Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on Michael Lewis' nonfiction bestseller "Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game," the book's subject is Oakland A's general manager Billy Beane, who assembled a contending baseball club on a shoestring budget by employing a sophisticated computer-based analysis to draft players. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Like a cold beer under a bluebird sky; like a flawless line drive on a warm summer's day; like a long, languorous seventh-inning stretch - Moneyball satisfies.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    The real protagonist of Moneyball, however, is Beane himself, played with great charisma by Brad Pitt. (With this movie and "The Tree of Life" competing against each other, Pitt could wind up cheating himself out of an Oscar this year.)
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 22, 2011
    90
    Starring Brad Pitt in top movie star form, it's a film that's impressive and surprising.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 21, 2011
    88
    This is a subtle, elegant and altogether triumphant film about a subject I thought I was tired of, told with an artistry and freshness that is positively thrilling.
  5. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Nov 21, 2011
    80
    You don't need to understand anything of baseball to get behind this, a chest-swelling story about second chances and flipping a finger up (even a giant foam one) to The Man.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    On some level Moneyball is about loyalty: loyalty to an idea, loyalty to a partnership forged by desperation, loyalty to the values you believe in. Whether that was Lewis' intention in the book, or Beane's intention in taking the risk, doesn't matter. It's the formula Miller came up with for the film, and with the team of Pitt and Hill, it's a winning one.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    True to Hollywood's tireless efforts to fit square-peg material into roundish genre niches, this wavering, intermittently smart story of daring to think differently flattens its narrative into formula.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 131
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    The movie could have ended on a more subtle note, but this is one of the very best films of the year. brad pitt (with The Tree of Life) proved to be THE actor of the year. The editing is PERFECT and ofcourse a screenplay with Steve Zaillan and Aaron Sorkin as the writers will be great. I hope Bennett Miller does not wait 6 years for his next film! This is how mainstream Hollywood produced films should ALWAYS be, it is said we live in a time where this is considered a masterpiece.(But it really is great though) Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    As a relative newcomer to the love of baseball I was really looking forward to this film. It delivered plenty of runs and hits for two hours of error free baseball movie. I've heard it wasn't letter perfect to history but since I didn't know the story going in any discrepancies or liberties taken were lost on me. The tension was palpable just like a good pitchers dual. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Although we have seen the subject materiel before about a failing team trying to be good again, and you sit there and wait for the happy ending. Yet, this film is told so intelligently and it makes the film entertaining. The film is helped even more by the pair of winning and charming performances from Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill. I give this film 88%. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    A good film......not a great film. Yes, it proves to be entertaining and interesting for those who are not huge fans of baseball and all it's tenured history. Pitt does another great job and Hill is really good as well. This is not a boring film by any stretch, and quite frankly I thought it would be. Its not and the dialogue is crisp and full of life and truth. It really does make you care for the on-screen struggles of these characters and it is enjoyable to watch, save for the downer ending....but hey! They can't argue with what actually happened, right? Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    7
    Overall, "Moneyball" is okay. Itâ
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    WOW> I dont understand the critics and their mentality. I went for this movie after reading all the positive review. This was was fuc***ing boring. It was so slow and that I actually slept during the movie for about 5 - 10 minutes. This happened to me for the first time ever. I am sure that this movie will win the oscar. After all oscars are meant for such boring movies. eg - Kings speech over the social network or Inception, Hurt locker over Avatar, Slumdog millionaire, etc... Expand

See all 131 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 24, 2012
    Inside, we break down the 84th Annual Academy Award nominations, which were led by Martin Scorsese's "Hugo." What were the biggest snubs, and who are the year's leading frontrunners? Find out inside.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  4. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.