Lions Gate Films | Release Date: December 26, 2001
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
12
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
EricS.Aug 9, 2002
"Monster's Ball" is as close to a perfect movie as I've seen in a long time. As for the 1990 Georgia that everybody calls fake, I say, this is fiction. This didn't really happen and the screenwriters created a world where the "Monster's Ball" is as close to a perfect movie as I've seen in a long time. As for the 1990 Georgia that everybody calls fake, I say, this is fiction. This didn't really happen and the screenwriters created a world where the only villain is hate and the only beauty is love. The creation of this world is not meant to create an "emotionally false" atmosphere, but to make the Thornton/Berry romance seem like the most important thing in the world in the eyes of the viewer. And it worked for me. "Monster's Ball" was the Best Picture of 2001-2002. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisM.Jul 9, 2002
This is one of the most powerful movies I have ever seen. One mark of a good movie is that I can't get it out of my head for several days. I find thid movie stunning. I have to ask if the critics that hated this fil, were they watching This is one of the most powerful movies I have ever seen. One mark of a good movie is that I can't get it out of my head for several days. I find thid movie stunning. I have to ask if the critics that hated this fil, were they watching the same movie? David Edelstein, what are you thinking about? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithG.Mar 1, 2004
This movie takes development to its extreme and does so well. Billy Bob Thornton's character turns from a redneck, scaring his son's black friends off his property with a gun, to a man who kicks his father out to have a woman This movie takes development to its extreme and does so well. Billy Bob Thornton's character turns from a redneck, scaring his son's black friends off his property with a gun, to a man who kicks his father out to have a woman (Berry) move in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Jan 16, 2002
Simply amazing from beginning to end. One of the years 5 best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyC.Oct 7, 2002
Great movie with a truly original, anti-Hollywood ending. This movie certainly won't please the "Forrest Gump" crowd, who like their movies uplifting, predictable, and pretty, but this searing little picture deserves all the praise it Great movie with a truly original, anti-Hollywood ending. This movie certainly won't please the "Forrest Gump" crowd, who like their movies uplifting, predictable, and pretty, but this searing little picture deserves all the praise it has received. Billy Bob Thornton is remarkable. Thank God movies like this are made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Carol-AnnC.Feb 23, 2002
Absolutely sensational film that explores the issues about real life people and the mistakes that we all make. The scenes between Haley and Billy Bob explode on the screen. I actually heard old ladies gasping in the theater. Go see this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnE.Mar 18, 2002
Great movie. Fantastic acting, redemptive power of love, Hally Berry...what more could you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Apr 27, 2002
A good film with good performances, but it winning best actress is a joke. Sissy Spacek was infinitely better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraSep 16, 2003
Monster's Ball is very good throughout, but it all comes together remarkably in the end, a peaceful, sad, wholly unpredictable conclusion that leave you soaring out of the theater, though the rest of the film is not exactly uplifting. Monster's Ball is very good throughout, but it all comes together remarkably in the end, a peaceful, sad, wholly unpredictable conclusion that leave you soaring out of the theater, though the rest of the film is not exactly uplifting. Yeah - - - and the guy who liked A Beautiful Mind and Gladiator... I'm just going to assume that was a joke... Admitting you like movies like that is like admitting that you're a pedophile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Aug 20, 2004
Excellent! edge of your seat film. It will engross you totally!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Feb 23, 2002
Absolutely riveting performances by an ensemble cast that keeps the audience on the edge of its' seat. Clearly heads and tails above the usual trash that Hollywood routinely regurgitates. The viewer can actually feel and connect with Absolutely riveting performances by an ensemble cast that keeps the audience on the edge of its' seat. Clearly heads and tails above the usual trash that Hollywood routinely regurgitates. The viewer can actually feel and connect with the characters. It is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnM.Feb 28, 2002
The acting in "Monster's Ball" isn't really acting. It transcends that definition. The characters seem real, and their situations see real. As for the infamous, gratuitous sex scene - yes, it was a little unnecessary. But overall, The acting in "Monster's Ball" isn't really acting. It transcends that definition. The characters seem real, and their situations see real. As for the infamous, gratuitous sex scene - yes, it was a little unnecessary. But overall, this film is remarkable in terms of how the actors convey such a strong sense of hope for one another. One of the year's best. Grade: A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
H.S.Nov 30, 2003
I was once briefly engaged to a female prison guard with a preschooler who occasionally had contact with death row inmates. She was overweight. I loved the silence and actions speaking loudly in the movie. I saw it get the awards and had no I was once briefly engaged to a female prison guard with a preschooler who occasionally had contact with death row inmates. She was overweight. I loved the silence and actions speaking loudly in the movie. I saw it get the awards and had no idea how important it would be to me. It's not about a movie to me but rather a glimpse of reality in all it's horror. i hope that it's audience is yet to be found, that it helps a lot in a way that it hasn't yet. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlakeJ.Mar 21, 2007
The most depressing movie I have ever seen, by far. Halle Berry's performance is mesmerizing. The scene in the hospital brings tears to my eyes, every time I watch it. For some reason, although it brings me down when I watch it, I watch The most depressing movie I have ever seen, by far. Halle Berry's performance is mesmerizing. The scene in the hospital brings tears to my eyes, every time I watch it. For some reason, although it brings me down when I watch it, I watch it several times a year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful