Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 493 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan weren't always an inseparable pair. From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn’t stand each other. Monsters University reveals how Mike and Sulley overcame their differences and became the best of friends. [Walt Disney Studios]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    True to the spirit of the original film, "Monsters Inc.", and matches its tone. But it never seems content to turn over old ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    The animation is photoreal – startlingly and mesmerisingly so. And the depth of feeling the tale of their friendship evokes is matched only by your incredulity, as you paw at your eyes six minutes later, that you are crying about two computer-generated umbrellas.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The visuals are impressive, while the goodhearted and endearing story is a little slight.
  4. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 21, 2013
    65
    What hasn't advanced is the plotting, which was nothing special last time and is so formulaic now that it's basically surprise-free.
  5. 63
    Monsters University is a prequel that is far more conventional, not nearly as witty or clever as that original.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Monsters University feels not like the work of artists eager to express something but like that of likable pros whose existence depends on getting a rise out the kids. It's like the scares Sully and Mike spring on those sleeping tykes: technically impressive but a job un-anchored to anything more meaningful.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 21, 2013
    40
    What Monsters University fails to do, though, is to scare up any real emotion.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 136
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc.I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc. It turns out that Monsters University is surprisingly imaginative and hilarious, with clever moments and insightful animation. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    It is the best movie I've ever seen. The graphics were really awesome and I was crying at the end. The third act is also very interesting butIt is the best movie I've ever seen. The graphics were really awesome and I was crying at the end. The third act is also very interesting but I don't want to spoil anything. It is simply the best movie I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    well written script with decent animations and full of humor .So hard to guess the story even in a an animation movie so curiosity there tillwell written script with decent animations and full of humor .So hard to guess the story even in a an animation movie so curiosity there till the end.This the best animation movie after the croods in 2013 Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    I went to see this with my 8 year old.He enjoyed it but I'm a bit more critical when it comes to Pixar films these days.No 3D for me and I'mI went to see this with my 8 year old.He enjoyed it but I'm a bit more critical when it comes to Pixar films these days.No 3D for me and I'm glad I didn't need to pay extra for it.the film is pretty funny in parts and the scare games was the funniest part in it.It just lacks something like the old Pixar films used to have. Can't put finger on it.The first Monsters Inc is still funnier than this one but not a bad attempt by Pixar anyway. Well done guys. Collapse
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Not any better or worse than the original. Not as great as other Pixar movies, but it still had that charm Monsters Inc had. It was wellNot any better or worse than the original. Not as great as other Pixar movies, but it still had that charm Monsters Inc had. It was well written with a basic but enjoyable plot. I was hoping for a little bit more, but it was solid all around. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Monster's University is a fine movie, especially for young kids. This movie is more of a prequel, focusing on how Mike and Sully met. It'sMonster's University is a fine movie, especially for young kids. This movie is more of a prequel, focusing on how Mike and Sully met. It's been 12 years, after all, since we've seen Pixar's favorite one eyed and turquoise monster's. If you have kids, take them to see this movie. It has witty jokes and good lessons for lessons. But if you're expecting another Monster's Inc., you might find yourself disappointed. The plot isn't as rich as Monster's Inc. was in 2001, and the theme doesn't transcend as much to adults. Many have said that Pixar's golden age has passed. Personally, I don't believe that we can't see another great movie from John Lasseter, but with recent movies like Cars 2 and Brave, the bar has not been hit. Also, many of the other animation studios have caught up to Pixar. Sony Pictures is creating another Smurfs movie, Fox animation has Rio, and Dreamworks has a couple of strong franchises like Kung Fu Panda and Madagascar. Pixar really has to hit the right nail with Finding Dory. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2014
    0
    The movie should have been called "A couple of losers in the University"
    And the moral for kids is: Don't waste your time studying. You can
    The movie should have been called "A couple of losers in the University"
    And the moral for kids is: Don't waste your time studying. You can be a "successful loser".
    Expand

See all 136 User Reviews

Trailers