User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 345
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkH.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Watched at least 30 times withthe kids and not once did I feel forced, fantastic.
  2. PatrickH.
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    Fantastic!!! :)))
  3. KamieH.
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    AWESOME!!!!!
  4. ShirleyH.
    Oct 26, 2002
    10
    Anyone who starts in on the animation being "ordinary", or saying it doesn't have the adult audience captured the way Toy Story did, has become numb to the advances being made in animation. This movie is phenomenal. I think the critics are the ones who are stingy on context and commentary, and have themselves become stuck in the 1950's, they just don't measure up any more. Anyone who starts in on the animation being "ordinary", or saying it doesn't have the adult audience captured the way Toy Story did, has become numb to the advances being made in animation. This movie is phenomenal. I think the critics are the ones who are stingy on context and commentary, and have themselves become stuck in the 1950's, they just don't measure up any more. Of course they probably yawn at the possiblity of man landing on Mars, too. Expand
  5. GlacierO.
    May 28, 2003
    10
    I don't get how Shrek got compared to this one too. They're both equal, other than the fact that Monsters, Inc. needed better respect from critics (79? It deserves MUCH better than that). It's amazing how Pixar is able to have so much imagination and make so many imaginative stories like this one, the Toy Story movies, and A Bug's Life. It really brings out our inner I don't get how Shrek got compared to this one too. They're both equal, other than the fact that Monsters, Inc. needed better respect from critics (79? It deserves MUCH better than that). It's amazing how Pixar is able to have so much imagination and make so many imaginative stories like this one, the Toy Story movies, and A Bug's Life. It really brings out our inner child to see these types movies that are on the same masterpiece level as Miyazaki's animated films are. And also like Miyazaki's films, Pixar's contains gorgeos animation. But I found this one to be the best of Pixar, as it was so touching at the end. Like all of Pixar's films, the characters were original and fit their voice actors (especially Goodman and Crystal) and the characters weren't ripped off of a popular film. The dialogue isn't sappy, stupid, or taken from another film either. It's very witty and funny (example:the news scene). I don't see why this movie didn't get a universal acclaim. I thought it was overall flawless, with incredible scenery. Do please buy the DVD! It contains the best extras you could ever ask for! Expand
  6. KNSato
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    Sweet and funny movie, at turns hilarious and touching. Especially resonant for those of us who appreciate the wonder and cuteness of little girls. The underlying joy of the film's makers shines through.
  7. EmilyM.
    Mar 17, 2002
    10
    Monsters, Inc. is 1 of the funniest movies I have eva seen. I really enjoyed it and thought that it woz great.
  8. GoOn!HitHim!WhatDoICare?I'mGilbertMulroneycak
    Dec 25, 2002
    10
    Shrek was utterly brilliant. This is better. Anyone who says there's nothing for grown ups would be advised to note that a) it's a kid's movie first and foremost and b) they're talking pigswill. The script is hillarious, for a start-off (anyone not even sniggering at that poor once-hairy guy who kept being leapt on by the CDA really needs a slap). And the animation! Shrek was utterly brilliant. This is better. Anyone who says there's nothing for grown ups would be advised to note that a) it's a kid's movie first and foremost and b) they're talking pigswill. The script is hillarious, for a start-off (anyone not even sniggering at that poor once-hairy guy who kept being leapt on by the CDA really needs a slap). And the animation! The Cel is dead! My god, this animation! (By the way, if you think this film's pretty, take a look at "Finding Nemo, the new one. My god...it's a beautiful thing [hands large brown envelope to John Lasseter].) The voice acting also "rocks" "bells" - Billy Crystal succeeds in giving a large eye a personality, and John Goodman is so damn LOVABLE as Sulley. The late James "Not Earl Jones" Coburn has a great time as the crab-Boss Hogg hybrid CEO of the corporation, and Steve Buscemi could hardly go wrong with Randall - I love a Disney film where you end up really HATING the bad guy. Randall transcended the usual Disney villainy - he wasn't just bad, he was a complete and total B.ST.RD, and just for the hell of it as well. I defy you, I really defy you not to cheer and clap at the climax, in Boo's room, when spoiler deleted. Ooh, he makes me mad. And to cap it all off, just the most perfect, most touching, most utterly enchanting endings ever. Better than "Bug's Life", not as good as either "Toy Story", but it's close. You must see it. Expand
  9. MichelleP.
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    This movie was amazing. The movie was funny, as well as touching (I cried like a baby when Sulley was saying bye to Boo.) The thing that amazed me was that Sulley and Mike looked like monster versions of their voice actors [John Goodman and Billy Crystal] And the villain Randall was just plain cool.
  10. RyanM.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    While watching "Monsters, Inc." it feels as if you are in an inferno of hilarity. It's the perfect film at the perfect time.
  11. SariaM.
    May 30, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie! It's my favorite Pixar movie next to "Finding Nemo"!
  12. GauriS.
    Jun 17, 2002
    10
    Cute, classy movie.
  13. EowynE.
    Sep 22, 2002
    10
    Actually I give it an amazing 1,000,000! This is the best film I've eva cn along with The Lord Of The Rings! Very witty! Astounding animation! Fantastic characters! Brilliant casting!
  14. MarcB.
    Nov 21, 2001
    10
    Whatever! I just wanted my name at the top of the critic list, instead of some idiot from NYC or LA papers. Movie was cute and even had some emotional cries from the kids. I would love to see one of these animation with a NOBODY doing the voice over. Let the animation sell the audience, that will be the true taste in the pudding. Also have an opening night to 9,900 movie houses and you Whatever! I just wanted my name at the top of the critic list, instead of some idiot from NYC or LA papers. Movie was cute and even had some emotional cries from the kids. I would love to see one of these animation with a NOBODY doing the voice over. Let the animation sell the audience, that will be the true taste in the pudding. Also have an opening night to 9,900 movie houses and you will have the BEST.THE BIGGEST,THE GREATEST.... Expand
  15. DaveZoesDad
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Great movie for kids and adults. Especially if you have kids of your own.
  16. LyraS.
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    "Some Guy", you sound like you haven't even SEEN this movie. "It's totally a kid's movie..." There were many jokes in the movie a little kid could DEFINITELY not get. "Recommended for young children with simple tastes ONLY". Do you have any imagination? This movie is 100% imaginative. Nothing in it is "simple". So, you call this movie a movie for kids ONLY. Well, buddy, "Some Guy", you sound like you haven't even SEEN this movie. "It's totally a kid's movie..." There were many jokes in the movie a little kid could DEFINITELY not get. "Recommended for young children with simple tastes ONLY". Do you have any imagination? This movie is 100% imaginative. Nothing in it is "simple". So, you call this movie a movie for kids ONLY. Well, buddy, I've got something to tell you--you must be praising these adorable kids for their delicious imagination. "What a complete waste of time, at least for an adult". You don't know how many people I know who are ages 18+ and they loved this film! Then again, I guess you're one of those boring people who thinks a masterpiece like "Spirited Away" is bad too. Expand
  17. JessicaP.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    Luuuuuv-ed it! The movie was so high-larious! I watched it 12 times when it was out in theaters (i only paid 50% of the time). The little "BOO" was really adorable, the detail of the film was so accurate. I loved it. GREAT!
  18. SP
    Mar 26, 2002
    10
    Best Cartoon Ever!!!
  19. CallieR.
    May 17, 2003
    10
    Quit comparing this movie to Toy Story all of you! I've seen this movie a million times and I'm still not tired of it. I still laugh and cry when watching this film, and it's a masterpiece if you ask me. Hopefully, "Finding Nemo" will be as good as the Pixar masterpieces like this one.
  20. StephenW.
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    I thought this movie was great.
  21. MichaelJ.
    Nov 4, 2001
    10
    I believe that this movie shows the ability of Pixar and Disney as a team to produce a great movie. Great characters, color, feel, and comedy.
  22. Anousone
    May 5, 2002
    10
    A MUST-see!!!
  23. JackieC.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    Great stuff again Pixar!! Monsters Inc is really enjoyable and funny. *thumbs up*
  24. sloppyjoe
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Pros: every econd is hilarious, i could watch it over and over again, superior visuals. cons: NONE!
  25. DaniP.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    It was an amazing movie and i loved it!!!!
  26. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    It may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and great voice acting make this a must-see. One of Pixar's best, and also one of all of animations best films. As will all other Pixar movies, animation is notIt may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and great voice acting make this a must-see. One of Pixar's best, and also one of all of animations best films. As will all other Pixar movies, animation is not just for children. This is a wittily funny movie for everyone. Expand
  27. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The characters are likeable and the story is original and heartwarming. Disney never fails to entertain both children and adults.
  28. CRL
    Aug 12, 2011
    10
    For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that, wherever and whenever I see it on, I will watch it to the very end.
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is perhaps the most heart-warming film that Pixar has created. Mike and Sulley work at Monsters Inc., where their jobs are to scare children to create electricity for the monster world. When a child escapes into the monster world for the first time in history, Mike and Sulley must help her get home safely Expand
  30. May 22, 2012
    10
    I love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times to fully appreciate the hidden humor.
  31. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Monsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's a buddy movie, it's a work-based sitcom, an imaginative fantasy film, and most pleasingly a biting and intelligent satire on both the world energyMonsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's a buddy movie, it's a work-based sitcom, an imaginative fantasy film, and most pleasingly a biting and intelligent satire on both the world energy crisis and the over-exposure of children to increasingly horrific images in the modern world. Inventively, the monster city is not powered by electricity, gas and oil, but by children's screams, which the workers of Monsters Incorporated, dubbed "scarers" are tasked with collecting by going through portals into the human world, portals which appear as closet doors in the bedrooms of children. The monster world is facing an energy shortage due to the fact that kids "just don't get scared like they used to", resulting in some monsters resorting to increasingly drastic and amoral techniques to extract childrens' screams. The cast all give sterling vocal performances - John Goodman's hairy soft-hearted giant Sulley and Billy Crystal's minuscule green cyclops Mike make a great comedy double-act, Steve Buscemi's reptilian villain Randall is appropriately slimy and conniving, and the staggeringly multi-talented animator/writer/director/occasional actor Bob Peterson voices the cynical slug-secretary-from-hell Roz, and never fails to raise a smile. Monsters, Inc. gets the balance between vastly differing moods just right, with cuteness (Sulley's adorable father-daughter relationship with Boo), humour (anything said or done by Mike) and darkness (Randall's unsavory evil master plan) all given equal service throughout the film by director Pete Doctor and the multiple writers. I also challenge anyone who's in possession of a working heart not to blub at the film's bittersweet, utterly heartbreaking finale. This might provoke considerable debate amongst Pixar devotees (as the vast majority of the studio's output is jolly good, afterall) but I say that Monsters, Inc., while only being the fourth film released, is the very best work the animation powerhouse has produced thus far. It's truly Pixar's finest hour not only due to its flawless technical craftsmanship, but because of its abundance of heart and soul. Expand
  32. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Beautiful, lovely, heart touching. There is a connection between Sullivan and Boo, a father- daughter coonection, nobody could think a monster could love and scared of a little human girl. You should watch this movies
  33. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    The all-time favorite movie of my childhood. I loved Billy Crystal and John Goodman's chemistry during the film, which made the story even better. The series of twists at the end will not disappoint it's viewers.
  34. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    These classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's, but it also really captures heart (just like most Pixar movies). To me ,(just like the earlier Toy Story movies) this is a movie that i grew upThese classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's, but it also really captures heart (just like most Pixar movies). To me ,(just like the earlier Toy Story movies) this is a movie that i grew up watching almost every single day. It's a fun movie for both kids and adults. Plus, I can't wait for "Monster's University" coming out this summer. Overall, it's a classic Pixar movie that truly should not be taken lightly. Expand
  35. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Monsters Inc. is one of my favorite movies of all time, it is my childhood movie, that I grew up with, it is original and funny with lots of jokes and a great time for families and children, the plot is original and clever with lots of clever moments and touching scenes, Monsters Inc. is one of the greatest animated movies ever made!
  36. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    "Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation is just superb. Its storytelling is wonderful, and is like watching as a kid again. With newer films coming out by the second, movies like "Monsters"Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation is just superb. Its storytelling is wonderful, and is like watching as a kid again. With newer films coming out by the second, movies like "Monsters Inc." remind you of the good old days. Expand
  37. May 11, 2014
    10
    One of my favourite movies ever and my most beloved movies when I was a kid. Mike is one of my favourite movie characters he is just so funny. There are so many memorable scenes in this movie from all the jokes and the door scenes in this movie were great. Amazing voice acting and story made this films one of my favourite and my favourite Pixar films to date.
  38. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This by far my favorite movie. The Story is original, the plot is engaging, and the voice acting is amazing. This is Pixar's finest work, and that's saying something considering classics such as Toy Story, Wall-E, and Up.
  39. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    One thing about Pixar's movies that are true to this day is their trailers do absolutely no justice for the film. There's so much depth and artistry in Pixar's work it's amazing that they have yet to falter after all of these years.
  40. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    1010 .................................................................................…………............................................................
  41. AndrewM.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    (9.5) As much fun as the two Toy Story's and the comparison stops there! This is Monsters, Inc. A unique story with unique characters. Moreover, is has a script that's hilarious, voice talent that's impeccable, and the whole group of filmmakers are simply geniuses. It's cliched throughout but, heck, who cares! You love the heroes, adore the victim, and despise the (9.5) As much fun as the two Toy Story's and the comparison stops there! This is Monsters, Inc. A unique story with unique characters. Moreover, is has a script that's hilarious, voice talent that's impeccable, and the whole group of filmmakers are simply geniuses. It's cliched throughout but, heck, who cares! You love the heroes, adore the victim, and despise the villian(s). And you're supposed to! Not to mention that you laugh yourself silly at the side-characters. C'mon, who doesn't love Roz?!? This film has everything and age is not a prerequisite. It will thrill audiences for many many years to come. Expand
  42. JeffM.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    I went in prepared for the inevitable mediocre Pixar film -- I mean, how many times can they put out a great movie without offering a lame one eventually? -- but they once again have offered us a visual treat with a story to captivate young and old. The next one will suck though, right? They can't keep achieving greatness, can they??
  43. MattE.
    May 18, 2003
    9
    Great movie, but doesn't have the wonder of Toy Story or the witty dialogue of Toy Story 2. I did, however, think it was better than A Bug's Life. How it stands to compare with Shrek, I don't know, because I love both of them equally I couldn't say which is better.
  44. RogerB.
    Sep 17, 2002
    9
    Great entertainment for the entire family.
  45. Richard
    Oct 7, 2002
    9
    Charming and very funny, especially as its level of obvious gags is lower than most animated films. Much of the wit of this film is in its design, as well as in the pairing of the frenetic Crystal with the genuine Goodman. Well worth the time, and the "outtakes" on the DVD are especially hilarious. Don't mis the full production of "Put That Thing Back Where You Came From Or So Help Charming and very funny, especially as its level of obvious gags is lower than most animated films. Much of the wit of this film is in its design, as well as in the pairing of the frenetic Crystal with the genuine Goodman. Well worth the time, and the "outtakes" on the DVD are especially hilarious. Don't mis the full production of "Put That Thing Back Where You Came From Or So Help Me ... !" Expand
  46. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    One of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is a brilliant, loveable and well done film that anyone can enjoy.
  47. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    it doesn't have the same sophistication as Toy Story, but still its an awesome Pixar movie!
  48. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    A fantastic movie that has a touching story, fantastic characters, and a lot of humor, one of the best animated movies for kids of all time, a must watch.
  49. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this is probably the least memorable Pixar movie. But on its own, its a very good movie. Better than the other big animated movie released in the same year, Shrek.
  50. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    "Monsters Inc." is the milestone animation of Pixar's big debut to the 21st century. As expecting, the film is amazing, containing good morals that audience of every age can understand and appeal. Two thumbs up!!!
  51. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Monsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, which is why I suppose Pixar are making a prequel to the film for 2013. The film is great but not superb, it shows that Pixar can yet again make a greatMonsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, which is why I suppose Pixar are making a prequel to the film for 2013. The film is great but not superb, it shows that Pixar can yet again make a great film about just about anything that is great viewing for kids and adults alike. Expand
  52. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Monster's Inc is extremely heartwarming and original along with mostly going for laughs the whole time which it most definitely does. And the film may scare some children but overall it is fantastic. I give this film 86%.
  53. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    I have seen it three times. This movie has both funny and moving scene. I really enjoyed it. If you want to see heartwarming movie, I recommend it to you.
  54. May 26, 2012
    9
    The connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannot fault this wonderful movie. Because of these amazing features, this film is definitely one of Pixar's best..........
  55. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Excellently animated and voice acted, "Monsters Inc." is yet another reason why Pixar is the king daddy of noteworthy animated movie storytelling.
  56. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Monsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad mood and this was one of them. This movie has such great laughs and likable characters that you must have a heart made of stone not to love. The animationMonsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad mood and this was one of them. This movie has such great laughs and likable characters that you must have a heart made of stone not to love. The animation is beautiful even to this day and you can't help but smile at the colors and appeal that this film gives off. All the settings that you see were beautiful for its time and the characters look incredible for being so early in the stages of computer animation. We all were scared of the darkness and monsters at one point in our lives, and if you weren't, well then you will still love this film. Pixar has always had a knack for making lovable characters, and I think with this movie they show some of their most creative and fun characters of all. The movie talks about friendship, and although many children's movies talk about that, I think this movie is one of the first to do it correctly. There isn't much to talk about in a film that has been out for about 11 years, but I think we can all agree this is a classic piece of animation and one that everyone, both young and old, can love. Expand
  57. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It's odd to see that this movie is so underrated. In my opinion, this might just be Pixar's best and most creative movie to date. It's hilarious at times and heart breaking at other times. Every character is interesting and very well animated given their unique appearances. Be sure to see this one, it's just awesome.
  58. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Won of the first and the best of the Pixar films. Really entertaining characters that are enjoyable for kids and adults. Also perfect voice casting with Billy Crystal and John Goodman.
  59. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Es una muy buena película, teniendo en cuenta que la idea y el tema de este Film es muy buena. En conclusión un largometraje recomendado para la Familia.
  60. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The heart of the movie and it's comedic dynamic duo make this an amazing story of how anyone can find love in the things that everyone fears. Loved this movie, and I've watched multiple times.
  61. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    A fun, intelligent film disguised as a kids movie, but really is a great movie to watch for all ages. The voice acting is great and the laughs are there, as well as some mild scares for the kids. It's genius.
  62. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Excellent and very funny movie full action that is about friendship. Some scenes made me laugh the end almost made me cry. A beautiful experience for anyone to watch.
  63. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    Monsters, Inc. is one of the cutest and most original movies Disney Pixar has made. It is a nearly perfect family film that children can be entertained by and parents and adults can relate to. Goodman and Crystal are golden as the main characters and Boo is just adorable. The only thing I can say I wish they did was give Sully and Mike even more screen time. This is a must watch if youMonsters, Inc. is one of the cutest and most original movies Disney Pixar has made. It is a nearly perfect family film that children can be entertained by and parents and adults can relate to. Goodman and Crystal are golden as the main characters and Boo is just adorable. The only thing I can say I wish they did was give Sully and Mike even more screen time. This is a must watch if you enjoy these types of films. Expand
  64. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Would you be scare of a monster on a closet that terrorizes children while their asleep at night? Well, not anymore because these monsters just only work for their jobs to create electricity for the Monster world. The company their working at is called Monsters Inc. that serves as a diversion of the film's realism to our world while you're in the company you will meet joyful and humorousWould you be scare of a monster on a closet that terrorizes children while their asleep at night? Well, not anymore because these monsters just only work for their jobs to create electricity for the Monster world. The company their working at is called Monsters Inc. that serves as a diversion of the film's realism to our world while you're in the company you will meet joyful and humorous characters such as the loving and charming, James Sullivan John Goodman a talkative one-eyed green monster, Mike Wazowski Billy Crystal a selfish and easily distracted monster-like chameleon, Randall Boggs Steve Buscemi and many more.

    These characters shows enjoyable break time for children who watch this, maybe unforgettable, They work as like employees and the company their working at, even shows employee of the month. Now, for the main characters- Sully and Mike acts as best friends throughout their jobs, they show cleverness to entertain viewers in a way of humor. Especially, Roz, who appeals using her slow-paced talking and reminding the paper work assignment of Mike in a hilarious silent way.

    Monsters Inc. is really a great time if you are bored, it can entertained you because the characters are charismatic and joyful which makes the film feel alive. And they even not stop entertaining till the credits, they showed that the film is real and the characters worked as Hollywood actors and even mentioned "No monsters were harmed in this film", really a diversion of realism that can caught adult's attention to watch it. Even my aunt loves this movie even she's 27 years old.

    Monsters Inc. is a good film and look it even won Academy awards. It may not seem as fresh as the Toy Story film but outstanding packed humor and realism makes it sufficient enough to be added to PIxar's success in the animation universe.

    Rating: 9 10
    Expand
  65. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    monsters inc is better then monsters university . how ? because its a monsterific animated film . A film by peter doctor who created toy story and wall-e .
  66. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    I fell in love with Monster,Inc. the first time I saw it as a kid. It was the movie I got most excited for to watch, fast forward eleven years and I still get excited for it. This monster world is so different from what we know yet so interesting and fun. Their source of power comes from the screams of children which seems so very strange but in the context of this film, makes perfectI fell in love with Monster,Inc. the first time I saw it as a kid. It was the movie I got most excited for to watch, fast forward eleven years and I still get excited for it. This monster world is so different from what we know yet so interesting and fun. Their source of power comes from the screams of children which seems so very strange but in the context of this film, makes perfect sense. I am never forced to accept anything the film throws at me, I choose to accept them because they make sense.

    Another important reason for why I love Monsters, Inc. is the characters. James P. Sullivan is our protagonist. He is very good at his job, known to many as the top Scarer in Monstropolis. Throughout this film, Sullivan's perspective on everything changes while his caring and comforting character grows stronger. His best friend and roommate, Mike Wazowski, is a funny and smart character who sometimes fails to see the obvious. He is full of energy and charisma, making it impossible for me to dislike him.

    Apart from the characters and the beautiful chemistry they share, the story is very well written and enjoyable. It had some hilarious laugh out loud moments, but also some very sad ones. The 3-D is okay, but seems non-existent at times.
    Anyone who hasn't seen this movie yet must do so, and those who have should go back and revisit it. It's the well written story, the colorful characters and the heart this film carries that makes it such a timeless classic.
    Expand
  67. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    The Academy Award-winning creators of "Toy Story" open the door to a frightfully funny world of monsters and mayhem and scare up lots of laughs in their new movie, Monsters, Inc.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 60
    Marvels of animation abound in Monsters, Inc. -- when it comes to irreverent humor and real heart, Monsters doesn't quite measure up.
  2. 80
    Confirms that despite all the technical tools at their disposal, one thing counts head and shoulders above razzle-dazzle eye candy (or anything else, for that matter): the story and characters, and Monsters, Inc. introduces worthy additions to the Pixar pantheon.
  3. But Monsters, Inc. -- directed by Pixar soldier Pete Docter, not by master digital comic John Lasseter -- turns out to be stingy on context, commentary, and the prism-ing view of pop culture that made the earlier films mint.