Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan weren't always an inseparable pair. From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn’t stand each other. Monsters University reveals how Mike and Sulley overcame their differences and became the best of friends. [Walt Disney Studios]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    True to the spirit of the original film, "Monsters Inc.", and matches its tone. But it never seems content to turn over old ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    The animation is photoreal – startlingly and mesmerisingly so. And the depth of feeling the tale of their friendship evokes is matched only by your incredulity, as you paw at your eyes six minutes later, that you are crying about two computer-generated umbrellas.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The visuals are impressive, while the goodhearted and endearing story is a little slight.
  4. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 21, 2013
    65
    What hasn't advanced is the plotting, which was nothing special last time and is so formulaic now that it's basically surprise-free.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 18, 2013
    63
    Monsters University is a prequel that is far more conventional, not nearly as witty or clever as that original.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Monsters University feels not like the work of artists eager to express something but like that of likable pros whose existence depends on getting a rise out the kids. It's like the scares Sully and Mike spring on those sleeping tykes: technically impressive but a job un-anchored to anything more meaningful.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 21, 2013
    40
    What Monsters University fails to do, though, is to scare up any real emotion.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 128
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc. It turns out that Monsters University is surprisingly imaginative and hilarious, with clever moments and insightful animation. Collapse
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Another film to add to Pixar's classics. I enjoyed it even more than the original. While there is no Boo to make the film sentimental, the film's messages are poignant enough without her. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Pixar's creativity seems endless, but definitively they can do it even better.
    Story, characters, rhythm, lots of color and fun: I think is a
    great combo! Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    Monsters University may not be the Pixar masterpiece that everybody is waiting for, but it sure is one of their more entertaining ones in recent years or so. Again, their attention to detail and animation quality is way above the other studios. While the plot runs around in a straight forward manner, MU ends up strongly, and in an exciting note to boot as well. Nevertheless, we need more of their more original materials from now on, not their sequels. This is where Pixar excels the most. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Not any better or worse than the original. Not as great as other Pixar movies, but it still had that charm Monsters Inc had. It was well written with a basic but enjoyable plot. I was hoping for a little bit more, but it was solid all around. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Going into this movie, I thought it would be extremely underwhelming, mainly because of it main setting. However, I found myself enjoying it very much. It may not be as timeless as its predecessor, but M.U. holds its own with its enjoyable characters, great animation and fun humor. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2014
    0
    The movie should have been called "A couple of losers in the University"
    And the moral for kids is: Don't waste your time studying. You can
    be a "successful loser". Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Trailers