Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Six years ago NASA discovered the possibility of alien life within our solar system. A probe was launched to collect samples, but crashed upon re-entry over Central America. Soon after, new life forms began to appear there and half of Mexico was quarantined as an INFECTED ZONE. Today, the American and Mexican military still struggle to contain "the creatures"... Our story begins when a US journalist agrees to escort a shaken American tourist through the infected zone in Mexico to the safety of the US border. [Magnolia Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Dec 13, 2010
    100
    An amazing achievement for a 'first-time' filmmaker, which measures up to the finest indies for performance and character-work, and the biggest blockbusters for jaw-dropping effects. And it has the year's best sex scene, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 13, 2010
    88
    Monsters holds our attention ever more deeply as we realize it's not a casual exploitation picture.
  3. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    Monsters is enormously satisfying in the way it combines suspense, romance and sci-fi. It heralds a bright new talent in Edwards. If he can do all this for no money, imagine what he can do with a real budget.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Oct 27, 2010
    70
    Wait a second, is this a horror movie or an episode of The Hills?
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 13, 2010
    63
    Monsters is a genuine curio: a moody, low-budget road-movie romance that takes place against a background of alien invasion.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    An arty, ruminative and slow-paced film that's being marketed as a big ol' alien-invasion flick. Just don't expect an invasion flick.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 13, 2010
    25
    The only thing remotely scary about Monsters is that Magnolia is releasing this boring scare-, suspense- and gore-free horror movie (which reportedly cost less than $100,000) on Halloween weekend.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Great little film, but to truly understand what an astonishing achievement it was you really need to watch the 2 hr making of doc that comes on the blu-ray. A 4 man crew, no script, all shot on the fly and improvised by (real life couple) Scoot and Whitney, no other paid actors and just making use of whatever or whoever came into view, then edited down from over 100 hours of footage, with over 250 cgi shots done by 1 man using essentially shop bought software. Gareth Edwards is a man going places. If he can make a film like this with less money than Michael Bay spends on a haircut imagine what he could do with a proper budget and full freedom to create what he wants with it!! Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    Monsters was absolutely astounding. Everything about this film was nigh on perfect, from the very well crafted, yet simplistic titular 'Monsters', to the cinematography, the score and the acting. The one thing I can complain about is that the promoters chose to size it up next to Michael Bay's 'Crapline' in the UK and unfortunately, this film just won't get the viewers it really should be doing. If you're a fan of classic Sci-fi/drama in the vein of early 'JAWS' (1/2), then this is certainly the movie for you and a great way to round out a year of otherwise terrible cinema. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    A superb film. Beautifully shot and completely absorbing. Be warned though this is not District 9 or Cloverfield. The 'Monsters' are not in fact the aliens that lurk in the background of this movie but the humans who relentlessly try to blow them out of existence. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Thought it would be more gore-like and full of monsters, but this is also interesting approach...so.. solid 7, nice acting, great directing, but lousy effects, if they have invested a bit more in CGI it would be a nine or ten... Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    5
    Well made but not really entertaining. Kinda a boring love story. really pointless. I cant believe its rated so highly. After watching you feel like you just wasted an hour and a half. I guess what this movie really lacks is a CLIMAX. Collapse
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this film with completely the wrong expectations based on the title, packaging and marketing for this film. It doesn't really need the aliens at all, its just a road trip movie with a couple that fall for eachother, then they see two space octopus and the film ends.

    The movie built up tension in various scenes but each one failed to deliver, I spent the entire movie thinking somethings going to happen... no.. now somethings going to happen... no... now surely somethings going to happen.. nope. I get that the monsters aren't the aliens, but thats pretty much the only thing you take away from this movie, unless you like cinematic shots of abandoned buildings.
    Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    I am seriously and utterly confused by all the positive reviews. Yes, it's impressive what was done with the budget, but that is all. This movie contains the worst acting I have ever seen. You could take two random people off the street and have more chemistry than the only two actors in this film, and yet you have to watch them fumble through the whole movie. It only exacerbates the problem that the story is boring to begin with. I've never met a person in real life who didn't think it was some of the worst acting they had ever seen, yet online people praise them... I find this to be very fishy. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.