Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2001
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 467 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
440
Mixed:
21
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ElliottGreen200Jul 27, 2017
A very fun movie. Great animation, great voice acting and a great story to go with it. It is yet another masterpiece by Pixar and really separates itself from other animated films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
superbatJul 23, 2017
Another classic from Pixar. This movie features an original plot, original themes, and excellent performances from John Goodman and Billy Crystal. This is a movie for everybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsMay 22, 2017
The Pixar magic is strong in this movie. The characters are great and were well thought out. But don't forget the story, one of Pixar's best. It is a must watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gNov 25, 2016
Makes sense throughout the entire synopsis. Monsters, Inc. It believes what every character does to humans and what they do back to them but doesn't capture that good humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
A film that deserves no introduction, "Monsters, Inc." is absolutely fantastic. A great story, some extremely fantastic characters, brilliant animation, humor, heart, charm, and some catchy tunes, "Monsters, Inc." has it all. There's no twoA film that deserves no introduction, "Monsters, Inc." is absolutely fantastic. A great story, some extremely fantastic characters, brilliant animation, humor, heart, charm, and some catchy tunes, "Monsters, Inc." has it all. There's no two ways about it, "Monsters, Inc." is an absolute blast that I couldn't recommend highly enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Aug 8, 2016
Who ever thought an idea like this could work. Well, pixar did as it managed to make a fun, touching, and engaging story. The strong point is the relationship between sully and boo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Muskrat147Aug 2, 2016
Beaming with humor, wit, and usual Pixar charm, Monsters, Inc. may not be the most brilliant when it comes to story, but Director Pete Doctor and crew make up for its flaws with beautiful animation and wonderful characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorApr 25, 2016
Monsters inc uses inventive and interesting story-telling for keep the audience paged to the film, with colored and inventive characters. It also has a good beginning and a great end, as it should. Pete Docter gives us another great animatedMonsters inc uses inventive and interesting story-telling for keep the audience paged to the film, with colored and inventive characters. It also has a good beginning and a great end, as it should. Pete Docter gives us another great animated film that really deserves take part of Pixar universe and, of course, the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemaniacsMar 6, 2016
Mildly amusing and visually up to Pixar’s usual high standards in computer animation, “Monsters, Inc.” streaks to the height of its trajectory right out of the box and gradually loses altitude the rest of the way. Pivoting on the novel ideaMildly amusing and visually up to Pixar’s usual high standards in computer animation, “Monsters, Inc.” streaks to the height of its trajectory right out of the box and gradually loses altitude the rest of the way. Pivoting on the novel idea of monsters as genial working stiffs who scare kids just for a living, pic is clever and jokey in a vaudeville sort of way.

Not measuring up to Pixar’s usual level, artistically or financially, is no disgrace; the outfit’s three previous features have grossed a combined $1.2 billion worldwide, and the Bay Area operation has quickly built up a reputation for consistency in the kid pic realm perhaps equaled only by Disney himself in the 1940s and ’50s. Still, “Monsters” is noticeably more relentless, frantic and noisy than its predecessors, as well as less charming and captivating. Nor does it come close to rivaling “Shrek” as the standout animated picture of the year.

Pacey item centers on the team of Sulley and Mike, the top “scarer” and “scare assistant” in Monstropolis, a town dedicated to and powered by the screams its professional monsters provoke from Earth’s young children. A towering, horned, purple-and-green-haired bear of a creature, Sulley (voiced by John Goodman) is the proverbial softie inside a hulking exterior, and he’s encouraged, prodded and provoked at every step by the literal ball of energy that is Mike (Billy Crystal), a lime on legs distinguished by one giant eye and a motor mouth.

Great fun is had laying out the basic contours of Monstropolis life: Beasts of every imaginable shape, size and configuration report daily to a giant factory to scare the bejesus out of kids everywhere, who are accessed via portable doors that magically provide direct entree to their bedrooms. Air tanks instantly capture the resultant screams, the energy source for the entire city.

Workaday banter, friendly joshing, office romances and professional rivalries are effortlessly laid out, with Sulley’s status as every child’s worst nightmare challenged only by Randall (Steve Buscemi), a purple, multi-armed lizard who covets the popular Sulley’s rank and enjoys the extra advantage of being able to turn invisible at will. Other colorful characters imprinted instantly and engagingly on the mind include Mike slinky, snake-haired receptionist girlfriend Celia (Jennifer Tilly), the crotchety office overseer Roz (Bob Peterson) and the old-school, crablike big boss Waternoose (James Coburn).

Dramatic gears are set in motion when a tiny girl named Boo (Mary Gibbs) slips through her door from the human world into Monstropolis. However fearsome they can be when called upon, monsters have a paralyzing fear of contact with homo sapiens, whom they’ve been taught are highly toxic if touched; an entire organization, the Child Detection Agency, staffed by emergency personnel in sealed yellow suits, exists for the sole reason of dealing with such intruders.

Knowing what will happen to Boo if she’s caught, and quickly suspecting that physical contact with her isn’t so dangerous after all, Sulley and Mike protect the pig-tailed kid, a pre-verbal imp whose utterances sound like those of a Teletubbie on speed and who is, unfortunately, not the most endearing tyke ever put onscreen. In fact, she’s pretty obnoxious, which doesn’t help during the film’s longish midsection that’s mostly devoted to the monster team’s frantic efforts to hide Boo from everyone else. Much of the film, then, becomes a cat-and-mouse chase, with distractions offered by the smoothly malicious plottings of Randall and an amusing digression when the duo is momentarily banished to the Himalayas, where they are enthusiastically welcomed by a boisterous Abominable Snowman (John Ratzenberger).

But as the chasing about continues, it becomes increasingly apparent how insufficiently the premise has been developed; the excellent basic ideas have yielded too few twists and dramatic junctures to keep the picture flying at the level at which it starts. The climactic roller-coaster ride pursuit — on tracks in the giant warehouse where the portals are kept — provides some sensory thrills, but the poignant note on which the story ends forcibly reminds the audience of the genuine emotional chords the film has previously failed to strike.

Pixar’s vast army of design personnel has hardly been asleep at the wheel, as the monsters and settings overflow with imagination and wit. Even when the narrative becomes a bit tedious, there are visual and verbal references to keep adult auds amused; little kids may be scared at times, but in a reasonable, unthreatening way. In ways that viewers may now begin to be taking for granted, the computer animation here is still incredibly impressive.

“Monsters” is preceded on prints by a jolly three-minute Pixar trifle, “For the Birds.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffFeb 5, 2016
While it's far from my favorite Pixar film (that title belongs to 'Finding Nemo'), 'Monsters, Inc' is nonetheless a worthy film in the Pixar canon, directed by Pete Docter and starring Billy Crystal as Mike and John Goodman as Sulley, thisWhile it's far from my favorite Pixar film (that title belongs to 'Finding Nemo'), 'Monsters, Inc' is nonetheless a worthy film in the Pixar canon, directed by Pete Docter and starring Billy Crystal as Mike and John Goodman as Sulley, this film is better when you think about it.

Mike and Sulley are two monsters (Mike is a green eye-ball with arms and legs and Sulley is a blue, hairy beast-like monster) who work in a corporation called "Monsters Incorporated" in which their job is to scare little kids from their world as kid's screams seem to generate energy for the monster world to have electricity. This is where I really have to praise the film, the writing is the film's strength, as we all remember being scared of monsters as little kids, but this film makes it out like it's their day jobs, and as a grown-up, this kind of character development is extremely clever.

Craziness ensues as Sulley finds a little girl entering the monster world, every monster is scared of a child (another clever writing technique) as they fear to be touched by a child, the same as children being scared of these monsters.

This is a fantastic debut for director Pete Docter, while it may not be as strong as the "Toy Story" films, it is better than one would expect when it comes down to the writing. It's funny and entertaining, and people of all ages will love it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmMasterEdJan 6, 2016
Pixar must be due to slip up soon. Companies rarely rack up critical and commercial hits like Toy Story, A Bug's Life and the law-of-diminishing-returns-shattering Toy Story 2 without the cinema gods arranging some major disaster for them.Pixar must be due to slip up soon. Companies rarely rack up critical and commercial hits like Toy Story, A Bug's Life and the law-of-diminishing-returns-shattering Toy Story 2 without the cinema gods arranging some major disaster for them. There just has to be a ticking bomb nestled in their upcoming schedule somewhere. This ain't it, though. Monsters, Inc isn't just good - - it's fantastic.

Sharp, clever, frighteningly funny and 24-carat feelgood, this is the story of the boogeymen who creep out of the cupboard every night to scare rugrats silly. A kiddiwink nightmare come true? Umm, not really, because these monsters don't really mean any harm - - they're just doing their job...

Every day, green one-eyed Mike (voiced by Billy Crystal) and purple-and-blue-spotted furball Sulley (John Candy) go to work at scare factory Monsters, Inc. Sulley crosses over from Monstropolis into the world of humans and puts the frighteners on some poor little boy or girl. Meanwhile Mike bottles their screams and uses them to provide power for the monster world's every need. It's nothing personal - - it's just clock-punching employment. Or it is until a little girl they christen Boo (Mary Gibbs) manages to cross over to Mike and Sulley's dimension.

If the monster world authorities find her, the boys are going to be out of a job and Boo's going to be detoxed out of existence since monsters are convinced that kids are poisonous. Will Mike and Sulley get Boo safely back to her own world? Can Monstropolis survive without the power of kiddie screams? What is evil Monsters, Inc employee Randall (Steve Buscemi) up to? And is Mike ever going to successfully date medusa-haired Monsters Inc receptionist Celia (Jennifer Tilly)?

Flawlessly animated, Monsters, Inc glows with loving care and attention, but talking about the quality of the CG work is akin to watching The Godfather and rambling on about how all those flickering single images successfully create the illusion of movement. It's Pixar's storytelling and not the technology that makes their films fly.

Goodman's deep rumbling tones turn Sulley into the most huggable of huge, furry critters - - his slow-burn realisation that Boo may not be the lethal killing machine he's always believed human kids to be is simply joyous. And while Sulley's the heart, Crystal's furiously ad-libbing Mike is the lippy, fast-talking brain, pumping out one-liners to compliment the sight gags and slapstick. It's the classic buddy movie combo of big 'n' loveable and small 'n' sarky.

But Monsters, Inc is much more than just a framework to hang jokes on. The humour works as part of a thumpingly good narrative that finds time to slot in a truly creepy villain, some serious tension and two belting action sequences. Not to mention a big soppy ending that sends you out into the night with the warmest of hearts.

It's not quite up to Toy Story 2, but it doesn't fall that far short. Monsters, Inc stakes an early claim to this year's family entertainment crown - - it'll take something truly spectacular to beat it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: It's a quirky story that actually entertains on many levels - 'Monsters Inc' is fun, light hearted and well animated. Plus it's got some emotion and character development that makes you feel for the characters
WHAT I DIDN'T
WHAT I LIKED: It's a quirky story that actually entertains on many levels - 'Monsters Inc' is fun, light hearted and well animated. Plus it's got some emotion and character development that makes you feel for the characters
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It could be more fun, and the overall plot isn't as fleshed out as it could be
VERDICT: Another memorable classic from Pixar - this is proper entertainment with few let downs
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac1994Jan 4, 2016
Pixar must be due to slip up soon. Companies rarely rack up critical and commercial hits like Toy Story, A Bug's Life and the law-of-diminishing-returns-shattering Toy Story 2 without the cinema gods arranging some major disaster for them.Pixar must be due to slip up soon. Companies rarely rack up critical and commercial hits like Toy Story, A Bug's Life and the law-of-diminishing-returns-shattering Toy Story 2 without the cinema gods arranging some major disaster for them. There just has to be a ticking bomb nestled in their upcoming schedule somewhere. This ain't it, though. Monsters, Inc isn't just good - - it's fantastic.

Sharp, clever, frighteningly funny and 24-carat feelgood, this is the story of the boogeymen who creep out of the cupboard every night to scare rugrats silly. A kiddiwink nightmare come true? Umm, not really, because these monsters don't really mean any harm - - they're just doing their job...

Every day, green one-eyed Mike (voiced by Billy Crystal) and purple-and-blue-spotted furball Sulley (John Candy) go to work at scare factory Monsters, Inc. Sulley crosses over from Monstropolis into the world of humans and puts the frighteners on some poor little boy or girl. Meanwhile Mike bottles their screams and uses them to provide power for the monster world's every need. It's nothing personal - - it's just clock-punching employment. Or it is until a little girl they christen Boo (Mary Gibbs) manages to cross over to Mike and Sulley's dimension.

If the monster world authorities find her, the boys are going to be out of a job and Boo's going to be detoxed out of existence since monsters are convinced that kids are poisonous. Will Mike and Sulley get Boo safely back to her own world? Can Monstropolis survive without the power of kiddie screams? What is evil Monsters, Inc employee Randall (Steve Buscemi) up to? And is Mike ever going to successfully date medusa-haired Monsters Inc receptionist Celia (Jennifer Tilly)?

Flawlessly animated, Monsters, Inc glows with loving care and attention, but talking about the quality of the CG work is akin to watching The Godfather and rambling on about how all those flickering single images successfully create the illusion of movement. It's Pixar's storytelling and not the technology that makes their films fly.

Goodman's deep rumbling tones turn Sulley into the most huggable of huge, furry critters - - his slow-burn realisation that Boo may not be the lethal killing machine he's always believed human kids to be is simply joyous. And while Sulley's the heart, Crystal's furiously ad-libbing Mike is the lippy, fast-talking brain, pumping out one-liners to compliment the sight gags and slapstick. It's the classic buddy movie combo of big 'n' loveable and small 'n' sarky.

But Monsters, Inc is much more than just a framework to hang jokes on. The humour works as part of a thumpingly good narrative that finds time to slot in a truly creepy villain, some serious tension and two belting action sequences. Not to mention a big soppy ending that sends you out into the night with the warmest of hearts.

It's not quite up to Toy Story 2, but it doesn't fall that far short. Monsters, Inc stakes an early claim to this year's family entertainment crown - - it'll take something truly spectacular to beat it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeDec 27, 2015
Monsters, Inc. has basically captured what Pixar did. It's watchable and the best for you and your family! Although not able to express the feelings of the original Toy Story and 2, but it's still great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbyNov 4, 2015
As well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see forAs well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see for Pixar fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DanBurritoSep 10, 2015
Another instant classic from Pixar. Billy Crystal gives a wonderful performance as Mike Wasowski and it has some really moving moments that will bring a tear to even the most cynical person's eye. The story is intriguing and smart andAnother instant classic from Pixar. Billy Crystal gives a wonderful performance as Mike Wasowski and it has some really moving moments that will bring a tear to even the most cynical person's eye. The story is intriguing and smart and Randall makes a good villain. Well done Pixar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
PIXAR was pounding again, this time with the story of monsters that work to scare children , but the monsters are really fancy but excellent film pure and argument
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
Remember when, as a child, you used to fear the monster under the bed or in the closet - how your parents would tell you to go to sleep, that it wasn't real? Monsters, Inc. confirms what every child really knows - the things that go bump inRemember when, as a child, you used to fear the monster under the bed or in the closet - how your parents would tell you to go to sleep, that it wasn't real? Monsters, Inc. confirms what every child really knows - the things that go bump in the night have more substance than silly grown ups recognize. Brought to the screen by the marriage of Disney and Pixar, Monsters, Inc. is the fourth computer animated motion picture offspring of this union. Like its older siblings, Toy Story, A Bug's Life, and Toy Story 2, Monsters, Inc. is a triumph of storytelling. Each new movie of this sort raises the bar a little more, and, while Monsters, Inc. doesn't eclipse Dreamworks' Shrek, it comes close.

