Monsters vs Aliens

Monsters vs Aliens Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When California girl Susan Murphy is unwittingly clobbered by a meteor full of outer space gunk on her wedding day, she mysteriously grows to 49-feet-11-inches tall. The military jumps into action and Susan is captured and secreted away to a covert government compound. There, she is renamedWhen California girl Susan Murphy is unwittingly clobbered by a meteor full of outer space gunk on her wedding day, she mysteriously grows to 49-feet-11-inches tall. The military jumps into action and Susan is captured and secreted away to a covert government compound. There, she is renamed Ginormica and placed in confinement with a ragtag group of Monsters: the brilliant but insect-headed Dr. Cockroach, Ph.D.; the macho half-ape, half-fish The Missing Link; the gelatinous and indestructible B.O.B.; and the 350-foot grub called Insectosaurus. Their confinement is cut short, however, when a mysterious alien robot lands on Earth and begins storming the country. In a moment of desperation, the President is persuaded to enlist the motley crew of Monsters to combat the Alien Robot and save the world from imminent destruction. (Paramount) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. 83
    Pure, light entertainment.
  2. This is a lean 90 minutes, packed with laughs and age-appropriate thrills -- not to mention a solid lesson for girls about self-respect.
  3. The movie may best be appreciated by people who know the references. All five monsters come from low-budget science fiction films of the 1950s.
  4. 63
    3-D is a distraction and an annoyance.
  5. The movie works hard -- desperately hard -- to be all things to all audience segments. And the visible effort erodes the sense of gaiety, of unfettered fun.
  6. 50
    The movie is curiously unmemorable, partly because nearly all of its humor depends on your having seen something like it before, even if you haven't.
  7. 25
    Dreamworks Animation's clunky and wildly unimaginative Monsters vs. Aliens really doesn't have a clue what to do with the [3-D] technique.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 73
  2. Negative: 10 out of 73
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    great plot,great characters,and great setting!
  2. MattL
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    I honestly can't believe the mixed reviews Monsters vs. Aliens is getting. I saw the 2-D version, so I can't speak to the 3-D I honestly can't believe the mixed reviews Monsters vs. Aliens is getting. I saw the 2-D version, so I can't speak to the 3-D aspects, but the 2-D version was excellent in every sense of the word: great story, characters, animation, voice work, and everything else. It was a joy to watch -and I'm 23 (and fancy myself a movie snob). My only gripe is that it should've been called Monsters vs. an Alien and Robots and Clones...ok, maybe not that. But still, go see this movie, with or without kids. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    Very pleasantly surprised by this film. Outstanding graphics, particularly showing the difference in size, several lough out loud moments andVery pleasantly surprised by this film. Outstanding graphics, particularly showing the difference in size, several lough out loud moments and a surprising plot made this a treat to watch. It wasn't perfect,although Susan was a very endearing character the other monsters were quite forgettable. The president and evils alien overlord were great however. I certainly recommend giving up an hour or so of your time to watch this film. Shame there won't be a sequel. Expand
  4. HyperS
    Apr 2, 2009
    7
    No really spontaneous laugh out loud moments for me... a lot of the jokes were pretty amateurish and some carried on way too long (i.e. No really spontaneous laugh out loud moments for me... a lot of the jokes were pretty amateurish and some carried on way too long (i.e. Screaming every time a monster is introduced or the jokes involving BOB's short-term memory), but I did smile a few times in the "monster wreaks havoc scenes" at the Golden Gate Bridge and the city destruction scene and with regards to the Alien Robot/Aliens. Its a well animated film and fairly quick paced... has its moments so worth a watch. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    6
    Monsters vs Aliens is a great cross between The Incredibles and Monsters Inc. Even if the jokes are occasionally weird, you can have a lot ofMonsters vs Aliens is a great cross between The Incredibles and Monsters Inc. Even if the jokes are occasionally weird, you can have a lot of fun with this computer-animated film. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    5
    Monsters vs. Aliens isn't the best of kids movies. I could go into the flaws with the story, the characters, and the dialogue, but I know thatMonsters vs. Aliens isn't the best of kids movies. I could go into the flaws with the story, the characters, and the dialogue, but I know that kids don't care about that kind of stuff. It's almost always about the eye candy, and this movie has it. Adults will be bored by this flick, but younger viewers will like it. Expand
  7. GregT
    Apr 21, 2009
    1
    I give this movie a 5; the number reflected because my name is to bring the average down to what I believe is an acceptable level. As such, I give this movie a 5; the number reflected because my name is to bring the average down to what I believe is an acceptable level. As such, an explanation is warranted: This film bored me, the voice actors lacked energy and resonance except for Seth Rogen who seemed to be in his element (albeit, his typecast one). They failed to capitalize on the great talents of Hugh Laurie, Stephen Colbert, Kiefer Sutherland, and Rainn Wilson. Aside from those shortcomings, the writing was rote, clichéd, unfulfilling. I often found the film plodding, anguished, and totally unambitious despite what presentation may imply. The whole personal subplot of "Susie Q" (har har) is a write-off Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  2. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.
  3. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  4. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.