Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 21, 2013
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 614 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
503
Mixed:
91
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BrianMcCriticJun 22, 2013
Not a bad film but nothing special from Pixar. I am a big Monsters inc. fan and I really like the characters of Mike and Sully, but I was hoping for a more spirited effort.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
DarkCriticJun 23, 2013
Monsters University is the new 14th Pixar animated feature and the prequel of the biggest animated classic, Monsters Inc. Since 12 years of making the new prequel where monsters are planning to go college first before they started to work atMonsters University is the new 14th Pixar animated feature and the prequel of the biggest animated classic, Monsters Inc. Since 12 years of making the new prequel where monsters are planning to go college first before they started to work at the company. Monsters Inc. is very creativity film with big laughs, great animation design of monsters, and a great story, but this new movie is quite different and it's not as good as the original. The back story takes place where Mike Wazowski (Billy Crystal) is going to university and he's learning to become a scary monster, so he can scare children in closets around the world. Mike has to team up with Sulley (John Goodman) and the rest of the non scarier students to help them out to prove themselves to become very scary, so that the dean will not kick them out from the university. We meet our colorful friends in the university like Randall from the first movie, two headed monster Terri & Terry Perry, the owner of the club Don Carlton, and the other colorful monsters. The university is pretty cool to look at like the background is pretty neat, the animation is pretty bright, and the design is unique from the first movie. Monsters University is okay for most children and family will enjoy, but unfortunately the movie is pretty average and it wasn't that spectacular like the original movie. The main issue is that characters are not that interested and story needs to take time where both heroes who started at the university. It reminds us that the college and university is coming back to learn something we already knew from the start and we can't quite decide of whether we learn from the past or we want is another generation. Surprisely, the movie tries so hard to make this prequel and it didn't quite expect to coming back to learn everything we already did. Thumb Down. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Jun 24, 2013
Pixar has created some of the best movies over the last decade because of their originality, cleverness and genuine emotion. Monsters University has virtually none of those qualities which makes the movie like a standard animation film, whichPixar has created some of the best movies over the last decade because of their originality, cleverness and genuine emotion. Monsters University has virtually none of those qualities which makes the movie like a standard animation film, which is a disappointment for Pixar. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
puzo340Jun 30, 2013
June 23, 2013

'World War Z' is a fast-paced, exciting thriller, which blends the horror, action, and science-fiction genres generally well. Brad Pitt gives a decent performance as Gerry Lane, but the film fails to create a real connection
June 23, 2013

'World War Z' is a fast-paced, exciting thriller, which blends the horror, action, and science-fiction genres generally well. Brad Pitt gives a decent performance as Gerry Lane, but the film fails to create a real connection between the viewer and Pitt's family. 'WWZ' ends up being an above average film, which provides a nice new look at an oft-visited idea.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
pkstarstorm823Jul 21, 2013
Monsters University is once again a failed attempt from Pixar. The jokes were too cheesy, the plot seemed cliche, and it pretty much sucked. Wouldn't recommend it...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BKMNov 19, 2013
Monsters University occupies the middle ground when it comes to Pixar sequels. It's not as innovative or emotionally resonant as Toy Story 2 or 3, but it's a great deal more fun and engaging than the needless Cars 2. The animation is soMonsters University occupies the middle ground when it comes to Pixar sequels. It's not as innovative or emotionally resonant as Toy Story 2 or 3, but it's a great deal more fun and engaging than the needless Cars 2. The animation is so gorgeous and the voice work so accomplished, that you almost don't notice that the plot and characters are paper thin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobJul 3, 2013
While it may not be Pixar’s finest work Monsters University is still entertaining. The film made me chuckle a few times and as a way to kill some time it was not a bad way to spend it. If you are a little kid or a fan of Monsters Inc. checkWhile it may not be Pixar’s finest work Monsters University is still entertaining. The film made me chuckle a few times and as a way to kill some time it was not a bad way to spend it. If you are a little kid or a fan of Monsters Inc. check this one out because you will probably really like it. It is about on the same level as its predecessor providing the same likeable characters from the first film, which fans of the original will be overjoyed to see again, and a cute story that will make you smile and chuckle from time to time. It is slow and boring at times but as the film goes on it becomes more and more engaging making it something that is worth checking out. If you are hoping for something on the same level as Up or Toy Story 3 this film is not for you but if just want to see something cute that will keep you busy for an hour and a half check Monsters University out. This is a cute little film that is more or less as enjoyable as its predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheQuietGamerNov 8, 2013
I really expected more from Pixar, especially considering how fantastic Monsters Inc. was. Unfortunately this prequel ends up falling short,. Not only does it fail to live up to its predecessor, but it also fails to live up to Pixar'sI really expected more from Pixar, especially considering how fantastic Monsters Inc. was. Unfortunately this prequel ends up falling short,. Not only does it fail to live up to its predecessor, but it also fails to live up to Pixar's reputation for animated movies.

It's got some humorous moments, but everything from plot to the characters falls short in my opinion. It ends up feeling very dull and predictable unlike most of Pixar's previous works. There are some good things here like Charlie Day's character, watching the Randall and Sully rivalry start, and it will keep kids entertained, but it is one of Pixar's lames efforts. It disappointed the huge Monsters Inc. fan in me, and as a prequel it failed to add anything that would make me rethink events of the first movie. Really I expected more from Pixar.

This is a huge disappointment. It captures none of the Pixar magic and stands beside Cars 2 as one of Pixar's rare disappointments. It may be worth a rental if you were a huge fan of the original and have small kids, but for others it may just be better to skip this and keep those fond memories of Pixar still intact. This does some pretty big damage to their reputation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
netflicJul 1, 2013
The higher the bar is set the harder is to keep it. That is the case with the new Pixar's animation movie "Monsters University", prequel to "Monsters, Inc." Even though it is a decent Pixar movie, professionally done and pleasant to watch, itThe higher the bar is set the harder is to keep it. That is the case with the new Pixar's animation movie "Monsters University", prequel to "Monsters, Inc." Even though it is a decent Pixar movie, professionally done and pleasant to watch, it is not nearly as good as the first one. "Monsters, Inc." became a classic right away, this one will not… Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
monster_mealJul 8, 2013
The animation was, as always, quite spectacular. As far as laughs and story go, I felt like this fell a little short of what I would expect from a studio with such a legacy. Is Disney just...forcing them to make these sequels/prequels atThe animation was, as always, quite spectacular. As far as laughs and story go, I felt like this fell a little short of what I would expect from a studio with such a legacy. Is Disney just...forcing them to make these sequels/prequels at this point? I seem to remember a time when it felt like Pixar was pretty damn creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Sep 2, 2013
I went into Monsters University with very little in the way of expectations and I came out surprised and disappointed at the same time as the prequel to Monsters Inc is both wonderful and aggravating at the same time. When Mike WasowksiI went into Monsters University with very little in the way of expectations and I came out surprised and disappointed at the same time as the prequel to Monsters Inc is both wonderful and aggravating at the same time. When Mike Wasowksi (Billy Crystal) arrives at Monsters University he meets rebellious James Sullivan (John Goodman) and the two tangle to become the greatest scarers until they are forced to team up to avoid getting expelled. University does manage to avoid the pratfalls of prequels by keeping the story light and narrow in scope while filling the film with a brand new crop of monsters and a few choice cameos for longtime monsters fans. However it also lacks that Monsters Inc had, a no holes barred adventure with a beautiful ending. University is fun and has some action in it but it lacks the guts of its predecessor and feels like its lacking because of it. As usual the animation is stellar with Pixar constantly raising the bar on themselves but it all feels similar. If anything, Monsters Inc has robber University of the awe this film would have caused as a stand alone feature. Crystal and Goodman are having fun doing the voices yet again as these two really come alive. The film depicts the beginning of a beautiful friendship and it finds its heart through this odd couple pairing but it lacks the child like innocence of Inc and ultimately if there is no Boo then you won't be able to achieve the same effect making it a good thing University doesn't try to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraDec 18, 2013
Monsters University is a colourful, beautiful and a visual-stunning Pixar effort that unfortunately fails to reach the standards of the brilliant predecessor, Monsters Inc. as well as most Pixar films in general, and the film is prettyMonsters University is a colourful, beautiful and a visual-stunning Pixar effort that unfortunately fails to reach the standards of the brilliant predecessor, Monsters Inc. as well as most Pixar films in general, and the film is pretty unnecessary and didn't really need to happen. But I did certainly enjoy this film; it provide laughs (albeit not many) and was a rather entertaining film throughout and it never left me bored. If you are a fan of Monsters Inc. or Pixar films in general, this is worth-watching, though it may not be as good as other Pixar films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Nov 16, 2013
Monsters University is a pretty decent movie but it lacks a lot of the charm the first film had. I think a lot of that has to do with how original the story was initially and how that unique element is lost a bit in further iterations. IMonsters University is a pretty decent movie but it lacks a lot of the charm the first film had. I think a lot of that has to do with how original the story was initially and how that unique element is lost a bit in further iterations. I think Boo provided a lot of the charm in the first movie as well. It wasn't so obvious until watching a movie without her. Obviously Mike and Sully were both great but the competition with which the film is built upon feels a little weak. I know, it's a children's movie, but that's kind of the problem. While Monsters, Inc. was a film that the adults could appreciate, this one is more of a pure kiddy flick. It's still entertaining to a certain extent but without a lot of the depth from the first one, it's ultimately just a fun kids movie and not much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mrniceDec 29, 2014
Colorful, really really colorful. I like a lot about this movie, but the enthusiasm stayed in the "mildly positive" territory, for some reason. Maybe it lacked deep symbolism or poetry... like, it didn't have a flying house or somethingColorful, really really colorful. I like a lot about this movie, but the enthusiasm stayed in the "mildly positive" territory, for some reason. Maybe it lacked deep symbolism or poetry... like, it didn't have a flying house or something similar, that you remember as a representation of a message/morale. More like a lot of scenes built for fun, and that's it. They deliver, but that's it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobOct 14, 2013
It's not that it's a bad movie, It just never really gets good. It's some-what funny, The new characters aren't that like-able, and they could have focused more on the back-story through out instead of little bits here and there. I agree withIt's not that it's a bad movie, It just never really gets good. It's some-what funny, The new characters aren't that like-able, and they could have focused more on the back-story through out instead of little bits here and there. I agree with csw12's review 100%. It has none of the qualities of a great animated film, It's just painfully generic and that's what so disappointing about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
InspectorJJul 20, 2013
With fluid animations and a great cast, this prequel falls short with the story; it was far too basic and simple, making me assume the target audience was solely for children. However, even if aimed for children, there was no definiteWith fluid animations and a great cast, this prequel falls short with the story; it was far too basic and simple, making me assume the target audience was solely for children. However, even if aimed for children, there was no definite antagonist, making a good story difficult to conjure. The humour was quite minimal and most of the story predictable, although not every second film goes without connections; it was nice to see the back-stories of some characters that appeared in the first film, and how they got into their ‘situation’, but one small character towards the end did seem quite forced, as if they had run out of ideas to throw in.

As a general film? Good.
But as a Pixar film?
Disappointing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TimGJun 23, 2013
It was a lot of set up in the beginning, so the story seemed to lag. Didn't really pull me in until close to the end. My kids seemed bored with most of the movie, except for bits here and there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityJul 18, 2013
Perfunctory. While entertaining and fast-paced, Monsters University lacks originality and genuine emotion. Toy Story 3 feels like it was ages ago now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bob516Jul 3, 2013
If this came from any other animation studio I would have said this was a perfectly serviceable comedy, with a touch of a deeper meaning. But this is from Pixar, and I start with such high expectations. Pixar has brought us to someIf this came from any other animation studio I would have said this was a perfectly serviceable comedy, with a touch of a deeper meaning. But this is from Pixar, and I start with such high expectations. Pixar has brought us to some wonderful places, the hidden worlds of toys, ants, fish, even rats. Imaginative places like Monstropolis, Earth 700 years in the future, Radiator Springs, and a floating house. In this movie we went to college, without anything wondrous or imaginative revealed. I really hope Pixar can return to the gems it created for so many years, otherwise I will not be rushing to see their movies in the theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dingythingyAug 20, 2013
The movie started off OK but towards the end, it got progressively boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Skullgirlsfan13Jul 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Monsters university was an interesting idea at first, to know about the origins of the monster world, and to just see more from these characters that we loved back in the day. after seeing this movie, I'd rather go on not seeing this. A highly negative sounding comment sure, but this is nothing to be shunned or hated, this is just not that great. You would think that anything Pixar made would be not amazing, but recently they have been losing their edge in the long lasting joy that their previous films had. Now about the movie, it starts off pretty normally with the reason why Mike would want to be in the scarring business. Now that I think about it, what else is there to do in their world? Does everyone have to be a part of the scarring world? I do remember that there was one monster that had a fruit stand, but that's it. Anyways, the rest is just cuteness in my opinion. That's the level of sophistication in this movie: not all the intelligent, but still good. The other main character Sully is completely different from his previous alliteration; for best in my opinion, because it's great to see change from before to present. Which is also a problem for me, they do it good with Sully, but Mike is the same from the first movie, and I didn't like him all too much from that last film. The only other character they show again is Randell, and it's a little funny what they do with him; him being a nerd and friendly, but they never really show that event that really turned him into the jerk he was in the last film. The cast is pretty neutral, they don't leave any impressions, but they're also enjoyable during the time I watched them. The funny moments really were the moments where they showed little easter eggs from the first movie, but that's it. My last thing I'll talk about ii where Mike finds out he can't be a scarer is too harsh. So it turns out he goes to the human world to try and show that he really does have what it takes, it's so mean spirited that he does all the work needed to and has all the dedication, and still cannot be what he always wanted to be is pretty cruel. I know the message was that we all have a special place in society, but that message is kinda not that great. Overall this is an okay movie; showing the development of at least the character I liked most, but not really doing anything that'll have a lasting appeal is so out of place for Disney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
knnthp3Jun 28, 2013
I took my kiddos to see Monsters University this weekend and they absolutely loved it. For me, I wasn't a huge fan of Monsters Inc and this movie is much of the same as that movie. It's just an "ok" movie and I wasn't nearly as excited forI took my kiddos to see Monsters University this weekend and they absolutely loved it. For me, I wasn't a huge fan of Monsters Inc and this movie is much of the same as that movie. It's just an "ok" movie and I wasn't nearly as excited for this movie as I am for Despicable Me 2 or Turbo. The story is decent with a very good message of defy expectations and be who you want to be.

Monsters University seemed to miss some really good opportunities at comedy and isn't the type of movie that the adults are going to talk about after seeing. I love Billy Crystal and Mike is by far my favorite of the film but Monsters University never really gets going in terms of "great" It is better than both of the Cars movies, which I cannot stand, but not on the same level as Toy Story or Incredibles. The Scare Games which become the focal point of Sully and Mike's adventure are a lot of fun and will make a great video game on the Wii U.

This movie could've come straight to DVD and I think it would've done well. I think that is where I believed this movie should've ended up on, straight to DVD along with Lion King 2 and Little Mermaid 2. Both of my kids loved it and if you have children this is a good trip to the movies, however, with so many family films looming my recommendation is unless you truly LOVED Monsters Inc, wait for a different family movie to burn your money on.

I notice a lot of people on here hated Brave, however I loved that movie and found it a great and imaginative Pixar story. Brave was better than this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrEpic012Jul 18, 2013
As A Film On It's Own It's Marvelous But Being A Sequel To One Of The Best Pixar Movies Ever It's Decent The Animation Is Good, The Story Is Hit, Miss, The Characters The Main Ones Are Unforgettable Except For Randall He Isn't In The MovieAs A Film On It's Own It's Marvelous But Being A Sequel To One Of The Best Pixar Movies Ever It's Decent The Animation Is Good, The Story Is Hit, Miss, The Characters The Main Ones Are Unforgettable Except For Randall He Isn't In The Movie Much The Supporting On The Other Hand I Forgot Like 90% Of Them But it's Still Good Even With Those Flaws Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
agentKmurphJul 22, 2013
Pixar films traditionally have that indescribable touch to them that always keeps you watching and Monsters University maintains that touch. I really felt the characters come alive, both metaphysically and visually. The personalities andPixar films traditionally have that indescribable touch to them that always keeps you watching and Monsters University maintains that touch. I really felt the characters come alive, both metaphysically and visually. The personalities and emotions are well portrayed and the visuals were simply astounding. It was also very interesting to see how they developed the characters and explained a little behind Mike and Sully's friendship. Monsters University also features lots of a great slapstick humor to keep you laughing for days and as always, it is endearing to all age groups which is of course another hallmark of Pixar.

The Pixar touch aside, I did find the plot disappointing. It felt incredibly stock a standard tale that has been heard a thousand times before. Sure, it had a few unexpected twists and turns but even despite them, you could often guess the next five minutes at any given point in the movie. Pixar is better than this. They invented the wild crazy world of Toy Story where the plots were as unpredictable the next new character. They produced The Incredibles which finally gave us some superhumans to talk about other than our beloved mid twentieth century comic book heroes. They gave us Up, WALL-E, and Finding Nemo. All great stories that kept you wondering what happened next. Monsters University on the other hand...like I said. You could forecast ahead more than was acceptable. Boring! Still for what its worth, it was enjoyable. Not Pixar's best but certainly not their worst either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
I watched this out of dedication to Monsters Inc., a film that I love since it's release. But this was completely childlike and had no direct statement unlike the first film. Kids at least six years old would like this, but not me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
francisjairam12Jul 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now where do I began with this. Now when I went to see Monsters University in theaters last year I was disappointed. The Story doesn't make too much sense. I understand this is a prequel to Monsters Inc but the way it plays just doesn't excite me. It starts off with Mike going to University to becoming a scary Monster. He finds himself having a hard time trying to roar. Then Sully comes along and he became a jerk towards Mike. Also the monster Deam Hardscrabbble says that the monsters have to complete an exam to determine if they scary enough to become a real monster. If the exam is failed then they are out of the scary program. Which is understanble. I will admit there are some funny scenes but something about the characters didn't appeal to me. Anyways when the final test comes Mike has to prove himself that he is a scary monster after all the training they did. But when Mike scared the simulated kid he automatically wins (which by the way that was a small roar). Mike becomes suspiscous and learns that Sully was the one that made him when. Meaning that he made Mike cheat. He becomes so upset he goes into the Human world from a door. Sully has to find him and apolgize. Soon the cops (in the human world) came to look for the monsters. Sully and Mike set up an abush where Sully comes out and the ropes tangled the cops and Sully roars loudly at the cops causing the scream cans in the Monster world to go crazy. Even HARDSCRABBLE was surprised. So after that incident Mike and Sully were expelled. Meaning they haven't learn a thing. Then after that they find a work place at Monsters INC factory (which marks the begin of Monsters INC) and thats when the movie ends. Overall this movie is a guilty pleasure to me, it didn't have that same emotion to it like Monsters Inc did and the story doesn't make too much sense. So yeah I give it a 6.5/10. You may disagree with me but thats how I felt in my opinion Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffFeb 5, 2016
This was truly when Pixar Animation Studios were scraping the bottom of the barrel. Making a sequel to the widely loved 'Monsters, Inc' (2001) was just filler so Pixar could release another film to try and continue to dominate the animationThis was truly when Pixar Animation Studios were scraping the bottom of the barrel. Making a sequel to the widely loved 'Monsters, Inc' (2001) was just filler so Pixar could release another film to try and continue to dominate the animation industry.

The story mainly focuses on Mike (voiced by Billy Crystal) going off to Monsters University to become a well-known and famous scarer, but he bumps into the popular and soon to be legendary James P. Sillivan aka "Sulley" (John Goodman), and they develop this kind of rivalry that becomes slowly more competitive than ever.

The biggest issue this film has is that it is a prequel, and not a sequel. Considering that this movie was released well over a decade after the classic 'Monsters, Inc' (2001), there could have been a chance where a sequel's story focuses on the young girl Boo being a teenager, and maybe Sulley and her lose that special connection because we all know that teenagers can be difficult socially. Maybe Boo has a boyfriend, or even a child, and her close monster friend, Sulley, can find this very hard to deal with.

The story here is very paint-by-numbers and, like most sequels, it's very predictable. This is truly Pixar being desperate for sure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobertOBrienJul 28, 2015
This movie gets extra points for having a mature and awesome message. It's certainly a challenging message for kids to accept, but it's definitely something they should accept.

Other than that, the first hour and 20 minutes drag. It's just
This movie gets extra points for having a mature and awesome message. It's certainly a challenging message for kids to accept, but it's definitely something they should accept.

Other than that, the first hour and 20 minutes drag. It's just college movie cliche after college movie cliche, and if it was trying to satirize these college movie tropes, it wasn't very funny.

The last couple of scenes are fantastic, like, Finding Nemo levels of fantastic, but it's a shame the rest of the film couldn't have been as strong.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieManiac1994Jan 4, 2016
Before embarking on this return visit to the wacky alt-world of 2001’s Monsters, Inc. , the brains at Pixar went looking for “all the great movie prequels” and came up empty-handed.

They have a point. Backstory probing may be all the rage
Before embarking on this return visit to the wacky alt-world of 2001’s Monsters, Inc. , the brains at Pixar went looking for “all the great movie prequels” and came up empty-handed.

They have a point. Backstory probing may be all the rage right now, but there has yet to be a preboot that truly stands toe-to-toe with the film or films that spawned it. Blame George Lucas if you like, but it’s a format with many more strikes against it than home runs on its score card.

Not only that but a prequel almost always comes with a whiff of creative desperation, its raison d’être invariably owing more to a corporate balance sheet than a blue-sky brainstorm.

All of which appears to stack the odds against Monsters University , the latest evidence of what has become a troublingly repetitive streak for Emeryville’s princes of the pixel (last year’s Brave excepted, this is the third release in a row to be based on an existing title – and Planes , out August 2013, will be the fourth).

Shouldn’t the outfit that brought us Finding Nemo , Up and WALL.E be looking for more beautiful one-offs? It’s the basis of an argument, but one that can wait to be thrashed out another day.

As it is, Pixar’s 14th feature turns out to be an exuberant, vibrant and busy romp: some way from a classic, but perfectly acceptable on its own second-hand, retro- fitted and unapologetically derivative terms.

The last time we saw fanged furball James ‘Sulley’ Sullivan (John Goodman) and green eyeball on legs Mike Wazowski (Billy Crystal), they were best buds working side by side on the Monsters, Inc. scare floor.

Director Dan Scanlon starts his movie in the same place, but only to introduce Mike as a child and his life-long fascination with the heroic ‘Scarers’ who generate Monstropolis’ power by traumatising dozing human infants.

Determined to become one of their number, the adolescent Mike enrols at the titular MU in the hope of joining its prestigious Scare Program.

In his way, however, stands a certain turquoise ogre: the aforementioned Sulley, a cocksure campus hotshot who – unlike his more cute than creepy roomie – doesn’t need to hit the books to terrify the tots witless.

Turning firm friends into sworn enemies may not be the most original of plot twists, but it’s enough of a rethink to have University challenge our creeping sense of déjà vu.

Nor does it hurt to introduce a competitive element, an accident involving a prized possession of the fearsome Dean Hardscrabble (a dragon-centipede hybrid imperiously vocalised by Dame Helen Mirren) compelling our heroes to sign up for the all or nothing ‘Scare Games’ in order to rejoin the ranks of the collegiate elite.

With rounds involving flesh-swelling stingers, a giant tentacled librarian and a maze straight out of Pac-Man, it’s the Tri-Wizard Cup in all but name.

Its real function, though, is to help warm up the Mike/Sulley bromance, as well as fostering a sense of community within the sad-sack ‘Oozma Kappa’ fraternity to which they have reluctantly been forced to pledge.

The various members of this dotty brotherhood – a five-eyed blob, a two-headed nerd, a long-limbed cousin of The Muppets’ Animal and a sticky old mature student – make for a spectacular posse that leaps off the screen even if you’re not watching the film in the now requisite 3D.

And while cynics might point out that the Disney Store will now be stuffed with as many merchandise-friendly critters as (in)humanly possible, who cares when it gives us such colourful peripheral characters as the purple-haired babes of ‘Python Nu Kappa’ and the squealing Scare Pig mascot of ‘Roar Omega Roar’?

The freakish ingenuity is the movie’s main, ahem, selling point – though it can’t quite compensate for a fundamental shortage of freshness.

Alas, Scanlon and co always seem to be one clawed step and slimy trail behind Pete Docter’s milieu-defining predecessor.

That’s not to say there isn’t fun, excitement and sporadic laughter to be had, not least in a climactic sequence that sees Mike realise his true calling. The message too is a surprisingly bracing one for a family animation: sometimes you have to face up to the fact that just because you want something, that doesn’t make it so.

But then if Monsters University says anything, it’s that even if you’re not at the top of your game, you should still go out there and give them a show – which is exactly what the film does.

Pixar falls back on the tried and tested in an entertaining caper that will be a surefire kid pleaser this summer. Old favourites are always welcome, but it would have been nice to see some more new ideas too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: It takes the characters we loved and continues to develop them and the franchise. 'Monsters University' is still entertaining and captures some of the magic of it's predeccessor
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unlike the first, this feels
WHAT I LIKED: It takes the characters we loved and continues to develop them and the franchise. 'Monsters University' is still entertaining and captures some of the magic of it's predeccessor
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unlike the first, this feels more basic, dull and uninventive in terms of plot, and it looses the emotion we felt in the original.
VERDICT: Not as memorable as 'Monsters Inc,' this fails to hit the mark. It's still a lot of fun for kids though
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
reviewfrom19842Jan 8, 2017
Pixar's weakest film Monster University is just an mediocre kids film .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews