Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on Michael Lewis' nonfiction bestseller "Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game," the book's subject is Oakland A's general manager Billy Beane, who assembled a contending baseball club on a shoestring budget by employing a sophisticated computer-based analysis to draft players.Based on Michael Lewis' nonfiction bestseller "Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game," the book's subject is Oakland A's general manager Billy Beane, who assembled a contending baseball club on a shoestring budget by employing a sophisticated computer-based analysis to draft players. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Like a cold beer under a bluebird sky; like a flawless line drive on a warm summer's day; like a long, languorous seventh-inning stretch - Moneyball satisfies.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    The real protagonist of Moneyball, however, is Beane himself, played with great charisma by Brad Pitt. (With this movie and "The Tree of Life" competing against each other, Pitt could wind up cheating himself out of an Oscar this year.)
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 22, 2011
    90
    Starring Brad Pitt in top movie star form, it's a film that's impressive and surprising.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 21, 2011
    88
    This is a subtle, elegant and altogether triumphant film about a subject I thought I was tired of, told with an artistry and freshness that is positively thrilling.
  5. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Nov 21, 2011
    80
    You don't need to understand anything of baseball to get behind this, a chest-swelling story about second chances and flipping a finger up (even a giant foam one) to The Man.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    On some level Moneyball is about loyalty: loyalty to an idea, loyalty to a partnership forged by desperation, loyalty to the values you believe in. Whether that was Lewis' intention in the book, or Beane's intention in taking the risk, doesn't matter. It's the formula Miller came up with for the film, and with the team of Pitt and Hill, it's a winning one.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    True to Hollywood's tireless efforts to fit square-peg material into roundish genre niches, this wavering, intermittently smart story of daring to think differently flattens its narrative into formula.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 133
  1. JYT
    Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Excellent and capital movie. The movie is about baseball but also about the right and fair evaluation of performance and individuals. ThisExcellent and capital movie. The movie is about baseball but also about the right and fair evaluation of performance and individuals. This means looking at FACTS as best as you can. This is valid for sports, your job, you car insurance, your mortgage, etc...A movie those rating agency, presidential candidates, stock traders who only act on rumours should obviously watch. A must see movie for the credit crunch generation. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    As a relative newcomer to the love of baseball I was really looking forward to this film. It delivered plenty of runs and hits for two hoursAs a relative newcomer to the love of baseball I was really looking forward to this film. It delivered plenty of runs and hits for two hours of error free baseball movie. I've heard it wasn't letter perfect to history but since I didn't know the story going in any discrepancies or liberties taken were lost on me. The tension was palpable just like a good pitchers dual. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure that this is a GREAT film, but it is certainly emotionally involving to this AL West (and Halos) fan who followed that 2002I'm not sure that this is a GREAT film, but it is certainly emotionally involving to this AL West (and Halos) fan who followed that 2002 season extremely closely for obvious reasons. The writers and director made and extremely affecting film out of what could have been a dry subject. I'm left wondering why the heck Paul DiPodesta didn't want his name associated with the film. Jonah Hill came off as extremely likable. And Beane has to be happy with the Pitt treatment. Great choice in casting Activision CEO Bobby Kotick as the A's owner. I think he nailed the guy. Collapse
  4. BKM
    Jan 21, 2012
    8
    David doesn't slay Goliath in Moneyball, a smart and entertaining film about the business of baseball, but he finds a way to compete in a gameDavid doesn't slay Goliath in Moneyball, a smart and entertaining film about the business of baseball, but he finds a way to compete in a game that has an incredibly uneven playing field. Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill turn in excellent performances in a film that serves as a stern reminder that there will always be small teams scraping to compete but that the big teams will always have the upper hand. The fact that this seemingly dull concept results in a deeply engaging and surprising moving film is one of the minor miracles of 2011. Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    7
    Overall, "Moneyball" is okay. Itâ
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    WOW> I dont understand the critics and their mentality. I went for this movie after reading all the positive review. This was was fuc***ingWOW> I dont understand the critics and their mentality. I went for this movie after reading all the positive review. This was was fuc***ing boring. It was so slow and that I actually slept during the movie for about 5 - 10 minutes. This happened to me for the first time ever. I am sure that this movie will win the oscar. After all oscars are meant for such boring movies. eg - Kings speech over the social network or Inception, Hurt locker over Avatar, Slumdog millionaire, etc... Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 24, 2012
    Inside, we break down the 84th Annual Academy Award nominations, which were led by Martin Scorsese's "Hugo." What were the biggest snubs, and who are the year's leading frontrunners? Find out inside.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  4. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.