There's a world out there, somewhere under the rainbow, where monsters live. The sprawling city where they go about their daily lives is called Monstropolis - a vast, bustling place populated by all sorts of misshapen creatures who would cause the average human child to crawl under the covers. Energy in Monstropolis comes from an unusual source - the screams of children. Employees working for mega-corporation Monsters, Inc. go through gateways into the bedroom of human kids on Earth, frighten them into screaming, capture the energy from the screams, and convert it to electricity in Monstropolis. But, since children are becoming harder to scare, Monstropolis is facing a "scream shortage."

Everything that was true of the two Toy Story movies and A Bug's Life can be said about Monsters, Inc. - this is the kind of movie that works on multiple levels - as fast-moving, lively fun for children and as slyly written, visually impressive entertainment for adults. Monsters, Inc. is one of those rare family films that parents can enjoy (rather than endure) along with their kids. And childless individuals venturing into a theater showing this picture need not worry that they'll be viewed as deviants - Monsters, Inc. is capable of drawing audience members from across the age spectrum.

The older the viewer, the more in-jokes they'll get. Most everyone will appreciate the "Don't Stalk" street sign and the tabloid newspaper called "The Glob". But it will take someone with a little more sophistication than the average 10-year old to get a chuckle out of the club named "Harryhausen's". From a visual standpoint, Monsters, Inc. is a small step forward from Toy Story 2 in its variety, richness of design, and background detail. I say a "small step" because Toy Story 2 was strong in all of these areas - Monsters, Inc. is just a little better.

The great strength of the previous Pixar films, as well as Shrek, is that they offer a genuine emotional component that runs deeper than that of the run-of-the-mill animated feature. Such is the case here, where the attachment between burly Sulley and tiny Boo touches the heart. Part of it is because the animators have pulled out all the stops in making Boo shamelessly cute, but it does the job. The little girl brings out Sulley's soft side and smoothes some of Mike's rough edges. (As in Shrek, the animators opt to make the human characters somewhat "unreal", rather than going the Final Fantasy route and attempting to replicate actual human appearance.)

Monsters, Inc. manages to last 90 minutes without a single song. Too often, music has become a crutch in animated productions (rather than the asset it can be when used appropriately). The fact that Monsters, Inc. doesn't need Randy Newman songs sprinkled throughout (although there is one during the end credits) is a testimony to the strength of the writing and the vocal characterizations. John Goodman and Billy Crystal make for an effective odd couple (in a break from tradition, they recorded their parts together, rather than separately). James Coburn is suitably dignified as Henry J. Waternoose, the owner of Monsters, Inc. Jennifer Tilly lends her helium-like voice to Celia, Mike's girlfriend; Steve Buscemi is hardly recognizable as the diabolical Randall; and Mary Gibbs' baby-talk makes Boo all the more adorable.

Monsters, Inc. reaffirms the fact that a good animated film can be every bit as stimulating and emotionally satisfying a motion picture as a high quality live action endeavor. While this movie may threaten to be swamped by Harry Potter mania this fall, it definitely deserves to be seen. Young Mr. Potter may practice magic, but Monsters, Inc. is nothing short of enchanting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Shady313Apr 13, 2015
1010 .................................................................................…………............................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeApr 6, 2015
monster inc is a good film. a lot of people say the idea of this movie is not original I do not know what movie or TV show they watch but I never saw something like monster Inc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
One thing about Pixar's movies that are true to this day is their trailers do absolutely no justice for the film. There's so much depth and artistry in Pixar's work it's amazing that they have yet to falter after all of these years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SwJohnsonJan 19, 2015
This by far my favorite movie. The Story is original, the plot is engaging, and the voice acting is amazing. This is Pixar's finest work, and that's saying something considering classics such as Toy Story, Wall-E, and Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 19, 2014
The Academy Award-winning creators of "Toy Story" open the door to a frightfully funny world of monsters and mayhem and scare up lots of laughs in their new movie, Monsters, Inc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
It's cute, creative, and a lot of fun. whilst it lacks some of the charm that Toy Story had, it still delivers a great story, memorable characters (Not to mention great designs on the monsters) and in my opinion has one of the greatest chaseIt's cute, creative, and a lot of fun. whilst it lacks some of the charm that Toy Story had, it still delivers a great story, memorable characters (Not to mention great designs on the monsters) and in my opinion has one of the greatest chase scenes I've ever seen. In conclusion Monsters, Inc may not be as good as Toy Story, but it's still enjoyable no matter what. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lordmoo_23Sep 30, 2014
I fell in love with Monster,Inc. the first time I saw it as a kid. It was the movie I got most excited for to watch, fast forward eleven years and I still get excited for it. This monster world is so different from what we know yet soI fell in love with Monster,Inc. the first time I saw it as a kid. It was the movie I got most excited for to watch, fast forward eleven years and I still get excited for it. This monster world is so different from what we know yet so interesting and fun. Their source of power comes from the screams of children which seems so very strange but in the context of this film, makes perfect sense. I am never forced to accept anything the film throws at me, I choose to accept them because they make sense.

Another important reason for why I love Monsters, Inc. is the characters. James P. Sullivan is our protagonist. He is very good at his job, known to many as the top Scarer in Monstropolis. Throughout this film, Sullivan's perspective on everything changes while his caring and comforting character grows stronger. His best friend and roommate, Mike Wazowski, is a funny and smart character who sometimes fails to see the obvious. He is full of energy and charisma, making it impossible for me to dislike him.

Apart from the characters and the beautiful chemistry they share, the story is very well written and enjoyable. It had some hilarious laugh out loud moments, but also some very sad ones. The 3-D is okay, but seems non-existent at times.
Anyone who hasn't seen this movie yet must do so, and those who have should go back and revisit it. It's the well written story, the colorful characters and the heart this film carries that makes it such a timeless classic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EdorkJun 22, 2014
Sully and Boo's relationship has some spark, but the supporting characters are unlikable (especially Mike) and the plot is just weak. One of my least favorite Pixar movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787May 11, 2014
One of my favourite movies ever and my most beloved movies when I was a kid. Mike is one of my favourite movie characters he is just so funny. There are so many memorable scenes in this movie from all the jokes and the door scenes in thisOne of my favourite movies ever and my most beloved movies when I was a kid. Mike is one of my favourite movie characters he is just so funny. There are so many memorable scenes in this movie from all the jokes and the door scenes in this movie were great. Amazing voice acting and story made this films one of my favourite and my favourite Pixar films to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscMar 19, 2014
monsters inc is better then monsters university . how ? because its a monsterific animated film . A film by peter doctor who created toy story and wall-e .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KayakMar 4, 2014
A fantastic concept for a children's movie, and it is rather concise and well thought out. Great comedy, great characters and a fairly solid script. Not the best Pixar movie, but pretty damn close!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonDec 24, 2013
Aside from the Toy Story series Monsters Inc is probably my favourite of all the Disney Pixar movies. Featuring a memorable cast of characters (as ever voiced by a superb cast) this is great fun for adults and kids of all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Dec 2, 2013
I'll be honest, I have a soft spot for this movie. Monsters Inc. isn't my favorite Pixar movie, and I do have my gripes with it. But on the whole I just found it utterly charming.

It's funny and sad. Carefree and serious. Slow and fast
I'll be honest, I have a soft spot for this movie. Monsters Inc. isn't my favorite Pixar movie, and I do have my gripes with it. But on the whole I just found it utterly charming.

It's funny and sad. Carefree and serious. Slow and fast paced. Monsters Inc. really does try to do everything, but for the most part I think this is the movie's downside. It's trying so hard to do everything, that it kind of has your emotions all over the place. Making it difficult to fixate on how you are supposed to feel.

Boo is perhaps the most adorable animated child EVER! Crystal & Goodman do a great job and deliver non stop laughs.

Overall:
Monsters Inc. is perhaps the funniest of all the Pixar movies and still retains the Pixar magic of family friendly storytelling (even with monsters.) I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and will continue to do so every time I watch it.

Side Note:
Pixar's "bloopers" are by far the star of each Pixar film, a real shame they don't do them anymore.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheCoolGuy99Nov 17, 2013
Would you be scare of a monster on a closet that terrorizes children while their asleep at night? Well, not anymore because these monsters just only work for their jobs to create electricity for the Monster world. The company their working atWould you be scare of a monster on a closet that terrorizes children while their asleep at night? Well, not anymore because these monsters just only work for their jobs to create electricity for the Monster world. The company their working at is called Monsters Inc. that serves as a diversion of the film's realism to our world while you're in the company you will meet joyful and humorous characters such as the loving and charming, James Sullivan John Goodman a talkative one-eyed green monster, Mike Wazowski Billy Crystal a selfish and easily distracted monster-like chameleon, Randall Boggs Steve Buscemi and many more.

These characters shows enjoyable break time for children who watch this, maybe unforgettable, They work as like employees and the company their working at, even shows employee of the month. Now, for the main characters- Sully and Mike acts as best friends throughout their jobs, they show cleverness to entertain viewers in a way of humor. Especially, Roz, who appeals using her slow-paced talking and reminding the paper work assignment of Mike in a hilarious silent way.

Monsters Inc. is really a great time if you are bored, it can entertained you because the characters are charismatic and joyful which makes the film feel alive. And they even not stop entertaining till the credits, they showed that the film is real and the characters worked as Hollywood actors and even mentioned "No monsters were harmed in this film", really a diversion of realism that can caught adult's attention to watch it. Even my aunt loves this movie even she's 27 years old.

Monsters Inc. is a good film and look it even won Academy awards. It may not seem as fresh as the Toy Story film but outstanding packed humor and realism makes it sufficient enough to be added to PIxar's success in the animation universe.

Rating: 9 10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 15, 2013
It can't beat "Toy Story 3" or "Finding Nemo", but "Monsters Inc." is another well-animated Pixar delight. The only problem with this film is that the funny dialogues are not as effective as other Pixar masterpieces, and it becomes irrelevantIt can't beat "Toy Story 3" or "Finding Nemo", but "Monsters Inc." is another well-animated Pixar delight. The only problem with this film is that the funny dialogues are not as effective as other Pixar masterpieces, and it becomes irrelevant at times. Still, this is definitely a worthy film to check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Monsters Inc scares animation into reality.
Pixar once again exceeds expectations with an unbelievably well crafted story of two monsters and a little girl. The voices of John Goodman and Billy Crystal excel the films creativeness to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Nov 4, 2013
Monsters, Inc. is one of the cutest and most original movies Disney Pixar has made. It is a nearly perfect family film that children can be entertained by and parents and adults can relate to. Goodman and Crystal are golden as the mainMonsters, Inc. is one of the cutest and most original movies Disney Pixar has made. It is a nearly perfect family film that children can be entertained by and parents and adults can relate to. Goodman and Crystal are golden as the main characters and Boo is just adorable. The only thing I can say I wish they did was give Sully and Mike even more screen time. This is a must watch if you enjoy these types of films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joao1198pedroOct 31, 2013
monsters inc forme is the best film of disney pixar so far,it was the first movie i ever watch in the movies,and it was a so terrific film,it deserves a lot of prizes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MamaTLFOct 14, 2013
Excellent and very funny movie full action that is about friendship. Some scenes made me laugh the end almost made me cry. A beautiful experience for anyone to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
A fun, intelligent film disguised as a kids movie, but really is a great movie to watch for all ages. The voice acting is great and the laughs are there, as well as some mild scares for the kids. It's genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
emcoSep 18, 2013
What makes a film a children’s movie? A children’s movie does not just contain the friendly voices behind animated characters in a made up world. A movie for children is much more than just the goofy characters, the vibrant colors, and theWhat makes a film a children’s movie? A children’s movie does not just contain the friendly voices behind animated characters in a made up world. A movie for children is much more than just the goofy characters, the vibrant colors, and the silly skit. The make or break of a children’s movie is one thing: the moral.
In the fall of 2001, together, Disney and Pixar came out with another classic movie of made up worlds and interesting creatures. Director Pete Docter, with co-directors David Silverman and Lee Unkrich, created a movie for all the viewers to watch and take a small life lesson from. The entertaining, comical, and adventurous movie is aimed at the younger children, but some life lesson can be taken from the movie for those of all ages.
Monster’s Inc. is a movie unlike any the children have seen before. The originality of this film lies in the plot of the skit, as a message to the children behind the lines. Not only is Monster’s Inc. an animated film, with fuzzy characters, in a fantasy world, but also gives the young viewers a lesson to watch and take from the events of the movie.
Although some may say that the “charm” of this film is from the vocal cast, they are only looking at the movie from an educated adults view. The targeted viewers for Monster’s Inc. are the young children, given from the animations.
Based on the common criteria of animations, vocals, colors, scenery, characters, etc., the movie alone rates very well. The uniqueness of each character adds to the moral of the movie. Sully, the big-hearted monster, with this “partner in crime” Mike, the small comical monster, make a great dynamic duo. Together, they are the top ranking partnership in their “scream factory”, bringing in the most money by walking into different worlds through kid’s closets and scaring them to record their screams for the monster’s worlds power.
The movie seems to sound like a horror film, monsters crawling into kid’s rooms from their closet and scaring them. Well that’s the twist with the moral. The town’s biggest, scariest monster is actually the one with the biggest heart. The monster Mike, looks scary with his one eye, but is actually extremely comical.
When one “scare” goes wrong, and a human, Boo, is released into the monster’s world, she becomes acquainted with Sully and Mike. At first the monsters are afraid of Boo, because it’s believed that they have diseases and will kill the monsters. How ironic, that the little human girl is afraid of the big monsters? After a night, they become friends but Sully and Mike must hide Boo from the rest of the community because having her holds the risk of being fired.
Boo’s name comes from her as a human and living in the monsters world. Ironically, she is not scared of the monsters, but the monsters are scared of her. The uniqueness of this idea adds to the entertainment of the film, showing that not everything is how it seems. In reality, Boo should be scared of the monsters, but she is not.
This ironic plot gives the movie a different outcome of the overall moral: don’t judge a book by the cover. Just because something is believed to be scary, like monsters coming out of the closet, does not mean that they are scary in reality. Just because Mike and Sully are monsters, and they look strange, different, and scary, does not mean that they actually are. The main message given to the children teaches them that a monster, or anything else, is not actually what it appears to be. Sully is big and scary, but in reality, he is not and he actually has the biggest heart.
Viewers of this movie should come out feeling as though they should reevaluate what they feared, or judged too quickly. Not everything is how it should seem. Ordinary children associate monsters as scary creatures to be afraid of and fear. Monster’s Inc. takes this fear of monsters, and turns it around. The movie doesn’t just explain monsters are not real, but takes it in a more creative direction by showing that just because monsters appear scary, does not mean that they are scary creatures. The movie shows monsters as nice, caring, and funny creatures.
Monster’s Inc. brought in a $34 Million into the box office, and scored a 3.8/5, according to the movie rating website, Rotten Tomatoes. The average viewer takes into consideration, the skit, voice-overs, character’s appearance and every last detail. Every viewer should, at least, walk away with a new view on monsters and a laugh.
The originality of this movie is unlike any other. Monster’s Inc. uses what children fear most, monsters, and make them seem like harmful creatures. This movie puts the imaginations of these young kids and has them look behind appearance and what they expected. Monster’s Inc. expresses a new idea in their growing minds and opens up their thoughts to see that appearance is not always what it seems and to take a look on the insides, because you cannot judge without getting familiar with somet
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 29, 2013
The heart of the movie and it's comedic dynamic duo make this an amazing story of how anyone can find love in the things that everyone fears. Loved this movie, and I've watched multiple times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJul 29, 2013
When you stop and consider the subject matter, you realise how gifted Pixar actually are in being able to turn a story about monsters hiding in children's closets to scare them into a funny and warm children's animation. Imagine if Tim BurtonWhen you stop and consider the subject matter, you realise how gifted Pixar actually are in being able to turn a story about monsters hiding in children's closets to scare them into a funny and warm children's animation. Imagine if Tim Burton has got his hands onto the story!

Monsters, Inc. looks great and tells a hugely original story, however I did find that the film largely relies heavily on slapstick jokes, for the younger audience, and lacks more subtle jokes for adult appreciation that some other children's animations do successfully integrate.

John Goodman is perfectly cast as the gentle Scarer Sully while Billy Crystal, voicing Mike, does become frustratingly annoying as the irritatingly talkative one of the pair.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kubathereviewerJul 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A charming story full of comedy and adventure. It is really enjoyable and my favourite animated movie ever. The two main characters are brilliant and unbeatable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JUANPANBJul 12, 2013
Es una muy buena película, teniendo en cuenta que la idea y el tema de este Film es muy buena. En conclusión un largometraje recomendado para la Familia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJul 4, 2013
Won of the first and the best of the Pixar films. Really entertaining characters that are enjoyable for kids and adults. Also perfect voice casting with Billy Crystal and John Goodman.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation"Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation is just superb. Its storytelling is wonderful, and is like watching as a kid again. With newer films coming out by the second, movies like "Monsters Inc." remind you of the good old days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
It's odd to see that this movie is so underrated. In my opinion, this might just be Pixar's best and most creative movie to date. It's hilarious at times and heart breaking at other times. Every character is interesting and very well animatedIt's odd to see that this movie is so underrated. In my opinion, this might just be Pixar's best and most creative movie to date. It's hilarious at times and heart breaking at other times. Every character is interesting and very well animated given their unique appearances. Be sure to see this one, it's just awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 19, 2013
Monsters Inc. is one of my favorite movies of all time, it is my childhood movie, that I grew up with, it is original and funny with lots of jokes and a great time for families and children, the plot is original and clever with lots of cleverMonsters Inc. is one of my favorite movies of all time, it is my childhood movie, that I grew up with, it is original and funny with lots of jokes and a great time for families and children, the plot is original and clever with lots of clever moments and touching scenes, Monsters Inc. is one of the greatest animated movies ever made! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
genericusenameJun 7, 2013
With Monsters University coming out soon, I figured I'd do a quick review on the original. Like most Pixar movies, it really is good for both kids and adults. The plot is solid, although not as good as I've seen in other Pixar movies. TheWith Monsters University coming out soon, I figured I'd do a quick review on the original. Like most Pixar movies, it really is good for both kids and adults. The plot is solid, although not as good as I've seen in other Pixar movies. The characters are very likable, and there is some good humor thrown into the mix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobMay 17, 2013
I am mixed on this movie. On one end I think it is a great kids film. The story is simple and easy to follow. There is an imaginative concept behind the Monsters world. The characters are likeable. Plus, the animation is great giving us aI am mixed on this movie. On one end I think it is a great kids film. The story is simple and easy to follow. There is an imaginative concept behind the Monsters world. The characters are likeable. Plus, the animation is great giving us a bright and colorful world. On the other hand, this film does not offer much for an older audience. The story does not have much too it and the characters are simple, both lacking the sosphistication of later Pixar films and Toy Story although I have not seen the original in a while so I cannot say that. So I will wrap up my review with this. If you have little kids and you are looking for something fun and safe to show them, show them this film they will probably love it like I did back when I first saw the film in first grade. However, if you are looking for animated film with some sophistication then you might want to look elsewhere. While Monsters Inc. is a great kids film it is an ok film. Given the weak performance of Cars 2, which is for babies, and Brave, which was consisted mostly of an unoriginal story with only the last third being interesting, I am worried that Monsters University will be another film for the kiddies as opposed to the people who saw the original as kids and are now adults and/or in college. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 6, 2013
These classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's,These classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's, but it also really captures heart (just like most Pixar movies). To me ,(just like the earlier Toy Story movies) this is a movie that i grew up watching almost every single day. It's a fun movie for both kids and adults. Plus, I can't wait for "Monster's University" coming out this summer. Overall, it's a classic Pixar movie that truly should not be taken lightly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
The all-time favorite movie of my childhood. I loved Billy Crystal and John Goodman's chemistry during the film, which made the story even better. The series of twists at the end will not disappoint it's viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hacmiu36Feb 19, 2013
Beautiful, lovely, heart touching. There is a connection between Sullivan and Boo, a father- daughter coonection, nobody could think a monster could love and scared of a little human girl. You should watch this movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Monsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad moodMonsters Inc. is a childhood favorite of mine and getting to experience it in 3D was just taking me back to my childhood and the greatness of Pixar. When I was younger, I would always have a few movies to watch whenever I was in a bad mood and this was one of them. This movie has such great laughs and likable characters that you must have a heart made of stone not to love. The animation is beautiful even to this day and you can't help but smile at the colors and appeal that this film gives off. All the settings that you see were beautiful for its time and the characters look incredible for being so early in the stages of computer animation. We all were scared of the darkness and monsters at one point in our lives, and if you weren't, well then you will still love this film. Pixar has always had a knack for making lovable characters, and I think with this movie they show some of their most creative and fun characters of all. The movie talks about friendship, and although many children's movies talk about that, I think this movie is one of the first to do it correctly. There isn't much to talk about in a film that has been out for about 11 years, but I think we can all agree this is a classic piece of animation and one that everyone, both young and old, can love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Excellently animated and voice acted, "Monsters Inc." is yet another reason why Pixar is the king daddy of noteworthy animated movie storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
Such an incredibly creative story, that is so exciting to watch. It was funny, sad, and heartwarming. Very imaginative and well executed. Pixar is the master's at what they do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaJun 28, 2012
A wildly imaginative story and film that is executed close to perfection. Like other pixar films Monsters inc will not just entertain the kids, but also their parents. Not pixar's best because of it's lack of pathos for it's characters, butA wildly imaginative story and film that is executed close to perfection. Like other pixar films Monsters inc will not just entertain the kids, but also their parents. Not pixar's best because of it's lack of pathos for it's characters, but still a very good and imaginative film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanJun 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's aMonsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's a buddy movie, it's a work-based sitcom, an imaginative fantasy film, and most pleasingly a biting and intelligent satire on both the world energy crisis and the over-exposure of children to increasingly horrific images in the modern world. Inventively, the monster city is not powered by electricity, gas and oil, but by children's screams, which the workers of Monsters Incorporated, dubbed "scarers" are tasked with collecting by going through portals into the human world, portals which appear as closet doors in the bedrooms of children. The monster world is facing an energy shortage due to the fact that kids "just don't get scared like they used to", resulting in some monsters resorting to increasingly drastic and amoral techniques to extract childrens' screams. The cast all give sterling vocal performances - John Goodman's hairy soft-hearted giant Sulley and Billy Crystal's minuscule green cyclops Mike make a great comedy double-act, Steve Buscemi's reptilian villain Randall is appropriately slimy and conniving, and the staggeringly multi-talented animator/writer/director/occasional actor Bob Peterson voices the cynical slug-secretary-from-hell Roz, and never fails to raise a smile. Monsters, Inc. gets the balance between vastly differing moods just right, with cuteness (Sulley's adorable father-daughter relationship with Boo), humour (anything said or done by Mike) and darkness (Randall's unsavory evil master plan) all given equal service throughout the film by director Pete Doctor and the multiple writers. I also challenge anyone who's in possession of a working heart not to blub at the film's bittersweet, utterly heartbreaking finale. This might provoke considerable debate amongst Pixar devotees (as the vast majority of the studio's output is jolly good, afterall) but I say that Monsters, Inc., while only being the fourth film released, is the very best work the animation powerhouse has produced thus far. It's truly Pixar's finest hour not only due to its flawless technical craftsmanship, but because of its abundance of heart and soul. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
The connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannotThe connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannot fault this wonderful movie. Because of these amazing features, this film is definitely one of Pixar's best.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KnucklesChaotixMay 22, 2012
I love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times toI love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times to fully appreciate the hidden humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Monster inc may not be as good as the other pixar's movies but is still done in a brillant way with funny jokes and a great moral for all while appealing to the our past about the monster in the closet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Kanda2012Feb 16, 2012
I have seen it three times. This movie has both funny and moving scene. I really enjoyed it. If you want to see heartwarming movie, I recommend it to you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Monster's Inc is extremely heartwarming and original along with mostly going for laughs the whole time which it most definitely does. And the film may scare some children but overall it is fantastic. I give this film 86%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkJan 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, whichMonsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, which is why I suppose Pixar are making a prequel to the film for 2013. The film is great but not superb, it shows that Pixar can yet again make a great film about just about anything that is great viewing for kids and adults alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468Nov 23, 2011
Monsters, Inc. has many reasons to be praised. It has cool characters, a creative job the monsters have to do, and, of course, it's really silly. The movie has outstanding animation with stunning fur design. The story can get pretty bland andMonsters, Inc. has many reasons to be praised. It has cool characters, a creative job the monsters have to do, and, of course, it's really silly. The movie has outstanding animation with stunning fur design. The story can get pretty bland and thin at times, but it was great otherwise. It has a fairly high "encore" value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
It was actually rather good and interesting if you ask me. I enjoyed the film quite a bit. The only bad thing is that it can get rather boring towards the middle of the film but it ends perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is perhaps the most heart-warming film that Pixar has created. Mike and Sulley work at Monsters Inc., where their jobs are to scare children to create electricity for the monster world. When a child escapes into the monster world for the first time in history, Mike and Sulley must help her get home safely Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Monsters Inc." is the milestone animation of Pixar's big debut to the 21st century. As expecting, the film is amazing, containing good morals that audience of every age can understand and appeal. Two thumbs up!!!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
CRLAug 12, 2011
For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that,For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that, wherever and whenever I see it on, I will watch it to the very end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
It is not one of Pixar's absolute masterpieces but it's really funny and its originality definitely makes it a good film worth watching. Not to mention how awesome the voices are
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelDAug 6, 2011
One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The characters are likeable and the story is original and heartwarming. Disney never fails to entertain both children and adults.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 30, 2011
It may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and greatIt may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and great voice acting make this a must-see. One of Pixar's best, and also one of all of animations best films. As will all other Pixar movies, animation is not just for children. This is a wittily funny movie for everyone. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Apr 5, 2011
In my opinion, this is probably the least memorable Pixar movie. But on its own, its a very good movie. Better than the other big animated movie released in the same year, Shrek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
A fantastic movie that has a touching story, fantastic characters, and a lot of humor, one of the best animated movies for kids of all time, a must watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
it doesn't have the same sophistication as Toy Story, but still its an awesome Pixar movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SusanoSep 3, 2010
One of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is aOne of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is a brilliant, loveable and well done film that anyone can enjoy. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MarkH.Jan 10, 2007
Watched at least 30 times withthe kids and not once did I feel forced, fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful