Rainbow Releasing | Release Date: April 14, 1975
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 310 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
285
Mixed:
12
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleJul 7, 2016
Monty Python and the Holy Grail is absolutely hysterical. Off-the-wall, nonsensical, and just downright weird, Monty Python and the Holy Grail is a true classic of comedy. The film is tough to make heads or tails of, due to its sheerMonty Python and the Holy Grail is absolutely hysterical. Off-the-wall, nonsensical, and just downright weird, Monty Python and the Holy Grail is a true classic of comedy. The film is tough to make heads or tails of, due to its sheer randomness and irreverence is really, really, funny. The acting, as always with the group, is solid but certainly not the focus. Instead, the acid-influenced and weird happenings to be found in the writing, as well as the constant visual gags and subtle jokes, off-set by the more straightforward ones, are phenomenal. The film is very well-written and knows what it does well and keeps the jokes coming throughout the film. Overall, King Arthur's quest for the Holy Grail is a riot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
First shalt thou put the Holy Grail into thy DVD player or Netflix. Then, shalt thou count to three. No more. No less. Three shalt be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count,First shalt thou put the Holy Grail into thy DVD player or Netflix. Then, shalt thou count to three. No more. No less. Three shalt be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once at the number three, being the third number to be reached, then, thou shalt be captivated by the humor and wit in the movie thou is about to see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 28, 2013
Not as sophisticated or detailed as "A Fish Called Wanda", mostly because it relies on the accents which without them British comedy would be nothing but bull***t. But it's ridiculousness is so convoluted it becomes more hilarious as theNot as sophisticated or detailed as "A Fish Called Wanda", mostly because it relies on the accents which without them British comedy would be nothing but bull***t. But it's ridiculousness is so convoluted it becomes more hilarious as the movie goes on. The black knight scene is one of the greatest, as it's the most well-thought of part of the film. I laughed my ass off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorJun 8, 2017
Monty Python and the Holy Grail may feel illogical or stupid for modern viewers at the beginning, but the undeniably entertaining storytelling and surprisingly unforgettable laugh-to-gag jokes become this ridiculous picture on an everyday classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoApr 12, 2016
In 1975, Monty Python released their first feature film, and comedy was never the same again. Monty Python and the Holy Grail is one of the silliest and funniest comedies I have ever seen. It takes wackiness to new heights with hilariousIn 1975, Monty Python released their first feature film, and comedy was never the same again. Monty Python and the Holy Grail is one of the silliest and funniest comedies I have ever seen. It takes wackiness to new heights with hilarious results. Almost every scene is comedy gold, with inspired silliness and tons of wit. If you like murderous rabbits, Knights who say "ni" and antagonistic French Knights, then this is the film for you. If you don't like madcap comedies, then this definitely isn't you're type of movie. Overall, a hilarious film from one of the most gifted comedy groups of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ArkonBladeSep 15, 2010
one of the best comidies ever. i was rolling on the floor and in tears from laughing so hard. the brilliance of this film is just uncanny . when you can make some thing funny like a guy following the knights and banging two cocconuts togetherone of the best comidies ever. i was rolling on the floor and in tears from laughing so hard. the brilliance of this film is just uncanny . when you can make some thing funny like a guy following the knights and banging two cocconuts together to make the sound of horse galloping not really because they thought it was gona be funny as to they had no money to afford real horses just shows how much of brilliant theese guys are. so many funny moments in this film i couldnt even list them all. one of the few commodies ive seen more a few times and still laugh when i see it. . people will still be laughing on the floor in 50 years when seeing this. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwSep 20, 2014
The British comic masters at their finest. Never outstays its welcome, and every part bound lovingly into a coherent whole. Also has the best amount and usage of Terry Gilliam's animation, in comparison with their three other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Aug 31, 2011
This is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo freaking funny.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
While a comedy, the film has so much more style and grace than most films that try to be like this film. The actors have so much fun, the story is so witty and hilarious, the scenery is gorgeous, the animation is hilarious,etc. This film isWhile a comedy, the film has so much more style and grace than most films that try to be like this film. The actors have so much fun, the story is so witty and hilarious, the scenery is gorgeous, the animation is hilarious,etc. This film is the funniest film ever made and will always be the funniest movie ever made. The Knights who say 'Ni' agree 'IT' (oh that is a bad word) will be a hit for decades. Classic hilarious movie. Oh did I mention, "IT" is hilarious? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
This is perhaps the best parody film ever made. This is definitely the best Monty Python movie. Even if you are not a Monty Python fan you might still like this movie. Maybe it is because it has the best story of them all being based on theThis is perhaps the best parody film ever made. This is definitely the best Monty Python movie. Even if you are not a Monty Python fan you might still like this movie. Maybe it is because it has the best story of them all being based on the well-known legend of King Arthur and the nights of the round table. If you are a Monty Python fan then you should definitely love this movie. There are so many scenes in this movie that have become pop culture references appearing in video games and other places. The first time I saw this movie I laughed till it hurt at many of the ridiculous things that happen in this movie. I own it and still really enjoy watching it today. The Monty Python gang were a bunch of comedic geniuses and this is definitely the movie that shows them at their best. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adhamhanyFeb 28, 2014
One of the funniest and smartest comedies ever made. Judging this movie by its own merits, i'd give it an 8 or 9, but it deserves no less than 10, simply because of its impact on future movies and TV shows.

Seeing that this was released in
One of the funniest and smartest comedies ever made. Judging this movie by its own merits, i'd give it an 8 or 9, but it deserves no less than 10, simply because of its impact on future movies and TV shows.

Seeing that this was released in 1975, it must have influenced the creators of comedy classics like Airplane!, TV phenomenons like Family Guy, and even my current TV show Community has the same style of comedy.

These creations probably wouldn't be possible if not for the genius of the people behind this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SachiNov 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Monty Python and the Holy Grail is an amazing movie! The film is just laugh out loud hilarious. The plot tends to remain fairly strong and full of humor while the acting is just plain superb. These guys nailed the acting and it creates a laugh-out-loud good time. The only glaring oddity with The Holy Grail is the story. The plot is great and all but they are searching for the Holy Grail but then I don't quite what happened to that quest but that is insignificant when compared to the rest of the package. Overall, Monty Python and the Holy Grail is a great movie that is a must-see for it will entertain you for years to come as well as change the way you look at comedy, it is the master of slapstick. My actual score: Presentation: 10, Plot: 9.5, Acting: 10, Script: 10, Lasting Appeal: 10. Overall Score for Monty Python and The Holy Grail: 9.8 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
One of the funniest movies of all time. I guess if you don't like British humor, then you won't like it. Sooooo many memorable quotes. The only thing keeping it from a perfect 10 is the cheap ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moslegend34Jun 6, 2015
'Nii!' Sir Lancelot dazzles in this timeless classic. A must see but not only for its esteemed reputation. Cleese delivers another hilarious oblivious performance, while the singing score and gorgeous English countryside add to this ironic'Nii!' Sir Lancelot dazzles in this timeless classic. A must see but not only for its esteemed reputation. Cleese delivers another hilarious oblivious performance, while the singing score and gorgeous English countryside add to this ironic treasure. A triumph of sharp and clever dialogue over special effects. Even now in a contemporary age of excessive and vulgar dark humour, this movie stands tall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SusanoJun 20, 2011
Monty Python and the Holy Grail is simply brimming with great sketches, with it's only problem being the laughs come so fast unfortunately you may miss a few. And, of course, not every sketch is perfect. But, all in all. MP and the HG is notMonty Python and the Holy Grail is simply brimming with great sketches, with it's only problem being the laughs come so fast unfortunately you may miss a few. And, of course, not every sketch is perfect. But, all in all. MP and the HG is not only a cracking and damn near perfect comedy for it's time, but is also much better than almost anything out today. Simply unmissable, along with the other fantastic MP films. If you don't love this, your a lost cause. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gromitFeb 23, 2014
Without a doubt one of my all time favourite movies along with life of brian. It is sad in the almost 40 years since its release their is very little that can hold a candle to it. It has some of the most quoted one liners of any movie andWithout a doubt one of my all time favourite movies along with life of brian. It is sad in the almost 40 years since its release their is very little that can hold a candle to it. It has some of the most quoted one liners of any movie and justifiably so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ragekoiJul 21, 2013
This low-budget, cleverly written, well paced, and extremely charming film is a true classic amongst comedy films. A timeless masterpiece that undoubtedly achieves "most quotable movie of all time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nero97Jan 9, 2012
Monty Python's holy comedy. Not just the best comedy movie out there, but one of the best movie out there. Smart jokes and critics make this movie a true masterpiece in cinema history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skeletonking123Mar 26, 2014
We all know it, we all love it, and we all quote it. The Holy Grail is still arguably one of the greatest comedies of all time and there is a good reason for that. Each scene plays out hilariously well timed, such as the Black Knight duel,We all know it, we all love it, and we all quote it. The Holy Grail is still arguably one of the greatest comedies of all time and there is a good reason for that. Each scene plays out hilariously well timed, such as the Black Knight duel, the trojan bunny, the Keeper of the Bridge of Death, every scene is just funny punchline upon funny punchline, and each one hits a bulls-eye. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
westbrook21Jun 29, 2013
Hilarious film! Pieces of comedy genius that borderline on ridiculous. Would highly recommend to any slapstick comedy fan with any sort of sense of humour
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
stevelaughtonJul 10, 2013
By far the best british film, let alone best british comedy, ever to have graced our screens. It's laugh out loud funny from the get go and I have no problems recommending this film to anyone who is a fan of comedies. If you haven't seen itBy far the best british film, let alone best british comedy, ever to have graced our screens. It's laugh out loud funny from the get go and I have no problems recommending this film to anyone who is a fan of comedies. If you haven't seen it yet then you really are missing out on a gem. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarySLAug 4, 2013
This movie is one of my all-time favorites. The rereleased version with interviews was an easy purchase to make, and watching the movie itself never gets old. My all-time favorite comedy, with some of my favorite actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HyperapatheticMay 17, 2016
What other movie is there, where every single line is memorable and makes a good quote. EVERY. SINGLE. LINE. It's brilliant and doesn't waste a second. Well, unless the animated pieces really aren't your thing, in which case you couldWhat other movie is there, where every single line is memorable and makes a good quote. EVERY. SINGLE. LINE. It's brilliant and doesn't waste a second. Well, unless the animated pieces really aren't your thing, in which case you could say it wastes a few seconds on those. You'd be wrong, but you could say it. You could also say, "WATCH THE SHRIMP DANCE THE BLUE NOSE FANGLETROUSERS THREE TIMES AT SUNSET," quite loudly as well. Equally wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GerrickC.Dec 26, 2007
This comedic masterpiece is funny in just about every way from the misplaced credits to the silly ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisFFeb 11, 2008
I knew it'd be great when I first saw it at the age of 12. I laughed so hard that I nearly threw up--and that was just during the opening credits.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffyHOct 7, 2008
The pinnacle of film comedy. A Timeless Classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
eddycMay 30, 2009
People call this clever the movie was funny fo its time but nowadays just cant compete.
0 of 26 users found this helpful
10
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
Quite possibly the greatest comedy ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarenN.Oct 1, 2009
@eddy c "Nowadays just cant compete"?? Compete to what? Weed movies and toilet humor? This was completely new to the 1970's and still blows my mind 30 years after its inception. This was the beginning of many references and allusions @eddy c "Nowadays just cant compete"?? Compete to what? Weed movies and toilet humor? This was completely new to the 1970's and still blows my mind 30 years after its inception. This was the beginning of many references and allusions comedic gold such as Family Guy and The Simpsons have based their work on, and still stands as an excellent classic by itself. I say must-see. Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Oct 18, 2009
Insanely wacky comedy, one of the best of the Monty Python films. Wonderfully written, hysterically funny performances. They did an amazing job with the budget they have. Many memorable scenes, not all scenes hit the mark however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanL.Sep 13, 2005
Funny as hello!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickD.Sep 13, 2005
Pretty funny, but mostly silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinY.Nov 14, 2005
A classic film. Oh and Ian: IT'S MENT TO BE SILLY! WATCH THE SHOW! THEY EVEN HAVE A SILLY MONITOR ON THE SHOW TO MAKE SURE THE SKITS DON'T GET TOO SILLY! Anyway, if you like this, you'll love the show. "Nobody expects the A classic film. Oh and Ian: IT'S MENT TO BE SILLY! WATCH THE SHOW! THEY EVEN HAVE A SILLY MONITOR ON THE SHOW TO MAKE SURE THE SKITS DON'T GET TOO SILLY! Anyway, if you like this, you'll love the show. "Nobody expects the Spanish Inguisition!" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
patrickdDec 17, 2005
Yes, but no "clever puns." Some are overdone too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieW.Dec 31, 2005
I unclog my nose towards you and fart in your general direction, Ian!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuleC.Feb 7, 2006
Great movie, but, I must admit, there are a few skits that you can tell were supposed to be great jokes that just aren't really that funny at all. The prince who Sir Lancelot thinks is a woman is one of these, though I adored the Great movie, but, I must admit, there are a few skits that you can tell were supposed to be great jokes that just aren't really that funny at all. The prince who Sir Lancelot thinks is a woman is one of these, though I adored the hiccuping soldiers, but the good bits by far make up for this. Gets a 10/10, just because I just remembered Castle Anthrax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorK.Jul 19, 2006
Funniest movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudyOct 29, 2006
One of, if not the, best movies I've ever seen. It's very creative and funny, putting a little twist on medieval movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RDalviNov 7, 2006
I saw only 90% of the film. The other 10% I was on the ground laughing till I almost stopped breathing. It was so funny tears were rolling down my face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CodyS.Apr 27, 2007
Quite possibly the funniest movie I've ever seen. Not the best (that honor is given to the Godfather, and Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back). I love British humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.May 9, 2007
Almost as good as Life of Brian. Love the Black Knight Scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
vai0Nov 8, 2010
"People call this clever the movie was funny for its time but nowadays just cant compete." Actually for its time it was good and now its even better. I suggest anyone who doesn't think this movie is funny take a step back from life and see if"People call this clever the movie was funny for its time but nowadays just cant compete." Actually for its time it was good and now its even better. I suggest anyone who doesn't think this movie is funny take a step back from life and see if you want to live it so focused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mrpickles135Aug 7, 2013
this is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. I still quote it on a regular basis. No matter how many times I see it I still laugh like crazy at parts like "Please! This is supposed to be a happy occasion. Let's not bicker and argue overthis is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. I still quote it on a regular basis. No matter how many times I see it I still laugh like crazy at parts like "Please! This is supposed to be a happy occasion. Let's not bicker and argue over who killed who." By the way if you hate this movie it's probably because you're taking it way too seriously. A timeless classic worth seeing time and time again Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TemmieZoidbergJun 5, 2017
Ah, what a memorable movie. It was a favorite of mine, but looking back at it, its not as amazing as I remember it. I mean, it still is one of the most influential and smart comedy movies out there. But a few scenes, just fall flat, andAh, what a memorable movie. It was a favorite of mine, but looking back at it, its not as amazing as I remember it. I mean, it still is one of the most influential and smart comedy movies out there. But a few scenes, just fall flat, and occasionally make you feel awkward. But the worst part is the sound. I mean, I know its the 70s, but I can barely hear a word there saying at times. The script and writing might be good, but the sound killed it for me. Anyways, everything else is magnificently put together, earning a solid 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews