Mission: Impossible III

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Special Agent Ethan Hunt faces the mission of his life and a new villain (Philip Seymour Hoffman) in Mission: Impossible III. Director J. J. Abrams ("Lost," "Alias") brings his unique blend of action and drama to the billion-dollar franchise. [Paramount Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 83
    Yes, it's fundamentally business as usual, but it's the best kind of business as usual, and it finds everyone working in top form. Abrams imports and enlarges "Alias'" smooth, stylish, yet remarkably visceral approach to action, and the actors pack a satisfying amount of drama into the moments between action scenes.
  2. 75
    The end result is the very definition of a summer movie: breezy, undemanding and a carefully balanced blend of the familiar and the not-quite-what-you-expected.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 2, 2015
    75
    The IMF workings are still complex, but without Brian DePalma's artistic indulgences (Part 1) and John Woo's poetic distractions (Part 2). Abrams cuts to the chase whenever the option arises, and the results don't leave much time to question logic or motive. [4 May 2006, p.6W]
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    70
    In the world of bloated movie-star vehicles, it's not unusual to see an ego trip of these dimensions. What’s rare is when one hits its marks so smoothly.
  5. 63
    Though dated and unsophisticated compared to the much cooler Bourne spy thrillers, M:i:III will probably hit the sweet spot at the box-office - and give Cruise a whole new reason to start jumping on couches.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael H. Kleinschrodt
    Aug 2, 2015
    60
    Cruise and Hoffman, who previously worked together on "Magnolia," are quite good in M:I:III. Cruise has a couple of powerfully emotional moments (neither involving Oprah Winfrey's couch or a silent birth), and Hoffman is a treat in an uncharacteristic tough-guy role. [5 May 2006, p.24]
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    40
    Aside from a single jazzy image of Hunt taking a nosedive off a Shanghai skyscraper, Abrams' movie is too oppressive, too enamored of its brutality to deliver anything like real thrills; its deeply unpleasant tone nearly makes you long even for Woo's cartoon absurdities.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 108
  2. Negative: 16 out of 108
  1. BillyB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I thought this movie was excellent! Expand
  2. TehanuA.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The absolute best movie of the year! I thought that this movie was one of the best ones that they have made. The suspense and action kept me The absolute best movie of the year! I thought that this movie was one of the best ones that they have made. The suspense and action kept me from taking a bathroom break! This movie is worth the 7 bucks to get in, and more! Expand
  3. SarahL.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Great action movie. Cruise is a great hero and Hoffman is the best vilain.
  4. Aug 4, 2015
    7
    Having seen the first four Mission: Impossibles, I can safely say that MI3 is my favorite installment, solely because of Philip SeymourHaving seen the first four Mission: Impossibles, I can safely say that MI3 is my favorite installment, solely because of Philip Seymour Hoffman. The best villain in the series and, honestly, one of the better ones in recent memory, Hoffman's performance here is fantastic and deliciously evil. Tom Cruise is fantastic as well here, doubled by him performing most of his own stunts, which I continue to find very, very impressive. The action is well directed by JJ Abrams and the film most certainly entertains. Ving Rhames, Simon Pegg, and Keri Russell, are also really good. The scene with Russell has also left me paranoid whenever I have a headache, so thanks for that Mission: Impossible III. Overall, this one is a very good action film that entertains in spades and thanks to Hoffman's spectacular turn as the antagonist here, it is elevated above the other installments in the series. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2015
    6
    Good follow-up to the awful Mission: Impossible sequel, this movie managed to make the action and cinematography look better than the previousGood follow-up to the awful Mission: Impossible sequel, this movie managed to make the action and cinematography look better than the previous one, and Tom Cruise continues to shine. The soundtrack is terrific, and the pacing is really solid. By far, I'd say this one had the best villain in the whole franchise. Overall, pretty decent movie with some twists and cool action.

    Score: 6.5/10.
    Expand
  6. halb
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    Corny and cliche'-riddled, but with exhilirating action scenes. A 2-hr episode of 'Alias' on speed. Good supporting cast, but Corny and cliche'-riddled, but with exhilirating action scenes. A 2-hr episode of 'Alias' on speed. Good supporting cast, but who can watch Tom Cruise any more without thinking of him jumping on Oprah's couch or spouting his criminally irrational Scientology philsophy... ? And the plot twist is as contrived as they come. There are better movies to rent, for sure. Expand
  7. MeeepMeep
    May 7, 2006
    0
    Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Abrams has so much talent. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Trailers