Criterion Collection, The | Release Date: February 22, 2002
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 53 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
7
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MichaelS.Oct 9, 2002
A Very beautiful feel good movie about romance, passion and betrayel. With a funny and swinging soundtrack. One of the best foreign films I've ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasyS.May 22, 2002
Family Drama, MUST SEE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudithD.Jun 6, 2002
Lovely imagery, good acting, wonderful music, interesting. I enjoyed it thoroughly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Apr 5, 2003
Colorful, enjoyable, great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulD.Oct 16, 2002
Interesting & entertaining mix of comedy, drama, music, dance and travelogue. I liked the performances and attention to details that brings the movie alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Apr 6, 2002
Marigold is the new rose. Vijay Raaz out-Lloyds Cusack in a woo-the-girl scene that is more unabashedly romantic than any movie moment in recent memory. Raaz and the insanely catchy song that accompanies the bridal shower are just two Marigold is the new rose. Vijay Raaz out-Lloyds Cusack in a woo-the-girl scene that is more unabashedly romantic than any movie moment in recent memory. Raaz and the insanely catchy song that accompanies the bridal shower are just two reasons to see "Monsoon Wedding". Unfortunately though, there's golf courses in Dehli too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulaW.Jun 14, 2002
A feast for the eyes and the heart. If this is soap opera, then bring on the suds!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobynnJul 14, 2002
Exquisite colours; infectious music; likeable characters. This has quickly become one of my favourite movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryJoM.Jul 3, 2002
I want to go to this party!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LanceE.Oct 9, 2004
It's funny how most Indian people are rating this low while non-Indians are rating it very high. I think the problem is (and it's a funny problem), that Indians have seen many movies like this, so it doesn't really stand out It's funny how most Indian people are rating this low while non-Indians are rating it very high. I think the problem is (and it's a funny problem), that Indians have seen many movies like this, so it doesn't really stand out in their minds, but for those non-Indians who are exposed to this side of Indian culture for the first time, find it strange and exotic, and because they have seldom, if ever, been exposed to it, find it highly original, better than the average sucky movie Hollywood keeps churning out. I think it's the same thing in India; some probably prefer Hollywood movies there to Bollywood because they're bombarded with sucky Bollywood movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JadeC.Nov 25, 2002
I loved every bit of the movie. Made me want to be a part a part of their family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcyM.Oct 5, 2002
Wonderful film that brings to light the real (often avoided) profound impact of the life transition from childhood to adult hood through the protal of marriage. The difficulties of childhood and adolescence are faced openly by all of the Wonderful film that brings to light the real (often avoided) profound impact of the life transition from childhood to adult hood through the protal of marriage. The difficulties of childhood and adolescence are faced openly by all of the cousins, and the complexities of adulthood - the good and the bad - are also revealed as the family's present and past collide and resolve. .......Rings true from the local cultural decor to the deeper universal truth of growing up and into marriage, and then on to dealing with the complex challenges of adult life. BRAVO! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShekarS.Apr 28, 2002
What a wonderful and uplifting movie, done with Mira Nair's characteristic sensitivity. I could almost smell the curries and hear the background noises of Delhi!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeepG.May 12, 2002
Prodded by my English teacher, I saw this movie on DVD with the expectation of being bored out of my mind. However, after getting over the initial dislike for the casual photography and the absence of gorgeous sets and glamour, I found the Prodded by my English teacher, I saw this movie on DVD with the expectation of being bored out of my mind. However, after getting over the initial dislike for the casual photography and the absence of gorgeous sets and glamour, I found the story to be very realistic, sensitive, and down-to-earth. It's the true portrayal of a lower-middle-class family in modern India and addresses real life issues in a very touching way. Though simple and relatively low-budget, this movie really does stay on your mind and emphasizes the importance of honesty, simplicity, and the joy and sorrows within family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OliverP.May 17, 2002
Endearing characters, a few touching moments, a disturbing one (pedophilia), and much good cheer otherwise. Entrancing music and dancing. Hard to sort out who is who.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JTM.May 3, 2002
Awe inspiring, awesome movie, gives a delightful insight into Indian culture. Wonderful acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyD.Jan 28, 2006
A kaleidoscpic blend of elements, the whole surpassing the individual parts. I can understand why parts of the story may have struck some as dog-eared, but it all fit together for me, the movie's energy and spirit (and music!) carrying A kaleidoscpic blend of elements, the whole surpassing the individual parts. I can understand why parts of the story may have struck some as dog-eared, but it all fit together for me, the movie's energy and spirit (and music!) carrying me from the first frame to the last. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaspreetS.Feb 10, 2006
One of the most enjoyable movies to come out of india lately. Love that Mir. Dubey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisS.Nov 11, 2002
One of the most beautiful movies I've seen in recent times. Captivating and colorful. The music itself is phenomenal, a true reflection of reality and the modern indian lifestyle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlW.Nov 25, 2002
Excellent movie, great soundtrack, and I'm not even Indian! Nair is so REAL it's almost sickening, but she shares a world that anyone can relate to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MargaretS.May 26, 2002
I find myself asking why the filmmaker added the pedophiliac uncle. He got away with his abuse in the previous generation, but his former victim stops it from occuring again --- the wrenching dilemma that the father of the bride must face is I find myself asking why the filmmaker added the pedophiliac uncle. He got away with his abuse in the previous generation, but his former victim stops it from occuring again --- the wrenching dilemma that the father of the bride must face is whether to back her up or not. Could this be the old India vs a new India --- one which casts off the last vestiges of colonialism/abuse? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Jun 28, 2002
One of the very few films that I have ever given a 10 to. I thought it had hints of a Robert Altman film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SheetalO.Nov 12, 2003
The rest of the world finds it practically impossible to understand what it means to be Indian, to be caught between two worlds, two cultures, and as an Indian I can tell you that Monsoon Wedding is the only film ever made that has been able The rest of the world finds it practically impossible to understand what it means to be Indian, to be caught between two worlds, two cultures, and as an Indian I can tell you that Monsoon Wedding is the only film ever made that has been able to expose the heart and soul of a beautiful, diverse subcontinent in the process of globalization. This movie gets a definite full score for projecting a realistic image of life in India. The cast and crew have done a fabulous job, and kudos to Shefali Shetty and Naseeruddin Shah for roles played to perfection. Mira Nair is definitely something else and this film deserves every bit of hype it has received. Oh yeah, and the P.K Dubey-Alice affair has got to be one of the most adorable love stories around!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikaF.Feb 11, 2003
It is not the foreseeable plot that entertains you, but the interaction and tension ocurring from generataion / cultural / social gap which is described in such an amusing way. Great entertainment as well as a heart warming drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamC.Jul 27, 2003
This is a sumptuous, wonderful movie with full characters that draw us into their stories. It is simply told with a light heartedness, tenderness and integrity seldom portrayed. It made my laugh, cry, smile and took my breath away with its beauty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennaH.Nov 13, 2002
Thoroughly enjoyable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrancesG.Dec 23, 2002
I wish I had seen this movie on the big screen, but even on video it was a lovely, captivating peek into another culture. The storylines were not deep and earthshattering, but being drawn in to an "alien" family halfway across the globe was I wish I had seen this movie on the big screen, but even on video it was a lovely, captivating peek into another culture. The storylines were not deep and earthshattering, but being drawn in to an "alien" family halfway across the globe was a thrill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThegodfathersonApr 3, 2013
Monsoon Wedding is very colourful, happy and romantic. The film is a very nice family movie about a typical punjabi family. The laughs are good and the acting is even good. The story delivers good time pass interesting hooking up film hint ofMonsoon Wedding is very colourful, happy and romantic. The film is a very nice family movie about a typical punjabi family. The laughs are good and the acting is even good. The story delivers good time pass interesting hooking up film hint of lore. Lovely imagery and very good collection of songs. Vijay Razz as DubeyJi is very funny and the captions help you understand what the comedy is about. There are so many reasons to watch Monsoon Wedding- from the Rain to everyone falling in love. When it rains it pours for this family! I agree with Roger Ebert- this is the type of movie people tell their friends to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews