Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: July 21, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 260 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
30
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AllistairPOct 24, 2006
The perfect animated film and my favorite film of 2006. So much fun and so many levels of artistic genius behind the great story and dialogue.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
f3l1p3Sep 17, 2014
Um dos filmes que eu mais amei na minha infância e assisto até hoje. Pode até dar um pouquinho de medo. A animação é bem feita,tem personagens legais e assombração ilícita,na qual eu amava e amo.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
Chilling, creative, funny. I was in love with this movie the first time I saw it as a fifth-grader. The title may drive some viewers away, but they made it work-- pretty damn well!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
its scary, but perfect
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
MediaCriticOct 18, 2011
The movie is an average animation with a tiny bit of fright for the children. It has a basic but good story to it, and has some funny moments, along with some creepy ones. This is not a horror movie, it is a comedy animation, yet there areThe movie is an average animation with a tiny bit of fright for the children. It has a basic but good story to it, and has some funny moments, along with some creepy ones. This is not a horror movie, it is a comedy animation, yet there are some scary scenes for the children. Not really scary, just a bit. It's a good movie, but it isn't anything better than an average animation. Great fun to watch however, as it is a good movie overall. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
It wasn't quite what I expected, but this movie has a somewhat cool premise and many great characters. One good thing about it is that it isn't just a Halloween movie. You can enjoy it on other occasions.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Terror and animation, a great combination.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
Monster House actually isn't such a bad movie. Kids will enjoy it , and there are enough scares and some more adult material that parents won't be bored. Zemeckis does a fine job directing, and proves he can master animated as well as liveMonster House actually isn't such a bad movie. Kids will enjoy it , and there are enough scares and some more adult material that parents won't be bored. Zemeckis does a fine job directing, and proves he can master animated as well as live action films once again. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMay 14, 2014
Great designs and original story this movie is one of the best of the year.The idea of an haunted house is not original but the context and what the house is doing in this movie,it's pretty awesome
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
PaulK.Jul 19, 2006
This was more like 6.5, but I rounded up. Chowder got me laughing and there was some intrigue to the plot, until the flashback sequence. After that, it was more or less "scare" by the numbers. I don't have children, but I agree with This was more like 6.5, but I rounded up. Chowder got me laughing and there was some intrigue to the plot, until the flashback sequence. After that, it was more or less "scare" by the numbers. I don't have children, but I agree with Michelle C. about this movie having too many inappropriate scenes for a rating of "PG". Uvula, anyone? Stay through the beginning of the credits, if you must see this in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SangheeJ.Jul 21, 2006
the movie was entertaining, true. However, since it was a children's movie, it was rather short and some of the plot was not evaluated enough, in my opinion. However, it was cute, funny, and good for a weekend show. I recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChuckW.Jul 21, 2006
Yes, this is probably too scary for children younger than 9 or 10, that's why it's rated PG! Why do people think that just because a film is animated that it's a Saturday morning cartoon?! Anyway, I think this movie is Yes, this is probably too scary for children younger than 9 or 10, that's why it's rated PG! Why do people think that just because a film is animated that it's a Saturday morning cartoon?! Anyway, I think this movie is beautifully done and thouroughly enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TashaR.Jul 21, 2006
Great story, lots of jokes for adults. Sound can be a bit overwhelmingly loud, but other than that, completely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
K.WillJul 22, 2006
It was better than expected,a heavy thundrestorm rolled thru our area,temporarily shutting down the projector 3 times.Hearing the storm outside made it even scarrier for my children, thought it was unique.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffM.Jul 23, 2006
Great fun. A throwback to 80's movies that actually depicts children as they really act (and talk). I took my 5 year old, and I found nothing innapropriate language wise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelP.Jul 24, 2006
This was much better than most reviews gave it credit for. Very entertaining, with amazing effects and solid voice work. Character development and plot leave a bit to be desired (really no arcs to speak of), but you get what you pay for and This was much better than most reviews gave it credit for. Very entertaining, with amazing effects and solid voice work. Character development and plot leave a bit to be desired (really no arcs to speak of), but you get what you pay for and then some. As far as the kids, they'll be scared for sure but anyone remember watching "The Witches" or "Are you Afraid of the Dark?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Jul 24, 2006
Anaimation was first rate, as was the story line. Well worth the $10 to see the movie. Why parents would bring three and four year olds to a movie called Monster House is beyond me. Definitley a movie for over-ten year olds. Can be very Anaimation was first rate, as was the story line. Well worth the $10 to see the movie. Why parents would bring three and four year olds to a movie called Monster House is beyond me. Definitley a movie for over-ten year olds. Can be very scary for kids at times. More of an adult movie, and very enjoyable. Go see it, without your young children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanP.Jul 27, 2006
Extreamly well done, with a fun and exctiting story line. If you have a chance to see it in 3D as I did, do so. It's worth the extra dollar for the glasses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinB.Jul 28, 2006
Monster House is a very strange movie. It's definitely not a kids movie, but it's also not a not-kids movie. I guess it really does throw back to the old days of "kid movie," like E.T. and Goonies. The script has some of the worst Monster House is a very strange movie. It's definitely not a kids movie, but it's also not a not-kids movie. I guess it really does throw back to the old days of "kid movie," like E.T. and Goonies. The script has some of the worst writing I've ever seen/heard, but the CGI cinematography is the best I have ever seen ...ever. So I think it's worth it just for that. They really push the envelope in terms of camera in the 3d environment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Jul 30, 2006
top notch animation ... hilarious comedy that adults and kids will laugh out loud to and a completely original story line that'll please everyone! I thought it was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous] Jul 31, 2006
This movie was surreal - this awesome animation was impressive. The animation was detailed enough to capture the characters as if it were live action. It was edgy enough for the older audiences without losing the kids' interest. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaseAug 1, 2006
Easily the best flick of the summer, Imaginative, creative, unique and most importantly entertaining. Should definatly pass the test of time like the best young adult movies, notice I said young adult as this is a very intelligent movie for Easily the best flick of the summer, Imaginative, creative, unique and most importantly entertaining. Should definatly pass the test of time like the best young adult movies, notice I said young adult as this is a very intelligent movie for smart kids not kids who are easily entertained by most of the children's crap out there. Definatley in the same league as the "Goonies" and "Monster Squad". Maybe even better right up there with "Beetlejuice" and " the wizard of Oz". Highly recommended, don't miss it in the theatres the sound quality and picture are also amazing. Also like to note featuring some of the best voice acting which is the new rage in the last couple years hands down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinR.Aug 1, 2006
A decent enough story (one that cleary was a product of Robert Zemeckis), and one of the most interesting styles of animation today combine to make an entertaining movie. But some of the voice acting (such as Jon Heder and Kevin James) feels A decent enough story (one that cleary was a product of Robert Zemeckis), and one of the most interesting styles of animation today combine to make an entertaining movie. But some of the voice acting (such as Jon Heder and Kevin James) feels both unnecessary and forced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 3, 2006
That house scared me more than anything in "The Omen", which is why "Monster House", perhaps, should've earned a PG-13 rating. It's a truly malevolent creation that has no reservations when it comes to killing children. Sometimes That house scared me more than anything in "The Omen", which is why "Monster House", perhaps, should've earned a PG-13 rating. It's a truly malevolent creation that has no reservations when it comes to killing children. Sometimes the action is intense(like "Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom"), sometimes it's just loud(like "The Goonies". The three pre-teen kids are pretty decent facsimiles of kids we've seen in past amusement park ride-like films of yesteryear, so the danger they court is surprisingly fun, and not at all headache-inducing. The voice-work is excellent, especially the babysitter played by Maggie Gyllenhaal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenG.Aug 5, 2006
Solid, but not exceptional work. Not the least bit scary (except, maybe if you're a little kid), but entertaining, with some laughs, and well-written characters. It does get a little carried away with the action at end, making it feel a Solid, but not exceptional work. Not the least bit scary (except, maybe if you're a little kid), but entertaining, with some laughs, and well-written characters. It does get a little carried away with the action at end, making it feel a little too much like just another action movie (although, an animated one) at that point. And how does a house does all the shape-changing this one does, in a surburban neighborhood, without ever being noticed. Maybe a minor question, but one that festers thoughout the movie. Might have been more effective if house was more isolated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MusicaliD.Aug 9, 2006
This movie has so many good qualities, and leaves 90% of animated movies in its wake. The camera angles are well thought out, and give a real live-action feel to the proceedings. It has some really intense moments (I'm 28). I thought it This movie has so many good qualities, and leaves 90% of animated movies in its wake. The camera angles are well thought out, and give a real live-action feel to the proceedings. It has some really intense moments (I'm 28). I thought it would be too scary for kids, but the 8 year old I was with didn't find it too scary, she loved it. The story is unpredictable with a very gruesome explanation of why the house is a monster. When I watched it, I felt like they were taking some chances and didn't smooth over all the rough edges. As stated, the voices are amazing, especially Jason Lee and Steve Buschemi. This movie reminded me a lot of Goonies. Really hilarious, but with some real scares. Heartwarming. Impressive. Nothing better this summer. Amazing. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rmarierogersSep 8, 2006
Loved it! This film reminded me of all of the things that scared me when I was a kid. It was a great choice for the group of preteen boys I took with my son. Glad we sent the 2nd grade girls to a different movie, it would have been too scary Loved it! This film reminded me of all of the things that scared me when I was a kid. It was a great choice for the group of preteen boys I took with my son. Glad we sent the 2nd grade girls to a different movie, it would have been too scary for them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffSOct 24, 2006
One of the best and most original films of the year. It's ability to go from moments of quiet wonder and human comedy to enormous action set-pieces is astounding. The animation is sublime, though my reaction to it may be an account of One of the best and most original films of the year. It's ability to go from moments of quiet wonder and human comedy to enormous action set-pieces is astounding. The animation is sublime, though my reaction to it may be an account of having seen it in the impressive Digital 3-D. Hopefully, this will become a Halloween Classic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanMNov 8, 2006
A fantastic animated feature that unfortunately went underrated or over the heads of most who saw it. This is one of the few films that really seems to understand what pre-pubescent boys are like, and captures it perfectly in a very A fantastic animated feature that unfortunately went underrated or over the heads of most who saw it. This is one of the few films that really seems to understand what pre-pubescent boys are like, and captures it perfectly in a very imaginative setting, with a true visual style. The kids are likeable and unprecocious, and their comedic timing is perfect. The performance capture also makes for some incredibly expressive animation, not to be missed. Also, I have to laugh at the reviewer who figures this is all a marketing scheme for a Disney ride - which is pretty funny considering it was made by Sony. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattANov 24, 2006
I enjoyed this movie. It reminded me of a flashback to when I used to watch "youth" intended movies as a kid. The focus on kids on an Adventure, without the help of adults and being the underdogs. Some potty humor, but a lot of stuff that I enjoyed this movie. It reminded me of a flashback to when I used to watch "youth" intended movies as a kid. The focus on kids on an Adventure, without the help of adults and being the underdogs. Some potty humor, but a lot of stuff that just went back to basic actions or thinking patterns of ordinary kids. The story was great, and not hard to follow, although it did get a little far-fetched at the end, but who doesn't like a good over-the-top ghost story. I do. Thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrenziedPanda99Jul 17, 2015
Although the cast is not anything special, I think the actors did a good job to embody the characters . The script is well written and has scary moments (not very own for a child under 10 years) , suspense moments , but also funny moments .Although the cast is not anything special, I think the actors did a good job to embody the characters . The script is well written and has scary moments (not very own for a child under 10 years) , suspense moments , but also funny moments . The final part where the three main characters and Nebbecracker are persecuted by Constance / house spent a little overboard but overall the movie is quite appealing . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Monster House was one of my favorite movies , the plot, the characters and the rest except that I did not show fear , perhaps some scenes but not reactions , but that sympathy for film fans like me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FELIPEFERREIRAMay 16, 2016
Esse filme entra na sessão "Filmes que marcaram a minha infância". É um dos melhores filmes de animação que eu já assisti. A história é super bem elaborada, junto com o ótimo roteiro, que fez o filme não se tornar clichê. Sinceramente, praEsse filme entra na sessão "Filmes que marcaram a minha infância". É um dos melhores filmes de animação que eu já assisti. A história é super bem elaborada, junto com o ótimo roteiro, que fez o filme não se tornar clichê. Sinceramente, pra mim, todas as pessoas deviam ver esse filme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
One of many animated films released in the summer of 2006, "Monster House" does a fine job of standing out in the crowd as a pretty great film. It's wonderfully designed, smart, inventive, exciting and well-written, all the things you'dOne of many animated films released in the summer of 2006, "Monster House" does a fine job of standing out in the crowd as a pretty great film. It's wonderfully designed, smart, inventive, exciting and well-written, all the things you'd expect out of a film with Robert Zemeckis's involvement. Looking for a good Halloween film that tends to get lost among the others? Look no further than "Monster House." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews