Mission: Impossible III

Mission: Impossible III Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Special Agent Ethan Hunt faces the mission of his life and a new villain (Philip Seymour Hoffman) in Mission: Impossible III. Director J. J. Abrams ("Lost," "Alias") brings his unique blend of action and drama to the billion-dollar franchise. [Paramount Pictures]

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 83
    Yes, it's fundamentally business as usual, but it's the best kind of business as usual, and it finds everyone working in top form. Abrams imports and enlarges "Alias'" smooth, stylish, yet remarkably visceral approach to action, and the actors pack a satisfying amount of drama into the moments between action scenes.
  2. The end result is the very definition of a summer movie: breezy, undemanding and a carefully balanced blend of the familiar and the not-quite-what-you-expected.
  3. Tampa Bay Times
    Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 2, 2015
    75
    The IMF workings are still complex, but without Brian DePalma's artistic indulgences (Part 1) and John Woo's poetic distractions (Part 2). Abrams cuts to the chase whenever the option arises, and the results don't leave much time to question logic or motive. [4 May 2006, p.6W]
  4. In the world of bloated movie-star vehicles, it's not unusual to see an ego trip of these dimensions. What’s rare is when one hits its marks so smoothly.
  5. 63
    Though dated and unsophisticated compared to the much cooler Bourne spy thrillers, M:i:III will probably hit the sweet spot at the box-office - and give Cruise a whole new reason to start jumping on couches.
  6. New Orleans Times-Picayune
    Reviewed by: Michael H. Kleinschrodt
    Aug 2, 2015
    60
    Cruise and Hoffman, who previously worked together on "Magnolia," are quite good in M:I:III. Cruise has a couple of powerfully emotional moments (neither involving Oprah Winfrey's couch or a silent birth), and Hoffman is a treat in an uncharacteristic tough-guy role. [5 May 2006, p.24]
  7. 40
    Aside from a single jazzy image of Hunt taking a nosedive off a Shanghai skyscraper, Abrams' movie is too oppressive, too enamored of its brutality to deliver anything like real thrills; its deeply unpleasant tone nearly makes you long even for Woo's cartoon absurdities.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 111
  2. Negative: 16 out of 111
  1. BillyB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I Not only is this movie just as good as the first two, but I would even say it was my favorite. With new concepts and a good story line, I thought this movie was excellent! Expand
  2. TehanuA.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The absolute best movie of the year! I thought that this movie was one of the best ones that they have made. The suspense and action kept me The absolute best movie of the year! I thought that this movie was one of the best ones that they have made. The suspense and action kept me from taking a bathroom break! This movie is worth the 7 bucks to get in, and more! Expand
  3. SarahL.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Great action movie. Cruise is a great hero and Hoffman is the best vilain.
  4. Dec 6, 2015
    7
    Mission : Impossible III was a powerful film , and a lot of intrigue , where " Tomsito " for the third time playing all in a very dangerousMission : Impossible III was a powerful film , and a lot of intrigue , where " Tomsito " for the third time playing all in a very dangerous mission , and for me the most dramatic . Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    J.J Abrams sorta made "Mission Impossible 3" with a ominous fuse of Brian De Palma's story and John Woo's action. The result? Manageable.
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Mission Impossible III was a step in the right direction.
    After a very disappointing sequel to the spy series, MI3 recaptures some of the
    Mission Impossible III was a step in the right direction.
    After a very disappointing sequel to the spy series, MI3 recaptures some of the magic with a more "down to earth" Tom Cruise and a much more realistic basis.
    Expand
  7. MeeepMeep
    May 7, 2006
    0
    Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Ehhh... Big budget action movies are tired, overdone, headache inducing crapfests these days. This movie fails, which is too bad, because JJ Abrams has so much talent. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews

Trailers