Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Special Agent Ethan Hunt faces the mission of his life and a new villain (Philip Seymour Hoffman) in Mission: Impossible III. Director J. J. Abrams ("Lost," "Alias") brings his unique blend of action and drama to the billion-dollar franchise. [Paramount Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 83
    Yes, it's fundamentally business as usual, but it's the best kind of business as usual, and it finds everyone working in top form. Abrams imports and enlarges "Alias'" smooth, stylish, yet remarkably visceral approach to action, and the actors pack a satisfying amount of drama into the moments between action scenes.
  2. 75
    The end result is the very definition of a summer movie: breezy, undemanding and a carefully balanced blend of the familiar and the not-quite-what-you-expected.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 2, 2015
    75
    The IMF workings are still complex, but without Brian DePalma's artistic indulgences (Part 1) and John Woo's poetic distractions (Part 2). Abrams cuts to the chase whenever the option arises, and the results don't leave much time to question logic or motive. [4 May 2006, p.6W]
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    70
    In the world of bloated movie-star vehicles, it's not unusual to see an ego trip of these dimensions. What’s rare is when one hits its marks so smoothly.
  5. 63
    Though dated and unsophisticated compared to the much cooler Bourne spy thrillers, M:i:III will probably hit the sweet spot at the box-office - and give Cruise a whole new reason to start jumping on couches.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael H. Kleinschrodt
    Aug 2, 2015
    60
    Cruise and Hoffman, who previously worked together on "Magnolia," are quite good in M:I:III. Cruise has a couple of powerfully emotional moments (neither involving Oprah Winfrey's couch or a silent birth), and Hoffman is a treat in an uncharacteristic tough-guy role. [5 May 2006, p.24]
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    40
    Aside from a single jazzy image of Hunt taking a nosedive off a Shanghai skyscraper, Abrams' movie is too oppressive, too enamored of its brutality to deliver anything like real thrills; its deeply unpleasant tone nearly makes you long even for Woo's cartoon absurdities.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 105
  2. Negative: 16 out of 105
  1. BillyB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I thought this movie was excellent! Expand
  2. ZapistoF.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Woah....I mean WOOAAHH...that's a freaking action movie. J.J. Abrams just reinvented how to make one. I was not a fan of his work with Woah....I mean WOOAAHH...that's a freaking action movie. J.J. Abrams just reinvented how to make one. I was not a fan of his work with Alias, and I found the pilot of Lost to be ok. So, I didn't have all that high of expectations going in, but man....scene after scene after scene of "edge of your seat"/penetrating/visionary action. Tom Cruise is at his best here, as is the entire cast. The accompanying score is phenomenal. Shout it from the rafters. J.J. ABRAMS is a freaking genius and Tom is a genius for getting him to do this movie!!!!! Expand
  3. SusanM.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Yes, yes, YES! This movie has everything that belongs in a good action movie, and nothing that doesn't. Go see it!
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    One of the best action adventure movies I have ever watched despite a good chill and thrill by the great director of J.J. Abrams. I also likedOne of the best action adventure movies I have ever watched despite a good chill and thrill by the great director of J.J. Abrams. I also liked the great cast and of course a chilling plot. Expand
  5. Mike
    Dec 20, 2006
    6
    Very watchable to the end. Overall alot better then I expected it to be.
  6. BrandonA.
    May 29, 2006
    5
    It was predictable, the story was simple. To sum it up the action saved the movie of getting a 1.
  7. MeeepMeep
    May 7, 2006
    0
    Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Abrams has so much talent. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers