Monsters

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Six years ago NASA discovered the possibility of alien life within our solar system. A probe was launched to collect samples, but crashed upon re-entry over Central America. Soon after, new life forms began to appear there and half of Mexico was quarantined as an INFECTED ZONE. Today, theSix years ago NASA discovered the possibility of alien life within our solar system. A probe was launched to collect samples, but crashed upon re-entry over Central America. Soon after, new life forms began to appear there and half of Mexico was quarantined as an INFECTED ZONE. Today, the American and Mexican military still struggle to contain "the creatures"... Our story begins when a US journalist agrees to escort a shaken American tourist through the infected zone in Mexico to the safety of the US border. [Magnolia Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Dec 13, 2010
    100
    An amazing achievement for a 'first-time' filmmaker, which measures up to the finest indies for performance and character-work, and the biggest blockbusters for jaw-dropping effects. And it has the year's best sex scene, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 13, 2010
    88
    Monsters holds our attention ever more deeply as we realize it's not a casual exploitation picture.
  3. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    Monsters is enormously satisfying in the way it combines suspense, romance and sci-fi. It heralds a bright new talent in Edwards. If he can do all this for no money, imagine what he can do with a real budget.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Oct 27, 2010
    70
    Wait a second, is this a horror movie or an episode of The Hills?
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 13, 2010
    63
    Monsters is a genuine curio: a moody, low-budget road-movie romance that takes place against a background of alien invasion.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    The new creature feature Monsters is an intriguing mash-up of "District 9," "The Host" and assorted recent post-apocalypse road pictures.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 13, 2010
    25
    The only thing remotely scary about Monsters is that Magnolia is releasing this boring scare-, suspense- and gore-free horror movie (which reportedly cost less than $100,000) on Halloween weekend.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Great little film, but to truly understand what an astonishing achievement it was you really need to watch the 2 hr making of doc that comesGreat little film, but to truly understand what an astonishing achievement it was you really need to watch the 2 hr making of doc that comes on the blu-ray. A 4 man crew, no script, all shot on the fly and improvised by (real life couple) Scoot and Whitney, no other paid actors and just making use of whatever or whoever came into view, then edited down from over 100 hours of footage, with over 250 cgi shots done by 1 man using essentially shop bought software. Gareth Edwards is a man going places. If he can make a film like this with less money than Michael Bay spends on a haircut imagine what he could do with a proper budget and full freedom to create what he wants with it!! Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    Monsters was absolutely astounding. Everything about this film was nigh on perfect, from the very well crafted, yet simplistic titularMonsters was absolutely astounding. Everything about this film was nigh on perfect, from the very well crafted, yet simplistic titular 'Monsters', to the cinematography, the score and the acting. The one thing I can complain about is that the promoters chose to size it up next to Michael Bay's 'Crapline' in the UK and unfortunately, this film just won't get the viewers it really should be doing. If you're a fan of classic Sci-fi/drama in the vein of early 'JAWS' (1/2), then this is certainly the movie for you and a great way to round out a year of otherwise terrible cinema. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    Think District 9 meets War Of The Worlds, only with a fraction of the budget. A well told road movie at the heart of a alien "B" movie. TheThink District 9 meets War Of The Worlds, only with a fraction of the budget. A well told road movie at the heart of a alien "B" movie. The two lead actors are good and the effects are amazing conidering the budget. Just don't expect a mass of scares or action, but in this movies case this is a good thing. Loved the ending. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Thought it would be more gore-like and full of monsters, but this is also interesting approach...so.. solid 7, nice acting, great directing,Thought it would be more gore-like and full of monsters, but this is also interesting approach...so.. solid 7, nice acting, great directing, but lousy effects, if they have invested a bit more in CGI it would be a nine or ten... Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2015
    6
    Monsters is disappointing for those who wanted a monster movie or any action. This is not a monster attack movie. The film is far moreMonsters is disappointing for those who wanted a monster movie or any action. This is not a monster attack movie. The film is far more interested in painting a world where giant monsters are part of life and something that people have to deal with. As far as creating atmosphere, dramatic, tension, and main this world feel believable it is affective. There is no solution we just get an episode of life in this monster filled world. So as far as creating atmosphere the film is successful. The film isn’t breaking any new ground as some elements of this world feel familiar and the characters in the film aren’t particularly interesting. While the world created is engaging and believable I almost wish the film had done more with it. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2011
    4
    Very boring and slow!! Good camera work though. I hate how all of these types of movies get all the hype by the critics. They are so boring!Very boring and slow!! Good camera work though. I hate how all of these types of movies get all the hype by the critics. They are so boring! To me a movie is meant to entertain me. Why are all of these indie films the same. It's like they have to be slow and boring in order for the critics to like them. If it has too much action then they think it is unrealistic. It's a movie it's not suppose to be real. Anyways this movie is your typical indie fest! Well made but boring as all hell!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    I am seriously and utterly confused by all the positive reviews. Yes, it's impressive what was done with the budget, but that is all. ThisI am seriously and utterly confused by all the positive reviews. Yes, it's impressive what was done with the budget, but that is all. This movie contains the worst acting I have ever seen. You could take two random people off the street and have more chemistry than the only two actors in this film, and yet you have to watch them fumble through the whole movie. It only exacerbates the problem that the story is boring to begin with. I've never met a person in real life who didn't think it was some of the worst acting they had ever seen, yet online people praise them... I find this to be very fishy. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.