Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan weren't always an inseparable pair. From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn’t stand each other. Monsters University reveals how Mike and Sulley overcame their differences and became the best of friends. [Walt Disney Studios]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    True to the spirit of the original film, "Monsters Inc.", and matches its tone. But it never seems content to turn over old ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    The animation is photoreal – startlingly and mesmerisingly so. And the depth of feeling the tale of their friendship evokes is matched only by your incredulity, as you paw at your eyes six minutes later, that you are crying about two computer-generated umbrellas.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The visuals are impressive, while the goodhearted and endearing story is a little slight.
  4. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 21, 2013
    65
    What hasn't advanced is the plotting, which was nothing special last time and is so formulaic now that it's basically surprise-free.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 18, 2013
    63
    Monsters University is a prequel that is far more conventional, not nearly as witty or clever as that original.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Monsters University feels not like the work of artists eager to express something but like that of likable pros whose existence depends on getting a rise out the kids. It's like the scares Sully and Mike spring on those sleeping tykes: technically impressive but a job un-anchored to anything more meaningful.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 21, 2013
    40
    What Monsters University fails to do, though, is to scare up any real emotion.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 123
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc. It turns out that Monsters University is surprisingly imaginative and hilarious, with clever moments and insightful animation. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    It is the best movie I've ever seen. The graphics were really awesome and I was crying at the end. The third act is also very interesting but I don't want to spoil anything. It is simply the best movie I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    well written script with decent animations and full of humor .So hard to guess the story even in a an animation movie so curiosity there till the end.This the best animation movie after the croods in 2013 Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    Monsters University may not be the Pixar masterpiece that everybody is waiting for, but it sure is one of their more entertaining ones in recent years or so. Again, their attention to detail and animation quality is way above the other studios. While the plot runs around in a straight forward manner, MU ends up strongly, and in an exciting note to boot as well. Nevertheless, we need more of their more original materials from now on, not their sequels. This is where Pixar excels the most. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Not any better or worse than the original. Not as great as other Pixar movies, but it still had that charm Monsters Inc had. It was well written with a basic but enjoyable plot. I was hoping for a little bit more, but it was solid all around. Collapse
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    “Monsters University” has a simple and quite predictable story, as we already know that Mike and Sully will end up as friends at the end. However, the journey is more important than the destination and along the way we tackle themes of defying expectation. While the story is predictable, the writers and directors manage to throw a little surprise here and there. From some interesting character moments to laugh out loud situations. It’s sort of light on heart, but the film is engaging enough and the movie gets better as it progresses.

    The main characters, Mike and Sully, retain much of their charm in this prequel. Mike takes the lead in this recent outing. He’s sweet, optimistic, and crazily dedicated. Sully is laid back, a slacker, and a bit insecure. However, it’s great to see him develop into the master scarer he is in the original film. It’s really fun to see how their relationship develops. Their constant bantering and butting of heads is fun to watch and the sweeter moments are endearing. There are some newer characters in the film as well and they add a lot of charm and humor to the film. My personal favorites are Art, a purple hairy monster with long legs, and Squishy, a awkwardly round monster, who gets some of the best laughs in the movie.

    Aside from story, Pixar’s greatest strength is animation and this film has some of their best. The colors are vibrant and the hair effects are fluid. The one down side are the character designs. The main cast is fine, but some of the background characters just aren’t unique and look similar to one another. Randy Newman’s score is effective for the movie, but lacks a memorable spark. The score is just filled with generic college music, but it still weaves in some interesting emotional bits.

    Overall, “Monsters University” is a fun and enjoyable film. While it doesn’t reach any emotional highs and the beginning is rocky, it has some really great laughs. The animation is top class even though some of the character designs are “meh” and the score is effective, but leaves more to be desired. It’s a great way for Pixar to get back on track. I give it 3.5/5, great fun and an extremely enjoyable time.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    0
    i couldnt believe that they made monsters university when mike and sully go back to college . they should of made monsters inc 2 instead . oh great now we got deal with the fact they go back to college and team up with **** . nice job pixar go **** yourself . also make something that we can enjoy like toy story trilogy and incredbiles Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Trailers