Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When California girl Susan Murphy is unwittingly clobbered by a meteor full of outer space gunk on her wedding day, she mysteriously grows to 49-feet-11-inches tall. The military jumps into action and Susan is captured and secreted away to a covert government compound. There, she is renamedWhen California girl Susan Murphy is unwittingly clobbered by a meteor full of outer space gunk on her wedding day, she mysteriously grows to 49-feet-11-inches tall. The military jumps into action and Susan is captured and secreted away to a covert government compound. There, she is renamed Ginormica and placed in confinement with a ragtag group of Monsters: the brilliant but insect-headed Dr. Cockroach, Ph.D.; the macho half-ape, half-fish The Missing Link; the gelatinous and indestructible B.O.B.; and the 350-foot grub called Insectosaurus. Their confinement is cut short, however, when a mysterious alien robot lands on Earth and begins storming the country. In a moment of desperation, the President is persuaded to enlist the motley crew of Monsters to combat the Alien Robot and save the world from imminent destruction. (Paramount) Expand
  • Director: Conrad Vernon and Rob Letterman
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 94 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. 83
    Pure, light entertainment.
  2. The movie may best be appreciated by people who know the references. All five monsters come from low-budget science fiction films of the 1950s.
  3. Full disclosure: I saw Monsters vs. Aliens in 2-D. No dorky plastic glasses, no alien ooze flying at my head. More full disclosure: I liked it.
  4. 63
    3-D is a distraction and an annoyance.
  5. The movie works hard -- desperately hard -- to be all things to all audience segments. And the visible effort erodes the sense of gaiety, of unfettered fun.
  6. This action-comedy will seem fresh only to 8-year-olds -- though it may give parents an excuse to introduce some of the '50s horror movies it parodies.
  7. 25
    Dreamworks Animation's clunky and wildly unimaginative Monsters vs. Aliens really doesn't have a clue what to do with the [3-D] technique.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 68
  2. Negative: 10 out of 68
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    great plot,great characters,and great setting!
  2. MattL
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    I honestly can't believe the mixed reviews Monsters vs. Aliens is getting. I saw the 2-D version, so I can't speak to the 3-D I honestly can't believe the mixed reviews Monsters vs. Aliens is getting. I saw the 2-D version, so I can't speak to the 3-D aspects, but the 2-D version was excellent in every sense of the word: great story, characters, animation, voice work, and everything else. It was a joy to watch -and I'm 23 (and fancy myself a movie snob). My only gripe is that it should've been called Monsters vs. an Alien and Robots and Clones...ok, maybe not that. But still, go see this movie, with or without kids. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Personally, I really enjoyed this movie. It's far from perfect, story's a little cliched and a little underwhelming, characters aren't reallyPersonally, I really enjoyed this movie. It's far from perfect, story's a little cliched and a little underwhelming, characters aren't really used to the extent that they could be. That said, the animation is gorgeous, the voice acting top notch (mostly,) especially Reese Witherspoon & Seth Rogen. Susan is such a wonderful character: A very bland ordinary girl being thrust into a heroic role. Susan make you feel every moment and I found it to one of the more moving animated performances I have seen in a while. B.O.B. on the other hand is just goofy, funny, stupid as hell, yet incredibly likable. A real shame the other characters didn't live up to those standards.

    Overall:
    Monsters vs Aliens is exactly what you would expect it to be: An animated parody of every old school horror movie. To be fair did anyone expect anything else after reading the title. For what it is, it is allot of fun and well worth watching, just don't be expecting Shakespeare.
    Expand
  4. TDKinDallas
    Mar 29, 2009
    7
    Surprisingly good. It could have been a lot better, but it was a lot better than I was expecting. 3D effects were amazing and I am not sure, Surprisingly good. It could have been a lot better, but it was a lot better than I was expecting. 3D effects were amazing and I am not sure, but I thing the adults in the audience enjoyed it more than the kids. Definitely see it in 3D if you are not sure whether you want to pay the extra few bucks. Expand
  5. HectorA
    Apr 8, 2009
    6
    We saw it in 2-D. My young daughter liked it, and my friend liked it, and I thought the cinematics were great, but many of the jokes and We saw it in 2-D. My young daughter liked it, and my friend liked it, and I thought the cinematics were great, but many of the jokes and punchlines were cliche, flat or predictable. This is a movie I enjoyed taking my daughter to, and I did enjoy the visuals, but I wouldn't care to sit through this movie again. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    Sadly, I expected this movie to be better than it was. It tends to have it's ups and downs. I mean, at times it was funny, then other times itSadly, I expected this movie to be better than it was. It tends to have it's ups and downs. I mean, at times it was funny, then other times it was just plain stupid. Sometimes the storyline its self just didn't seem to work together. It (at times) goes in different directions. Even though the movie is short, its just lopsided. In terms of the characters, they didn't really interest me, especially B.O.B. Seth Rogen could have done better, like when he played Mort in "Horton Hears A Who." Aside from the negativity, there was some really good animation, especially in the action sequences. That's what really saves the movie. Overall, aside the animation and its ocassional decent humor, its just a slow-paced antimated movie strictly for kids. Expand
  7. GregT
    Apr 21, 2009
    1
    I give this movie a 5; the number reflected because my name is to bring the average down to what I believe is an acceptable level. As such, I give this movie a 5; the number reflected because my name is to bring the average down to what I believe is an acceptable level. As such, an explanation is warranted: This film bored me, the voice actors lacked energy and resonance except for Seth Rogen who seemed to be in his element (albeit, his typecast one). They failed to capitalize on the great talents of Hugh Laurie, Stephen Colbert, Kiefer Sutherland, and Rainn Wilson. Aside from those shortcomings, the writing was rote, clichéd, unfulfilling. I often found the film plodding, anguished, and totally unambitious despite what presentation may imply. The whole personal subplot of "Susie Q" (har har) is a write-off Collapse

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?