thinkfilm | Release Date: March 23, 2005
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 11 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
2
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SandraOJul 2, 2005
A genuine and inteligent glimpse into the world of wine. It's fantastic as it makes you think for a long time and changes your convictions about wines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
martelhMay 3, 2005
Brought a bottle of good wine with us to the theatre. so as they're talking wine, we're drinking and enjoying the movie all the more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
donk.Aug 21, 2005
Too long and loud - headache time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GeoffS.Oct 10, 2005
The man needs a tripod. The unnecessary camera movement of panning, zooming, then panning again takes away from the worthy subject matter. And, that's a shame. Perhaps this jerkiness was mean to give the film a sense of raw, unpolished The man needs a tripod. The unnecessary camera movement of panning, zooming, then panning again takes away from the worthy subject matter. And, that's a shame. Perhaps this jerkiness was mean to give the film a sense of raw, unpolished edginess - but we just saw it on a cinema screen and found it simply irritating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SantiagoR.Aug 11, 2005
Bieng an avid wine drinker and appretiator, i was rather disdurbed by this film. I don't know if i will ever be able to drink another wine from California again, especially one by Mondavi. This film was a true testiment to what Bieng an avid wine drinker and appretiator, i was rather disdurbed by this film. I don't know if i will ever be able to drink another wine from California again, especially one by Mondavi. This film was a true testiment to what documentaries should be, raw and not one sided. an excellent film, if i may say so.. bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HelenaMay 15, 2006
Introduces some interesting questions in a fascinating topic but does not do much with them. I agree with Geoff -the cameraman needs a tripod. And what is with all the dog shots? Annoying. Overall this movie was a missed opportunity to Introduces some interesting questions in a fascinating topic but does not do much with them. I agree with Geoff -the cameraman needs a tripod. And what is with all the dog shots? Annoying. Overall this movie was a missed opportunity to tackle some interesting issues in the world of wine with depth and intelligence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidT.Mar 28, 2005
Get that man an editor!! Largely enjoyable, a bit more balanced than it at first seems, my biggest complaint about Modovino was Nossiter's inability turn his footage into a concise and coherent story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FlavioV.Nov 26, 2006
I love the elegance and sincerity in showing people being seduced by the forces of marketing and power. Or being rejecting it. In both cases it is beautiful to have de courage to evolve or to conserve tradition. Mondovino is about seduction. I love the elegance and sincerity in showing people being seduced by the forces of marketing and power. Or being rejecting it. In both cases it is beautiful to have de courage to evolve or to conserve tradition. Mondovino is about seduction. The dog scene is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful