Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2001
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 459 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
434
Mixed:
20
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AtTheMoviesJun 30, 2011
It may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and greatIt may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and great voice acting make this a must-see. One of Pixar's best, and also one of all of animations best films. As will all other Pixar movies, animation is not just for children. This is a wittily funny movie for everyone. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Monsters Inc." is the milestone animation of Pixar's big debut to the 21st century. As expecting, the film is amazing, containing good morals that audience of every age can understand and appeal. Two thumbs up!!!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
SusanoSep 3, 2010
One of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is aOne of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is a brilliant, loveable and well done film that anyone can enjoy. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelDAug 6, 2011
One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The characters are likeable and the story is original and heartwarming. Disney never fails to entertain both children and adults.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CRLAug 12, 2011
For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that,For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that, wherever and whenever I see it on, I will watch it to the very end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is perhaps the most heart-warming film that Pixar has created. Mike and Sulley work at Monsters Inc., where their jobs are to scare children to create electricity for the monster world. When a child escapes into the monster world for the first time in history, Mike and Sulley must help her get home safely Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkJan 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, whichMonsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, which is why I suppose Pixar are making a prequel to the film for 2013. The film is great but not superb, it shows that Pixar can yet again make a great film about just about anything that is great viewing for kids and adults alike. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Monster's Inc is extremely heartwarming and original along with mostly going for laughs the whole time which it most definitely does. And the film may scare some children but overall it is fantastic. I give this film 86%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanJun 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's aMonsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's a buddy movie, it's a work-based sitcom, an imaginative fantasy film, and most pleasingly a biting and intelligent satire on both the world energy crisis and the over-exposure of children to increasingly horrific images in the modern world. Inventively, the monster city is not powered by electricity, gas and oil, but by children's screams, which the workers of Monsters Incorporated, dubbed "scarers" are tasked with collecting by going through portals into the human world, portals which appear as closet doors in the bedrooms of children. The monster world is facing an energy shortage due to the fact that kids "just don't get scared like they used to", resulting in some monsters resorting to increasingly drastic and amoral techniques to extract childrens' screams. The cast all give sterling vocal performances - John Goodman's hairy soft-hearted giant Sulley and Billy Crystal's minuscule green cyclops Mike make a great comedy double-act, Steve Buscemi's reptilian villain Randall is appropriately slimy and conniving, and the staggeringly multi-talented animator/writer/director/occasional actor Bob Peterson voices the cynical slug-secretary-from-hell Roz, and never fails to raise a smile. Monsters, Inc. gets the balance between vastly differing moods just right, with cuteness (Sulley's adorable father-daughter relationship with Boo), humour (anything said or done by Mike) and darkness (Randall's unsavory evil master plan) all given equal service throughout the film by director Pete Doctor and the multiple writers. I also challenge anyone who's in possession of a working heart not to blub at the film's bittersweet, utterly heartbreaking finale. This might provoke considerable debate amongst Pixar devotees (as the vast majority of the studio's output is jolly good, afterall) but I say that Monsters, Inc., while only being the fourth film released, is the very best work the animation powerhouse has produced thus far. It's truly Pixar's finest hour not only due to its flawless technical craftsmanship, but because of its abundance of heart and soul. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJul 4, 2013
Won of the first and the best of the Pixar films. Really entertaining characters that are enjoyable for kids and adults. Also perfect voice casting with Billy Crystal and John Goodman.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 29, 2013
The heart of the movie and it's comedic dynamic duo make this an amazing story of how anyone can find love in the things that everyone fears. Loved this movie, and I've watched multiple times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Dec 2, 2013
I'll be honest, I have a soft spot for this movie. Monsters Inc. isn't my favorite Pixar movie, and I do have my gripes with it. But on the whole I just found it utterly charming.

It's funny and sad. Carefree and serious. Slow and fast
I'll be honest, I have a soft spot for this movie. Monsters Inc. isn't my favorite Pixar movie, and I do have my gripes with it. But on the whole I just found it utterly charming.

It's funny and sad. Carefree and serious. Slow and fast paced. Monsters Inc. really does try to do everything, but for the most part I think this is the movie's downside. It's trying so hard to do everything, that it kind of has your emotions all over the place. Making it difficult to fixate on how you are supposed to feel.

Boo is perhaps the most adorable animated child EVER! Crystal & Goodman do a great job and deliver non stop laughs.

Overall:
Monsters Inc. is perhaps the funniest of all the Pixar movies and still retains the Pixar magic of family friendly storytelling (even with monsters.) I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and will continue to do so every time I watch it.

Side Note:
Pixar's "bloopers" are by far the star of each Pixar film, a real shame they don't do them anymore.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
One thing about Pixar's movies that are true to this day is their trailers do absolutely no justice for the film. There's so much depth and artistry in Pixar's work it's amazing that they have yet to falter after all of these years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbyNov 4, 2015
As well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see forAs well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see for Pixar fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
A fantastic movie that has a touching story, fantastic characters, and a lot of humor, one of the best animated movies for kids of all time, a must watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MarkH.Jan 10, 2007
Watched at least 30 times withthe kids and not once did I feel forced, fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
it doesn't have the same sophistication as Toy Story, but still its an awesome Pixar movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Apr 5, 2011
In my opinion, this is probably the least memorable Pixar movie. But on its own, its a very good movie. Better than the other big animated movie released in the same year, Shrek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
It is not one of Pixar's absolute masterpieces but it's really funny and its originality definitely makes it a good film worth watching. Not to mention how awesome the voices are
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
It was actually rather good and interesting if you ask me. I enjoyed the film quite a bit. The only bad thing is that it can get rather boring towards the middle of the film but it ends perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468Nov 23, 2011
Monsters, Inc. has many reasons to be praised. It has cool characters, a creative job the monsters have to do, and, of course, it's really silly. The movie has outstanding animation with stunning fur design. The story can get pretty bland andMonsters, Inc. has many reasons to be praised. It has cool characters, a creative job the monsters have to do, and, of course, it's really silly. The movie has outstanding animation with stunning fur design. The story can get pretty bland and thin at times, but it was great otherwise. It has a fairly high "encore" value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Kanda2012Feb 16, 2012
I have seen it three times. This movie has both funny and moving scene. I really enjoyed it. If you want to see heartwarming movie, I recommend it to you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Monster inc may not be as good as the other pixar's movies but is still done in a brillant way with funny jokes and a great moral for all while appealing to the our past about the monster in the closet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KnucklesChaotixMay 22, 2012
I love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times toI love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times to fully appreciate the hidden humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
The connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannotThe connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannot fault this wonderful movie. Because of these amazing features, this film is definitely one of Pixar's best.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaJun 28, 2012
A wildly imaginative story and film that is executed close to perfection. Like other pixar films Monsters inc will not just entertain the kids, but also their parents. Not pixar's best because of it's lack of pathos for it's characters, butA wildly imaginative story and film that is executed close to perfection. Like other pixar films Monsters inc will not just entertain the kids, but also their parents. Not pixar's best because of it's lack of pathos for it's characters, but still a very good and imaginative film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 15, 2013
It can't beat "Toy Story 3" or "Finding Nemo", but "Monsters Inc." is another well-animated Pixar delight. The only problem with this film is that the funny dialogues are not as effective as other Pixar masterpieces, and it becomes irrelevantIt can't beat "Toy Story 3" or "Finding Nemo", but "Monsters Inc." is another well-animated Pixar delight. The only problem with this film is that the funny dialogues are not as effective as other Pixar masterpieces, and it becomes irrelevant at times. Still, this is definitely a worthy film to check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
Such an incredibly creative story, that is so exciting to watch. It was funny, sad, and heartwarming. Very imaginative and well executed. Pixar is the master's at what they do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Excellently animated and voice acted, "Monsters Inc." is yet another reason why Pixar is the king daddy of noteworthy animated movie storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Monsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad moodMonsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad mood and this was one of them. This movie has such great laughs and likable characters that you must have a heart made of stone not to love. The animation is beautiful even to this day and you can't help but smile at the colors and appeal that this film gives off. All the settings that you see were beautiful for its time and the characters look incredible for being so early in the stages of computer animation. We all were scared of the darkness and monsters at one point in our lives, and if you weren't, well then you will still love this film. Pixar has always had a knack for making lovable characters, and I think with this movie they show some of their most creative and fun characters of all. The movie talks about friendship, and although many children's movies talk about that, I think this movie is one of the first to do it correctly. There isn't much to talk about in a film that has been out for about 11 years, but I think we can all agree this is a classic piece of animation and one that everyone, both young and old, can love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews