Monte Carlo

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 66
  2. Negative: 10 out of 66

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 25, 2011
    5
    I got to say. This movie really bored me and I am actually really interested in these kind of movies. Selena Gomez was pretty good though. With her in it, the rating boost 3 points. Her acting wasn't too shabby.
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    Though charming and sweet, Monte Carlo is more or less recycled ideas from The Lizzie MgGuire Movie, and even for the tweens -- the majority of them being Gomez lovers -- there is nothing original, fresh, or emotionally captivating to see here.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    Monte Carlo as a piece of escapism from reality works quite well but in most other ways it falls flat. Overall the three main leads (Selena Gomez, Katie Cassidy and Leighton Meester) do a decent job of keeping the story trundling along while also keeping the tone light and entertaining. The main problem with the actors has to be the addition of Katherine Tate who seems to serve no purposeMonte Carlo as a piece of escapism from reality works quite well but in most other ways it falls flat. Overall the three main leads (Selena Gomez, Katie Cassidy and Leighton Meester) do a decent job of keeping the story trundling along while also keeping the tone light and entertaining. The main problem with the actors has to be the addition of Katherine Tate who seems to serve no purpose besides the bizzaro ending where she has at least 30 seconds of meaning. However the film doesn't try to be a serious character piece, it just tries to entertain while providing beautiful landscapes (Paris, Budapest imitating Monte Carlo and Monaco) and a jolly soundtrack, including a lively score by Michael Giacchino.

    However as the film enters its final act things start to unravel and the story which up until then was "plausible" just turns downright ludicrous. The final problem with Monte Carlo is that it degrades itself by shoehorning in a silly rivalry between Katie Cassidy and Leighton Meester where it would have been much more effective concentrating on the dynamic of the step sisters between Gomez and Meester. Overall it isn't a bad film, it just doesn't deliver a significant enough story to make it memorable or worthy of another watch.
    Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    Its pretty and sweet. Leighton Meester and Selena Gomez give particularly solid performances. Sadly miscast actors and silliness overcome a lot of the good stuff. I give this film 44%.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    6
    The only reason im giving it a mixed review is because the begining was just BAD. It was hard to follow and just wasnt engaging. But when it got torwards the middle of the movie i admit i was glued to the tv. The story became very interesting. This may be a ripoff of that Lizzie Mcguire movie but i actally think it's better. The only complaint that i have is that the blonde girl"s southernThe only reason im giving it a mixed review is because the begining was just BAD. It was hard to follow and just wasnt engaging. But when it got torwards the middle of the movie i admit i was glued to the tv. The story became very interesting. This may be a ripoff of that Lizzie Mcguire movie but i actally think it's better. The only complaint that i have is that the blonde girl"s southern accent just kept coming and going throughout the movie(like why give her one at all if none of the other characters had one?). Overall it was a solid movie Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 9, 2011
    50
    The film's best stretch, wherein each American gal is romanced by an international lover, faintly recalling the Fifties' sudser "Three Coins in the Fountain."
  2. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jul 2, 2011
    70
    As in "Country Strong," Meester's crack timing and irresistible poignancy illuminate a part that would leave other actresses simpering themselves off the screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Judy Sutton Taylor
    Jul 2, 2011
    40
    The movie isn't without its charms, with several supporting characters - a hotel-desk clerk, a French police chief - adding a touch of "Pink Panther"–esque humor to the mix.