Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: June 6, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 53 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ExanimusJan 8, 2011
thought it was going to be all about the conquests and wars of Genghis Khan; about how he build his empire. Wrooong. It was solely about uninteresting events of his life that MAY have led him to become a great leader. You'll learn nothingthought it was going to be all about the conquests and wars of Genghis Khan; about how he build his empire. Wrooong. It was solely about uninteresting events of his life that MAY have led him to become a great leader. You'll learn nothing about Genghis Khan that you really want to know about, for sure. AWFUL MOVIE!! not at all historically correct... RIP! This movies makes a false impression about Genghis Khan! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
StevvoJan 30, 2011
I find this movie to be an utter piece of trash . It was not entertaining , neither educational , concerning the history of Genghis Khan , it was a chaotic mixture of scenes , most of which do not make any logical sense , I mean seriously ,I find this movie to be an utter piece of trash . It was not entertaining , neither educational , concerning the history of Genghis Khan , it was a chaotic mixture of scenes , most of which do not make any logical sense , I mean seriously , you just cut the best part of it where he becomes khan for what ? Some random scenes of ... worshiping wolves and walking in the steppes , I mean half the movie is someone walking ... really ... really ? .... Oh and the fighting scenes could have been ALOT better . I'm even more dissapointed because of the hype around this ... well , "average" would be too much to say about it , but this .... Uhhh ... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ChadS.Jun 30, 2008
Some people are so well-known, or infamous, or both, when you portray them in a before-they-were-famous light, you invite unintentional laughter. For example, Menno Meyjes' "Max", which chronicled Adolph Hitler's days as a Some people are so well-known, or infamous, or both, when you portray them in a before-they-were-famous light, you invite unintentional laughter. For example, Menno Meyjes' "Max", which chronicled Adolph Hitler's days as a struggling painter in Munich. A man such as Hitler, so synonymous with evil, is nearly impossible to humanize. When the John Cusack character tells the Fuhrer, "You're an awfully hard man to like, Hitler," you flinch, you may even wince, because some lives might be unfilmable if the notion of a character arc seems like pure folly. Genghis Khan might be another such man, whose reputation for murder and mayhem is equally infamous and pronounced. Perhaps Mel Gibson is the only filmmaker who would be willing to make an honest film about the Mongol leader. This sanitized version of the life and times of Genghis Khan, or Temudgin, to the people who knew him way back when, plays like a western from the nineteen-fifties. Khan should be an anti-hero at best, but he's practically John Wayne in "Mongol", as the film portrays him as a man who has not an ounce of moral ambiguity or cold-blooded ruthlessness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HemispheresJul 3, 2008
Genghis Khan's reputation is more positive in the East than it is here in the West, where his very name is synonymous with mindless, rampaging violence. This film is supposedly the first of a trilogy of the Khan's life and is Genghis Khan's reputation is more positive in the East than it is here in the West, where his very name is synonymous with mindless, rampaging violence. This film is supposedly the first of a trilogy of the Khan's life and is relatively light on exposition and high on drama. It's fun and fairly mindless entertainment with charismatic performances, especially from Honglei Sun, whose glittering performance jumps from the screen. On a side note: In my opinion the following line from another review is really, really funny: "Perhaps Mel Gibson is the only filmmaker who would be willing to make an honest film about the Mongol leader." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnestS.Sep 6, 2008
Amazing movie! completely entertaining and satisfyingly educational. After completing this film I was inspired to find out more information about genghis khan's empire and family. Everyone should see this, its just great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillB.Jun 29, 2008
Mongol started out with a lot of promise and for the first half hour I thought I was watching a really great film. Unfortunately, the film quickly gets repetitive. Looking at my watch, I realized nearly two hours had passed and the story was Mongol started out with a lot of promise and for the first half hour I thought I was watching a really great film. Unfortunately, the film quickly gets repetitive. Looking at my watch, I realized nearly two hours had passed and the story was into its third repetition of the same subplot. How are they going to wrap this up? I wondered. I got the answer - a major fast forward and a boring final battle. At best, Mongol is worth a matinee and I think mostly positive critical reviews are based on the "since it's foreign it must be good" mentality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Jun 6, 2008
The real, less sympathetic, Ghengis Khan seems far more interesting that the PR filtered one presented here. Stylized, but only to the point of mediocrity, the films visuals are adequete but effects substandard. Don't bother with it. The real, less sympathetic, Ghengis Khan seems far more interesting that the PR filtered one presented here. Stylized, but only to the point of mediocrity, the films visuals are adequete but effects substandard. Don't bother with it. Stay home and rent Gladiator or Braveheart is you need a historical epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanS.Jul 7, 2008
Chad S. from the advance scout team must be a typical westerner who thinks Genghis Khan was just a mindless murderer, like another review said, his reputation is more positive in the east than in the west. Someone might as well make a movie Chad S. from the advance scout team must be a typical westerner who thinks Genghis Khan was just a mindless murderer, like another review said, his reputation is more positive in the east than in the west. Someone might as well make a movie that emphasizes all the bad and awful things George Bush has done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelB.Jul 8, 2008
It's sort of like Braveheart with Asian people instead of Scots, but with maybe a fifth of the action. I would definitely recommend it if you have an interest in history (especially in that of Khan himself), but if you're looking It's sort of like Braveheart with Asian people instead of Scots, but with maybe a fifth of the action. I would definitely recommend it if you have an interest in history (especially in that of Khan himself), but if you're looking for a huge action flick, this just isn't it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulianP.Jul 8, 2008
It was excellent, who ever said that only alexander the great had feelings and cared for his family. It is always good to show the human side of tyrants.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Oct 12, 2008
7.5/10. Magnificent production, the cinematography and art direction is amazing. Great acting and direction, believably told and very convincing. It does have some slow stretches and it is overlong, but well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RHJun 22, 2008
Incredible movie! Far beyond anything Hollywood is making any more. It is particularly refreshing to see battle scenes with thousands of real people... instead of CGI. It makes a huge difference! Everything about this movie is impressive. Incredible movie! Far beyond anything Hollywood is making any more. It is particularly refreshing to see battle scenes with thousands of real people... instead of CGI. It makes a huge difference! Everything about this movie is impressive. Location scenes are incredible. The movie grabs you and doesn't let go. I can't wait for the next installment. I wish there were more movies of this quality! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TjJun 23, 2008
I really don't know what the people giving this a low rating are talking about. Go see the movie on the big screen. It is beautifully shot and the acting is first rate. If you really want amazing special effects, then go to a different I really don't know what the people giving this a low rating are talking about. Go see the movie on the big screen. It is beautifully shot and the acting is first rate. If you really want amazing special effects, then go to a different film. But, if you want to see a film that is sometimes slow (it isn't that slow!) but images and faces that will stay in your mind, I say go to the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanT.Jun 25, 2008
Think of 300, except refer to it as cakewalk when discussing this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GusJun 30, 2008
Excellent historical epic with great use of visual imagery and symbolic metaphors. Solid storytelling and great, if not short, choreographed battle scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
OlegM.Jun 8, 2008
Boooring. Looong. The guy whose descendants account for 1% of planet's population (and who is responsible for maybe 2% decline in population) is depicted as a lyrical faithful lovver and adoring dadda. Weak, pretentious piece. Not that Boooring. Looong. The guy whose descendants account for 1% of planet's population (and who is responsible for maybe 2% decline in population) is depicted as a lyrical faithful lovver and adoring dadda. Weak, pretentious piece. Not that we expected much, but come on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Jun 22, 2008
Made for a wide screen, the Mongolian steppe serves as backdrop for ambition and worlds to conquer. We veer through the battles, which erupt and evanesce like thunderstorms, hoping to see the great Khan seated on his throne. When will part Made for a wide screen, the Mongolian steppe serves as backdrop for ambition and worlds to conquer. We veer through the battles, which erupt and evanesce like thunderstorms, hoping to see the great Khan seated on his throne. When will part Two debut? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheoBJun 26, 2008
All I can say is, "You can't cook two ram heads in the same pot".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinM.Jun 28, 2008
I thought it was going to be all about the conquests and wars of Genghis Khan; about how he build his empire. Wrooong. It was solely about uninteresting events of his life that MAY have led him to become a great leader. You'll learn I thought it was going to be all about the conquests and wars of Genghis Khan; about how he build his empire. Wrooong. It was solely about uninteresting events of his life that MAY have led him to become a great leader. You'll learn nothing about Genghis Khan that you really want to know about, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleJan 15, 2016
Mongol is quite a good film, but does feel a bit incomplete, largely because the rest of the planned trilogy has yet to come to fruition. As a stand alone film, it is technically brilliant and wonderfully acted. However, I did feel as thoughMongol is quite a good film, but does feel a bit incomplete, largely because the rest of the planned trilogy has yet to come to fruition. As a stand alone film, it is technically brilliant and wonderfully acted. However, I did feel as though the direction could have been a bit more inspired. As is, Mongol was glacially slow at times and was a little too eager to have CGI blood effects. That being said, of course, Sergei Bodrov's direction of the battle sequences was fantastic, but the film really does a great job painting a picture of who Genghis Khan was before he became Khan. If something deserved to see its trilogy come to fruition, it is most certainly this film as it would honestly help bolster this one up a bit if it was able to be analyzed as merely one piece of a series. However, as of right now, Mongol is still a really good film that was a bit too slow, but brilliant characterization and acting really elevate this one to a different level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews