Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 29, 2010
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 137 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
87
Mixed:
32
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MikimaxApr 21, 2013
When you build a wall you mount it with troops. Can someone explain to me why did the US build a HUGE wall and then abandon it? Yes, it doesn't make any sense. Oh, i don't need to mention huge GAPS in the wall which allow these monsters to goWhen you build a wall you mount it with troops. Can someone explain to me why did the US build a HUGE wall and then abandon it? Yes, it doesn't make any sense. Oh, i don't need to mention huge GAPS in the wall which allow these monsters to go through. And where the HELL is the army?! They should be all around the place protecting?! the rest of the US.
Ridiculous.
Oh yeah, and then the movie ends, just like that.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
konkJul 2, 2011
I'm a huge fan of good sci-fi (which doesn't necessarily mean action based sci-fi); first thing needed is a good plot, period! Well, need I say more about this movie? It's like watching paint drying... One doesn't even slightly care for theI'm a huge fan of good sci-fi (which doesn't necessarily mean action based sci-fi); first thing needed is a good plot, period! Well, need I say more about this movie? It's like watching paint drying... One doesn't even slightly care for the characters, the sight of some mega flying octopus howling like a cow in labour pains is hilarious (Skyline was bad too, but at least the special effects were decent); waste of time and patience.. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
1
helloworld1066Nov 27, 2011
The only good thing I can say about this film is that it looks pretty. However if I wanted to look at something that looks good I might as well look up Jason Statham. There is virtually no plot, the cover of the film is completely misleading,The only good thing I can say about this film is that it looks pretty. However if I wanted to look at something that looks good I might as well look up Jason Statham. There is virtually no plot, the cover of the film is completely misleading, i.e. NOTHING HAPPENS, at all. I dont understand its appeal what so ever, and it could of actually been good, probably. The most boring film I have ever watched Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
simonsen123Apr 7, 2011
Okay so I know it was low budget.... but boy, was it boring. Extremely anticlimatic... Don't know how else to describe this movie with 250 words but I certainly felt like I wasted my time watching it... Just sayin'...

If you like predictable
Okay so I know it was low budget.... but boy, was it boring. Extremely anticlimatic... Don't know how else to describe this movie with 250 words but I certainly felt like I wasted my time watching it... Just sayin'...

If you like predictable and uneventful story-telling, this is your movie of the year... and this is even without mentioning the CGI they should have left out.

.. pros? Good camera work and the setting/idea of the Mexican quarantine zone is great (until you see the poorly designed monsters.)
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
0
monkeywrenchApr 2, 2011
Without any doubt, this is the most boring movie I have ever seen, and I've seen Tron: Legacy. I have not seen Skyline or Battle: Los Angeles yet, but if this unwatchable piece of crap got a 63, watching those movies must be like clawing yourWithout any doubt, this is the most boring movie I have ever seen, and I've seen Tron: Legacy. I have not seen Skyline or Battle: Los Angeles yet, but if this unwatchable piece of crap got a 63, watching those movies must be like clawing your eyes out. Seriously, a 63? I don't know how long I sat watching this movie, but it seemed like about 14 hours, and no monsters. If there was anything the awful people being played by awful actors needed, it was to be eaten, or at least mauled by, you guessed it, monsters. Collapse
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
catharsisjellyJan 23, 2011
One of those films where nothing happens, in my opinion a waste of time and effort, there is a story but it's so slow that you can predict the ending and just want it to come faster than it does. Watch it at 2x the speed and you might findOne of those films where nothing happens, in my opinion a waste of time and effort, there is a story but it's so slow that you can predict the ending and just want it to come faster than it does. Watch it at 2x the speed and you might find it a better film. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
guitarmahnDec 10, 2010
Time and time again I see pure dribble rated greatly by the critics. I cant help but wonder if this is simply PR as John Q will see it to raise their pretige level at the watercooler. Yes I get the titles true vibe, still who doesnt wantTime and time again I see pure dribble rated greatly by the critics. I cant help but wonder if this is simply PR as John Q will see it to raise their pretige level at the watercooler. Yes I get the titles true vibe, still who doesnt want some decent monsters, I was wishing the two leads would get eaten or godzilla showed up and took everyone out. This is slow overated crap. Just like Hurtlocker and Inception. I cant help but feel thiers alot of critics getting free pens & steak dinner coupons to pitch these movies, since they completely and utterly stink. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
maialaiaMay 31, 2014
Boring, boring, boring with so many geographical errors and plot holes. Nothing happens in this movie. While it is impressive the way this movie was made, the result is nothing but a boring movie where nothing really happens.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
itsthelawFeb 7, 2011
I would've hated to be the one to tell director Gareth Edwards that his two leads and television actors, Scoot McNairy and Whitney Able, were just that: television actors. Too bad. With real actors and real chemistry, this movie would've beenI would've hated to be the one to tell director Gareth Edwards that his two leads and television actors, Scoot McNairy and Whitney Able, were just that: television actors. Too bad. With real actors and real chemistry, this movie would've been the sleeper hit of a thin flock. Fire that casting director for suggesting attempting to advance these rookies. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
BleedBlackAug 29, 2013
I am seriously and utterly confused by all the positive reviews. Yes, it's impressive what was done with the budget, but that is all. This movie contains the worst acting I have ever seen. You could take two random people off the street andI am seriously and utterly confused by all the positive reviews. Yes, it's impressive what was done with the budget, but that is all. This movie contains the worst acting I have ever seen. You could take two random people off the street and have more chemistry than the only two actors in this film, and yet you have to watch them fumble through the whole movie. It only exacerbates the problem that the story is boring to begin with. I've never met a person in real life who didn't think it was some of the worst acting they had ever seen, yet online people praise them... I find this to be very fishy. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews