was really well done.
  35. BenB.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    cracking action movie with enough stunts, break-ins, and action to make up for all its faults, which include a rather lame love story and a HORRIBLE burglary sequence. that said, anyone who doesn't have fun with this movie doesn't like movies. This is highly entertaining and watchable no matter who you are.
  36. MathieuL.
    May 29, 2006
    7
    The best of the three! Solid action sequences and the most poignant scenes of emotion of any Mission movie. Tom Cruise is astonishing, but Philip Seymour Hoffman should have got much more screen time. Overall, a great action drama and a nice summer blockbuster.
  37. WillE.
    May 5, 2006
    9
    This movie surpassed my expectations. it is saved by it's supporting cast: Hoffman is perfect as the ultimate bad guy, Keri Russel gives a suprisingly intense performance, simon pegg provides the great comic relief. JJ Abram's direction is spot-on. there really isnt much that misses, except some "yeah right" moments. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
  38. TehanuA.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The absolute best movie of the year! I thought that this movie was one of the best ones that they have made. The suspense and action kept me from taking a bathroom break! This movie is worth the 7 bucks to get in, and more!
  39. DD
    May 6, 2006
    8
    I thought it was great. i went in expecting nothing more than an action flick with tech-savvy scenes, a standard plot and random twist at the end, and that's what they gave. don't read into it too much, just enjoy. it's the perfect platform to cruise to exist in his continued psychotic weirdness.
  40. TommyCruze
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I am absolutely speechless. I loved this movie. It deserved a 100000000. If you love action (actually if you love anything) this is the perfect movie. Everything was perfect and this movie was a a lot better than the first two. Please go see this movie. You do not know what you are missing out on if you miss this movie. Tom Cruise..... perfect. Bravo. Bravo. Bravo.
  41. SarahL.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Great action movie. Cruise is a great hero and Hoffman is the best vilain.
  42. ScottN.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    MI3 displays an impressive breadth of nuanced direction, subtle acting and an engaging romantic interest with the requisite spectacular effects and stunts. This film rivets you to your seat as stupendous action sequences alternate with intrigue and suspense as the plot cascades to Europe, Asia - even the Vatican - under the relentless threat of the dreaded
  43. basss
    May 9, 2006
    9
    The movie was awsome and intense with some thrills thrown in.
  44. Dani
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    Definitely action-packed with some romance thrown in.
  45. JasonM.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    exactly what I was looking for in an action movie. Congrats JJ.
  46. Seamus
    May 11, 2006
    8
    Definitely better than MI:2 which was perhaps the worst movie ever made; on par with the first one in my opinion.
  47. MovieS.
    May 12, 2006
    8
    A return to solid, gratifing action movie making.
  48. J.Gunten
    May 14, 2006
    9
    MI-3 is a near-prefect blend of romance, devotion, emotion, high action, intelligent plotting, surprisingly innovative solutions to problems, and enough flash-bang to turn up the adrenalin. I was happily surprised by the more-intelligent-than-most handling of the threat, Rabbit's Foot. And no one in the theatre missed the unparalleled *intensity* that Cruise brings to this role.
  49. LouisB.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    M.I.-3 is fast paced and very exciting.The special effects are incredible. Hoffman makes a great villain.A great summer movie, good escapism.
  50. Angie
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    I absolutely LOVE this movie! Tom Cruise is at his best running full-throttle down the streets of Beijing... People need to forget about Tom Cruise's politics and simply enjoy this movie... It's called ENTERTAINMENT.
  51. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    Mission Impossible III delivers good drama than action. Not so much pumping action scenes. But it works for thrilling summer movie. J.J. Abrams is good.
  52. May 25, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The third "Mission: Impossible" film starring Tom Cruise as IMF Agent Ethan Hunt. This time directed by "Lost" creator J.J. Abrams.

    Ethan Hunt is now training IMF agents and ready to settle down and marry the woman he loves, Julia (Michelle Monaghan). That is until one of the new agents he trained, Lindsay Ferris (Keri Russell) is captured by weapons dealer Owen Davian (Philip Seymour Hoffman) in Berlin. Hunt is called back into active duty to save her, but after the mission fails, he decides to track down and capture Davian in Rome without authorization, with the help of his IMF team (Ving Rhames, Johnathan Rhys-Meyers and Maggie Q.). After Davian escapes with the help of someone inside IMF, he kidnaps Julia and threatens to kill her unless Hunt gets him a secret unknown weapon called "the rabbits foot" from a secure building in Shanghai, China. Now, Hunt must race against time to save Julia, and stop Davian from getting his hands on "the rabbits foot".

    The plot is a little predictable, and the one theme that stays constant throughout all three films is that the IMF has a lot of traitors within its organization, but in my opinion this is the best of the "Mission: Impossible" movies. Director J.J. Abrams gives the film a very gritty feel, and you can see the influences of "Lost" in his style, as well with Michael Giacchino's music score. Philip Seymour Hoffman is a great villain, and I loved the way he met his end (face meet bumper)!
    Expand
  53. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Having given up his high-risk assignments in favour of training new agents and the opportunity to settle down with his fiance Ethan Hunt (Cruise) finds himself back in the field when his young protege goes missing.

    As with most big budget blockbusters Mission Impossible 3 is full of plot holes and convenient happenings. Thanks to some well directed action sequences and good performances
    Having given up his high-risk assignments in favour of training new agents and the opportunity to settle down with his fiance Ethan Hunt (Cruise) finds himself back in the field when his young protege goes missing.

    As with most big budget blockbusters Mission Impossible 3 is full of plot holes and convenient happenings. Thanks to some well directed action sequences and good performances from most of the cast however it is certainly an entertaining enough watch and provides what you would expect from the genre, nothing more, nothing less.
    Expand
  54. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    I give this movie 100% ratings because its the best action thriller till now of tom cruise. The movie just takes you in a cruise full of action and mind bending thriller which no one has seen yet. It really keeps your interest in whats next. This one is one of the best action thriller movie till now.
  55. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    That's what a call action, and good one. it's a low 8, but for the type of movie I was very impressed, I watched the first one, didn't like it that much, but this one i enjoyed. J.J. Abrams had to came to make this collection better off course. Tom Cruise was freaking fantastic in the movie, like he was jumping, shooting, killing, hell that **** was awesome.
  56. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    The tension and the antagonists are frenetic and make the mission continuous among an impossible level. Though, it is tied with Mission: Impossible II.
  57. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    best film out of the 4.(GREAT VILLIAN,Mr.Hoffman) It has the intelligence of the first (the second best film after Fargo in 1996), and the action is almost as good as ghost protocol, the 2nd mission impossible is the weakest, (it is enjoyable even with all the flaws tho). Anyways I rink the films 1.Mi 3(10) 2.Mi 1(10) 3.Mi 4(9.5) 4. Mi2(7) Ghost Protocol is The Best Action film in yearsbest film out of the 4.(GREAT VILLIAN,Mr.Hoffman) It has the intelligence of the first (the second best film after Fargo in 1996), and the action is almost as good as ghost protocol, the 2nd mission impossible is the weakest, (it is enjoyable even with all the flaws tho). Anyways I rink the films 1.Mi 3(10) 2.Mi 1(10) 3.Mi 4(9.5) 4. Mi2(7) Ghost Protocol is The Best Action film in years but it's story is pretty mediocre,even though the actual dialogue is clever and the pacing and cinematography is amazing for an action film) Overall Mi 3 is the best of the series because it executes everything! But M.I. 4 Has the best Action and is the Funniest, Mi 1 Has the best direction(I LOVED the feeling of paranoia and experimental cinematography) and Mi2 is fairly enjoyable even with flaws....Great Action Series Expand
  58. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    This movie reminded me most about the first part of M:i series - though it was still hurried and sometimes a little unclear in its turn of events. The well contructed story suffered from that.

    An enjoyable watch, sure, but still I would have hoped a little slower beat. Action is good, but not when there's too much at once and the viewers are left slightly confused of what is really going on.
  59. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    It was good to see this series get back on track after a sub par sequel. J.J. Abrams brings a sense of style and story telling that gives this series back its kick. Plus it's always good to add Phillip Seymour Hoffman.
  60. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Eu subestimei Tom Cruise,ele é um bom ator,e dar uma excelente performance como Ethan Hunt nesse incrível Missão Impossível 3,Philip Seymour Hoffman dar uma boa performance como vilão mas creio que ele é um pouco Superestimado,Michelle Monaghan é excelente,Ving Rhames,Maggie Q,Simon Pegg,Jonathan Rhys Meyers,Keri Russell e Laurence Fishburne também estão excelentes,Com excelentes cenas deEu subestimei Tom Cruise,ele é um bom ator,e dar uma excelente performance como Ethan Hunt nesse incrível Missão Impossível 3,Philip Seymour Hoffman dar uma boa performance como vilão mas creio que ele é um pouco Superestimado,Michelle Monaghan é excelente,Ving Rhames,Maggie Q,Simon Pegg,Jonathan Rhys Meyers,Keri Russell e Laurence Fishburne também estão excelentes,Com excelentes cenas de ação e muito suspense. Expand
  61. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    A month ago, I would've wrote "Mission Impossible III isn't the best movie by itself, but a down-to-earth, no-bs performance by Phillip Seymour Hoffman really elevated the movie to a new level." Now (February 9th, 2014), I write the same thing. The late actor's performance in this movie was one of his best, probably about 4th to Doubt, The Master, and Capote. His talents will be missed.
  62. Jun 6, 2015
    7
    Par for the course. Lacked the suspense of the second movie or the plot of the first. Saved largely by impressive stunts, disguises, deadpan multilingual dialogue and Simon Pegg. To be fair the first scene in the building complex was 007 worthy. Give it half an hour.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    60
    An inspired middle-hour pumped by some solid action gives you an idea how good the franchise could be, but we now live in a post-Bourne, recalibrated-Bond universe, where Ethan Hunt looks a bit lost.
  2. In his feature debut, "Lost" creator J.J. Abrams, who got the job on the basis of "Alias," takes the driver's seat with both feet on the accelerator.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    For all its far-fetched formulations, this new entry maintains more of a dramatic throughline and has the bonus of a villain played with unsparing meanness by Philip Seymour Hoffman.